Skip to content
The biggest announcement in AV history!

June 20, 2011

We take a break from our regularly scheduled road-trip programming to bring you the biggest announcement in Almost Vegan history.

In case you didn’t already hear via Facebook or Twitter, a secret I’ve been keeping for some time now has finally been revealed.

To quote this blog post,

In other news, we’ve just contracted an innovative new title for 2012 from rising culinary star, Amber Shea Ford. For now, we’re keeping the title under wraps, but it’s one we’re all very enthusiastic about.

Did you hear that?! A dream I’ve had since I was 6 years old is coming true.
I’M GETTING PUBLISHED!

I’m partnering with Vegan Heritage Press for my very first cookbook! It’s a raw recipe book, and will be released in 2012. Many more details will follow in the months to come, but for now, this is all I can tell you.

In the meantime, I’m going to need a number of recipe testers! If you are interested, please email almostveganchef AT gmail DOT com with the subject line of “RECIPE TESTING.” In the body of the email, please answer the following questions (there are no right or wrong answers!):

1. Do you have any prior experience making raw food at home?
2. Do you own a high-speed blender?
3. Do you own a dehydrator? (It’s ok if the answer is no!)
4. Do you have access to common raw ingredients such as nuts, seeds, flours, and sweeteners?
5. Between July 2011 and September 2011, about how many recipes would you be able to test?
a) 40-50
b) 30-40
c) 20-30
d) Fewer than 20 I’m no longer accepting submissions, but thank you for your interest!

After I sort through the “applicants,” if I select you, I’ll contact you with more details and some additional questions.

THANK YOU ALL for your enormous support, encouragement, and love, especially this last year or so. I would not, could not be achieving this dream without all of you.

And now, I’m off to chug a celebratory green juice! WOOHOO!

45 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2011 3:08 pm

    Congrats! That is amazing news! Keep up the great work Amber!

  2. Joy Um permalink
    June 20, 2011 3:08 pm

    😀 congratulations amber! cant imagine how excited you must be! so wonderful to see how far you’ve gotten in such a short time 🙂 all the best! lookin forward to seeing your book on the shelves!

  3. June 20, 2011 3:14 pm

    Congratulations!!!!

    I will be first in line at my local bookstore to buy a copy of your book or I might order it online but either way I’m looking forward to having my very own copy.

  4. June 20, 2011 3:17 pm

    Congrats, girl!

  5. Debbie permalink
    June 20, 2011 3:29 pm

    Congratulations! As a long time fan, I knew it was only a matter of time before you got your big break. Your book will probably be the first raw cookbook I’ll buy!

  6. bitt permalink
    June 20, 2011 3:32 pm

    Congrats! So happy it will be a Vegan Publishing Company too! Whoo hoo! Cheers!

  7. Pat permalink
    June 20, 2011 3:34 pm

    Congrat’s I’m so happy for you. Your pure joy jumps off the page. I volunteer to be a test eater if you ever need one 🙂

    Pat – your old living light pal

  8. June 20, 2011 3:48 pm

    Congratulations! This is awesome news, and you are such a role model for living your dream and making it happen.
    love
    Ela

  9. June 20, 2011 3:55 pm

    Congrats!! That’s amazing!! 🙂 I’ll buy it!

  10. June 20, 2011 3:58 pm

    congratulations that is so exciting!!

  11. June 20, 2011 4:15 pm

    When can your book be reserved? And I want a signed copy! hehehe This is awesome news for you!

  12. June 20, 2011 4:17 pm

    soooo happy for you and can’t wait to buy your book!

  13. June 20, 2011 4:24 pm

    That is awesome! So excited for you! Your book is going to be fantastic and I can’t wait to get my hands on it.

  14. June 20, 2011 4:26 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS! So, so exciting.

  15. June 20, 2011 4:36 pm

    Congrats, that is AWESOME! It’s alwaaays been a dream of mine ot be published ONCE so I can definitely think of how excited you must be! Aweesome.

  16. June 20, 2011 5:37 pm

    Wow, that’s awesome!!! Congratulations. Will be emailing you details about becoming a recipe tester. 🙂

  17. June 20, 2011 6:04 pm

    Just the other day, I was thinking that I didn’t think you’d actually formally announced this! WOOOOOOT! Love you lady! I’ve already expressed my over-the-moon-hysterical-happiness for you in the past, so this time I’ll just say hugskisseshugs wheeee!!

    P.S. Going to apply to be a taste-tester, but *please* know I won’t be upset at all if you don’t pick me. Even if we are soul sisters…. No, really, I mean that – no stress 🙂

  18. June 20, 2011 6:05 pm

    Congratulations!!! I’m absolutely thrilled for you. I can’t wait to see what you create Amber.

