Skip to content
Blogiversary, announcements, & contests

August 10, 2011

Short post today, as I’ve just got a few quick announcements to make!

#1 – Blogiversary
My 3-year blogiversary was last Friday! I wrote my first post on August 5th, 2008. I can’t believe I’ve been doing this for three years already. It took me nearly two years to even get any readers! I’m so thankful for how far I’ve come, especially this past year or so. Happy 3rd birthday, Almost Vegan!

#2 – Menuism Articles
I haven’t talked about my Menuism column in awhile, so I wanted to point you toward the last two raw-food-themed articles I’ve written: How To Eat Vegan and Raw While Traveling and How To “Cheat” On Your Raw Food Diet at a Restaurant. I hope you enjoy them!

#3 – Sunwarrior Smoothie Contest
Sunwarrior, makers of some of the best raw vegan protein powders out there, is holding a smoothie contest on their Facebook page, and I’m a contestant! My entry is this “Sunwarrior Cherry Smash Smoothie.” The contestant with the most “likes” on their photo wins a year’s supply of Sunwarrior, so I need your help! Please take a moment to click the photo below and “like” it (not to mention, nab the recipe!). (FYI: you do have to “like” Sunwarrior on Facebook before you can “like” my photo.) If you guys help me win this, not only will I love you forever, but I’ll also hold a giveaway for a bag of Sunwarrior!

Please click the photo below and “like” it! Voting ends Monday, 8/15. Thank you!!

#4 – American Vegan Kitchen Facebook Giveaway
The Almost Vegan Facebook page now has over 1,700 fans, which makes my heart flutter with joy, but I’ve got a pretty ambitious goal: to reach 2,000 fans by the time I go to Vida Vegan Con at the end of August. Think I can do it? I need your help for this one, too!
a) If you don’t yet “like” Almost Vegan on Facebook, please do so!
b) I’d love it if you’d use the “Share” feature on Facebook (located at the bottom of the left-hand sidebar of any page) to also suggest the AV page to your friends.

If I can reach my goal of 2,000 fans by month’s end, one lucky, randomly chosen Facebook fan will win a copy of Tamasin Noyes‘ amazing book American Vegan Kitchen!

Thanks so much in advance, guys, for all your help with the Sunwarrior smoothie contest and the Facebook fan gathering. I have the best readers ever!
I’ll be back soon with even more travel eats, plus a delightful raw “energy cookie” recipe!

22 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2011 1:10 pm

    Your smoothie looks so good. I have to have my smoothie fix in the mornings! πŸ™‚ I need to try the Sunwarrior protein powder. As soon as I run out of my Amazing Grass, I’ll have to order some. I hope your photo wins!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:19 pm

      As far as rice proteins go, Sunwarrior is pretty much the best. πŸ™‚

  2. August 10, 2011 1:29 pm

    Voted for your smoothie…it looks delish!
    :)))

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:19 pm

      Thank you so much for doing that!

  3. August 10, 2011 2:45 pm

    Happy Blogiversary!! Your smoothie sounds delicious! πŸ˜€

  4. bitt permalink
    August 10, 2011 8:02 pm

    happy bloggiversary!

    unfortunately i already got asked to vote for someone on the contest and she rarely asks for anything so i voted for her. i wish i had a million votes to go around. already a fan on facebook!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 10, 2011 8:03 pm

      They haven’t said you can’t “like” more than one πŸ˜‰
      Either way, thanks anyway!

  5. August 10, 2011 8:36 pm

    Happy 3rd blogiversary!

  6. August 10, 2011 8:39 pm

    Happy Blogiversary! πŸ™‚

  7. August 11, 2011 6:16 am

    Congratulations my inspiring, courageous, taking-on-the-world-and-winning beautiful friend! Love you!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:19 pm

      Thank you thank you! Love YOU, miss!

  8. August 11, 2011 9:06 am

    Aren’t you just full of so many good news! Hope my ‘liking’ of your pic helps out your win and I must say I REALLY do like it, a lot, its a shame there’s no ‘love’ button! xx

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:20 pm

      Thank you SO much, Tanya! I’m way behind in the votes, so every vote helps at this point! πŸ™‚

  9. August 11, 2011 7:14 pm

    Happy Happy Blogiversary!! 3 years…wow…beautiful!!!! We are so blessed to have had you spreading your joy for 3 years!! Plus many more to come πŸ™‚

    xxoo

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:20 pm

      Aw, thank you Kris! ::blush::

  10. August 11, 2011 7:34 pm

    wow, so much going on!! congrats and I’m off to vote!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:20 pm

      I REALLY appreciate it! πŸ˜€

  11. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    August 12, 2011 8:10 am

    I just liked your smoothie πŸ™‚ And Happy Blogiversary! Three years of blogging is quite an accomplishment

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 13, 2011 12:20 pm

      Thank you so much, Brittany!

  12. August 12, 2011 1:32 pm

    Happy Blogiversary! I am so glad you stopped by mine. Can’t wait to read more!

  13. August 16, 2011 8:35 am

    Voted for you πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 17, 2011 12:34 pm

      Thank you so much, Becky!

Leave a Comment

