Skip to content

My Favorite Things: July edition

August 1, 2011

Happy August, everyone! I’m taking a break today from blogging about my trip to Toronto to instead share with you a handful of products that I enjoyed this past month.

First up is Spread Health FoodsNutmeric Spreads. This stuff combines two of my favorite flavors in the world: curry and nut butter!

Turmeric root powder is a key ingredient in any curry, and it’s what gives curry powder its distinctive yellow hue. Curcumin is the main compound within turmeric, and it’s been found to have anti-inflammatory, heart-healthy, neuro-protective, and even anti-cancer properties. Score!

The classic Nutmeric (above, center) combines almond butter and turmeric; Mixed Nutmeric (above, right) is made with a variety of nuts + turmeric, and Nutmeric Ultra (above, left) contains almonds and curcumin extract, a form in which its benefits are even more powerful. As an added bonus, all three varieties include black pepper, which has been found to increase the bioavailability of turmeric/curcumin by up to 2000%. (One caveat: Nutmeric does contain honey, so it’s not strictly vegan.)

And on top of all that, Nutmeric is DELICIOUS! I mean, come on—curry plus nut butter? You can’t go wrong there.

I received a trio of single-serving Shake ‘n Go Smoothie packets from Vega, the vegan sports supplement company founded by none other than Ironman triathlete Brendan Brazier.

As promised, these smoothie mixes provide a quick and nutritious snack on the go. I like that they dissolve easily when mixed with water—you can even shake them up in a water bottle. The flavor of each one was a tad grassy, probably due to the inclusion of hemp protein, but for being such a wholesome, all-natural “convenience food,” they were great. Thanks, Vega!

I totally hit the jackpot with Emmy’s Organics! Emmy’s makes organic, raw, gluten-free, vegan goodies, and even uses biodegradable packaging. They sent me a plethora of macaroons to try, as well as a sample of their granola.

It’s hard to pick a “best” flavor among all these amazing choices! I’m not a mint lover, so I was surprised to find the Mint Chip variety to be one of my favorites. Ultimately, I’d lean towards the Coconut Vanilla as my #1 choice, but Matt liked the Dark Cacao ones best. All the varieties were tender, chewy, and just sweet enough.

The raw buckwheat-based granola was great too, especially with fresh berries and homemade almond milk. Thanks again, Emmy’s!

Lastly, Mark from Sprout Living introduced me to their raw, vegan, organic protein powders. There are four different types, including Sproutein, a superfood-sprouts powder with a modicum of protein, and Epic Protein, a sprouted, bio-fermented, whole grain organic brown rice protein powder.

Sprout Living makes two flavored varieties of the Epic Protein as well. The Chocolate Maca is Matt’s favorite, while I’m all about the Vanilla Lucuma!

These plant-based protein powders are incredible high-quality. Not only are they raw, vegan, gluten-free, and certified organic, they also contain a complete spectrum of amino acids (including BCAAs, the all-important branched-chain amino acids), and are easily-digestible and completely chemical-free. Consider me a fan, Sprout Living!

Question: What’s the best new-to-you product you tried in July?

32 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2011 12:25 pm

    Ooo! I tried making a curry nut butter once and it was tasty, so I’m sure those are wonderful. I’m really interested in that Epic Protein, the flavors sound delicious.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:08 pm

      There used to be a company that made curry PB, but they went out of business…I was happy to find a new one!

  2. August 1, 2011 1:08 pm

    I love Emmy’s cookies! A friend sent some to me for birthday last year and they were the first to be inhaled. So good!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:08 pm

      Now that’s what I call a b-day present! 🙂

  3. August 1, 2011 1:45 pm

    Chocolate Maca — yes please! YUM!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:08 pm

      Yes indeed! A magical combo, if there ever was one.

  4. August 1, 2011 3:30 pm

    Nutmeric!!? Must. Have. Now. 🙂 Actually, I’m currently sitting on a plan to San Fran, so I’ll have to hunt this down when I get there!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:09 pm

      I’m sure someplace in SF carries it!

  5. movesnmunchies permalink
    August 1, 2011 3:42 pm

    WHAT?? those spreads look amazing!

  6. August 1, 2011 4:44 pm

    I love reading your “favorites” posts!! I also did a review for Sprout Living and loved the chocolate maca and vanilla lucuma!!! YUM!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:09 pm

      The flavored varieties are definitely my favorites too!

