Skip to content
VVC day 3, part 1: breakfast of champions

August 31, 2011

On the first official day of Vida Vegan Con (Saturday), we were treated to probably the most epic vegan breakfast buffet ever created.

I apologize for all my terrible photos, but the lighting in there was not favorable, and I was just trying to get out of everyone’s way as quickly as possible!

There was fresh fruit galore (even more than you see above) and big bowls of raw chia pudding, plus a variety of flavors of SoDelicious coconut milk yogurt, including the new Greek-style ones that aren’t even on store shelves yet!

There were bagels with peanut butter and the Earth Balance coconut spread I reviewed last week.

Matt and I are both fiends for breakfast potatoes, and these were fantastic.

The tofu scramble was loaded with spinach and mushrooms.

The pancakes were gluten-free, and served with maple syrup.

The gluten-free biscuits and white-bean-based gravy were a highlight for me.

The baked apple cobbler was just icing on the cake. Wowyumwow, so good.

There was also a coffee bar, with all the SoDelicious coconut milks and creamers and Earth Balance soymilks you could ever want.

When it came to loading up my plate, suffice it to say I didn’t hold back. This was not a time for restraint, people!

Our fearless leaders Janessa, Jess, and Michele gave a quick good-morning speech…

…before all 300-or-so of us bloggers went on to attend a day full of classes and panels.

There’s still lots more to come!

QUESTION: What would be on YOUR fantasy vegan breakfast buffet?

26 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2011 1:57 pm

    That apple cobbler is pretty high on the list….some sort of breakfast casserole.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 3, 2011 1:20 pm

      Ooh yeah, b-fast casserole! Good call.

  2. Julia Moran Martz permalink
    August 31, 2011 2:05 pm

    The spicy potato fried were awesome. And the pancakes. The French toast at Bob’s Red Mill store was great too.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 3, 2011 1:20 pm

      Pretty much everything was magical. ::sigh:: I wanna go back!

  3. August 31, 2011 2:12 pm

    Well a photo of me exists – can I borrow it for my blog? (It is the bottom photo) I am embarrassed to say the only photos I had time to take were of Fran’s cake class!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 31, 2011 2:16 pm

      Of course! Feel free ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. August 31, 2011 2:22 pm

    Wow, that breakfast buffet looks like heaven… I wish I had been there, although I’m positive I would have eaten way too much!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 31, 2011 2:44 pm

      That’s pretty much what all of us did…my pants don’t fit me as well as when I got there… ๐Ÿ˜›

  5. August 31, 2011 3:47 pm

    I loved the breakfast!! I’m a big fan of scrambles and they did it right, and I will never complain about dessert with breakfast – that cobbler was amazing! as were the potatoes, especially with the gravy!

    I WANT TO GO BACK!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 3, 2011 1:21 pm

      I think I liked the breakfasts even better than either of the lunches! Why can’t there be a VVC every weekend? ::cries::

  6. August 31, 2011 4:26 pm

    Dude, I totally missed the Greek yogurt, even though the So Delicious man told me the night before they’d have it out. Sucksville. And I missed the coconut spread. Super-sucksville. But I did eat an entire mug of that gravy.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 3, 2011 1:22 pm

      Truth be told, it wasn’t THAT much thicker than their regular yogurts. But it was still tasty. That coconut spread is frickin’ amazing; did you at least get a coupon for a free container from the EB table?

  7. August 31, 2011 5:08 pm

    omg im so jealous of you and your eats!!!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 3, 2011 1:23 pm

      Wish you coulda been there, Lizzie! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. August 31, 2011 6:01 pm

    Looks amazing!!! WOW vegan Greek yogurt coming…hadn’t even heard of it until now…I’ll be on the lookout!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 3, 2011 1:23 pm

      Yes! I don’t know when it’ll be on store shelves, but I’m looking forward to it.

  9. August 31, 2011 8:25 pm

    I think my favorites of it all would be the raw chia pudding with fruit and the Greek yogurt! I can’t wait to see that in stores!
    Question, though: I see a lot of posts about these meals at VVC – how much of it was included in the ticket price? Did you pay for any meals there, or was it all included? Sorry – I hope that’s not a tacky question! Don’t answer it if you don’t want to. (Maybe it would be better to ask what was included in the ticket price?)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      August 31, 2011 8:48 pm

      Breakfast and lunch were included each day of the conference! As for the other stuff, like late-night doughnut runs, we were on our own. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. September 1, 2011 6:09 am

    My ideal vegan breakfast buffet, if it wasn’t this one, would be the raw mini cheezecake buffet you’ve promised me. And if anyone says that’s not proper breakfast food, I say pah! Go hard or go home, right?

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 3, 2011 1:23 pm

      Of course the mini cheezecake buffet. It. Will. Happen.

  11. A Tablespoon of Liz permalink
    September 1, 2011 8:07 am

    Yum that all looks so amazing… normally at a buffet there’s always things I can’t eat, but at this one, everything would be up for grabs, it must be amazing!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 3, 2011 1:24 pm

      I KNOW, I think all of our heads were spinning from all the choices!

  12. September 1, 2011 2:31 pm

    Oh wow, that is one amazing breakfast buffet!! I would love a vegan buffet like this! I sometimes make brunch for my friend with my vegan favorits: Pancakes, potato, fruits, raw brownies, salad. All the yummis ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 3, 2011 1:24 pm

      Can I just say, your friends are LUCKY people! ๐Ÿ˜›

  13. Bliss Doubt permalink
    September 2, 2011 3:59 pm

    I can’t resist a question like that. My fantasy breakfast is excellent coffee with almond milk, tempeh bacon and plenty of it, breakfast potatoes, sliced tomatoes, flour tortillas, salsa, orange wedges or freshly squeezed juice, a bloody mary or two, and coffee cake. Then I’d put roots into my couch and watch cartoons.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 2, 2011 4:00 pm

      Now that is what I call a breakfast! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Comment

