Skip to content

Tenth Street Vegetarian Bistro in Lawrence

October 5, 2011

Let’s get right on with it! Here’s the continuation of my pre-birthday Day of Fun in Lawrence that began in yesterday’s post (though it actually happened way back in July).

Tenth Street Vegetarian Bistro didn’t exist when I lived in Lawrence, and although there are numerous veg-friendly places to be found in that town, I had to see what the new guy had to offer this year.

Its teeny dining room is really quaint and cute, not to mention cozy.

Matt and I actually shared an entrΓ©e for our appetizer: the Arancini (mistakenly called “aracini” on the menu), Italian white rice balls rolled in seasoned breadcrumbs served atop sautΓ©ed veggies. It came with a choice of spicy marinara sauce or curry sauce. I say, why choose? I asked to try both, and they obliged. Matt preferred the marinara, while I finished off the bowl of curry sauce with a spoon.

Oh yes, and the arancini themselves were good, too. A tad underseasoned, but that just allowed the sauces to shine even more brightly.

For his main dish, Matt got these huge fillets of fried faux fish with a small salad and a pile of sweet potato fries. These fries were super salty (just like I like ’em), and had the most astonishingly crisp outside while retaining a tender, almost creamy inside. I told the chef they were probably the best sweet potato fries I’ve ever eaten. No joke.

I ordered the “shrimp” and tofu fried rice. For some reason, I always get a kick out of mock seafood, maybe because I see it so seldom. This was all delicious, including the sweet soy glaze on the rice.

For dessert, we shared I dish I’d never had, or even heard of, before: Banoffee Pie (also misspelled on the menu, I’m afraid!), described as “a rich caramel, banana, and honeyed cream pie.” It was a graham cracker crust topped with sliced bananas and light-as-air honey-whipped cream, plus a generous drizzle of caramel syrup. It was so fluffy and light that it seemed to be gone in only a few bites, but it was spectacular. Overall, my verdict on Tenth Street Vegetarian Bistro is that it’s a tremendous addition to Lawrence’s veg scene!

Matt and I concluded the night by seeing a play at Liberty Hall, a wonderful end to a wonderful pre-birthday Day of Fun.

I still have some more belated birthday stuff to show you, so watch out for that next week. I’ve also got a number of cookbook reviews coming up, including some giveaways! Stay tuned.

UPDATE:
I’m sad to say I received an email from Kathleen, the wife of Matt Poulton, who was the chef at Tenth Street Vegetarian Bistro. She has informed me that the Bistro closed last month. 😦 Damnit! And I was so looking forward to going back. R.I.P. Tenth Street Vegetarian Bistro.

3 years ago…
Tempeh bolognese
2 years ago…
Almost Vegan in London
1 year ago…
September “leftovers”

48 Comments leave one →
  1. Meri permalink
    October 5, 2011 2:26 pm

    I used to wait tables here, it’s a great space. And those sweet potato fries look incredible! πŸ˜€

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 5, 2011 2:27 pm

      Did you really?! Aw, I wish you’d been our waitress that day πŸ™‚

  2. October 5, 2011 3:59 pm

    Wow, that looks like a great place. I’d be curious to sample the fauxfish.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 5, 2011 4:19 pm

      I’ve only ever had faux fish a handful of times, but I’ve enjoyed it each time.

  3. October 5, 2011 4:56 pm

    I love arancini & that faux fish looks great

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 5, 2011 5:16 pm

      I don’t eat arancini nearly often enough. In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever made it at home…that needs to change!

  4. October 5, 2011 5:08 pm

    Banoffee pie is a Brit thing! At least I’m guessing so: it was somewhat buzz ten years ago in the UK, but in the eleven years I’ve now been in the US, I’ve never come across it here. It’s a good idea!

