Skip to content
VVC day 2, part 1: Bob’s Red Mill tour

August 27, 2011

Yesterday morning, as the final preparations for this weekend’s Vida Vegan Blogger Conference in Portland were being put into place, a group of us attendees decided to take a field trip to the Bob’s Red Mill headquarters in nearby Milwaukie, Oregon.

Tour time!

I always like learning about “how stuff works,” so I enjoyed seeing some of the inner workings of their factory.

Did you know Bob’s Red Mill makes 450 different whole-grain products? I knew they made a lot, but not that many!

After the tour, we drove just a mile down the road…

…to their Whole Grain Store & Visitors Center.

Bob’s Red Mill sells every one of their 450 products in this store.

They also have a café inside. As we were about to get in line to order, guess who we ran into? Bob himself! It was awesome to meet the face of the company, and he looks great for his age (82).

The café has numerous vegetarian, vegan, and gluten-free options; Matt went for the Cottage Potatoes with French bread toast.

I ordered the Vegan French Toast. These were the thickest, fluffiest, whole-grainiest slices of French toast I’ve ever eaten!

After lunch, Matt and I went through the store aisle-by-aisle…

…and walked away with a pretty nice haul: brown rice flour, gluten-free all-purpose baking flour, apple cinnamon hot cereal, steel-cut oats, xanthan gum, guar gum, and free samples of Mighty Tasty hot cereal, muesli, and cinnamon raisin granola.

It was a fun little excursion! And just hours later, the madness of Vida Vegan Con commenced…stay tuned.

QUESTION: What’s your favorite whole grain?

21 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2011 5:07 pm

    Looks like so much fun!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 3, 2011 1:11 pm

      It was! Totally with a trip if you’re ever in Portland.

  2. August 27, 2011 6:13 pm

    I keep thinking I should go check that place out when I go see my in-laws in OR! Looks awesome–thanks for the inspiration.

    I’m really warming up to amaranth at the moment.
    love
    Ela

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 3, 2011 1:11 pm

      I recommend it! 🙂

  3. August 27, 2011 8:26 pm

    That looks like so much fun! I can’t even count how many Bob’s Red Mill products I have–I have dozens and love them all. Excellent, excellent quality everything. I’d love to visit and take the tour and SHOP! 🙂

    And how cool is it to meet Bob himself? Very! hehe

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:41 pm

      Ditto, I’ve tried more Bob’s products than I can count.

  4. August 27, 2011 8:50 pm

    I like oat bran a lot, but whole wheat things are pretty much a staple in my diet! It’s so awesome that you met Bob! He looks a bit younger than 82!! 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:41 pm

      I’m a whole grain girl, too 🙂

  5. August 27, 2011 9:54 pm

    I love stuff from Bob’s Red Mill. If I’m ever in Oregon, I would definitely hit up the tour and the shop, lol. I have a special fondness for his products. A big pot of his Vegi Soup mix (with the mix of lentils, barley, and split peas) with tomatoes and spinach was the first thing I made as a new vegan. Once I had a bowl of that hearty stew, I knew it was gonna be alright. 🙂

    As for my favorite whole grain… I really love oats and brown rice, so it’s a tie. However, if it’s a whole grain I’ll pretty much love it no matter what! Mmm… carbs…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:41 pm

      The shop is amazing! Like a whole grain playground.

  6. August 28, 2011 12:46 am

    OH MY GOD YOU MET SANTA.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 3, 2011 1:12 pm

      HAHA! I wonder why he didn’t ask me what I wanted for X-mas? ::harrumph::

      • September 3, 2011 7:00 pm

        Maybe because you have ‘most everything you’ve ever wanted?

        Except for me by your side. He should’ve offered you that.

        SANTAPIMP.

  7. August 28, 2011 11:04 am

    I’m so jealous!! I love Bob’s Red Mill. I’d love to get to that store one day….alas, it’s so far from here. I hope you’re having an awesome time at the convention 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 3, 2011 1:12 pm

      If you’re ever in Portland, definitely check out the Bob’s store!

  8. August 28, 2011 2:41 pm

    I can’t wait to hear more about your trip!! I checked out some of the pictures and it looked so great! So cool you got to meet Bob Mills too!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 3, 2011 1:13 pm

      Yeah! So funny to see the “character” on the Bob’s packages in real life.

  9. August 28, 2011 8:26 pm

    how cool! i love to see how things are done too

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 3, 2011 1:14 pm

      🙂

  10. August 29, 2011 8:45 am

    I’m so jealous you got to tour Bob’s Red Mill! I eat their muesli for breakfast every day!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:42 pm

      I got a sample of the muesli but haven’t tried it yet! Looks good, though.

Leave a Comment

