Skip to content
Mylk Uncookies, veg-friendly wedding, & Toronto Raw Vegan Fest

July 21, 2011

Rewind to Saturday, June 11th, 2011…

When Matt and I awoke that Saturday, we put on our fancy duds – we were headed to a wedding that morning – and high-tailed it to downtown Toronto in order to stop at Mylk Uncookies before the ceremony.

When I read about Mylk Uncookies – an “espresso boutique” serving house-made almond “mylk” and raw vegan treats along with traditionally baked goods sourced from local bakers – on Lisa’s blog, I immediately put it on my list of places to visit in TO. The interior was very mod and minimalistic, which I loved.

I do have to say, I was expecting more raw and vegan options, but probably 3/4 of their selection that day was baked and non-vegan. Still, having any raw vegan options at all at a coffeehouse was a treat for me.

I got an almond milk latte to go with our sweets.

The two we chose were actually somewhat similar; however, one was baked and one was raw. This was the baked one—a crunchy peanut butter square spread with a thin blanket of chocolate ganache. It was sort of like a crunchy buckeye bar. Yum!

Our raw choice was this caramel bar, which, ironically enough, was like a regular buckeye bar, just sans peanut flavor. It was much softer and more melt-in-your-mouth than the PB square. Also yum!

That morning, we attended the wedding ceremony of Matt’s friend Emily and her now-husband Chris at the University of Toronto. Right after the ceremony, we walked over to Crown Princess Fine Dining for the newlyweds’ dim sum banquet. They had a special table set up for the vegetarians and vegans in attendance.

Once the food started coming out, it never seemed to stop! There were soups, dumplings, noodles, croquettes, veggies galore, several tofu dishes, and all the hot tea we could drink. We were STUFFED at the end of all this!

After the dim sum banquet, Matt and I left the wedding festivities for awhile to attend another type of “fest”—the first-ever Toronto Raw Vegan Festival! What wonderful serendipity that we happened to be in town that very day.

It was crowded and HOT at that building – I hope they get a bigger venue next time! – but it was really exciting to see that so many people had come out for such an event. Still dressed in our wedding-guest outfits, Matt and I probably looked pretty out of place, but we didn’t care. I was just happy to be there!

I finally got to meet these two lovely ladies, fellow raw/vegan chef friends from Facebook and the blogosphere: cake-pop queen Marlie Centawer (above) of barefoot and frolicking, and Marni Wasserman (below), an accomplished Toronto chef and nutritionist.

At a few of the booths, I was chatting to company owners about my blog, and one table, Make It Raw, gave me two of their products right then and there to review!

And they were good ones. These Raw Sensation Bars had a chewy, multi-nut base and a perfect chocolate glaze on top.

I just about flipped over this Raw Pecan Butter Pie, though—elegant in its simplicity, this treat, with its crumbly, nutty “crust” and smooth-as-silk pecan butter topping, was right up my alley. Thanks again, Make It Raw!

After all that, Matt and I returned to the University of Toronto for the wedding reception, where we barely nibbled on the (vegan-friendly!) antipasto hors d’oeuvres, but couldn’t resist taking advantage of the build-your-own-cupcake bar later that night. What a fantastic, delicious day!

There’s more Toronto awesomeness to come!

34 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2011 12:30 pm

    That caramel bar looks delicious!! I finally got some dates to make some goodies. It looks like you have been having lots of fun with your eats lately! I feel so off lately but I know it is a stage.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 11:45 am

      Yes, dates are a must-have! Can’t wait to see what you whip up.

  2. July 21, 2011 12:35 pm

    I am jealous of all the delicious things you ate! Those bars look great and OMG the pecan butter pie…drooling a little over here.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 11:45 am

      I know, right? The world needs more pecan butter pies…

  3. July 21, 2011 1:06 pm

    I’m glad the meals are improving since the last post! Your pictures look super delish – and make me want to go back to the dim sum restaurant I visited many years back. 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 11:46 am

      This was my first dim sum experience! I have to say, it was awesome.

  4. July 21, 2011 1:17 pm

    too bad not more of the treats there are all vegan. but some is better than none! i would be worried about cross contamination for gluten.

    awesome food for a wedding! usually the veggie options are terrible!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 11:47 am

      Yeah, I was surprised, considering their name sounds like a raw-vegan place. But still, I was happy with what they did have!

  5. July 21, 2011 1:25 pm

    Wow, so many delicious desserts! The raw pecan butter pie does look killer.

  6. July 21, 2011 3:31 pm

    ooooooooooh my. Everything, everything looks so good. Oh my goodness! You are having some great experiences!!!! So fun!

