Skip to content
VVC day 3, part 2: lunch, Galarama, late-night snacks

September 1, 2011

The Saturday lunch buffet at Vida Vegan Con was barbecue-themed, which didn’t excite me as much as it did other people (I’m an ethnic-food girl; what can I say). Nonetheless, I filled up on raw yellow beet salad, orzo salad, pesto potato salad, grilled asparagus/red peppers/corn, raw purple cauliflower hummus, and more apple crisp.

Matt ate the two items I didn’t partake of: barbecued tempeh and kale salad.

Luna & Larry’s Coconut Bliss bars were offered as dessert; Matt had Dark Chocolate while I chose the Naked Coconut.

I attended the Travel Panel, Nutrition Panel, and Vegan Battle Royale (blogger trivia!) in the morning, and the Dating & Mating Panel in the afternoon. Matt and I then got cleaned up and hopped a bus across the river to attend that night’s Galarama & Silent Auction at the Ambridge Event Center.

There was lots of finger food provided by The Vegan Caterer, including Gardein chick’n tenders, seitan sliders, bruschetta with spinach-artichoke dip, and raw collard-veggie rolls.

We also barely snagged a couple pieces of pizza from Sizzle Pie; it disappeared quickly!

I took advantage of a photo op with Christy, The Blissful Chef, whom I hadn’t seen since our dinner in Dallas a few months ago. (Don’t you like our cute dresses? I got mine for $14 at an antique store earlier this summer!)

Here’s me, Brit, Cat, and Bianca at the Galarama.

For dessert, there was a Coconut Bliss ice cream sundae bar. Yes, seriously. Chocolate or vanilla coconut milk ice cream, Ricemallow Cream, melted peanut butter, chocolate syrup, caramel sauce, vegan sprinkles, chopped peanuts, and even maraschino cherries. Ohh, mama.

Red wine + ice cream sundaes = silly-happy vegans.

After the Galarama, we ventured out to the vegan strip mall and hit up Food Fight, the all-vegan grocery store. I nabbed some gyros-style seitan, which Matt and I ate the next day on the potato-rosemary bread we bought at Bob’s Red Mill.

Upton’s Naturals had a pop-up sandwich shop set up in the back of Food Fight, and I couldn’t say no to this seitan-eggplant-aioli-focaccia sandwich.

Sweet Pea Bakery is pretty much right next door, so even though I could not have been less hungry at that point, I had to have one of these raspberry-jam-filled Danish Pinwheels.

By then we were spent, and headed back to the hotel full and happy.

There’s still one more day of Vida Vegan Con left for me to blog about!

QUESTION: Any fun plans for the long weekend?

30 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2011 3:13 pm

    Of course you realize that *all* food is ethnic, right? πŸ˜‰

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 3:14 pm

      Yes, of course, but I mean the generally-accepted American definition of ethnic: as in, not American.

      • September 1, 2011 3:23 pm

        Barbecue is originally Caribbean, so technically it would qualify as ethnic by your definition. I’m just picky about that word (as I am about most words, for that matter)….Americans are so ethnocentric that they use it as if it doesn’t apply to them.

  2. Bambi permalink
    September 1, 2011 4:17 pm

    purple cauliflower. wow…how wild!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:01 pm

      I know, right? Beautiful.

  3. September 1, 2011 4:56 pm

    I would like to eat every single thing you did! I’m looking forward to going to a Pearl Jam concert/camping on Saturday!! I just made some vegan watermelon jello shots I’m bringing along for the festivities!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 5:00 pm

      Vegan watermelon jello shots?!? You should come to the party I’M going to! πŸ˜›

  4. September 1, 2011 6:25 pm

    it’s great to see different pics of the conf events. I’m so bummed that I didn’t pick up some uptons seitan to go. hopefully they will be at vida con 2013. I did have a Sweetpea danish that night.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 1, 2011 6:29 pm

      I only wish I’d had several more days in Portland to eat at the actual restaurants there!
      I can’t wait for 2013 πŸ˜€

  5. September 1, 2011 8:29 pm

    Oh my, all that food looks amazing. And I seriously need that seitan-eggplant-aioli-focaccia sandwich! Sounds right up my alley. As far as weekend plans, I’m going on a Boulevard tour this weekend–looking forward to sampling lots of vegan beer πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 3, 2011 1:25 pm

      Upton’s Naturals seitan isn’t sold in the Rocky Mountain region of Whole Foods stores 😦 Yet…
      I may just have to call and request it.
      I’ve never toured Boulevard! Have fun!

