Skip to content
Toronto: Fresh Restaurant & Green Earth

August 8, 2011

Rewind to Sunday, June 12th, 2011…

After our unbelievable brunch at Live Food Bar, Matt and I spent the afternoon wandering up and down Queen Street West in downtown Toronto. When we’d finally worked our appetites back up, we headed to Fresh Restaurant‘s Bloor Street location for dinner.

We started out by sharing a Lucky Charm smoothie, with strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, and mango. Simple, but tasty.

Once I saw these Avocado-White Bean Dosas on the appetizer menu, I knew they had to be ours.

For his main dish, Matt ordered the vegan Mushroom Onion Burger with sweet potato fries and house mayo on the side.

I went with the Energy Bowl, which was clearly made for me: marinated tofu cubes, rich coconut curry sauce, and chickpea-vegetable stew, plus cucumber, tomato, red onion, and sunflower sprouts, all served over brown rice.

Tofu + chickpeas + curry = happy Amber.

For dessert, we grabbed a gluten-free chocolate chunk cookie to-go…

…as well as a quart of All Green Juice, which we shared for breakfast the following morning.

Before leaving Toronto that next day, we stopped for lunch at Green Earth Vegetarian Cuisine.

This restaurant is very much like a Loving Hut. We shared some red pepper hummus to start…

…and I had some hot jasmine tea.

Matt ate the Supreme Burrito, with textured vegetable proteins, rice, shredded lettuce, tomatoes, and mild salsa in a wheat tortilla.

I had the Chow Mein, with tofu, broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, green peppers, and soy protein. I ended up giving the soy protein pieces to Matt because they tasted JUST LIKE ham, of all things. The smell and taste of anything ham-like just completely disgusts me, but Matt used to like real ham, so he loved the flavor of the fake stuff.

Finally, before driving back south towards Buffalo to fly home, we made one last stop in Toronto, at Alternative Grounds coffeehouse.

Matt and I each got an almond milk latte, and we also picked up these Sweets From The Earth vegan treats for the road: a gluten-free walnut brownie and a piece of rich frosted chocolate fudge cake.

I was really pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed Toronto, and I already can’t wait to go back someday!

22 Comments leave one →
  1. Dani @ Body By Nature permalink
    August 8, 2011 12:19 pm

    I’m so happy you had a great time in Toronto! I love living here, especially as a vegan there are so many options and the community is incredible and supportive. Looking forward to reading more of your adventures!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:14 pm

      I was shocked at how vegan-friendly TO is. I can’t wait to come back!

  2. August 8, 2011 12:23 pm

    Yummy eats. Probably not a good thing to be seeing this while I am hungry.

  3. August 8, 2011 3:17 pm

    you need to write an ebook called “around the world….vegan style!!!” LOL
    I love looking at all of your restaurant eats!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:15 pm

      That’s not a bad idea! 😀

  4. August 8, 2011 4:49 pm

    That’s right…come back!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:15 pm

      I know I know! I MUST!

  5. August 8, 2011 7:48 pm

    I can’t believe how many amazing raw/vegan/vegetarian places there are! I’m so beyond jealous — they definitely need to step it up here on Maui!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:17 pm

      I’ve heard HI isn’t too vegan-friendly…but that doesn’t stop me from REALLY wanting to visit someday!

  6. August 8, 2011 9:22 pm

    Oh my gosh everything looks AMAZING! I wish we had food like that here in Regina, SK!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:15 pm

      Ditto for Kansas City, Missouri! 🙂

  7. August 9, 2011 12:37 am

    Sounds like you had a great time–and now you’re almost caught up on your adventures! Amazing how many they’ve been…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 9, 2011 9:04 am

      Oh, if only! There have been still other trips and blogworthy events this summer I’ve yet to get to…but being about 7 weeks behind isn’t so bad, right? Right? ;P

  8. August 9, 2011 5:47 am

    Oh heavens yes, avoid the ham! Always salty enough to make your tongue burn, yet strangely sweet and spongey at the same time…. *shudders*

    Also, I’m so predictable. The last spot is my pick of this post 😛

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:16 pm

      It’s the smell for me, I think. Ugh, just…ugh.

  9. August 9, 2011 11:33 am

    Gah! Gah! And Gah!

    Oh my goodness. You’re the world’s Traveling Blogger eating the most INCREDIBLE foods, my dear! I’m only slightly jealous… no, I’m totally jealous. These dishes make everything else in life seem dull…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:17 pm

      Aw, thank you love! If only I got paid to do this, right? 😛

  10. Tom permalink
    August 9, 2011 12:00 pm

    If you want to experience the city’s best you should visit SOMA Chocolatemaker, a chocolate bar located at King and Spadina. Just smelling all those flavors is a sensual experience like no other! Moreover, those chocolates are beautifully crafted and the price is pretty standard.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:17 pm

      Next time I’m in TO (and there WILL be a next time, someday!), I’ll have to check that out!

  11. August 9, 2011 9:58 pm

    So nice to see that you had a great trip! Loving your Toronto adventures – I’ve eaten at most of the places you’ve visited. Am reeally looking forward to Mylk Uncookies when I return in October!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:18 pm

      Thanks Heather! Can’t wait to hear what you think of Mylk Uncookies; it’s your type of place. 🙂

  12. August 10, 2011 10:18 am

    Absolutely amazing, the new vegan options now out in the world!

Leave a Comment

