Skip to content

“Lucky” is a serious understatement…

September 12, 2011

So, um, you know how I just said I’d had a streak of “what are the chances?” luck at the end of Vida Vegan Con? Yeah…that was nothing compared to this.

Last week, Vega (the supplement company of vegan athlete Brendan Brazier, whom I met in April) held a huge giveaway on their Facebook page in honor of the release of Brendan’s new book Thrive Foods: 200 Plant-Based Recipes for Peak Health (which is in the mail on its way to me already!).

The contest description said…

Coinciding with the 63rd Annual Primetime EMMY Awards, Vega formulator Brendan Brazier will be at the Alive! Expo Green Pavilion showcasing his premium line of plant-based nutrition products to TV’s top talent from around the world…and he wants your help!

Enter the Thrive with Vega Contest on the Vega Facebook page for a chance to win an all expense paid trip to Los Angeles, CA to mingle with Hollywood’s most eco-friendly, health conscious celebrities while helping Brendan promote Vega.

Past celebrities in attendance at Alive! Expo Green Pavilion include; Robert DeNiro, Sarah Jessica Parker, Hilary Swank, Jessica Biel and Kevin Bacon among others.

With a prize like that, I had to give it a shot! On Thursday, the last day of the contest, I stopped by the Vega page and put in my entry. I enter giveaways like this one here and there when I have time, but I never think much of them. I’ve certainly never won an all-expense paid trip.

Until now.

I friggin’ WON!

This Thursday, Matt and I are jetting off to Los Angeles to hang out with Brendan and the Vega team. We’ll be brunching at a raw restaurant on Friday before heading to this pre-Emmy’s eco-expo to mix and mingle with the glitterati of Hollywood.

Oh. My. Crap.

I’m not even going to try and express my excitement here, because I can’t possibly describe it. When I called Matt at work to tell him, he thought at first that something terrible had happened because my voice was shaking and I could barely speak.

I’m so shocked and thrilled about winning that I still don’t know if it has sunken in yet. It feels surreal. I can only imagine how it’ll feel this weekend when we’re there.

Vega was going to fly us home on Saturday, but we’ve decided to stay in L.A. for an extra couple nights to round out the weekend. It’ll be a super-busy few days, but I’m hoping to carve out some time to meet up with a couple people while there. Our schedule for most of the weekend is very up in the air right now, though I hope to have a rough agenda nailed down by the time we leave…there’s a lot to do between now and then!

You will definitely want to stay tuned this week and next as I blog about Amber and Matt’s Los Angeles Vega Adventure! I CAN’T WAIT!!

3 years ago…
Vegan Chinese at Po’s
2 years ago…
No posts this week…I was in Europe!
1 year ago…
Rawkin’ & rollin’ August leftovers
Review: Hail Merry

63 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2011 6:13 am

    That’s amazingly awesome! Congrats! I enter random contests all the time, but I haven’t won anything…yet. What a win for you, though! Totally push your forthcoming cookbook πŸ™‚

    I’ve never met a celebrity. Well, I met Carols Diaz two winters ago, but I’m not sure he counts (Sorry, Carols). I’ve heard a lot of famous people (minus sports stars) are really small – short and tiny. You’ll have to fill us in πŸ˜‰

    Have fun!

    (Side thought: Maybe you should randomly play the lottery this week. LoL!)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 13, 2011 6:07 pm

      Haha, I wonder if I can slip my business card to any celebs…?! I don’t know if I’m gutsy enough!

  2. September 12, 2011 7:05 am

    *dances around the room like a crazy lady, whooping* Amber! OMG! This is so incomprehensibly fantastic! To be honest with you, I actually haven’t even been convinced that people truly win such competitions. OMG! YOU! Squee!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 13, 2011 6:07 pm

      Yes! They do! And now I’m one of them! WOO!