    I’m glad you made a decision that felt comfortable to you over the MoFo thing.
    Looking forward to the cookbook reviews: your stake in that is way up!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 5, 2011 5:17 pm

      I believe you’re right! Those Brits, they’ve got all kinds of funny pies. πŸ™‚

  5. Tara permalink
    October 5, 2011 5:15 pm

    As another “Almost Vegan,” I enjoyed your MOFO posts… I will miss them!!! : (

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 5, 2011 5:16 pm

      Aww, thank you Tara! Don’t worry, I’ll still be posting as per usual – just won’t be on the official MoFo blogroll. πŸ™‚

  6. Hannah permalink
    October 5, 2011 5:43 pm

    I’m so intrigued by that mock seafood! Have certainly never seen that here, but what else is new? πŸ˜› One day I’ll try banoffee pie…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 5, 2011 5:46 pm

      We’ll make some! Together, you and I! And we don’t even have to make a pie of it, we’ll just throw whipped cream, honey, banana slices, caramel sauce, and crumbled graham crackers together in a big bowl and eat it with spoons.

      • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
        October 5, 2011 5:49 pm

        Actually, that’s a rather good idea…I should blog that…OOH OOH, OR I should make a RAW banoffee pie! Yes!…

  7. Cindy permalink
    October 5, 2011 5:57 pm

    I love that pie! I had a piece of that the last time my husband and I were in Lawrence (down from Nebraska). I love Lawrence, so it has been cool to see your pictures. πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 5, 2011 5:58 pm

      Aw, cool! That’s awesome that you make it down here sometimes, and I’m glad you’re enjoying the photos πŸ™‚
      I need to recreate that pie at home!

  8. October 5, 2011 6:11 pm

    Sorry you had to deal with those negative comments. Too much drama in my opinion. Well we’re all here for you!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 5, 2011 6:59 pm

      Eh, it’s ok. All but a couple were just politely pointing out that I broke the rules, so no big deal. Just figured it’s best to pull out now rather than fight it for the whole month.

  9. October 5, 2011 6:57 pm

    Wow, I had no idea Lawrence was so veg-friendly! I haven’t been there since college (I didn’t go to school there, just visited occasionally), but I wasn’t vegetarian back then so I wouldn’t have noticed. I think Erik and I need to plan a time to go and make a day of it πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 5, 2011 6:58 pm

      YES, you totally do! I have a bunch of places I could recommend πŸ™‚

  10. October 5, 2011 7:49 pm

    I want to go to the places you go to eat! Everything looks so freakin’ good!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 5, 2011 7:58 pm

      Hehe, thanks! I like to think I have good taste…literally πŸ˜›

  11. October 5, 2011 9:26 pm

    I’ve never had them, but those arancini look so good! And the curry sauce must’ve been an interesting twist… yummers.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 5, 2011 9:33 pm

      Yeah, it was a very unexpected pairing, but really good!

  12. October 5, 2011 10:08 pm

    I’m bummed that you got negative emails, and I’m sorry. I just wanted to let you know that I appreciate how graciously you handled the situation. I knew you were awesome but this really confirmed it. =)

    The negative comments you got were stupid and unnecessary, but I think some of the reactionary comments were equally unfortunate. It’s pretty sad that some non-vegans can’t understand why vegans would want to carve out *one* small space, in an enormous omni world, that is safe and comfortable for us.

    Anyways, I have added you to my reader, MoFo or No-fo!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 5, 2011 10:13 pm

      I appreciate that, Sayward! I agree it’s perfectly fine for vegans to carve their niche and lay their ground rules for things like Vegan MoFo. That’s why I really didn’t take any of it too personally. I simply thought it’d be best to step away from it and just continue doin’ my own thang.

      MoFo or No-fo – I like that! Amen. πŸ™‚

  13. October 6, 2011 5:28 am

    Yum… everything looks so good.. I’d be eating that curry sauce with a spoon too!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 6, 2011 12:07 pm

      Hell yeah! πŸ™‚

  14. October 6, 2011 5:33 am

    I really enjoy your blog because it’s “almost”, like me, almost. I’m sorry about the other post on Vegan MoFo – I enjoyed it.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 6, 2011 12:10 pm

      Thanks, Shoshana! I always love meeting fellow “almosts” πŸ™‚ Even though I won’t be on the official MoFo blogroll anymore, I’ll still be posting as usual!