  19. June 20, 2011 6:58 pm

    We’re thrilled for you and proud to have helped you work toward your dream! xo

  20. June 20, 2011 7:29 pm

    I saw that!! amazing! so so excited for you, congrats. I want to be a tester. yum yum.

  21. June 20, 2011 7:51 pm

    whoo-hoo, congratulations, lady!!! That is beyond exciting…like, I might be jumping out of my own skin for you right now 😛 Can’t wait to see what good things come for you!

  22. June 20, 2011 8:22 pm

    CONGRATS!! This amazing, so happy for you! Keep spreading the raw love 😉

  23. June 20, 2011 8:27 pm

    Congratulations, that is so exciting. Can’t wait for your cookbook to be published!

  24. A Tablespoon of Liz permalink
    June 20, 2011 8:51 pm

    Congrats! that is sooo exciting! I love all your recipes/photos on your blog so I cannot wait for your cookbook! I most defiantly want to be a tester, so I’ll be e-mailing you!

  25. June 20, 2011 9:54 pm

    Congratulations, Amber, that’s awesome!!! Saw your link on the KC Raw Food Union FB (I just joined it last night 😉 We’ve been trying to eat mostly vegan lately with a lot more raw foods incorporated, I’ll definitely get your cookbook 🙂

  26. June 20, 2011 10:49 pm

    Hell yea!

  27. June 20, 2011 10:50 pm

    Congratulations Amber! I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy of it : )

  28. June 20, 2011 11:33 pm

    YAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAY!!!! I knew it was just a matter of time! CONGRATS!

  29. June 21, 2011 3:03 am

    So proud of you girl!!!

  30. June 21, 2011 7:53 am

    CONGRATULATIONS on getting your big book deal! Glad you’re working with Vegan Heritage too, they’re great people. 🙂

    Don’t forget, you’ve got a willing and able vegan photographer waiting in the wings here, too…! 😉

  31. June 21, 2011 10:57 am

    have just emailed you! how exciting….

  32. June 21, 2011 10:57 am

    How exciting! Will email you in a few. I’m slurping up a raw vegan cherry chocolate “milkshake” at the moment ;0)

  33. June 21, 2011 10:58 am

    CONGRATS babe
    gonna email you asap haha. im working on a teeny tiny e-book project myself just to test the waters so I can only imagine how excited this must be!

  34. Kris permalink
    June 21, 2011 10:59 am

    Niiiiice!!!!! Congratulations! I just emailed you too!!!

  35. June 21, 2011 10:59 am

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!Kid there is nowhere to go but up up up! Can’t wait to sell this at both BLISS RAW CAFE & VSPOT VEGAN CAFE!Well deserved…and then some!

  36. Teresa permalink
    June 21, 2011 11:00 am

    woot woooot! soooo great! I am happy for you (and for us) and I am looking forward to it! celebrate yourself a little!

  37. Jude permalink
    June 21, 2011 11:01 am

    Congratuations, that’s fantastic news .. how amazing for fulfil a dream you had at 6 years old, I will definitely be ordering the book when its published, can just imagine the passion that’s going to go into it’s creation, fabulous Amber xx

  38. June 21, 2011 3:17 pm

    My most Sincere congrats if you need a picky recipe tester at some point I am here for you!!! Go Amber:)

  39. June 21, 2011 3:41 pm

    That’s exciting! I think it’s awesome that you’re going to get published! I would love to be a recipe tester for you, but unfortunately, school and work don’t leave me much time to cook (or in this case, uncook!). 😦

    Anywho, congrats!!

  40. June 21, 2011 7:58 pm

    congrats! I already told you yesterday on twitter I’ll be there to buy your book for sure

    gidgetnfroggi

    off to send you a email

  41. June 21, 2011 11:35 pm

    Congratulations, Amber! Best wishes for your great success as a famous published author. Interviews and book signings are right around the corner. You are too cool for cooking school. It shouldn’t surprise anyone if you land a new gig as the star of your own culinary show. Perhaps you should start practicing by making some videos for the web. Hurray for you!

  42. June 22, 2011 1:54 pm

    Congrats!!! That is so amazing and I am so happy for you!!!!!!!!!

  43. andreadevon permalink
    June 22, 2011 4:48 pm

    many congratulations amber- your work on the blog is really innovative and fabulous, and I can’t wait to see it in print 🙂 good luck with the publishing process, and if any of your testers lose their sweet tooth, let me know- i would be happy to jump in! aloha, andrea

  44. June 23, 2011 1:20 pm

    Congrats! I can’t wait!

  45. June 29, 2011 10:01 pm

    Oh congratulations!!! That’s great news. I can’t wait 🙂 (sorry I’m so late in commenting, I’ve been away)

Leave a Comment

