Skip to content
Raw raspberry cream filled chocolate candies

October 11, 2011

Raw. Vegan. Gluten-free.

Raspberry cream. Dark chocolate.

Bite-size. Melt-in-your-mouth.

Invented on the fly at 1:00am on a Saturday night/Sunday morning, and SO worth the lost sleep. They’re a bit messy and time-consuming to make, but once you taste one, trust me, you won’t mind one bit.

You’re going to LOVE these!

Raw Raspberry Cream Filled Chocolate Candies

For the chocolate:
1 cup finely grated cacao butter
3/4 cup raw cacao powder
1/2 cup maple syrup, agave, or coconut nectar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
Pinch of sea salt

For the raspberry cream:
1 (10-oz.) bag frozen organic raspberries, thawed
1/2 cup raw cashews, soaked for 2-4 hours
1/2 cup pitted dates
2 tablespoons ground chia seeds
2 teaspoons lemon juice
Pinch of sea salt

To make the chocolate, gently melt the cacao butter in a dehydrator or in a double boiler over low heat. Add the cacao powder, sweetener, vanilla, and salt. Stir thoroughly to combine, and set aside.

To make the raspberry cream, combine the raspberries, cashews, dates, chia seeds, lemon juice, and salt in a high-speed blender and blend until completely smooth. (At this point, you can strain the mixture through a fine-mesh sieve if you like, but I find that my blender does a good enough job at pulverizing the seeds that I don’t have to strain it.)

To assemble the candies, spoon the chocolate mixture into molds (for best results, use a shape with a good amount of depth) about 1/3 of the way full. Add a small amount of the raspberry cream to fill the mold 2/3 full. (You’ll probably have some leftover. I trust you won’t have a hard time finding ways to eat it!) Add another spoonful of the chocolate mixture to fully fill the mold. Freeze for several hours or overnight, until completely firm.

The next day, when the candies are fully set, pop ’em out of the molds and INDULGE!

These are best stored in the refrigerator or freezer.

The rich dark chocolate enrobes the more delicate, slightly icy raspberry cream like a dream. If you make these, please come back and tell me how much you love them!

…because oh, you WILL love them.

PSβ€”Thanks for all the entries in my Eat Vegan on $4 a Day contest. I’ll leave it open for a couple more days, so keep ’em coming!

3 years ago…
White bean garlic soup
2 years ago…
Almost Vegan in Paris
Almost Vegan in Paris/Bordeaux
1 year ago…
Vegan Treats chocolate-peanut butter bomb cake!
Rainbow rice and beans

122 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2011 10:34 am

    SO gorgeous! Wow, good job!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2011 12:33 pm

      Thanks, Emily! These are really worth the time investment. πŸ™‚

  2. A Tablespoon of Liz permalink
    October 11, 2011 10:36 am

    These look so amazing! I’m literally drooling just at the photos!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2011 12:33 pm

      Quick, move your keyboard out of the way! πŸ˜› Thanks Liz!

  3. October 11, 2011 11:00 am

    Those looks so wonderful!

    • October 11, 2011 11:01 am

      I mean, those LOOK so wonderful! I’ve been hearing a lot about raw chocolates lately and I’m intrigued to try it out.

      • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
        October 11, 2011 12:35 pm

        You SHOULD! I think all vegan chocolate should be raw anyway, when you think about it. What ingredients in there actually require cooking? Hmm. But seriously, even if you’re not into raw foods in general, raw chocolate is a whole other story. πŸ˜‰

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2011 12:33 pm

      Thank you Kelly!

  4. October 11, 2011 11:00 am

    Buhhh this is even better than any reeces cup vegan or not! YUMMMOOOOOO in my tummoooooo

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2011 12:34 pm

      Now THAT’s a compliment! Thanks! πŸ˜€

  5. October 11, 2011 11:02 am

    ooh yum! you should sell those ;D

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2011 12:36 pm

      Hehe, think so? I wouldn’t mind being a chocolatier on the side!

  6. October 11, 2011 11:07 am

    Dude. THESE ARE AMAZING!!!! Seriously. Stuff like this could make me go raw … okay, at least for a little while until the chocolate ran out. πŸ˜›

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2011 12:36 pm

      Haha, thank you! Clearly, the trick is to keep an unending supply of raw chocolate treats on hand.

