Skip to content
Birthday wanderings in Lawrence, KS

October 4, 2011

Thank you for your sweet comments on my last post! You guys make all the work worth it. ๐Ÿ™‚

I grew up, and still live, in the Kansas City, Missouri metro area…


Downtown KC, photographed from Liberty Memorial

…but I went to college in little Lawrence, Kansas, about 45 minutes away in driving time but a world away in atmosphere. I don’t get back to Lawrence very often, I’m sad to say, but I do have a ritual of returning there every year on the Friday of the week of my birthday (which is in July, so yes, this post is VERY belated! I’m working on my blogging backlog, clearly). As always, Matt and I had a fun-filled day there.


“Downtown” Lawrence, photographed on Mass St.

On our way into town, we stopped at Tryyaki, a – get this – drive-thru sushi joint I used to frequent when I lived in Lawrence. Believe it or not, their sushi is some of my favorite in the world! (I don’t know why; maybe it’s because they serve it cold, which I know is “wrong,” but I prefer it.) Matt and I shared a veggie roll as a quick snack.

We also drove by The Merc (a.k.a. the Community Mercantile), Lawrence’s health food store, but didn’t go in.

After that, we parked and walked up and down Mass St. (Massachusetts Street), the hub of downtown Lawrence. We stopped at a couple of my favorite stores, a pair of European food and gift markets. Brits is, of course, all-British…

…and Au Marchรฉ next door is French-themed.

We spent a few minutes in Au Marchรฉ drooling over the case of Christopher Elbow Artisanal Chocolates.

Chris Elbow is a big deal in KC, for many delicious reasons.

I don’t know how, but we abstained from purchasing a single chocolate!

We were saving ourselves for Cupcake Construction Company.

The options weren’t as numerous as I’d expected, but I enjoyed this vanilla cupcake with marshmallow and peanut butter frosting, toffee crumbs, and graham cracker.

To be continued! Tomorrow, come back and see what we ate for dinner. Lawrence just so happens to be vegetarian mini-paradise…

3 years ago…
Tempeh bolognese
2 years ago…
Almost Vegan in the air
1 year ago…
Reviews: Tropical Traditions & Xagave

26 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2011 2:45 pm

    I’m confused–does the Cupcake Construction Company have anything vegan? I haven’t been there yet but assumed not. I know Christopher Elbow chocolates all have dairy; only their bar chocolates are vegan. Oh, and the British store is not part of Au Marche; it’s a separate store called Brit’s. They just buddied up to move into that awesome building when it was redone ten (or so) years ago.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 4, 2011 2:48 pm

      Cupcake Construction Company had only a few vegan options while we were there – I can’t remember what exactly – but my cupcake was a mixture of vegan and non-vegan parts.
      Oh, good to know about Brits/Au Marche – I’ll correct that – thanks!

  2. October 4, 2011 3:03 pm

    Now that is a cupcake flavor I’ve never heard of before, sounds awesome. Looks like a cute town with lots of interesting places to go.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 4, 2011 3:06 pm

      It is! It’s a very cool place – there’s the hordes of (often annoying) college kids, yes, but there’s also a lot of hippies, punks, artists, activists, and other unique personalities. Great music scene, too, as you might imagine.

  3. October 4, 2011 3:29 pm

    Those chocolates and that cupcake look so good ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 4, 2011 3:30 pm

      Yes, I’m having some renewed chocolate-and-cupcake cravings myself now ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. bitt permalink
    October 4, 2011 4:24 pm

    I hate to be a buzzkill but mofoers are asked to only post vegan items during mofo. I think it’s a real privilege to be included in the mofo blogroll and I only hope that everyone respects this one small rule that they ask. Thanks!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 5, 2011 1:18 pm

      Hi bitt,

      I just posted today about withdrawing from Vegan MoFo. I’m sorry to have offended you; I truly didn’t mean to.

      Amber

  5. October 4, 2011 5:07 pm

    Thanks for the photo tour of Lawrence. The downtown reminds me of one of my favorite towns in Wyoming โ€” Sheridan.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 5, 2011 1:18 pm

      I’ve never been (or, to be honest, even heard of it)! Maybe next time I road trip out west…

  6. October 4, 2011 7:36 pm

    I didn’t know Lawrence, Kansas was so cute.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 5, 2011 1:19 pm

      It is! You’d love it, you really should visit sometime. It is, like I said, a little vegetarian/vegan mecca (::cough::somanyhippies::cough::) ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. October 4, 2011 10:44 pm

    “Marshmallow and peanut butter frosting, toffee crumbs, and graham cracker”… yep, that’s pretty much a flavour of cupcake I’ll never see here. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 5, 2011 1:23 pm

      That’s because I invented it! ๐Ÿ™‚ I guess I neglected to mention it, but the whole shtick of Cupcake Construction Company is that you build your own cupcakes, choosing from cakes, fillings, frostings, and toppings.

