Skip to content
Review: Lulu’s Chocolate (plus a Vegan Cuts deal!)

November 15, 2011

Quick question for you! Do you already follow Almost Vegan on Facebook and Twitter? It’s been awhile since I’ve asked. I share a lot more little things on there than I’m able to blog about, and I don’t want you to miss out! In just the last few days, I announced my upcoming guest-blogging stint for Rose Pedals, showed off some mouthwatering homemade cinnamon rolls, posted a recipe for a tasty Malty Carob-Banana Power Shake, and more. I’m also able to share more personal thoughts, musings, and updates (like cookbook progress and wedding plans!) on there than I’m able to fit in here on the blog. So if you don’t already, follow me! 🙂

Today’s review post features one of the world’s most beloved foods: chocolate! I recently got the opportunity to sample a variety pack of Lulu’s Chocolate—a new-to-me company.

Lulu’s Chocolate is all organic, raw, vegan, gluten-free, fair trade, and low glycemic (thanks to the use of coconut sugar). That’s quite a résumé!

Their six-bar sampler pack provided me with an array of flavors to taste-test: Sedona Spice (with Saigon cinnamon and Southwest heat), Maca Love (containing an impressive 7,500 milligrams of maca powder per bar), Raw Love (with pure vanilla bean), Smoked Sea Salt Almond (made with organic, sprouted raw almonds), Aztec Crunch (with raw cacao nibs), and Chocolate Maca Chunk (containing 5,600 milligrams of maca). The bars range in cacao content from 50% to 78%.

I already knew I’d love the vanilla- and maca-containing bars, but what surprised me was just how much I adored the other varieties as well. The Aztec Crunch was positively PACKED with cacao nibs…

…and the Smoked Sea Salt Almond – which, to be honest, I was wary of at first, as I’m not usually a big fan of smoky flavors – was the most fragrant chocolate I’ve ever eaten. The almonds were just smoky (and salty) enough, and the scent of them lingered in my living room for literally hours after Matt and I had finished the bar.

I was delighted to discover that the Chocolate Maca Chunk bar was “blonde”—i.e. caramelized-white-chocolate-esque, with huge chunks of dark chocolate studding the underside. The malty maca flavor paired perfectly with the lighter-flavored chocolate.

Now that I’ve got you sufficiently intrigued by Lulu’s Chocolate, I’m happy to announce the absolute steal of a deal available TODAY on VeganCuts.com. Right now, you can get Lulu’s Double Lovepack – consisting of 12 bars total, 2 bars of each of the six varieties you saw above – for just $24. That’s a $40 value! Head on over to Vegan Cuts to take advantage of that discount and grab your share of this divine raw vegan chocolate while you can.

***CLICK HERE to get 12 Lulu’s Chocolate Bars for just $24!***

3 years ago…
October “leftovers”
2 years ago…
Almost Vegan in Mykonos, Greece & Kusadasi, Turkey
1 year ago…
Weekend eats in Kansas City
Matthew Kenney Academy: crackers & secret stuff

24 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2011 11:47 am

    Yum! I would have loved that smoked sea salt and almond bar the best! I love smoky! And I love almonds!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 15, 2011 1:06 pm

      If *I* liked it, I’m sure you would LOVE it!

  2. November 15, 2011 11:50 am

    Oh dear. These chocolates looks amazing!! Love the different flavors. Maca in chocolate is fave! Too bad I can’t use the deal (not living in the US). Do you know any retailer in the US though? Because I’m going there in january next year.

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 15, 2011 1:07 pm

      Aw, sucks you can’t get in on the deal! I’m not sure where they’re sold besides online – you might check out their website, http://luluschocolate.com . Hope you’re able to find some! 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 15, 2011 2:21 pm

      Oh, found it! Here’s a list of stores: http://www.luluschocolate.com/stores.html

      • November 15, 2011 3:17 pm

        Oh, thanks! Looks like I can buy them online… but shipping is like 15 dollar for one bar so I guess I’ll have to wait 😀

  3. November 15, 2011 12:57 pm

    Oh my god. I’m waiting for my breakfast to cook, so I’m suuuper hungry. And now I just want chocolate for breakfast. Lots and lots of chocolate (thankfully I’m making chocolate fudge oatmeal, hehe). The texture of those bars made me drool. Do want!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 15, 2011 1:07 pm

      Chocolate fudge oatmeal? YUM! I wanna see your recipe for that!

  4. November 15, 2011 2:18 pm

    This is the first reviewed item I’ve been excited about in awhile. Well done! I just ordered my sampler. The Sedona Spice is most intriguing to me, and the smoked almond sounds amazing! Now the question is will I receive them before or after Thanksgiving? Waiting is really the hardest part….

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 15, 2011 2:21 pm

      Cool, I’m glad you got in on the deal! Good Q about the shipping time; I’m really not sure about that.

      • December 4, 2011 11:49 am

        I received my chocolate! Trying out the Smoked Sea Salt Almond now….and it is divine!

      • December 4, 2011 11:50 am

        Awesome! Is that not the most fragrant chocolate ever? I swear, it made my whole apartment smell like heaven.

        • December 4, 2011 12:09 pm

          Yes! I’ve had raw chocolate before, but it tended to have that awful cocoa butter taste that I can’t stand en masse. Thanks to your review, I’ve seen (tasted!) how it should be done, and I’m officially a convert. And it looks like they have decently priced specials fairly frequently, so as long as I pay attention I can get it cheaper than Dagoba. Yay!

        • December 4, 2011 12:16 pm

          Cool! Good to know about the frequent specials, cuz I’ve been thinking I need a few (dozen) more of those Chocolate Maca Crunch bars… 😉

  5. November 15, 2011 3:32 pm

    Oh girl, I’m drooling over here!! I swim in chocolate!! These bars sound and look FAB, thanks for the review!!

    xxoo

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 15, 2011 3:35 pm

      You swim in chocolate?! I need to come visit your pool! 😛

  6. November 15, 2011 5:54 pm

    OH.MY.GOSH.
    this chocolate sounds so flipping amazing–i totally need to try it!!!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 15, 2011 5:58 pm

      Take advantage of the Vegan Cuts deal while you still can!!

  7. November 15, 2011 10:28 pm

    I totally want to try that Sedona Spice and Aztec Crunch Bars! Yay for how versatile raw chocolate is 🙂

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 15, 2011 10:29 pm

      Yay indeed! 😀

  8. November 16, 2011 4:29 pm

    Oh god how I wish I had these to get through yesterday and today’s 14 hour work days. I really need to be leaving the hotel right now, too…

    P.S. I did go to a vegan-friendly dessert cafe last night, though! Thought of you 🙂 xo

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 16, 2011 5:11 pm

      Aww, you thought of me even though you’d been enmired in 14-hour work days? 😀

  9. December 11, 2011 10:52 pm

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE this chocolate. I’ve tried everything- my favorite chocolate, EVER!

Leave a Comment

