Skip to content

Late summer leftovers

November 11, 2011

Happy 11-11-11, everyone! Since it’s been approximately forever since my last “leftovers” post, I’m bringing you two this week/weekend. I’ll keep the chit-chat to a minimum so you can focus on drooling over some of the fantastic foods Matt and I ate throughout the late months of summer this year.

At Thai Place, my favorite Thai restaurant in Kansas City, Matt ate Thai-fried rice…

…while I enjoyed my favorite tofu-cashew stir fry.

We split the chocolate-banana spring rolls with coconut milk ice cream for dessert.

I had a Groupon for The Drop Bar & Bistro at Martini Corner

…which Matt and I spent on wine and a tasty hummus platter.

That same night, we stopped by Mud Pie Vegan Bakery to get crazy and really indulge in some desserts.

The cookies ‘n cream cupcake was miniature…

…but the French toast cupcake (!) was full-size.

This perfect little fudgy bundt cake finished us off.

I made a platter of biscuits and gravy for Matt one Sunday morning. I totally winged the gravy, but it turned out pretty nice.

Here’s just a few of the many, many, many jars of homemade vegan white chocolate peanut butter I hauled to Vida Vegan Con in August to sell. Someone remind me in a few weeks to post my recipe!

Finally, I made Lesley’s brownies, though I made many changes to the recipe as I went along. They were divine!

More leftovers coming at you soon!

3 years ago…
Bon voyage, mes amis!
2 years ago…
Almost Vegan in Athens, Greece
1 year ago…
Matthew Kenney Academy: yogurt & crΓͺpes
Matthew Kenney Academy: calamari, crackers, falafel

28 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2011 9:38 am

    ahh those brownies you make look amazing!
    you and matt had some fabulous summer eats!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 11, 2011 12:42 pm

      Thanks! Lesley at the Purple Carrot gave such a great recipe to build from, it was easy πŸ™‚

  2. November 11, 2011 10:10 am

    WOW!! I don’t know which one looks the best…I think I want to dive into all of it πŸ˜€ Chocolate banana spring rolls, cashew tofu stirfry, the biscuits, cakes, cupcakes…kinda jelly πŸ˜‰

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 11, 2011 12:46 pm

      Hehe! If I could go back and re-eat one thing, it’d be that French toast cupcake. Wowza.

  3. November 11, 2011 12:36 pm

    Don’t forget to post the recipe!!! I’m sure I’ll remind you in a few weeks too. I just finished my jar. 😦 I tried to make it last forever….

    The mini bundt cake is totes adorbs!!! And yes, you can totes, um, I mean totally, punch me in the face for using the phrase “totes adorbs.”

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 11, 2011 12:45 pm

      I may have just virtually bitch-slapped you for that phrase. Just a little bit. I was gentle, I promise. πŸ˜‰

      Yes, do remind me again in the future about the PB recipe!

  4. hannah permalink
    November 11, 2011 2:37 pm

    I’m so bummed I missed out on your white chocolate peanut butter! I may just have to experiment with my own version to fill the void. That stuff looks heavenly!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 11, 2011 2:41 pm

      Thanks Hannah! I plan to post my recipe at some point in the future πŸ™‚

  5. November 11, 2011 3:06 pm

    Oooo that brownie… Look yums! What changes did you make?

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 11, 2011 3:14 pm

      I replaced 1/2 the flour with spelt flour, replaced 1/3 of the sugar with xylitol, replaced agave with coconut nectar, replaced 1/2 the coconut oil with unsweetened applesauce, and added 2 teaspoons baking powder. πŸ™‚

  6. November 11, 2011 3:19 pm

    Nice! Xylitol and coconut nectar is great. Haven’t used them when baking yet though. This recipe maybe gave me a reason to do so πŸ˜€

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 11, 2011 3:20 pm

      Yes! You should! Let me know how the brownies turn out for you. πŸ™‚

  7. November 11, 2011 4:59 pm

    I used to love to eat at LuLu’s Noodle and Satay bar in KC, but the last time I went to go there (this past October) they were closed. 😦
    I’ll definitely have to check out Thai Place sometime!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 11, 2011 5:00 pm

      I always meant to eat at Lulu’s, but I never got to! 😦
      Thai Place rocks!

  8. November 11, 2011 5:56 pm

    Man, those cupcakes look amazing. I really wish there were more vegan eateries around here 😦

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 11, 2011 5:56 pm

      Aw, I hear ya. We’re very lucky that Mud Pie opened up here.

  9. November 11, 2011 7:33 pm

    I love all these pics!

    the brownies, the cupcakes, the hummus, donut…wow, YUM!! πŸ™‚

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 11, 2011 7:36 pm

      I know, right? Lots of good stuff!

  10. November 12, 2011 4:15 am

    I’ve now decided that our talisman in a locket that includes a tiny wee jar of your white chocolate peanut butter inside.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 12, 2011 10:13 am

      Sounds good to me! As long as it’s a self-refilling little jar of PB. πŸ˜‰

  11. Ariana Hallman permalink
    November 12, 2011 4:44 pm

    Hi I was wondering if you have the recipe for the mini strawberry cupcakes or any other dessert recipe that you made at your culinary school a while ago. Would you be willing to share any of those recipes? If you can only share one, then I would like to know the recipe for the mini strawberry cupcakes. – Thank you

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 12, 2011 5:52 pm

      Hi Ariana! I’m sorry to say I can’t share any recipes from my time at culinary school – those recipes are the property of Matthew Kenney and the Academy. However, I highly recommend you check out MK’s books! A number of the recipes can be found in there. πŸ™‚

      • Ariana Hallman permalink
        November 12, 2011 6:17 pm

        Thank you! I will definitely check out his books.

  12. November 13, 2011 12:31 am

    I’m hungry and all of this food is teasing me. I want Thai food now. Looks so good!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 13, 2011 10:35 am

      It’s only 10am and now *I* want Thai food too! πŸ˜›

  13. November 13, 2011 4:02 am

    Wow! A lot of that food looks so good. Just love the cupcakes.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 13, 2011 10:35 am

      That French toast cupcake was especially fantastic!

Leave a Comment

