Skip to content
Brazilian “cherob” energy snacks (raw)

September 14, 2011

Up until last Friday, I was under the impression that for the first time since January, I’d actually be home for one full month straight…but it turns out that’s not the case! Before I fly out to Los Angeles tomorrow and immediately start posting about my trip, I wanted to squeeze in a quick, travel-friendly recipe for you lovely readers.

The last recipe I shared was my raw sunny cashew-apricot energy cookies; they were such a hit that not long after that, I was back in the kitchen playing with ideas for other “energy snacks.” I soon came up with these brownie-like treats. They make a great snack, breakfast, or even dessert. Brazilnuts provide the international flair, and cherries + carob = cherob!

Brazilian “Cherob” Energy Snacks (raw)

1 cup pitted dates
1/2 cup raw Brazilnuts
1/2 cup raw pecans
3 tablespoons carob (or cacao) powder
Pinch of sea salt
1/2 cup dried cherries

Combine the dates, Brazilnuts, pecans, carob, and salt in a food processor and pulse until the nuts are finely ground and the mixture is homogenous. Add the cherries and pulse until well-incorporated but still slightly chunky.

Press the mixture into a wax-paper-lined 8-inch square pan and freeze for at least one hour. When frozen, cut into desired shapes. Store in the refrigerator or freezer.

Yield: 12 servings
Per serving: 132 calories, 7.1g fat (1g sat), 18.4g carbs, 3g fiber, 2g protein

I experimented by cutting these into bars…

…cookies…

…and even little bite-sized squares (thus the indecisive moniker “snacks”!).

Enjoy! If you try these, I’d love to hear how you like them.

Blog at ya soonโ€”from L.A.!

3 years ago…
Weekend restaurant meals
2 years ago…
No posts this week…I was in Europe!
1 year ago…
Arroz con seitan (Latin seitan & rice)

36 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2011 8:22 am

    I never got a chance to say congrats on the Vega LA trip! Girl you certainly get around – in a good way of course tee hee. Love living through you on the blog xxx

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 18, 2011 11:23 pm

      Thanks doll! I do love traveling, so I feel so fortunate to have won.

  2. Hillary permalink
    September 14, 2011 8:30 am

    Yum! Chocolate and cherry is one of my favorite combos!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 18, 2011 11:24 pm

      It’s a classic! Gotta love it ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. September 14, 2011 8:37 am

    Looks and sounds yummy! Have a great trip. I am sure you’ll be taking these snacks with you! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 21, 2011 1:24 pm

      I always travel with snacks! ๐Ÿ˜›

  4. A Tablespoon of Liz permalink
    September 14, 2011 8:46 am

    These look great! I’ve never had brazil nuts before, I’ll have to try them out!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 21, 2011 1:24 pm

      Brazilnuts rock! Definitely give ’em a try.

  5. September 14, 2011 9:46 am

    cherries, carob & brazil nuts. match made in heaven = yum.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 21, 2011 1:26 pm

      Agreed! ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. September 14, 2011 11:05 am

    yumm those look amazing!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 21, 2011 1:28 pm

      Thanks Lizzie!

  7. September 14, 2011 12:06 pm

    Yummy! I wish I’d had some of those on my plane trip to Portland. Aw….btw, your peanut butter is fantastical!! I’m gonna need the recipe. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 21, 2011 1:28 pm

      Woot! So glad you love the PB. I may or may not publish the recipe on here sometime ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. September 14, 2011 12:52 pm

    I like the name, “cherob.” Cute ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 21, 2011 1:28 pm

      Hehe, thanks!

  9. September 14, 2011 1:26 pm

    Yum yum, I love carob!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 21, 2011 1:32 pm

      It took me awhile to like it, but now I’m a fan!

  10. September 14, 2011 2:17 pm

    Carob and cherry–yum, quite cherubic!

    Safe journeys…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 21, 2011 1:38 pm

      Indeed! Maybe I should’ve saved this one for February. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. September 14, 2011 7:17 pm

    I’ve never thought to use Brazilnuts to make energy bars/snacks, but that’s a great idea! They’re kind of soft already, so I bet they blend up nicely. Prob…they aren’t my fav. I wonder if the flavor is less noticable mixed with other stuff. Or maybe I just think I don’t like them because they aren’t super crunchy….Hum…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 21, 2011 1:39 pm

      I agree, Brazilnuts seem better suited for including IN things than snacking on as-is. Try it sometime, you might like them better that way!

  12. September 14, 2011 8:14 pm

    Cherob is the best name for this! Makes it almost even more appropriate for valentine’s day :). They sound delicious

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 21, 2011 1:39 pm

      True! I may have to revisit the cherry-carob combo come February.

  13. September 15, 2011 5:16 am

    You brilliant creature you! It’s like you waited until I went to Costco then looked in my pantry and made something perfect for what I have on hand.

    Also, I reject Rob’s statement. You’re not a real travel hussy until you get yo ass to Australia.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 21, 2011 1:42 pm

      Ok, I can’t argue with that. I’m well aware of how desperately I need to visit Oz! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  14. September 15, 2011 3:58 pm

    Amazing bars!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 21, 2011 1:40 pm

      Thanks Caitlin! ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. September 16, 2011 4:02 pm

    These look super yummy – I love the dried cherries and nuts combo. Congrats on your trip and I can’t wait to hear about your travels! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 21, 2011 1:40 pm

      Thanks Sonnet! I can’t wait to blog about the trip.

  16. September 17, 2011 12:07 pm

    I have sent your two energy bar recipes to a few people because they look amazing. And, I’m planning to make them this weekend for Bobby. We’ve been trying to give him healthy snacks to sustain his energy while he’s in class at law school. But in sending your recipes everywhere and preparing to grocery shop for the ingredients, I had an idea. I wonder if when you give recipes you could include a printable (text only) link? I would love to print some of your recipes and keep them in my recipe book. It would make both grocery shopping AND preparing the recipe much easier!

    My other favorite food blog, Closet Cooking, does the same thing. Check out the link where he begins to post the recipe:
    http://www.closetcooking.com/

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 17, 2011 12:14 pm

      I’d LOVE to have the know-how to be able to do that…unfortunately, I don’t ๐Ÿ˜ฆ The best I can suggest is to copy and paste the recipes into MS Word and print…though that’s hard to do with my older recipes, since I scattered pictures throughout. Sorry. Wish I had a better solution…someday when I’m making big bucks and can hire a fancy web designer, I’ll have them go back and add a print link to every post. It’s on my website wish-list!

      Thanks for passing along my recipes! ๐Ÿ˜€

  17. September 17, 2011 1:10 pm

    Umm… YES – Love anything with brazil nuts, as I’ll take all the extra selenium I can get!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 21, 2011 1:40 pm

      Gotta love selenium! ๐Ÿ˜›

  18. September 22, 2011 11:13 am

    Yum! These sound awesome! I can’t wait to try them out.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      September 22, 2011 11:20 am

      Thanks Michelle! I hope you do try them! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Comment