  7. October 11, 2011 11:14 am

    Rock on beautiful talented Amber! Love ya! xo

    • October 11, 2011 11:15 am

      Hope you don’t mind, but I shared this on my FB page with full kudos’ to you! I think they look so darn beautiful and I bet they taste amazing. Love your food and love you lady! xo

      • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
        October 11, 2011 11:17 am

        Of course not Priscilla, share away! I appreciate it! πŸ˜€

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2011 12:36 pm

      Thank you Priscilla! Much love to you ❀

  8. Blanka permalink
    October 11, 2011 11:15 am

    Looks divine – now on my list ‘to try soon’! Thank you for sharing!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2011 12:37 pm

      Yay! Let me know how you like ’em!

  9. October 11, 2011 11:16 am

    Those look amazing!! I love chocolate + raspberry. In fact, just the raspberry cream would probably make me happy. πŸ˜‰

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2011 11:17 am

      Even though I didn’t mention it in the post, you CAN certainly just make the raspberry cream and eat it with a spoon, like a mousse πŸ˜‰ I ate my share of it in that manner!

  10. Mikaela permalink
    October 11, 2011 11:24 am

    These look fantastic. Have to make! Thanks πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2011 12:37 pm

      Please do! And report back πŸ˜›

  11. October 11, 2011 11:32 am

    That bright pink color really pops. Hayden and I’ll have to make these for a girlie girl treat.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2011 12:37 pm

      Indeed, even I was surprised when I bit into one! Surprised and pleased. πŸ™‚

  12. October 11, 2011 11:52 am

    These sound as incredible as I expected! mmmm

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2011 12:37 pm

      Thanks Jessica! πŸ˜€

  13. October 11, 2011 11:53 am

    Those are gorgeous! And the texture looks so smooth and creamy. This is one of the most beautiful and scrumptious looking things you’ve ever made, can’t wait to make some for myself!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2011 12:38 pm

      Wow, thank you! That’s a huge compliment. I’d love to hear about it if you make some for yourself!

  14. October 11, 2011 12:03 pm

    Wow I would love one of these right now!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2011 12:38 pm

      That makes two of us! πŸ˜›

  15. October 11, 2011 12:31 pm

    Such brilliant colors on your candy….. would love to take a bite of this incredibly good chocolat!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2011 12:38 pm

      Thank you, Malli! The colors really do pop, don’t they?

  16. October 11, 2011 12:53 pm

    These look yummy. I am so going to make these with my little girls for our halloween treats. Yay for healthy chocolate!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2011 1:10 pm

      That’s so great, Jane! I hope you all love them!

  17. JorDanna permalink
    October 11, 2011 12:54 pm

    Nom, nom, nom!!! So very beautiful β™₯

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2011 1:10 pm

      Thank you, JorDanna!

  18. October 11, 2011 12:54 pm

    How pretty! Granted, I wouldn’t go for the raspberry center, but I see no reason why I couldn’t sub in strawberries or cherries….or, heck pretty much any fruit I see fit! Blueberry lavender comes to mind….oh, my imagination. I need a job.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2011 1:12 pm

      Ah yes, you and the raspberries πŸ™‚ But certainly, switch up the berries as you please! Blueberry lavender sounds divine!

  19. October 11, 2011 1:21 pm

    Wow, those are making my mouth water. They look delicious AND beautiful!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2011 1:22 pm

      Thanks so much, Debbie! That was my goal πŸ™‚

  20. Abe permalink
    October 11, 2011 1:37 pm

    can you mail some to me? … they look good.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2011 1:38 pm

      Hehe! I’m not sure these are mail-stable…you’ll just have to make them yourself, methinks! πŸ˜›

  21. ellen permalink
    October 11, 2011 1:42 pm

    Looks AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you!! πŸ˜€

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2011 1:46 pm

      Thank you, Ellen! Let me know if you give them a try!

  22. October 11, 2011 3:46 pm

    Yum! Chocolate and raspberry is such a great combination. So beautiful too. I’ve been thinking about making some chocolates again–it’s a disincentive, though, to think that I really shouldn’t eat choc, have gotten pretty clear that it’s not worth how it makes me feel…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2011 3:47 pm

      Disincentive, indeed 😦 It’s the cacao powder specifically, though, right? Maybe you could experiment more with carob, or even white chocolate (YUM!)…

  23. October 11, 2011 7:27 pm

    It’s like a healthified Reese’s gone raspberry! πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2011 7:30 pm

      Hehe, well said!