  3. September 12, 2011 7:05 am

    Oh my Jesus! I am SO excited for you. hee hee! Can’t wait to hear all about it when you get back. Wow, what an opportunity! Hey, get me some of what ever you’re on or send me some of your stardust..pretty please x

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 13, 2011 6:08 pm

      Whatever this “stardust” of mine is, I need to find a way to bottle it and sell it! πŸ˜›

  4. September 12, 2011 7:06 am

    P.S. You know you have to find me a husband there, right? Good-o. Carry on.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 13, 2011 6:09 pm

      Oh, right, right. I vow to be on the lookout. ::salutes::

  5. September 12, 2011 7:44 am

    Have fun! I look forward to the post!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 13, 2011 6:09 pm

      Thanks Noelle!

  6. A Tablespoon of Liz permalink
    September 12, 2011 8:47 am

    That’s awesome! I bet you’ll have lots of fun and I can’t wait to read about it!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 13, 2011 6:10 pm

      Thank you Liz!

  7. September 12, 2011 9:02 am

    Wow, how amazing is that!?! Congrats!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 13, 2011 6:10 pm

      I know! Aaahh! πŸ™‚

  8. September 12, 2011 9:12 am

    Congratulations Amber, that is sooooo cool! I can’t wait to read about your trip!
    I really want to be like you : )

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 13, 2011 6:11 pm

      Aw, thanks JennΓ©!

  9. September 12, 2011 9:34 am

    Awesome, congratulations!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 13, 2011 6:11 pm

      Thank ya! πŸ˜€

  10. September 12, 2011 10:03 am

    So awesome!! I am sure ou will have oodles of fun! Cant wait to hear about it!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 13, 2011 6:12 pm

      I’m sure I will too! I can’t wait!

  11. September 12, 2011 11:31 am

    That’s fantastic! The weather has been really mild but sunny here lately and there’s a ton of vegan restaurants to choose from so you’re sure to have a good time.

    Congratulations on winning, have fun, and be sure to fill us all in when you get back!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 13, 2011 6:13 pm

      I definitely have my restaurant “wish list” ready to go! I think we’re going to try to go to all new restaurants that we didn’t make it to last time we were in L.A.

  12. September 12, 2011 12:07 pm

    Wow! Really cool! I’m sorry I missed out on that contest… I think I might need to spend more time on Facebook now. πŸ™‚ Have a great time, you guys!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 13, 2011 6:14 pm

      Hehe, clearly goofing around on Facebook CAN be worthwhile!

  13. September 12, 2011 12:40 pm

    Oh my goodness! Congratulations and have a fantastic time. The universe is seriously vibing with you and pushing your star up and up!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 13, 2011 6:14 pm

      Tell me about it! I hope the trend continues. πŸ˜€

  14. September 12, 2011 12:49 pm

    Congrats girl!! I’m so friggin happy for you!! rock it sista!!!

    xxoo

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 13, 2011 6:15 pm

      Thanks Kris!!

  15. September 12, 2011 1:34 pm

    Omg!!!! That’s awesome! Y’all are gonna be such jet-setters these days…..Portland, LA, what’s next?! Have fun, guys!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 13, 2011 6:15 pm

      I know, right? Too bad you and Paul can’t come and tear up the town with us! L.A. has lots of great goth clubs… πŸ˜›

  16. September 12, 2011 1:57 pm

    Congratulations =) It must be so fun to win that kind of prize!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 13, 2011 6:16 pm

      I always thought the same thing – now I know, it is!

  17. September 12, 2011 2:20 pm

    OMG!!! Congrats!!

    Figures you’ll be in LA, while I’m in Kansas! I’ll be back in LA on Sunday night, so if you stay a few extra nights, let me know if you wanna meet up! I’m dying to try Cafe Gratitude, if you’re interested… πŸ˜‰

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 13, 2011 6:16 pm

      Haha, I know! The same thing occurred to me. I’ll let you know if we’re free Sunday evening! I think I still have your phone #.

