Skip to content
VVC day 1: meet & greet, Vegucated, Voodoo Doughnuts

August 26, 2011

Happy Friday! This post is coming at you live from the first-ever Vida Vegan Blogger Conference in beautiful Portland, Oregon. The past 24 hours have been a whirlwind—and the conference hasn’t even officially begun! (It starts in T-minus 1.5 hours…) So much has happened already that I better start sharing it with you ASAP.

Matt and I had a long morning of travel, from 4:45am Central time (2:45am Pacific), when we woke up, to 11am Pacific time, when we arrived at our hotel. We caught a nap, then took a bus over to Vendetta for the informal meet & greet happy hour there. I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many vegans in one place! The who’s who of the vegan blogging world was in attendance; if you look closely, you can spot Isa Moskowitz and Terry Romero in the photo below.

Matt ate a vegan Sloppy Jane sandwich while we mixed and mingled.

I got to meet and hang out with so many people I “know” from the internet, including Jill of Vegan Backpacker and Cat of The Verdant Life

…the super-sweet Natalia KW, a fellow raw chef whose work I adore (do yourself a huge favor and check out her e-books!)…

…one of my favorite bloggers of all time, Dynise of The Urban Vegan

…and Bianca of Vegan Crunk (again with Cat of The Verdant Life).

Robert Cheeke, webmaster of VeganBodybuilding.com and author of Vegan Bodybuilding & Fitness, was even there!

Matt was especially excited about that. We’ve both read and enjoyed his book.

I met numerous other fellow bloggers too, like Jess, Janessa, JL, Fran, Kelly, Julia, and so many more!

After the meet & greet, the group walked en masse to the nearby Curious Comedy Theatre for a sneak peak showing of the new documentary Vegucated. During the movie, Matt and I snacked on red pepper hummus with olive tapenade, carrot sticks, and pita wedges…

…as well as a fruit salad with agave reduction. Vegucated was an amazing film; it was powerful without being abrasive. I was really pleased to hear they’re soon going to tour with it, giving screenings all across the country. If you get a chance to see it, DO!

After the film, Matt and I joined Jill and John of Vegan Backpacker and their couch-surfing hosts Amanda and Matt for a stroll. We walked over to The Bye and Bye, a well-known all-vegan bar, looking forward to drinks and snacks, but they were inexplicably closed. After wandering up and down Alberta Street a little bit, we decided to ditch the bar plan and instead hit up one of Portland’s most famous establishments: Voodoo Doughnuts.

Voodoo Doughnuts is open 24 hours, yet they almost always have a line out the door! It was well, well worth the wait, though—their vegan doughnuts are out of this world.

Matt and I somehow narrowed it down to just three. We shared an adorable, raspberry-jam-filled Voodoo Doll doughnut, which was soft and fluffy as a cloud.

This humongous Apple Fritter was crusted with a sugary glaze and stuffed with chunks of apple.

I’m not usually big on cake doughnuts, but this cookies ‘n cream Dirt Doughnut was also fantastic!

Jill, John, and Amanda went all out and shared a 14-piece sampler box. I can’t even begin to list off what each of these is, but they were all vegan and all delicious.

John graciously offered us bites of any we wanted, and though we had plenty of our own doughnutty goodness to eat, I couldn’t resist a few bites of the Portland Cream doughnut, which was filled with the most outrageously incredible vegan Bavarian cream filling imaginable. I’m pretty sure I dreamed about this doughnut later that night. HEAVENLY!

Our late-night Voodoo Doughnuts run was definitely a good call, and despite all that sugar, Matt and I slept like babies last night.

Next up, I’ll tell you about the tour of Bob’s Red Mill that we went on this morning…then, the conference itself!

I wish you all could be here with us at Vida Vegan Con!

3 years ago…
Vegan Tex-Mex
2 years ago…
No posts this week…I was in Europe!
1 year ago…
Raw cashew-macadamia nut hummus

27 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2011 6:56 pm

    It was so nice to meet you two yesterday! Hah- I’m not in any of the Voodoo shots, but I spotted myself in the group shot, chatting with Kittee and Kim. Fun!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:37 pm

      Thanks again for the ride to Voodoo Dougnuts! 😀

  2. August 26, 2011 6:56 pm

    That looks like a really fun event. I loved Voodoo Doughnuts when we visited Portland a few years ago, every single doughnut was divine!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:37 pm

      I want a Voodoo Doughnuts in my town! No, every town!

  3. August 26, 2011 7:15 pm

    What a great first day! I’m so glad to have met you!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:37 pm

      So glad to meet you too! I’m very interested in hearing about these “ideas” you spoke of…

  4. August 26, 2011 9:50 pm

    I am super jealous. Keep having a great time.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 3, 2011 12:54 pm

      You should come to the next one in 2013!

  5. August 26, 2011 10:26 pm

    WOw, definitely sounds whirlwindy! HAve lots of fun!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 3, 2011 12:54 pm

      For sure! 😀

  6. August 26, 2011 10:45 pm

    OMG vegan cupcakes!!!! yum! 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 3, 2011 12:54 pm

      I know, right? Heaven.

  7. August 27, 2011 12:25 am

    I’m so happy for you, my darling, and yet so deeply, deeply, envious that it almost hurts of everyone who is getting the chance to hug you in person. Amber, I hate that we have this stupid ocean between us! I miss you more than I’ve ever missed anyone I’ve not actually met 😉

    Keep having an amazing time! xo

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:38 pm

      So many times during this conference, I wished for YOUR presence.

      Please come to the next one in 2013!?

      • September 1, 2011 6:12 pm

        Darling, did you really and truly think of me here? I honestly wouldn’t have thought you would have had time! *smiles and smiles*

        Also… right now, I would be very seriously considering that. 2013 is so far away though! 😦 I just got an email about $1400 return flights to the US and it was like a dagger in my heart.

      • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
        September 1, 2011 6:15 pm

        But…but…but I want you there!
        You know, too, that September is probably the best time to visit the Midwest. The weather cools off a little, lots of fun events happen, and ooh! I could take you to the KC Renaissance Festival…keep this in mind for next year! 😉

  8. August 27, 2011 12:46 am

    Dang those donuts and that Sloppy Jane! And Robert Cheeke! Kevin has his book collecting dust on the bedside table. Must get him to read it soon!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:40 pm

      Need…more…vegan…doughnuts…

  9. Dani @ Body By Nature permalink
    August 27, 2011 9:05 am

    Such a fabulous event, I’m sad I’m missing out! Have an amazing time! Make sure you say hello to the Vegan Lisa of Vegan Culinary Crusade, she’s the best 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:39 pm

      Yes, I finally got to meet Lisa! She’s an absolute doll!

  10. August 27, 2011 4:54 pm

    Looks like fun!

    Love that art on the Voodoo Doughnut box, too!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 3, 2011 12:55 pm

      Me too! The boxes, and the whole building, were super cute.

  11. August 27, 2011 7:40 pm

    So JEALOUS of your trip to VooDoo Doughnuts!! Austin and I visited Portland a few years ago, and ended up making multiple “vegan doughnut runs” while we were there– they’re addictive!!

    Looks like a fun trip!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:39 pm

      Addictive is right! I’m going through withdrawals.

  12. August 29, 2011 10:21 am

    Those donuts look insane. I’d be in a sugar-coma after a few bites, but it might just be worth it.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:39 pm

      Yep, that’s what happened to us…and it was so worth it.

Leave a Comment

