Skip to content
Almost vegan in Buffalo, NY & Niagara Falls

July 13, 2011

Rewind to Friday, June 10, 2011…

After three very delayed flights the night before, with the last one arriving at our destination after 1:30am, Matt and I woke up that Friday morning in Buffalo, New York. We didn’t have much time to hang around there, though, as we needed to head to CANADA! But first, we grabbed lunch at Merge.

We started with the Power Up! Live Protein Shake, with cherries, banana, cacao, dates, almond butter, and almond milk. I thought there might be too many competing flavors there, but it was delicious, with a slight crunch from the cacao nibs.

Matt ordered the Falafel Wrap.

Mmm, chickpea goodness.

I went out on a bit of a limb and ordered the Smothered Sweet Potato Fries.

I’m not quite sure what I was thinking. Sweet potato fries = good. Curried lentils = WAY good. But spinach = not my thing, and cheddar Daiya cheese = overwhelming (I’m still not a cheese person, plus it totally soggified the fries). I wish I’d ordered it without the cheese and greens. Oh well. I picked around the gooey mass in the center and enjoyed the fries and lentils.

After lunch, Matt and I drove north, stopping just before the American/Canadian border at…

…Niagara Falls!

I have a really weird and silly phobia of large bodies of water, but Matt held on to me, so I felt safe.

It was a beautiful, sunny afternoon out as we made our way north into Canada!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2011 1:52 pm

    i always wanted to go there! looks gorgeous!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 21, 2011 11:35 am

      It was! Kinda scary, but very pretty 🙂

  2. July 13, 2011 4:13 pm

    oh wow, i live pretty close to buffalo, and i never even knew about that restaurant! guess i’ll have to get hubby to take me there sometime ;D looks like great food!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 21, 2011 11:36 am

      It was a cute little place…I recommend it!

  3. July 13, 2011 9:24 pm

    I’ve been to Niagra Falls a few times, but have never even heard of that restaurant. Dang! I must have that falafal wrap!!! It looks mouthwatering delightful!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 21, 2011 11:36 am

      I had a bite; it was goooood! Better than my fries 😛

  4. July 13, 2011 10:15 pm

    The protein shake looks refreshing. Love your NF pics.

  5. July 13, 2011 11:13 pm

    you two sure make the rounds! chris and i tried a cheesy fry once at a vegan joint here and it was good. not too cheesy, just a little sog but in a good way. maybe your restaurant could cut back. i find with vegan cheese, just a little goes a long way.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 21, 2011 11:36 am

      I couldn’t agree more. They needed to take it easier on the Daiya!

  6. July 14, 2011 6:52 am

    Must. Resist. Aladdin 2. Singalong. Again…. 😛

    I also now have a crazystrong urge to make curried lentils on AirFried sweet potato chips for dinner tomorrow 😉

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 21, 2011 11:37 am

      Now THAT sounds SO much yummier than this gooey mess of a fry plate!

  7. Kat M. permalink
    July 14, 2011 2:33 pm

    i LOVE your shirt!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 14, 2011 2:42 pm

      Haha, thanks! I was wondering if anyone would “get it.”
      Btw, the back of the shirt says: “Schrödinger’s Cat is Not Dead” 😉

      • Kat M. permalink
        July 15, 2011 12:13 pm

        that’s even better!

      • July 16, 2011 3:09 pm

        Lol! I was gonna comment about the shirt too! I almost bought that one time, but I bought a “Heavy Metal” shirt instead. 🙂

        • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
          July 16, 2011 3:12 pm

          Both excellent choices! 😛

  8. July 14, 2011 4:21 pm

    I haven’t been to Niagara Falls in years. It’s so beautiful, like that smoothie. I like it when they have some texture, too.

  9. July 14, 2011 5:08 pm

    Your t-shirts are hilarious!

    Sounds like a fun trip, if discombobulating with the time differences.

    I still haven’t tried daiya cheese and still don’t think I’d like it, but sweet potato fries and curried lentils sure sounds good, and lentils and spinach go great together…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      July 21, 2011 11:37 am

      I knew I should’ve had them hold the cheese! I need to listen to myself more often. 😛

  10. July 14, 2011 10:29 pm

    We have vacationed in Niagara several times…will have to check out that restaurant!!

Leave a Comment