  15. Rachel permalink
    October 6, 2011 9:33 am

    i did the same thing with vegan mofo (replying to your last post here). i had a very negative/insulting comment, which i received despite already posting that i was withdrawing. it’s such a shame that something that’s meant to bring people together also fosters negativity. all these eats look DELICIOUS! vegan or not πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 6, 2011 12:14 pm

      Aw, sorry to hear that, Rachel. What’s your blog URL? I’d love to have a read of it! πŸ™‚

  16. October 6, 2011 10:31 am

    You find the BEST restaurants!!!! Can I come travel with you for a weekend? πŸ˜‰ I promise not to eat meat πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 6, 2011 12:15 pm

      Hey, I think that’d be fun! πŸ˜€

  17. October 6, 2011 1:58 pm

    Man, that Faux fish sounds/looks awesome! Have you ever been to Destin or Ft. Walton Beach FL? We are headed their Monday for the week. I was just thinkg if you had, that maybe…..just maybe you might have some recomendations of some places to eat. πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 6, 2011 2:38 pm

      I’m afraid I haven’t been to those places 😦 I wish I had some suggestions for you! You of all people really deserve to eat out at a couple great vegan restaurants.

  18. October 6, 2011 5:37 pm

    Haha. I just sent you an email in which I was excited that you and I shared the same birthday month (I don’t know anyone who shares my birthday) until I realized these were belated posts and your birthday is in July, not October. Oops. Lol. All well!

    I still haven’t made it to Lawrence yet… though I’d really like to go to a concert there sometime. For some reason, metal bands seem to hit that place up!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 6, 2011 5:41 pm

      Haha, it’s all good! I know more people with b-days in October than any other month, actually, so you’ve got lots of birthday company this month!

      You’ll get your fill of Larrytown once you move there, I imagine : ) And YES, metal bands do often come through there. Speaking of metal, I’m off to see Opeth in about an hour or two! WOOT! Seen ’em twice before, but it’s been a few years.

  19. allysiak permalink
    October 6, 2011 8:46 pm

    I love vegan seafood too! There’s so much attention to detail with the pink stripes and whatnot. And because they don’t exist in my city, so they seem all mystical. Too bad the restaurant closed, everything looked great!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 6, 2011 11:32 pm

      “Mystical” – that’s a rather good descriptor for it! I thought the pink stripes were a nice touch, too. πŸ™‚

  20. October 7, 2011 8:24 am

    So sad that it closed! Everything looked amazing. [And I, too, would have asked for both sauces. :)]

    I’m finishing up the first week of the Vegan Month of Food, and, as someone who was NOT a vegan before this month, I have to say that dining out seems to be one of the hurdles I am faced with. There are so many things to watch out for at restaurants…I don’t know how “true vegans” do it in towns where there aren’t a lot of veg-friendly options! I will say, however, that at least I know how to cook!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 7, 2011 12:10 pm

      Despite how it may seem on this blog πŸ˜› I eat at home 98% of the time, so like you said, it’s very easy to be 100% vegan at home. And when traveling, I’m often able to find 100% vegan restaurants, too. It’s usually the dozen or two times a year I dine out locally that I loosen up and eat vegetarian if I want to. So I hear ya!

  21. Meri permalink
    October 7, 2011 7:49 pm

    Me too! I tried to go there a couple weeks ago, found them closed and thought it was just because they weren’t open Monday/Tuesday. It makes me sad to hear they’re closed for good. 😦

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 7, 2011 9:16 pm

      I know, it SUCKS! Makes me very sad, too. 😦

  22. October 7, 2011 11:35 pm

    What a darling little place Lawrence is! I want those sweet potato fries and the rice balls look super yum

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 8, 2011 10:55 am

      It is kinda darling, isn’t it? πŸ™‚ Those sweet potato fries were AMAZING!

  23. October 12, 2011 4:25 pm

    Veggie Shrimp is the funniest thing! Too bad the restaurant closed, that pie looks amazing.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 12, 2011 4:26 pm

      Indeed, it is too bad 😦

Leave a Comment