  24. October 11, 2011 7:38 pm

    I think you always need to spend the wee hours of the morning in the kitch if this is the kind of goodness you come up with. Raspberry is Erik’s favorite, and he loves it even more with chocolate. I’ll definitely be making these! Yum πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2011 8:39 pm

      Good point! πŸ™‚ That’s great; let me know how you both like them!

  25. October 11, 2011 7:49 pm

    Maybe I missed it? But how many does the recipe make? πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2011 8:40 pm

      It’s totally dependent on the size of your chocolate molds. I used a variety of shapes/sizes, and I got a good 4 dozen, if not more.

      • October 11, 2011 8:43 pm

        Aw ok awesome, thank you! I don’t actually have any molds so I needed a sense of how many I need.

        • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
          October 11, 2011 8:49 pm

          In lieu of molds, you could try layering the ingredients in mini muffin tins, ice cube trays, or even a couple 9×5-inch loaf pans! You’d just need to fully freeze each layer before spreading the next one on top of it.

  26. Rachel permalink
    October 11, 2011 9:33 pm

    yes please! bookmarking this and making it ASAP! i was thinking earlier about how i needed a baking project for the weekend. these little babies seem perfect to make then take to the library for study fuel.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2011 9:34 pm

      Oh man, YES! I wish I had study fuel like this when I was still in school! Do it πŸ™‚

  27. October 11, 2011 9:50 pm

    those look SOOOOO good! i cant believe they r raw!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 11, 2011 9:51 pm

      Believe it! Raw chocolate is the best!

  28. Sonia permalink
    October 12, 2011 12:49 am

    You are such a natural with chocolates…this makes me hungry. Looks so delicious. Thank you for being so creative.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 12, 2011 12:21 pm

      Aw, thank YOU, Sonia, for reading and enjoying my posts. πŸ™‚

  29. October 12, 2011 6:34 am

    These look amazing….great recipe!!!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 12, 2011 12:18 pm

      Thanks so much! πŸ˜€

  30. October 12, 2011 7:03 am

    Oh so tempting! Though it would be very naughty of me to splurge on cacao butter when I still have 95% of the jar of coconut oil I got for Christmas…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 12, 2011 12:16 pm

      You could try coconut oil instead! The finished chocolates would be a little fudgy rather than hard and snappy, but you could just store them in the freezer.

      • October 17, 2011 12:52 pm

        I was about to ask the same question – I’m adding these to my ‘to make’ list for the week with coconut butter. I may make a few with un-raw peanut butter, as I love me some pb+choc!

        • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
          October 17, 2011 2:27 pm

          Hey Michelle – just be sure not to sub in coconut butter for the cacao butter. You can use coconut OIL to substitute, because cacao “butter” is actually an oil, but coconut butter (or PB) will not allow the chocolate to set up. You can, however, sub coconut butter or even PB for the cashews in the filling! Basically the chocolate needs an oil, while the filling needs a butter (the cashews more or less become cashew butter when blended). Hope that helps! πŸ™‚

  31. October 12, 2011 7:55 am

    MmmmMM! Talk about midnight craving? πŸ˜‰ I will have to try these some time…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 12, 2011 12:18 pm

      I’d love it if you would πŸ™‚

  32. October 12, 2011 8:17 am

    i just made these and WOW is all i can say πŸ™‚ great recipe, I like that its easy and yet delicious! I used a few dashes of chipotle in the raspberry sauce and some cinnamon in the chocolate sauce… πŸ™‚ thanks for sharing!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 12, 2011 12:20 pm

      That is SO wonderful to hear! Love the additions of chipotle and cinnamon. I’m thrilled you love them!

  33. October 12, 2011 12:25 pm

    Yum! These look delicious! I’ve been talking about making a bunch of different vegan truffles for holiday presents this winter. I might just have to try these out ahead of time they look so good!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 12, 2011 12:26 pm

      These would make a GREAT holiday gift!

