Skip to content

3 visits to French Meadow Bakery in Minneapolis

August 19, 2011

Hi all! Hope you’ve had a good week, and are gearing up for a great weekend. It sounds like quite a few of you have already made my sunny raw cashew-apricot energy cookies—that makes me so happy! Keep the comments coming on those. And if you missed my last post about Gateway Market in Des Moines and Ecopolitan in Minneapolis, do check it out! I can’t believe no one’s commented yet about the Stephen Hawking photo. Where’re my fellow nerds at?!

Now, on to more travel eats!
Rewind to 4th of July weekend, 2011…

During our long weekend in Minneapolis, Matt and I found ourselves at French Meadow Bakery & Café no less than three times. The first bakery in the country to be certified organic, French Meadow also proudly declares that they “cater to our customers’ special dietary needs, allergies, and concerns for healthy foods.” In other words, they have lots of vegetarian, vegan, and gluten-free options. Bravo!

We stopped in for dinner the first night we arrived in MN. Matt ordered the Black Barley Risotto: roasted winter vegetables with dried sour cherries, pistachio butter, and spinach, tossed with heirloom black barley. I thought this was a really unique and visually arresting dish, and Matt said it was tasty.

Though I’m normally not a sandwich person, for whatever reason, I went straight for the Thai Tempeh Sandwich: Thai-spiced tempeh cakes, red bell pepper, green onions, fresh cilantro, and ginger-peanut sauce on organic Healthy Hemp bread, plus seasoned roasted potato wedges on the side.

Though the potatoes were kind of “eh,” the sandwich was awesome, especially that peanut sauce!

We were too full for dessert that night, but we made up for it by coming back two nights later just for French Meadow’s vegan desserts.

We shared the Seasonal Fruit Crisp, which came with apples that day. The shortbread-like topping tasted incredibly rich and buttery—delish!

We also shared the Decadent Turtle Cake. Oh, snap.

Layers of ultra-moist chocolate cake hugged fragrant toasted pecans and ooey-gooey caramel sauce. This is the kind of cake that could instantly convince a non-vegan that vegan food is AMAZING.

We returned to French Meadow for a third and final time before we left town that Monday. We couldn’t resist the allure of their breakfast menu! Matt ate this vegan Breakfast Burrito: a flour tortilla stuffed with tofu scramble, black bean chili, scallions, and golden hashbrowns, served with house made salsa and sourdough toast.

He devoured it, and loved every bite.

I selected the Classic Vegan Breakfast: organic tofu scramble with vegan sausage, golden hashbrowns, and organic Healthy Hemp toast. Talk about hearty! All the elements of this meal were yumtastic.

The fact that we ate three meals at French Meadow Bakery & Café in a span of five days should tell you how much we loved the place. Here I am during our last visit to French Meadow, contemplating its awesomeness and already scheming how to get back.

One more Minneapolis post is coming up!

3 years ago…
No posts this week
2 years ago…
Spiced red lentil soup
1 year ago…
Raw cumin-walnut flatbread/crackers

29 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2011 1:02 pm

    My gosh, everything looks fantastic as always!!! That turtle cake has my mouth watering it looks so good!!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:20 pm

      What I wouldn’t give for another piece of it right now… 😉

  2. August 19, 2011 1:53 pm

    Yum, those are some very decadent-looking desserts!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:20 pm

      For sure! I can’t believe we ate them both.

  3. August 19, 2011 2:46 pm

    I used to live in MN and always appreciated that the MSP airport had a French Meadow. Since I had a nice expense account, I always got some good eats when traveling for work. It made the Sunday traveling a little less painful.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:20 pm

      Someone else told me that the airport had a French Meadow – that’s so cool!

  4. August 19, 2011 3:02 pm

    I really wish there were more restaurants like that here in Orlando – I’ve just found one exclusively vegan restaurant right near my apartment that I keep making up excuses to try, but I’d love to find more. Especially with desserts that look as awesome as that crumble!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:22 pm

      The whole world needs more vegan restaurants! 🙂

  5. August 19, 2011 4:35 pm

    That all looks sooo good! I ordered some breads from them once (sprouted), then they stopped selling online. And now I’m so sad, because I can’t find their stuff anywhere 😦 Lucky you!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:22 pm

      I didn’t know they ever sold online! Too bad they don’t anymore. 😦

  6. August 19, 2011 8:00 pm

    Wow, that turtle cake sounds SO good. And some hefty servings too, which often doesn’t happen.
    PS I did make the sunny apricot bars! With orange juice and zest – and I loved them. Great job.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:23 pm

      YES, the serving sizes were insane!

      YAY for the apricot bars! I’m happy to hear you loved them!

  7. August 19, 2011 11:01 pm

    VNV Nation is playing Minneapolis on November 28th per Matt’s friend Elizabeth R. Could be an excuse to go back…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:23 pm

      Ooh, good to know and keep in mind…

  8. August 19, 2011 11:04 pm

    And that’s also the kind of cake to make someone who usually is absolutely uninterested in cakes swoon! 🙂

    P.S. You look like a goddess in that photo. Beautiful lady! xo

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:23 pm

      You look like a goddess in EVERY photo. 🙂

  9. Jessica Berghoff permalink
    August 20, 2011 10:46 am

    This is an awesome post! I just moved to Minneapolis about a month ago for school and I’ve been wondering what vegetarian/vegans were around. So awesome to hear about this and have an idea of whats on the menu do. Love your blog so much =]

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 20, 2011 12:04 pm

      Aw, thank you Jessica! I’m glad to be able to help 🙂 Did you already read my last post about Ecopolitan? Also, on Monday, I’ll be writing about Seward Cafe and Galactic Pizza, so stay tuned!

  10. August 20, 2011 2:39 pm

    Haha, love the contemplation photo and the Turtle Cake. Oh, snap, indeed. 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:24 pm

      Hehe!

  11. August 21, 2011 2:48 am

    wow that cake looks amazing! im surprised it stood up it looks so tall! no doubt de-lish-shush!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:24 pm

      I know! Our waitress must’ve been very careful while walking to the table.

  12. August 21, 2011 4:17 pm

    Oh my gosh, that cake looks amazing!
    I wish I could have a bite right now. 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:25 pm

      That makes two of us!

  13. August 22, 2011 7:18 pm

    Someone just commented on my blog and recommended your site! It’s awesome girl!
    All of those eats look fabulous, and I’m dying to try that cake, it’s looks so fudge-y!!! 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:26 pm

      Glad you found me, Lizzie! 🙂

  14. Lacey permalink
    August 24, 2011 3:06 pm

    Although I live in Minneapolis, about the only time I make it to French Meadow is when I’m going on vacation – they have another in the MSP airport! That burrito is my favorite!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:26 pm

      So I hear! That’s an awesome option to have.

Leave a Comment

