Skip to content
Dinner & brunch at Matthew Kenney OKC

June 21, 2011

WOW! I am blown away, not only by your enthusiastic outpouring of congratulations and support for my big announcement, but by the number of people that have emailed me volunteering to be recipe testers. I never expected so many! I’m going to continue accepting “applications” until the end of today, and then I’m afraid I’m going to have to cut it off. Just with the number I have now, I’ll have to narrow down my pool by over 80%! By the end of this week, I’m going to narrow it down by about half, then send the remaining volunteers an email with some additional questions. Based on those answers, I’ll whittle the pool down to the 10-12 testers I’ll need. Thank you SO much to all of you who have come forward! I wish I could choose everyone, but sadly, I’ll have to select only a few of you to move forward to the testing phase.

Now, though, I better get back to my travel posts. I’m so behind! This post begins the road trip that Matt and I took the first weekend of June. That Friday, we headed south once more, and wound up – where else? – at Matthew Kenney OKC yet again.

We shared an Avocado Dragon Roll to start, and oh.my.goodness. This was the best raw sushi I’ve ever tasted, and some of the best sushi, period, I’ve ever had. It’s been too long since I’ve made my own raw sushi; I need to do that again soon!

For his main dish, Matt had the Sweet Corn Ravioli, filled with broccoli rabe and corn-mint relish, floating in tomato fondue.

I chose the Pizza Bianco (which should be Bianca, but that’s just me being a picky linguist).

I was a little disappointed at the miniscule portion size, and a wee bit overwhelmed by all the greens on there, but I devoured it nonetheless. The whipped marscapone cheese, kalamata olives, and spicy basil oil made it tasty.

Dessert? You bet. We shared the Blueberry Lavendar Tart.

The portion size of this baby made up for that of my dinner, and Matt and I wrestled over the last bites of the lemon cream filling, macaroon crust, and blueberry-lavender syrup.

Since we stayed the night in Oklahoma City, we returned to Matthew Kenney OKC the next day for brunch. We just can’t stay away from the place! Matt indulged in another midday mimosa…

…and ate a Tropical Fruit Crêpe for lunch.

The delicate crêpe was folded over chopped mango, banana, and strawberries, drizzled with agave, and topped with whipped cashew cream.

I went the savory route with this Fajita Lettuce Wrap.

I was expecting lettuce as the wrapper (duh), but instead the marinated vegetables, refried ‘beans’, and avocado came wrapped in a savory crêpe (fine by me!), with pico de gallo alongside.

Yep, we had dessert again: the Red Berry Bomb.

This was amazing. A gleaming half-globe of raspberry gelato sat atop a thin round of red velvet cake, accompanied by chocolate syrup and freeze-dried raspberries. Again, a very tiny portion, but heavenly!

Somehow, Matt still had room for a Green Hawaiian smoothie to go.

We hopped back in the car and set off again for Dallas! You’re going to love the meals I’ll be showing you next.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2011 2:18 pm

    I was surprised at the new elf-sized portions as well last time I ate there (had the beet gnocchi) but it was so filling that I didn’t feel like I needed more quantity once I started eating. We tried the sushi and a lettuce wrap also and those portion sizes were very generous so maybe it’s only a few of the more dense dishes?

    The somewhat awkwardly named “Matthew’s Pudding” was delicious (if you haven’t tried that yet).

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 21, 2011 2:23 pm

      “Elf-sized,” hehe 🙂 Yeah, it must be just a few of the dishes that are teensy. I’m guessing either density or expense of ingredients must determine that.

      Someone else told me not to get Matthew’s Pudding, as they didn’t care for it…but it sounded good to me. Maybe next time I’ll give it a go. Except now, oh my gawd, I’ll never again be able to say “Matthew’s Pudding” with a straight face! Aah! 😛

  2. June 21, 2011 2:35 pm

    Yum! The crepe is gorgeous and I always love looking at raw desserts.

  3. June 21, 2011 4:50 pm

    Raw Sushi, YUMMY! I need to attempt it.

  4. June 21, 2011 11:06 pm

    If I ever get the chance to visit this place, my stomach’s comfort level will have no say in hwo much food I order and eat. Oh, the heavenliness! I adore lavender in sweet things, and I adore the picky liguist in you.

