Skip to content

Texas State Veggie Fair kickoff party

October 27, 2011

Thank you so much for all the kind congratulations on Matt‘s and my engagement! Not to mention all the compliments on the ring (which he purchased from this Etsy vendor, if you were curious) and that badass steampunky box. You guys are the best. Even though the proposal happened almost a week ago, I don’t think it’s quite hit me yet that I now have a wedding to plan! While finishing and releasing my first cookbook, that is, plus blogging, starting work on my second cookbook, hopefully writing an e-book, moving to a new place in the spring, traveling to promote my book…wow, if I thought 2011’s been busy so far, 2012 is going to be a real whirlwind! I wouldn’t trade it for the world, though. (Oh, and don’t worry, I promise I’ll blog about that unbelievable 10-course vegan feast very soon!)

Today’s post is part one of my recap of last weekend’s 2nd Annual Texas State Veggie Fair. Saturday night was the official kickoff party, organized and hosted by Mercy For Animals, which featured an outrageous buffet of all-vegan food. North Texas vegans sure do know how to throw a party! I enjoyed a plate of rigatoni with “sausage” marinara, tortilla chips with guac and salsa, a couple bites of truly-raw sushi (SO good!) and a whole mess of Singapore-style noodles.

Matt had much of the same, plus a giant half of a Chipotle vegan burrito with all the fixins.

We said hello to Christy, a.k.a. The Blissful Chef, Veggie Fair coordinator and friend whose excellent new cookbook I recently reviewed. (P.S.—doesn’t my fiancé [it still feels so weird to be saying that!] look handsome in this photo? Hehe.)


Photo courtesy of Sylvia Elzafon

But the kickoff party didn’t just have a savory vegan food buffet—they also had an entire table of vegan desserts! It was so hard to choose. I bypassed doughnuts (glazed, chocolate, or maple bacon!), carrot cake cupcakes, and more in favor of these three goodies: a dark chocolate s’mores cupcake, a coconut-lemon-raspberry cupcake (my favorite!) and a mini cinnamon roll. Don’t worry, I didn’t eat all this! Matt and I split everything 60/40.

The highlight of the night was a moving talk by Nathan Runkle, founder of Mercy For Animals, about the progress being made in the field of animal advocacy. He showed the Farm to Fridge video during his talk, which is difficult (but, in my opinion, important) to watch. Matt was so moved by and impressed with Nathan’s common-sense approach to activism that he spontaneously decided to make a rather generous donation to MFA right then and there, handing it directly to Nathan so he could shake his hand and thank him for the work he’s doing. (Isn’t my fiancé wonderful? Ok, you’re probably going to get sick of that pretty quickly if I continue with it, haha. I’ll try and cut it out. Maybe.)


Photo courtesy of Sylvia Elzafon

We left the kickoff party both stuffed and inspired.

Coming up in my next post: my recap of the Texas State Veggie Fair itself, including my first-ever live raw food demos.

3 years ago…
Cherry almond muffins
Easy “pepperoni” pizza
2 years ago…
Almost Vegan in Nice, France
Almost Vegan in Florence, Italy
1 year ago…
Matthew Kenney Academy: pesto beet ravioli
Matthew Kenney Academy: kimchi, lasagna, nori handroll
Matthew Kenney Academy: coconuts & too much kale

20 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2011 12:55 pm

    The kick-off party was actually hosted by Mercy For Animals and the Texas coordinator Nora was in charge of all the planning of this party. I just helped out!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 27, 2011 1:01 pm

      Oh! Ok, I edited the post to reflect that. My bad! 🙂

  2. October 27, 2011 1:11 pm

    Congrats on the engagement! I think you’ll probably have the best-tasting reception food in HISTORY. Also, I was so disappointed not to be able to make it the the Veggie Fair on Sunday as planned (no car!) and was so sorry to miss your food demo. Can’t wait to be updated with pictures and a detailed recap!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 27, 2011 3:06 pm

      Thank you! And hehe, that’s the plan.
      Sorry you couldn’t make it to the Fair. Next year? 🙂

  3. Matt permalink
    October 27, 2011 2:16 pm

    You’re gonna make me blush, Fee-ancee. 😉

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 27, 2011 3:11 pm

      Hehe 😛 Love you, fee-ancé!

  4. October 27, 2011 5:16 pm

    Looks like a fun little shindig! You guys always look great 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 27, 2011 5:21 pm

      Aw, thank you! I almost didn’t post that pic cuz I think I look horrific there (what’s up with the double chin?!), heh.

  5. October 27, 2011 5:39 pm

    Looking forward to hearing about your demo at the fair–and wow, you are seriously on fire: cookbook number 2 in the works already? Awesome..

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 27, 2011 5:47 pm

      Cookbook #2 is conceptually in the works…but only in my head at this point 🙂 My publisher and I need to wrap up this first book before we start talking about the possibility of a second!

  6. October 27, 2011 7:06 pm

    I think both fiancé and fiancée look absolutely stunning, and I’m so honoured and excited about everything, everything, everything… and what we’ve discussed 🙂 Oh, if only I could be your PA as you travel/move/take the world by storm for all of next year! 😉

    xoxo

    Love you lady!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 27, 2011 7:07 pm

      How awesome would that be!? 🙂
      Luff YOO!

  7. October 28, 2011 1:07 am

    Your posts are awesome!! The food and places you go to always look divine!!! And YES, your hunky man sure does look hunky!!! Love him!

    xxoo

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 28, 2011 1:15 am

      Hehe! He’ll be tickled to see your comment. I love him too! 😛

  8. October 28, 2011 10:55 am

    what a fun event!!!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 28, 2011 10:56 am

      Just wait till you read my next post about the actual fair! 🙂

  9. October 28, 2011 2:55 pm

    Oh wow…I’m behind! CONGRATULATIONS on your engagement!!!! I’m so excited for you. :o)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 28, 2011 5:36 pm

      Thanks Michelle!

  10. October 29, 2011 11:17 pm

    Wow this looks like fun. Just catching up-Big Congrats to you by the way:)

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      October 29, 2011 11:24 pm

      Thank you, Sasha!

Leave a Comment