  7. August 1, 2011 11:22 pm

    I discovered that a local organic fruit and veg shop makes its own raw treats, and by golly if I didn’t stand there naughtily having seconds (and sometimes, thirds) of samples of all the differet crackers, cookies, and kale chips… if only a tiny (as in, really, really tiny) packet of raw felafel didn’t cost $13!!

    I think I’d love that vanilla lucuma creation too and, of course, the curry nut butters! Phwoar!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:10 pm

      Raw treat SAMPLES?! I think I might try and LIVE there. 😛

  8. A Tablespoon of Liz permalink
    August 2, 2011 11:13 am

    Curry and nut butters are two things I would have never paired together, but now that you mention them, it doesn’t really sound that bad!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:10 pm

      It’s really a stunningly delicious combo!

  9. August 2, 2011 12:04 pm

    Nutmeric–what a fantastic idea! I think a coconut butter with turmeric would be hard to beat, both health-wise and taste-wise. You really did hit the jackpot–so many wonderful things! I’ve been curious about the Sproutein for a while: sounds like you’re giving it a thumbs up.

    The only new-to-me thing in July has been dried mulberries: yummy too.
    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 2, 2011 12:13 pm

      I LOVE dried mulberries! Matt’s partial to the more tart gooseberries/goldenberries, but I much prefer the seedy crunch of mulberries.

  10. August 2, 2011 4:04 pm

    Those nut butters and macaroons look dangerously intriguing…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:10 pm

      Dangerous indeed…for my waistline. 😉

  11. August 2, 2011 5:10 pm

    Fun!! Your mail person has been busy! I love reading about what bloggers are testing out!
    Vegas has sent me the shake and go before and I LOVE it, it’s awesome added into smoothies too!!

    Nice to see you back – I missed you!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:11 pm

      Haha, I know! The people at my apt. complex office can’t believe how many packages I get…

  12. August 2, 2011 7:36 pm

    Not sure I’ve really tried anything new lately. But, those nutbutters look awesome. And so does the Emmy’s stuff!!! Macaroons = Yum. And the raw buckwheat granola too. I need to do something with my buckwheat groats. They’re kind of just sitting there.

  13. August 3, 2011 10:15 pm

    That vanilla lucuma protein powder sounds tasty. I’m almost out of mine, so I think I’ll check that out and maybe give it a shot!

    I’ve heard of nutmeric before, but it’s one of those things I don’t know how I’d feel about, lol. Though, it does seem like it would make a good sauce for some noodles or something…

    On a side note, I can vouch for turmeric’s anti-inflammatory powers! I take it to help me out and it seriously works. I just ran out and I’m aching again so I need to get me another bottle (I just take capsules of turmeric powder). I didn’t know that black pepper increases it’s bio-availability though! That’s really interesting.

    As for trying anything new, I didn’t do too much of that in July. I hope to make up for that this month. 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:12 pm

      Wow, I didn’t realize there were turmeric PILLS! Makes sense, though. Maybe I should try some of those next time my knee is bothering me.

  14. August 4, 2011 2:01 pm

    I have a Choc-a-lot smoothie (milkshake) next to me right now. I love it with frozen banana, frozen cherries, and almond milk. Unfortunately, my favorite new product are those pico de gallo vegan Doritoes, can’t remember what they’re called. Too good, yikes.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:12 pm

      Haha! I haven’t had Doritos in years…

  15. August 5, 2011 1:12 pm

    You always try the best stuff!!!!!

  16. August 5, 2011 8:14 pm

    I’ve had that protein powder, which I loved, Emmy’s, which I loved and I want to try that Nutmeric! It looks and sounds amazing. I tried F.R.O.G jam for the first time and it is amazing!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:13 pm

      I hadn’t heard of F.R.O.G. jam, thanks for calling it to my attention!

  17. August 8, 2011 1:28 am

    LOVE the concept of your blog. Shouldn’t we all eat this way???

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:13 pm

      Thank you Donna! And yes, I personally believe we should 😀

  18. Kate permalink
    August 8, 2011 11:29 pm

    As a native Torontonian, I’m so glad you enjoyed Fresh! It’s my go-to restaurant and has greatly impressed many a non-veggie.

Leave a Comment