  5. June 21, 2011 11:14 pm

    Oh, that Cherry Bomb! I’ve been obsessing over photos of it around the net!

    Good call on the Bianco-Bianca – lol!

    That ravioli looks so good to me right now.

    So glad that you have had a ‘healthy’ response to your recipe tasters requests – not that it surprises me, though! 😉 Best of luck as you proceed with the project!

  6. Kat permalink
    June 22, 2011 12:03 am

    Oh I somehow missed this call for volunteers. Though considering my cranky middle aged outlook on raw food naming conventions I’m not sure you’d have wanted me.

    As for elf sized proportions on raw food at restaurants. This just nuts to me. We’ll not be converting anyone to raw food if they don’t feel like they’re getting their money’s worth. for ten bucks a shot, especially considering that it’s raw, the plates should be brimming. Noveau Cuisine may work in dab sized portions on Iron Chef and for the super rich, but in real life it’s just inflated culinary egos inflating thir wallets especially considering these hard financial times.

    Get offa my Lawn and bring me one of those there mimosa!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 22, 2011 10:57 am

      Haha, I’ll try not to give TOO many of my dishes cutesy names ;P

      For me, the size of a portion should be determined by density. I’ve had very rich and/or nut-heavy raw meals that completely filled me up with a small portion…but something that’s mostly veggies needs to be larger to be satisfying.

  7. bitt permalink
    June 22, 2011 1:09 am

    you are all over the place! I saw you were in toronto?

    i really need to hit up that restaurant. it looks even better than pure food. for real.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 22, 2011 10:58 am

      Yup! I’ll be blogging about TO shortly.

      Really? I’m sure MK would be DELIGHTED to hear that! Hehe. Nonetheless, I’m dying to get to Pure someday.

  8. June 22, 2011 2:13 am

    I’d love to get to MK one day, the food looks sensational! Congratulations for your publishing deal…how exciting for you. It is inspiring to watch your journey.

  9. June 22, 2011 5:51 am

    Love you picking up the ‘Pizza Bianco’ not ‘Pizza Bianca’. Did you tell anyone?! 😉

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 22, 2011 11:01 am

      Hehe, no…but Matthew Kenney reads my blog sometimes, so if he sees this, hopefully he’ll get the message 😉

  10. June 22, 2011 8:07 am

    The US is just full of scrummy raw places to go, I’m going to have to save up big time for a trans-continent road trp!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 22, 2011 11:01 am

      Yeah! Can I go with you?! 😛

  11. June 22, 2011 10:41 am

    Congratulations on getting published!! I’m so bummed I missed the cut-off to apply to be a tester! Guess I’ll have to wait for the cookbook 😉

  12. June 22, 2011 10:46 am

    all i can say is… You’ve got a good life! Oh and i’m…. Salivating

  13. June 22, 2011 1:55 pm

    That blueberry tart and crepe looked divine!!!

  14. June 22, 2011 5:01 pm

    It really matters to me that people get the names right, so yay for picky linguists, we need them!

    I’m so intrigued to know _why_ you’re doing all this traveling–was it to promote your book? You are definitely hitting some awesome places.
    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      June 22, 2011 5:04 pm

      The first Dallas trip was on a 3-day weekend (for Memorial Day), so we just did it because we could! This second trip was for a concert we had tickets to in Dallas (Beirut, who sadly came nowhere near Kansas City on his tour). And Toronto (posts forthcoming) was for the wedding of a friend of Matt’s. I’m many months away from the point where I’ll be in full book-promotion mode, but I’m sure at that time I’ll end up doing a lot of traveling too!

  15. June 23, 2011 10:33 pm

    I’m so excited and inspired by your big announcement! Yay!!!!!!

  16. June 24, 2011 12:04 pm

    Omg. Jealous. That food looks ridic! Glad to hear you had plenty of testers, yay!!

  17. June 25, 2011 11:30 am

    that dessert looked so yummy and the smoothie so good.

  18. July 7, 2011 1:06 am

    Dining out with my wife at Matthew Kenney OKC nee 105degrees I found myself thinking about Indian food and sushi. Not that the cuisines are terribly similarthey arentbut they both require newcomers to change the way they think about food..Maybe my biggest problem with it is that in using familiar restaurant terms to describe their dishes they create an expectation that wont be met.

Leave a Comment

