Skip to content
Vegan MoFo and other exciting stuff

October 3, 2011

Welcome to Vegan MoFo, or Vegan Month of Food. It’s my first year participating, because, well, I don’t like conforming to other people’s schedules. However, I’m going to do my best to follow the rule of posting every weekday in October!

This first post isn’t going to be long (in fact, I’ll need to keep them short most days so I don’t go insane), but I have a very special announcement. I already mentioned it on Facebook and Twitter last night, but I wanted to say it here too.

I just sent my completed cookbook manuscript to my publisher. All 166 pages and 51,127 words of it. ::exhale:: Eee! I DID IT!

That’s right! My manuscript is now in the capable hands of my publisher Jon at Vegan Heritage Press. I’m sending in my food photos this week, and having my professional photoshoot for the cover and interior photos of myself a couple week from now. Then for the next 6-8 weeks, my publisher and I will be collaborating on book design and layout. So there’s still work to be done in the weeks ahead, but the hard part is OVER! Hopefully I’ll have an estimated release date to announce to you in the not-too-distant future.

Finally, I am honored to be one of the speakers at this year’s Texas State Veggie Fair in Dallas! I’ll be giving a brief talk on raw foods and demoing two exclusive recipes from my cookbook at the event. The Fair is on Sunday, October 23rd from 11am to 6pm, with my demo at 1:30pm. I hope to see some of you thereโ€”please come say hello afterward!

I’ll be back tomorrow with some “real” content. ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy October, everyone!

3 years ago…
Tempeh bolognese
2 years ago…
Almost Vegan in the air
1 year ago…
Coconut oil vs. butterโ€”thoughts?

46 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2011 2:39 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! How exciting!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 4, 2011 3:07 pm

      Thank you! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. October 3, 2011 2:42 pm

    Congrats on sending in your manuscript! Welcome to Vegan MoFo. I did it last year for the first time and had a blast.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 4, 2011 3:19 pm

      Thanks! I’m happy to be participating this year.

  3. October 3, 2011 2:45 pm

    Congratulations! I’m sure it’ll be awesome! I actually made one of your recipes today for MoFo so I know how talented you are.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 4, 2011 3:21 pm

      I’m so glad you made (and loved) the kimchi rolls!

  4. October 3, 2011 2:48 pm

    Hurray for you! This is so exciting.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 4, 2011 3:22 pm

      Thanks Debbie!

  5. October 3, 2011 2:54 pm

    Congrats missy! I’m so proud of you! =)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 4, 2011 3:22 pm

      Thank ya, dear ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. October 3, 2011 3:34 pm

    congrats!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 4, 2011 3:22 pm

      Thanks!!

  7. October 3, 2011 4:37 pm

    Awesome! Bet it feels good to have it done and on it’s way to being published. And congrats on your speaking engagement! Looking forward to a full month of awesome recipes and veggie talk.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 4, 2011 3:22 pm

      It feels SO good, you have no idea. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. October 3, 2011 5:05 pm

    Pat on the back for being done! Bet it’s such a relief! Congrats again!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 4, 2011 3:23 pm

      Thanks Liz!

  9. October 3, 2011 5:15 pm

    Happy October and many congrats! You pulled that off despite not enjoying conforming to others’ schedules!! And how cool is it that you’re now on the speaker circuit (yes, even if daunting)–you superstar, you!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 4, 2011 3:24 pm

      VERY daunting, to be honest…but I’m going to just have fun with it!

  10. October 3, 2011 6:56 pm

    oh so excited!!! i want your cookbook!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 4, 2011 3:25 pm

      I want you to have my cookbook! ๐Ÿ˜›

  11. October 3, 2011 9:34 pm

    Yay! Congrats on completing the manuscript! What are you going to do to celebrate!?!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 4, 2011 3:27 pm

      Someone asked me that on FB, and said…probably just take a few naps this week. ๐Ÿ™‚ No celebration, really. I hadn’t even thought about it; I was so busy with this book!

  12. October 3, 2011 11:04 pm

    Darling, this is surely the most real of real content! After all, it’s charting your journey to superstardom, and I for one am honoured to follow along xo

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 4, 2011 3:27 pm

      Hehe, well, let’s hope that’s what it’s charting. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. October 3, 2011 11:55 pm

    Congratulations! This is great news. You have accomplished a lot, getting your FIRST book off to the publisher. There will be more. There will be more.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 4, 2011 3:27 pm

      Thank you so much! There WILL be more, I’m definitely determined to make sure of that. Thanks for your support!

  14. October 4, 2011 12:47 am

    Congratulations!! I can’t wait to see the cookbook!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 4, 2011 3:28 pm

      Thanks Kelly! I can’t wait either!

  15. October 4, 2011 9:28 am

    amber that is so exciting! congratulations ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 4, 2011 3:28 pm

      Thank you Rachel!

  16. October 4, 2011 10:45 am

    Way to go! It’s such an accomplishment.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 4, 2011 3:28 pm

      Thanks Jenny! It’s a big weight off my shoulders.

  17. October 4, 2011 12:11 pm

    How exciting! Can’t wait to see the cookbook when it’s all done ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 4, 2011 3:29 pm

      Thanks Jen! Believe me, I can’t either! ๐Ÿ˜›

  18. October 4, 2011 12:20 pm

    So excited for you, congratulations! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 4, 2011 3:30 pm

      Thank you Julie Lynn!

  19. October 4, 2011 3:28 pm

    Congrats. I’m so proud of you!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 4, 2011 3:31 pm

      Aw, thank you dear!

  20. October 4, 2011 5:08 pm

    Congrats on the book deal! That is so exciting. I’m also doing Vegan MoFo – wahoo!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 4, 2011 5:08 pm

      Thanks Jesse! ๐Ÿ˜€

  21. htblackmon permalink
    October 5, 2011 9:05 am

    I know this is a little late – but congratulations!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 5, 2011 11:42 am

      It’s never too late ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you!

  22. October 5, 2011 10:33 pm

    YAY for you! What an accomplishment. I can’t imagine what it will feel like to see your words in print. On paper, since you see your words in print on the screen daily. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 5, 2011 10:34 pm

      Haha, good distinction! I can’t yet imagine how it’ll feel either…but GOOD, I know that much!

  23. October 6, 2011 5:40 pm

    Congrats on the speaking gig and sending your manuscript out! That’s really exciting!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 6, 2011 5:41 pm

      Thanks Jess!

Leave a Comment