  34. October 12, 2011 1:00 pm

    ordering some cacao butter asap! thanks for losing sleep to benefit us all!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 12, 2011 1:01 pm

      Haha! You are quite welcome πŸ˜›

  35. October 12, 2011 1:20 pm

    Wow. The more I read about raw desserts, the more I crave them!!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 12, 2011 1:21 pm

      And usually (this one being a bit of an exception) they’re so EASY to make! You must start trying out some raw dessert recipes…may I suggest my 5-minute blondie to start? πŸ˜‰

      • October 12, 2011 1:39 pm

        Amazing! I have to get some cashews and then i’ll be making this for sure!

        • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
          October 12, 2011 1:47 pm

          Awesome! Remember you can sub macadamia nuts for the cashews too, if you have those. Let me know how you like it! πŸ˜€

          • October 12, 2011 2:01 pm

            ok, cool! The only nuts I have right now are almonds. I’ll let you know as soon as I make it πŸ™‚

          • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
            October 12, 2011 2:02 pm

            I haven’t tried almonds, but those might actually work just fine too! As long as it’s 1/2 almonds and 1/2 walnuts or pecans.

  36. Matt permalink
    October 12, 2011 2:30 pm

    They were d-lish! Looking forward to eating more soon. (hint!)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 12, 2011 2:35 pm

      Thanks honey! Glad you liked them as much as I did. :* Psst – I still have a few stashed in the freezer…

  37. October 12, 2011 5:58 pm

    Eeee! I can’t wait to make these!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 12, 2011 6:03 pm

      Awesome! I hope you love ’em, let me know!

  38. October 13, 2011 7:53 am

    Oh oh oh! These are so BEAUTIFUL!! And they came at the perfect time! Im on a huge home made raw chocolate-kick right now, and Im SO making this ASAP!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 13, 2011 11:42 am

      Perfect timing! I can’t wait to hear what you think of them!

  39. October 13, 2011 12:01 pm

    What a beautiful post, Amber!! These look just sooo awesomely yummy!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 13, 2011 12:02 pm

      Thank you dear! πŸ˜€

  40. October 13, 2011 7:38 pm

    Yummmmmy Amber… I’ll take 1000 please πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 13, 2011 8:06 pm

      Hehe, an order that size might take some time to fill πŸ˜‰

  41. October 13, 2011 11:19 pm

    Hi Amber,

    These look delish. I will be making these. Maybe this weekend. I just have enough cacao butter for another batch. You can never make enough chocolate. Love the raspberry idea.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 14, 2011 10:58 am

      Sasha, that’s great! Please let me know what you think of them once you try them. πŸ™‚

  42. Lisa permalink
    October 15, 2011 1:11 pm

    ok..just got done making these!!! oh my GOODNESS!!!! replaced the cacao butter with coconut oil as you suggested, as well the coconut butter for the cashews…sooooo awesome!!! I even did a couple filled with just almond butter!! YUMMMMM!! thank you!!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 15, 2011 1:11 pm

      I LOVE hearing that, Lisa! I’m so thrilled you like them! πŸ˜€

  43. October 16, 2011 7:14 am

    These chocolates look heavenly! I can’t believe that this gorgeous deep shade of pink can be achieved with natural products: thank you for the idea.
    I will make a raw raspberry cake for my little girl’s next birthday.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 16, 2011 11:34 am

      Thank you Anastasia! The raspberries really do a stellar job of coloring it, don’t they? A raw raspberry birthday cake sounds like a winner to me!

  44. October 16, 2011 11:35 am

    Amber your Rasp Cream Choc candies looks seriously dangerously insanely good!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 16, 2011 11:36 am

      Thanks Tanya! That’s the HIGHEST compliment coming from the chocolate wizard herself! πŸ˜›

  45. October 19, 2011 3:38 pm

    These look absolutely amazing! My only problem is that I don’t have some of the ingredients on hand. Hmmmmm, these may be transformed into peanut butter cups tonight and then I can try the real deal when I get my hands on some raspberries…

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 19, 2011 7:58 pm

      Ooh, let me know how that turns out!

