Skip to content
VVC day 4, part 1: taco bar lunch & photo ops

September 3, 2011

The last day of Vida Vegan Con began with the same breakfast as the day before…and it was just as delicious as the first time around! I spent the morning attending the Marketing Panel, the Product Reviews and Ethics panel, and the Extreme Food Writing Makeover seminar, the latter of which was given by Dynise from The Urban Vegan. As I told Dynise herself on day 1, she’s always been one of my favorite vegan bloggers due to her outstanding writing talent and her international culinary sensibilities. It was an honor to attend her writing seminar.

Before getting in the looong line for the lunch buffet, I grabbed one of these new Amande almond milk yogurts to snack on. I had just seen these for the first time ever the night before at Food Fight, so I was delighted that they showed up at the conference.

They do contain a little more sugar than I’d prefer, but they’re naturally sweetened; dairy-, soy-, and gluten-free; and full of healthy fats. The coconut flavor contained little bits of dried coconut, which I liked. I really hope to try more flavors of this yogurt in the future!

I then braved the lengthy line for the taco-bar lunch buffet.

Too much goodness in one place! I passed up the flour tortillas in favor of a lettuce leaf, which I filled with raw taco nutmeat and pico de gallo. I also got a pile of “chorizo” Soy Curls, which I’d never tried before (they’re strangely chewy, but not bad). There were also sautéed fajita veggies (sliced onions and bell peppers), Mexican rice, jalapeños, black olives, guacamole, and vegan sour cream. I topped it all off with a sprinkle of Daiya pepperjack “cheese”—just cuz.

On top of all that, every table was graced with multiple jars of Food For Lovers vegan queso, which is fat-free and almost too good to be true.

That afternoon, after the Publishing panel and Specialty Diets panel, I finally snagged some photos with these lovely ladies: Jen of The Robertsons of Mumbai and De-hydrated (whom I hadn’t seen since February) and Lisa of Vegan Culinary Crusade

…as well as the fabulous Fran Costigan

…and the talented Julie Hasson!

My next post will be my final one about Vida Vegan Con! (::tear::)

3 years ago…
Vegan Indian
2 years ago…
No posts this week…I was in Europe!
1 year ago…
Date night, Ethnic Fest, & crêpes!
Tofu ricotta cheeze + gadget reviews
Vegan lasagna made easy

20 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2011 12:15 am

    Oh, just shush you. I’m already envious enough.

    🙂 hugs xoxoxoxoxo forevs wooooot! 😀

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 7, 2011 8:40 pm

      If only one of these pictures were with YOU.
      xoxo back!

  2. September 4, 2011 10:34 am

    Whoowhee! Those Mexican lunch photos are making my mouth water!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 7, 2011 8:41 pm

      Can we go back? Seriously…

  3. September 5, 2011 12:32 pm

    looks like so much fun. i tried the almond yogurt after I read this. not bad! i had the cherry kind.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 7, 2011 8:41 pm

      I usually go for plain or vanilla, but cherry is one fruit flavor I bet I could get on board with…

  4. September 6, 2011 3:45 am

    I just found your blog, loving it! Oh my goodness, VVC sounds amazing! 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 7, 2011 8:42 pm

      Welcome! VVC was indeed amazing…you should think about coming to the next one in 2013! 🙂

  5. September 6, 2011 11:27 am

    Wow, what a fun event. I love the vegan selection they had. Soo much yummy food to choose from.
    Those yogurts sound great!! I love coconut.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 7, 2011 8:42 pm

      All 100% vegan, the whole conference! It was like a dream. 😀

  6. September 6, 2011 12:52 pm

    Looks like a great time!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 7, 2011 8:44 pm

      It certainly was 🙂

  7. Emilie permalink
    September 6, 2011 1:26 pm

    thank you for letting us know about the almond yogurt – something to look for where I live – even though they are based in Seattle

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 7, 2011 8:45 pm

      My pleasure! I still need to check to see if the KC Whole Foods stores are carrying them.

  8. September 6, 2011 2:14 pm

    Seriously…almond milk yogurt?!?! Thanks for passing on.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 7, 2011 8:46 pm

      Yup yup! Our Whole Foods better have them! I haven’t checked yet…

  9. September 7, 2011 10:26 am

    Too much good food to even pick which one to comment on … love it!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 7, 2011 8:47 pm

      I know what you mean 🙂

  10. September 8, 2011 11:26 am

    Hi,

    My name is Jessy, I just found your blog and love it! I have been very high raw and vegan (except for honey of course!) for almost 6 months and loving it! Your blog is awesome, love the recipes!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 8, 2011 1:03 pm

      Hi Jessy! Great to “meet” you! 🙂

Leave a Comment

