Skip to content

Minneapolis: Seward Café & Galactic Pizza

August 22, 2011

Rewind to 4th of July weekend, 2011…

I have two more meals to show you from our trip to Minneapolis, the first of which is Sunday Brunch at Seward Community Café. Seward Café is a collectively owned and run eatery that focuses on local, organic, and sustainable food, and offers tons of veg options.

Matt started with a simple blueberry-peach smoothie.

For his main dish, Matt got the vegan B&G Deluxe: two biscuits with steamed broccoli, grilled mushrooms, and garlic, topped with cashew-mushroom gravy, tomatoes, and scallions. The gravy was a little bit chunky, but Matt liked it.

We shared a side of thickly-shredded hash browns…

…and I ate the Tempeh Scramble: tamari-seasoned tempeh stir-fried with broccoli and carrots over brown rice, with tahini-slathered wheat toast. The tempeh was terrific and the veggies were perfectly-cooked. I’ve never thought to top toast with just tahini before, but I love the idea! All in all, we thought our brunch at Seward Café was top-notch.

For dinner that night, we went to Galactic Pizza on Lyndale Avenue. Galactic Pizza’s superhero-themed “Planet Saving Pizza” vision isn’t just kitsch. They’re extremely eco-conscious and engage in a number of “values-led activities”.

They also have a 3D menu that you read with the aid of special glasses, as you see Matt stylin’ here. Definitely a unique feature for a restaurant!

You can order any of their pies, no matter how meat-laden, vegan; they simply replace the meat with a corresponding meat substitute (they even have “mock duck”!) and sub in a “gourmet mozzarella alternative” for the cheese. We ended up just building our own pizza, though, with phony pepperoni, vegan sausage, and green peppers, plus mushrooms and onions on Matt’s half. It was a little skimpy on toppings, but delicious nonetheless, especially their tender-but-chewy-but-crunchy-on-the-edges crust.

We had a great time in Minneapolis, both at our steampunk sci-fi convention and at the various restaurants – Ecopolitan, French Meadow Bakery, Seward Café, and Galactic Pizza – that we visited. We shall return!

3 years ago…
Almost vegan in Dallas I
2 years ago…
August leftovers
1 year ago…
Almost vegan in Europe: one year later

22 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2011 10:46 am

    ha ha ha, I like that picture of Matt with the 3D glasses. You HAVE been busy!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:27 pm

      Hehe, I couldn’t resist posting that one 😛

  2. August 22, 2011 1:52 pm

    This is why I love your blog, you show that you can eat out at restaurants and still maintain a healthy, vegan lifestyle!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:27 pm

      Aw, thank you Jen! I try 🙂

  3. August 22, 2011 5:27 pm

    You make traveling as a(n almost) vegan sound so much fun. 3d glasses for menu perusal is a new one on me!

    Tahini as a spread–why of course! Tahini and miso–even better…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 22, 2011 5:31 pm

      Ooh, GOOD call on the tahini + miso idea – a hit of salt was exactly what that toast was missing!

  4. August 22, 2011 11:37 pm

    I love tahini on toast (actually, lie! I adore tahini on English muffins), though it always feels more rich and intense than other nut butters. I tend to add a bit of raw honey or maple syrup to cut through (sweet tooth!) 🙂

    Also, that biscuit dish? Despite my aversion to the bog-standard grey-oooooky American gravy, I kinda do want to see what that tastes like 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:28 pm

      I want a toasted and tahini’d English muffin right now!! With raw honey, nom!

  5. August 23, 2011 11:49 am

    WOW….everything you and Matt ate looks sooo good! One of these days I’m going to find a cool vegan place to eat at. :o) I always love seeing what you find good out to eat!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:28 pm

      Thanks, Michelle!

  6. August 23, 2011 1:51 pm

    Okay, so I have missed a lot of your blog posts!! I have been mia from the blogosphere for awhile!!! I am always so jealous that you can find so many cool restaurants like the ones you travel to!!! So much fun and the food always looks amazing!!!!!!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:29 pm

      I wondered where you’ve been! 🙂

  7. August 24, 2011 8:19 am

    Thank goodness I’m about to ship off to Portland tomorrow, because you’re giving me a serious case of wanderlust here! I can’t wait to do a bit of traveling myself- hopefully I stumble upon some good food finds like these too.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 24, 2011 8:43 am

      I’ll be seeing you in Portland! Can’t wait!

  8. August 24, 2011 8:24 am

    That tempeh scramble and pizza look pretty much amazing! And I love your name….it has such a nice flow. 🙂

    Thanks for popping by my blog, BTW!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:29 pm

      Aw, you think my name has a nice flow? Teehee. Thanks!

  9. Kim IsThatGlutenFree permalink
    August 24, 2011 8:49 am

    I’m going to Minneapolis in Oct, and now that I have read this I have a bit less leg work than I usually have to do before I travel somewhere, now to just convince the other people traveling with me that it’s just as good as “meat and potatoes”…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:30 pm

      I’m so glad I could help, Kim!

  10. August 24, 2011 8:49 am

    Me so jealous of your vegan adventures 🙂 Great tip on the Tahini!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:30 pm

      Yeah! I still need to implement it at home.

  11. Kim permalink
    October 18, 2011 2:04 pm

    If you return you need to check out a place called Pizza Luce, they have a few locations and they have awesome vegan pizzas and hoagies, and a great selection of vegan brunch items.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 18, 2011 4:00 pm

      Cool, thanks for the suggestion! I’ll definitely have to check them out next time.

Leave a Comment