      • October 20, 2011 8:42 am

        Oh my GOSH!!! I did make these last night, only I quartered the recipe just in case. I used coconut oil instead of the cocoa butter for the chocolate and used peanut butter and agave for the center. OH. MY. HECK. They are absolutely incredible. One of the tastiest desserts I’ve made, and I’ve made a LOT! So easy, too, and so few ingredients. Just wonderful. I found your site at exactly the right time. I’M JUST SO HAPPY!!! πŸ˜€

        I’m exstatic. I think chocolate really is a drug.

        Now I’m really, really looking forward to seeing you speak at the Texas State Veggie fair this weekend…almost as much as I’m looking forward to going home and devouring another one (or three?) of those amazing peanut butter cups. *DROOL*

        • October 20, 2011 8:44 am

          And I really do know how to spell ecstatic. See? πŸ™‚

        • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
          October 20, 2011 11:44 am

          I’m so so happy to hear that! Oh, they sound DELICIOUS they way you made them. Little PB cups, MMM! Maybe you should bring me one on Sunday, hehe!

  46. Melissa Madera permalink
    October 21, 2011 8:06 pm

    Hi, I just saw this and really really want to make these, but my sister is allergic to cashews and all other nuts. Is there a substitute for the cashews? Would peanuts work? I would prefer something other than peanuts though. She is not allergic to peanuts since they are legumes.

    Thanks so much! I love your website and all the recipes.

    -Melissa

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 22, 2011 9:59 am

      That’s too bad about your sister’s nut allergy 😦 Can she eat coconut products? Even though it’s technically a drupe, I know some people with nut allergies are sensitive to it. If she CAN eat coconut, you can replace the cashews with an equal amount of softened coconut butter. If she can’t, you might try something unconventional – 1/2 cup of cooked white beans, pureed in with the raspberries. Sounds weird, but I bet it’d work well! Just add a couple more dates for sweetness if you use the beans. Hope that helps; let me know how they turn out! πŸ™‚

      • Melissa Madera permalink
        October 23, 2011 8:45 pm

        Nope, no coconut either! I’ll think on the beans. It sounds so weird. Would the peanuts or peanut butter be ok? I do like peanut butter cups and my sister likes peanuts. Would the raspberry peanut combination be weird? Also, I went looking for cacao butter and didn’t find any. Would nibs work? And what sort of molds did you use? Sorry for all the questions, but I have never made chocolates before!

        Thanks!!!

      • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
        October 23, 2011 8:49 pm

        No worries, questions are good! The beans do sound weird, I know, but I bet it’d actually be really good. However, I think peanut + raspberry could also be tasty! Or maybe peanut + strawberry, like a peanut butter sandwich with strawberry jam, mmm…covered in chocolate!

        Cacao nibs definitely wouldn’t work, as they’re just crushed whole cacao beans. Cacao butter is actually an oil; it’s the fat that’s extracted from the beans. It looks like this: http://www.nutsonline.com/nuts/cacao/butter.html Coconut oil would be a decent substitute.

        If you don’t have chocolate molds, you could use mini muffin cups and just make larger chocolate “disks,” or even use a loaf pan and make one huge layered chocolate bar!

        Hope that helps. πŸ™‚

        • Melissa Madera permalink
          October 26, 2011 5:19 pm

          Thanks for the tips! I’ll experiment and let you know how they turn out:)

  47. Monica Soto permalink
    October 25, 2011 4:49 pm

    How did I not see this one!? Those look so awesome. The colors are crazy!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 25, 2011 4:55 pm

      I know, right? The raspberry filling is totally pink-highlighter-colored!

  48. Raw Chef Debra permalink
    November 7, 2011 8:21 pm

    Wow, they look beautiful. And totally yummy! Thanks for sharing. πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 7, 2011 8:26 pm

      Thanks, Debra! πŸ˜€

  49. January 20, 2012 4:22 pm

    Oh my gosh, I need to try these!!!!! They look absolutely beautiful!

  50. January 31, 2012 8:26 pm

    I shared this on my health-coaching blog! SO GOOD! I only wish I had a Vitamix… my cheapy always has a hard time with those dates.

    • January 31, 2012 9:06 pm

      Thanks Christie!
      You could always try subbing in 1/3 cup coconut nectar or agave nectar for the dates…it’ll make a slightly thinner cream, but it’d still be delicious!

  51. March 18, 2012 2:49 pm

    I just made some of these. One word; Delicious ❀
    Thank you

Leave a Comment

