Skip to content
Vegan brunch at Succotash in KC

October 14, 2011

Congratulations to Beth, the winner of my Eat Vegan on $4 a Day giveaway! Please email your full name and mailing address to almostveganchef AT gmail DOT com, and we’ll get your prize sent out to you.

It’s Friday! And wow, I’m blown away at how much you guys love those raw raspberry cream filled chocolate candies I posted on Tuesday. Many of you have already made them; love that! Keep the “reviews” coming.

Continuing on with my blogging backlog, here’s the brunch Matt and I ate on my birthday way back in July.

Matt and I had been meaning to try Succotash for quite some time, after hearing from our friend Mary that they had vegan options, so we took advantage of my birthday by treating ourselves to Sunday brunch.

The building, and especially the inside, is super cute and quirky.

Matt ate these huge, fluffy biscuits, smothered with mushroom gravy.

We shared a side of thick-cut hash browns.

I knew ahead of time what I was getting for my main dish, though.

I ordered the vegan short stack with blueberries, and saved a few bucks by forgoing the fruit gazpacho (as delicious as it sounded, we had plenty else to eat!).

I don’t eat pancakes NEARLY often enough. Seriously. This brunch (and dinner; I took half the p-cakes home leftover) really hit the spot. We will definitely be returning to Succotash!

QUESTION: Do you have any omni restaurants in your city that provide vegan brunch options? We have several here in Kansas City, though we don’t go out for brunch very often. We should change that, because I LOVE eating out for brunch!

3 years ago…
Waldo Pizza in KC
2 years ago…
Almost Vegan in Paris/Bordeaux
1 year ago…
Rainbow rice and beans
Review: Organics Are For Everyone date syrup

30 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2011 12:52 pm

    I still need to go to Succotash, looks delicious!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 14, 2011 12:53 pm

      Succotash rocks! They have a vegan scramble, too. You should high-tail it over there at your first chance!

  2. October 14, 2011 2:15 pm

    Ohmygoodness! Thank you!!! ^_^ Also, to those biscuits and gravy: Drool!! yum! I clearly need to go to Kansas soon!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 14, 2011 2:29 pm

      It’s Missouri, actually πŸ˜‰ And yes, you really should visit here sometime – it’s more vegan-friendly than you might guess!

      • October 14, 2011 3:49 pm

        oooh goodness, Ignore me lol. That’s what I get for quick reading at work >_<
        I just saw Kansas and not Kansas City! ANYWAY! Yes, I need to get to Missouri πŸ™‚ It's amazing how many places that you'd think aren't very vegan really do have decent vegan options!! Here in NO it used to be such a small community but now vegan options are popping up everywhere, it's amazing!

      • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
        October 14, 2011 4:32 pm

        Hehe! No worries. I once read that only 1 out of every 10 people in this country know that KC is in Missouri – ack! So I always try to point that out.

        Would you believe I’ve never been to NOLA? I’ve wanted to visit there ever since I was a kid!

  3. Matt permalink
    October 14, 2011 11:38 pm

    We should definitely go back there again soon. I liked the vibe and the food, though very geared toward comfort, was good.

    • October 15, 2011 9:56 am

      Give us a holler when you decide to go. Seriously.

      • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
        October 16, 2011 11:44 am

        Will do!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 16, 2011 11:43 am

      Agreed. Maybe if people like us keep going, they’ll add more and more vegan options over time.

  4. October 15, 2011 12:03 am

    It’s honestly been over ten years since I’ve had pancakes! I never used to like them because they filled me up like a doona, but the blogworld is slowly convincing me to make some for myself that I might like πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 15, 2011 1:19 pm

      I don’t know what a doona is, but being full up on pancakes is a happy thing to me! πŸ™‚

  5. October 15, 2011 8:11 am

    We don’t have very many vegan restaurants or vegan options around here…there are some places but their hours don’t work with my schedule and they are at least 1/2 – 1 hour away!! BOO 😦

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 15, 2011 1:20 pm

      That sucks =/ But that just means…more excuses to make fancy brunch dishes at home!

  6. October 15, 2011 9:57 am

    So glad you went! Thanks for the post about my favorite place in town! They also have the veggie kitchen sink with hummus and succotash and all of those yummy fresh-made juices! And, as a veg but not vegan…that mushroom gravy is to die for!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 15, 2011 1:20 pm

      I may need to try that vegan Kitchen Sink next time, although it’ll be pretty hard to resist those p-cakes…

      I forgot to mention the juices! I think Matt got a green juice while we were there.

  7. October 15, 2011 11:37 am

    Thanks for sharing this, because apparently my city has omni places to go for awesome vegan brunch options–good to know πŸ™‚ Erik and I don’t eat out often (generally just once a month, if that), and we never, ever think to go out for breakfast. P.S. I would love to have a plate of the biscuits and gravy!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 15, 2011 1:22 pm

      Indeed! Besides Succotash, there’s a place called Room 39 that I’ll be blogging about soon. We also still need to pay a visit to Chez Elle Creperie, which I hear has vegan crepes!

      I think the biscuits and gravy here was vegetarian, not vegan, but it’s worth asking about. If they have soymilk (presumably) for the pancakes, I don’t see why they can’t make a soymilk + flour gravy for biscuits!

  8. October 15, 2011 9:08 pm

    Sounds like a great b’day celebration and it’s fun that you get to relive it a few months later!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 16, 2011 1:06 am

      It’s always nice to relive great meals. πŸ™‚

  9. October 15, 2011 9:34 pm

    IN my city? Um, I’m going to have to say no. Unless you count oatmeal. Places have that. But I’d never go out for brunch to eat oatmeal since my oatmeal would be so much better. Glad you enjoyed your day out. That building does look cute.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 16, 2011 11:42 am

      Haha! No, I can’t say I count oatmeal πŸ˜‰ And you’re right, homemade’s better anyway!

  10. October 16, 2011 1:38 pm

    Yowza. I lovvvvveeee hashbrowns!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 16, 2011 1:59 pm

      Me too! When the edges are browned and crunchy, they’re irresistible to me.

  11. Anna permalink
    October 17, 2011 2:28 pm

    In Portland there is a place, the Hungry Tiger too. They have a vegan menu and a regular menu!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 17, 2011 2:29 pm

      Sadly I didn’t get the chance to eat there when I was in Portland in August, but hopefully on my next trip! πŸ™‚

  12. October 18, 2011 1:57 pm

    There’s just something about getting pancakes with fruit at restaurants that tastes so good!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 18, 2011 4:00 pm

      Agreed – comfort food at its finest!

  13. October 21, 2011 3:22 pm

    Would love to see some pancake recipes on here πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 21, 2011 7:03 pm

      I DO need a good p-cakes recipe, don’t I? πŸ™‚ I’ll have to work on that!

Leave a Comment

