Skip to content
Sunday brunch at Room 39

November 6, 2011

So what’d you guys think of that ten-course vegan tasting menu? Pretty frickin’ spectacular, huh?! Matt set the bar awfully high with that feast!

The meal I’m sharing with you today is far less grandiose, but still delectable. Several months ago, on a rainy Sunday morning, Matt and I randomly decided to hit up Room 39, which neither of us had ever tried, for their vegan-friendly breakfast/brunch menu. You know how I love brunch!

We sat on the patio and enjoyed a soy latte (for Matt) and a plain brewed coffee with soymilk (for me) to start.

We both compiled our meals off the A La Carte portion of the menu.

Matt ate scrambled tofu and oatmeal with fresh strawberries.

I too had some of Room 39’s magnificently tender scrambled tofu…

…plus one of my favorites: breakfast potatoes!

It was a simple, relaxing, and lovely brunch. I’m so thankful when omni restaurants like Room 39 offer multiple vegan options!

QUESTION: What’s your favorite breakfast or brunch dish of all time?

3 years ago…
Bon voyage, mes amis!
2 years ago…
Almost Vegan in Capri/Sorrento, Italy
1 year ago…
Matthew Kenney Academy: chocolate chips, Reuben sandwich
Matthew Kenney Academy: truffles, cookies, burgers, tarts
Review: Love Street Living Foods

14 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2011 8:20 am

    Lovely brunch! I really like oven-roasted potatoes. It makes my meal especially with ketchup.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 6, 2011 9:40 am

      B-fast potatoes are about the only thing I eat ketchup on!

  2. November 6, 2011 9:36 am

    Yum, that scrambled tofu looks very good. My favorite brunch food is a toasted bagel with cream cheese and smoked salmon. Perfectly ripe fruit with yogurt is always good too.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 6, 2011 9:38 am

      Yes, fruit was the thing that was missing from this meal! Aside from that little handful of strawbs.

  3. November 6, 2011 11:43 am

    I actually thought the scrambled tofu was eggs at first, it looks great!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 6, 2011 12:58 pm

      Usually I think it’s a bad thing when vegan food too closely resembles its non-vegan counterpart, but in the case of scrambled tofu, I love when it’s “eggy”!

  4. November 6, 2011 12:34 pm

    Mmmmm your brunch looks so yummy!! My FAVOURITE brunch of all time is the vegan ‘eggs’ benny (made with scrambled tofu & butternut squash for the ‘egg’) at a restaurant in Vancouver. The ‘egg’ is served on cornbread english muffins with guacamole. SO TASTY! Every time I go there I order the same thing because it’s just so yummy 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 6, 2011 12:58 pm

      That sounds AMAZING! I don’t blame you for getting it every time! 😛

  5. November 6, 2011 3:22 pm

    You managed to get a photo of oatmeal that doesn’t look like glop! Nice job! I’m a big fan on tofu scramble for brunch too – especially when it’s paired with a light salad and some toast. Bloody Marys are never a bad idea either 😉

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 6, 2011 3:25 pm

      Hehe! I’m not big on Bloody Marys myself, but I’ve been known to sip a bellini or two 😉

  6. November 6, 2011 9:18 pm

    Clearly Matt’s going to have to arrange a 20 course vegan tasting menu for your first anniversary, right? Or perhaps the honeymoon, because of course you won’t be wanting to do anything besides eat on your honeymoon… 😛

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 6, 2011 9:30 pm

      Why, yes! I think he should at least 1 course for every year we’re together 😉

  7. November 7, 2011 4:19 am

    It is truly wonderful to be able to eat in an omni restaurant along with “Normal” folks!!! As long as you trust the chefs, of course! Not something we see over here very much:(

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 7, 2011 7:58 am

      At least a nice homemade vegan brunch is always an option, right? 🙂

Leave a Comment