  6. September 1, 2011 9:51 pm

    Cute pictures! Love the wine’d ones. πŸ˜‰ Looks like you had a blast (and yes, super cute dress!). Food looks great and of course the “ice cream” is delicious looking!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 3, 2011 1:26 pm

      Hehe! Wine + ice cream was quite an interesting combo. πŸ˜‰

  7. September 1, 2011 11:13 pm

    That sundae bar–vegan dreams… Your dress is superb, especially for that kind of event.

    I may have to escape and visit that vegan strip mall next time I’m down in OR. Family visits are always just so busy…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 3, 2011 1:26 pm

      Thanks Ela! Yes, you absolutely MUST visit the vegan strip mall next time you’re there. Food Fight + Sweet Pea Bakery are worth the trip.

  8. September 2, 2011 6:20 am

    Trust you to choose the naked ice cream.

    P.S. As someone who’s been microwaving peanut butter and marshmallows together lately, that sundae looks amazing!

    P.P.S My weekend was supposed to be super fun but has been derailed by the fact that my grandpa is still in hospital, my grandma has a fractured hip and will be getting her hip replaced next week, and my other grandma fell and broke her nose and is in hospital too. Yes.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 3, 2011 1:28 pm

      But of course!

      YUM! So you’ve basically been eating breadless Fluffernutter sandwiches? I don’t know if you have Fluffernutters down under, but here, it’s a sandwich made with peanut butter + marshmallow fluff. Now I’m pretty sure I HAVE to make a vegan one. SOON.

      I’m so, so sorry to hear about the continuing troubles with your grandparents’ health 😦 I’m sending many well wishes your way.

      • September 3, 2011 7:02 pm

        Thanks love. πŸ™‚

        I’ve heard of fluffernutters but never tried one. Peanut butter is quite rare as a favoured flavoured, and marshmallow creme doesn’t exist!

  9. A Tablespoon of Liz permalink
    September 2, 2011 8:08 am

    Seeing all your photos makes me laugh at the people who say that ‘vegan food isn’t good’ because this all looks so amazingly delicious!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 3, 2011 1:29 pm

      I know, right? I don’t know how people can say that with a straight face! Clearly, they need exposure to this kind of vegan awesomeness πŸ™‚

  10. September 2, 2011 9:22 am

    That dessert & Potato Rosemary Bread look very yum! πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 3, 2011 1:29 pm

      I actually didn’t get a pic of the potato-rosemary bread from Bob’s, but the focaccia that sandwich was made with was awesome!

  11. September 2, 2011 12:50 pm

    i think vegan dishes are way more flavoful than the real deal. Like that BBQ and Ice cream sundae. Hot dang!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 3, 2011 1:30 pm

      TOTALLY agree!

  12. September 2, 2011 7:58 pm

    Reliving that foccacia masterpiece through your pics! Great stuff…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 3, 2011 1:30 pm

      I want another!! πŸ™‚

  13. September 2, 2011 8:41 pm

    purple cauliflower hummus??? That is absolutely B-E-A-UTIFUL!

    All of those eats look amazing…Especially the pizza! I just can’t seem to get enough pizza!

    I have my last long run scheduled for tomorrow (20 or 21 km…preferably 21) before my half marathon next Sunday….Harry Potter marathon….Baking, cooking, laundry…The usual!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 3, 2011 1:31 pm

      It was very pretty, although I can’t say I a fan of the taste, unfortunately!
      The world needs more vegan pizza πŸ˜›

      Good luck on your long run! I’ve been there. πŸ™‚

  14. September 5, 2011 6:36 pm

    looks like you had so much fun! I love all the pics! I’ve heard from a couple of bloggers about what a blast this conference was and I wish so badly I could have gone. What a blast! I heard they have one in the spring too.
    That almond milk yogurt sounds fab. I just discovered the coconut milk variety and it’s amazing. I think non-dairy yogurts are really going to take over the scene these next couple years.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 6, 2011 9:51 am

      The next one is in spring 2013…I don’t wanna wait that long! 😦
      I agree, nondairy yogurts are getting big! Love it.

Leave a Comment