      • October 5, 2011 11:57 pm

        I hate and love you in equal measure

        • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
          October 6, 2011 11:39 am

          I’ll take that as the highest compliment ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. Hillary permalink
    October 5, 2011 1:34 pm

    It’s unfortunate that people prefer to get caught up in their self-imposed rules and regulations, rather than embrace the spirit of another individual’s quest. Where I come from, that’s called a power trip, but it’s not my place to judge. This little blogroll lost more than you did when you graciously stepped down.

    • October 5, 2011 2:22 pm

      Hilary, as someone involved in the VeganMoFo team, I am sorry if people were mean to Amber, but one of our few rules is that people who aren’t vegan only post vegan items if they want to participate. I think it makes sense that people who are reading a collection of blogs for a vegan event expect them to be vegan. It’s not a judgement against anyone, I know quite a few vegans who regularly read non-vegan food blogs for inspiration, but not everyone does.

      That said, we ask that people email us to let us know about these things, not send the bloggers themselves mean emails. If people are politely pointing out our rule, that’s one thing, and that’s what we would do ourselves.

      • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
        October 5, 2011 7:00 pm

        Hey Katie – I’m really sorry if I offended anyone. I totally understand why you have the rules you do, and like I said, I really just didn’t even think about it; I’m so used to blogging the way I do. My bad. That’s why I emailed the Vegan MoFo team yesterday asking them to remove me – I hope I didn’t cause too much of a ruckus. โค

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 5, 2011 7:03 pm

      Aw, thanks Hillary. I can’t blame them for their rules – I mean hey, it is VEGAN MoFo, after all! – but I am sad to have to draw out. Mais c’est la vie!

      • October 5, 2011 7:14 pm

        I’m not going to bother looking at their rules, but out in the real world, “vegan” is a fairly broad term. I’ve met people that firmly believed that vegan applied to everything down to the clothing that a person wore (so no leather jacket, missy!). Some use honey, some don’t; some are fine with food that uses animal product in processing as long as it doesn’t appear in the finished product (such as certain liqueurs that are filtered through fish scales). It just seems to be rather nit-picky to single you out, but I suppose that’s putting the “mofo” in the pet project. Then again, you know me and rules….

        C’est la vie, indeed. What a shame that the gal who felt a need to take the time to explain rules on a blogroll that I have no interest in reading couldn’t take the the time to spell my name right!

        • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
          October 5, 2011 7:34 pm

          Ah, if only the vegan blogosphere were that flexible in their definition of “vegan” ๐Ÿ™‚ I know I’m a black sheep though, so I’ve never worried too much about it. I guess one lesson from this is, “Amber, that was silly of you to join a 100%-vegan event when you’re only an ‘almost’!” But whatevs. (PS – That new jacket happens to be pleather, missy! ๐Ÿ˜› )

  9. Calvin permalink
    October 5, 2011 6:12 pm

    Ugh, I hate the fact you have to withdraw based on a few negative comments. I guess it’s the danger of the blogging world. I check this site pretty much everyday and your recipes/posts are VERY unique and entertaining. I hope you reconsider. Vegan Mofo is going to be much, much, much worse off without you being a part of it.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 5, 2011 7:07 pm

      Thank you so much for the compliments, Calvin! I’m so glad you enjoy my blog. I’m going to sit out Vegan MoFo for the duration of this year’s, but as for next year, who knows. Plus, I’ll still be posting as per usual, so keep on visiting me! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. October 10, 2011 5:37 am

    You are very very cool my friend! I love that you are an ‘Almost’ and loud and proud about it! We can all do with an ‘almost something’ around here. And if it makes you feel any better, I don’t think any of the above comments were very negative at all and the fact that people took time to post a comment to your blog already shows they care about their life, about you and about having a voice. Its all good stuff, keep up your good stuff!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 10, 2011 10:19 am

      Aw, thank you Tanya!
      Well, I didn’t approve any truly negative comments, so you won’t see them here. I don’t need those around to bring me down ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Comment