  7. July 21, 2011 4:03 pm

    Sounds awesome!! Love that you had lots to nibble on! I LOVE the idea of a make your own cupcake station how fun is that?

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 11:48 am

      I know! I’d had that idea before, but had never seen it put into action!

  8. July 21, 2011 5:31 pm

    Wow those treats look so good! I love how with raw and vegan treat you don’t loose any of the delicious satisfaction.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 11:48 am

      Amen to that! 🙂

  9. July 21, 2011 9:13 pm

    What a fun day in Toronto. I’m glad you got to check out Mylk Uncookies. I do enjoy their almond milk. I’m just sorry I didn’t get to see you while you were in town. I know we’ll have time to play in August.

    xo

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 11:49 am

      I’m sorry too! But it’s just a couple more weeks now till we can hang out all weekend 😀

  10. July 22, 2011 5:43 am

    How is it even possible to squeeze so much fun, food, and friends (disclaimer: I absolutely know that “so much … friends” isn’t grammatically correct 😉 ) into one day? You and Matt are clearly superheroes. And superheroes who need to make use of your teleportation skills to bring me that raw pecan butter pie, stat.

    STAT I SAY.

    Stat.

    Sigh.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 11:50 am

      This teleportation business is trickier than you’d think! But as soon as I’ve got it down, pecan butter pie will be sailing your way…watch your head….

  11. July 22, 2011 12:05 pm

    Why do I always work up an appetite after reading your blog?? Except I start having cravings I’ve never had before! You are bad influence Amber Shea Ford! Hehe. Actually I should probably take that back, because you always inspire me to create some more raw goodness xxx

  12. July 22, 2011 1:20 pm

    I’m always starving when I read one of your posts!!!

  13. July 23, 2011 6:32 am

    I hope I have ‘sweet’ caramel bar dreams tonight – That looked incredible! Great blog Amber, you look fantastic too in your pics…..loving it! xo

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 11:51 am

      Aww, thank you Priscilla 🙂

  14. July 25, 2011 6:47 am

    wow – what a fantastic foodie day you had – I am soooo envious! I really must make more raw treats, in fact, it’s a warm day, so I’ll go and make some now 🙂

  15. July 25, 2011 8:25 am

    You were so lucky to have such wonderful eats available at the wedding! A wedding we went to last month served steak, chicken, mashed potatoes and two asparagus spears, all smothered in cream sauce. What was crazy about it was that the hotel kitchen staff told us they could make a vegan meal for us, but request had to come from the bride’s parents–and they refused to request it, even though we said upfront that we would pay for the meals ourselves. I’m pretty sure we made a stop at Chipotle on the way home. Anyway, all this to say that it was so kind of the couple to have something everyone could eat!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 11:51 am

      Hehe, I feel your pain! I’ve been to my share of those types of weddings.

  16. July 26, 2011 9:32 am

    What a lovely visit!! That “espresso boutique” is ridiculously adorable, and you met up with Marlie. What a great combo — you could do no better for a lovely day!!

    🙂 xxo Eva

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 11:52 am

      Agreed! 😀

  17. July 27, 2011 8:00 am

    I love those white tables and chairs!!! What a cool place to visit!!
    I would love to go to a wedding that catered to the vegetarian/vegan crowd…it looks like they had some great options to choose from!!
    Plus, a make your own cupcake bar???? I have never heard of that before…what a GREAT idea!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 11:52 am

      Yes! Someday I hope to make my wedding the rockin’est vegan affair ever… 😉

  18. July 27, 2011 2:58 pm

    Everything looks highly edible and even delicious! I have yet to try a raw restaurant! Next in line!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 11:53 am

      Ooh, you must try a raw place! There’s an amazing one in Dallas, Bliss Raw Cafe!

  19. July 28, 2011 4:02 pm

    Wow, so much deliciousness packed into one day! I can see why you’d want to go back to Toronto.

  20. Marissa permalink
    December 17, 2011 3:22 pm

    Hello! Just wanted to let you know something I found out recently: The peanut butter chocolate bar at Mylk Uncookies is not actually vegan 😦 I used to go by there every few weeks but they recently told me that the bars contain honey! I was not very impressed. But at least they are now properly labeled now so other unsuspecting vegans won’t make that mistake. Also they have a few new amazing vegan gluten free cookies that are always in stock. Glad you enjoyed your Toronto time.

    • December 17, 2011 5:39 pm

      Hmm, that’s too bad! I don’t mind honey personally, but I know a lot of vegans who do, so I’m glad to hear they got their labeling straightened out.

Leave a Comment