  18. September 12, 2011 2:39 pm

    Awesome!! Can’t wait to hear all about it:)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 13, 2011 6:17 pm

      And hear all about it you will! πŸ˜‰

  19. September 12, 2011 3:47 pm

    that is so incredibly cool and by the way I think with your luck you should purchase a lotto ticket while your there πŸ˜‰ I hope you have a wonderful time πŸ™‚ I will also be looking forward to hearing about it and I hope to see photos as well πŸ™‚ have fun!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 13, 2011 6:17 pm

      Hehe, a couple people now have brought up the lotto! Perhaps I SHOULD…

  20. September 12, 2011 4:37 pm

    Holy Crap congrats! How fun!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 13, 2011 6:17 pm

      Thanks Shanna!

  21. September 12, 2011 5:45 pm

    have a fun trip! if you blog about it, we all win!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 13, 2011 6:18 pm

      What a positive way of looking at it! I like that πŸ™‚

  22. September 12, 2011 7:07 pm

    Oh my gosh!! Congratulations!
    That is soo awesome! I can’t wait to hear all about it.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 13, 2011 6:19 pm

      Thanks Kristen! I can’t wait to experience it!

  23. September 12, 2011 7:55 pm

    That’s amazing! I hope you and Matt have wonderful time.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 13, 2011 6:19 pm

      I am certain we will! Thanks, Lisa.

  24. September 12, 2011 10:48 pm

    Damn you ARE lucky!! So much fun! Have an incredible time!!!! Seriously, you must be loving life. You’re traveling and writing a book and making food! You are living the life, my friend!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 13, 2011 6:21 pm

      I KNOW! 2011 has really been my year so far. Hot Raw Chef, Living Light, travels, book deal, winning this trip…gah! I am one lucky, lucky lady.

  25. September 13, 2011 8:31 am

    Woooooooo!!!!! Lucky is an understatement even when luck had nothing to do with it πŸ™‚ You so totally deserve this prize and it must’ve come at a perfect time for a break from all the hard work you’ve been doing. Congratulations lovely

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 13, 2011 6:23 pm

      Aww, thank you Tanya. I’m so grateful and excited to have won!

  26. September 13, 2011 10:23 am

    Oh my crap is right – how lucky are you??? You’re gonna have a blast – I can’t wait to hear your recaps πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 13, 2011 6:23 pm

      I know, right?! It’ll be a great trip; I can’t wait to blog about it!

  27. September 13, 2011 8:14 pm

    Congrats! That’s amazing!

    You have got to rub some of the good luck juju on me, ’cause I could sure use a bit! Lol.

    I’m excited to read about your L.A. adventures. πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 14, 2011 9:34 am

      Thanks Jess! πŸ˜€

  28. September 14, 2011 4:02 am

    #slipcelebthebusiness card. Perhaps think they may need YOU rather that you need them. The diet works right! they wouldn’t be there unless they were interested in it. The food you prepare heals AND you have spent time and money discovering it all for yourself. I think it is a fabulous opportunity to help celebs to get healthy. Who knows, you could be the start of vegan, raw, catering trucks on location shoots and all over the film production world. What a wonderful opportunity you have! Go for it. Have fun!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 14, 2011 9:34 am

      Good point! I don’t think I’m cut out for the catering business, BUT I could totally imagine myself as some celeb’s private chef…!

  29. September 14, 2011 2:33 pm

    Congrats, miss! Sounds like a lot of fun! Hope you have a blast!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 14, 2011 2:49 pm

      Thanks!

  30. September 15, 2011 12:53 pm

    Have so much fun in LA!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 15, 2011 1:24 pm

      Will do, for sure!

  31. September 17, 2011 6:55 pm

    Super jealous! (Especially because I’m a wee bit star struck, embarrassingly so.) Have lots of fun and give us all of the details! You deserve this.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 17, 2011 7:25 pm

      Hehe, really? I’m kind of the opposite; I don’t watch much tv and I only go see a movie like once a year!

Leave a Comment

