Skip to content
Chocolate apricot kernel butter cookies (raw)

November 29, 2011

Is it really already almost December? Sheesh.

I hope you all had fantastic Thanksgivings. Ours was low-key; Matt and I didn’t even go to my family’s T-Day at all. It was a last-minute decision (and was really my decision), but staying cozy at home, stress-free, just felt like the right thing to do.

So, since I wasn’t faced with the temptation of the typical Thanksgiving desserts, I didn’t mind getting busy in my own kitchen a little bit. As long as you’re not still sick of food from the long weekend, I’ve got a quick, easy, and HEALTHY treat to share with you today.

Are you familiar with Blue Mountain Organics? They offer 100% organic and truly-raw nuts and seeds, nut and seed butters, sweeteners, dried fruit, coconut products, flours, oats, cacao products, superfoods, sea vegetables, prepared raw snacks, and more, all of superior quality and integrity. They’re my #1 go-to source for raw food ingredients, and I was unimaginably delighted when they offered to “sponsor” my cookbook recipe testing by sending me a box full of their products. Not only did this take a big chunk of the financial burden of recipe testing off my shoulders, but it even gave me the chance to try a couple products I might not have had the chance to try otherwise. Enter…apricot kernel butter.

I’d never even tried an apricot kernel before, let alone apricot kernel butter! Apricot kernels are exceedingly good sources of healthy fats, fiber, and the hard-to-find vitamin B17. I never did end up using this jar of apricot kernel butter in my cookbook recipe testing (I mean, I couldn’t really claim my cookbook is everyday-friendly if I’d called for an ingredient like apricot kernel butter in it!), so when I discovered it leftover, I decided to wing a batch of gluten-free, raw/no-bake cookies with it. You certainly don’t have to use apricot kernel butter in these cookies – almond, cashew, peanut, or any other nut butter would be just as delicious – so feel free to use whatever you have on hand. Here’s the super-easy recipe, complete with copious substitution options.

Chocolate Apricot Kernel Butter Cookies (raw)

1 cup raw apricot kernel butter (or almond, cashew, or peanut butter)
1/4 cup raw cacao powder (or unsweetened cocoa or carob powder)
1/4 cup raw honey (or agave, coconut nectar, or maple syrup)
1 tablespoon coconut flour (or 2 tablespoons oat flour or all-purpose flour)
1 tablespoon coconut palm sugar (or Sucanat or brown sugar)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon sea salt

Combine all ingredients in the bowl of a food processor and process until the mixture is well-blended and sticks together when pressed between your fingers.

Scooping out 1.5-Tbsp portions at a time, roll the dough into about 16 balls. (You can gently flatten them into cookie shapes if you like, or just leave them round like I did.) Place them on a plate or baking sheet and refrigerate for at least 1 to 2 hours, until firm.

Yield: 16 cookies
Per cookie: 164 calories, 7.2g fat (1g sat), 9.3g carbs, 4g fiber, 3.8g protein

These are seriously SO quick to make…

…and with so many substitution options, you can almost certainly make them with whatever you have on hand in the cupboard.

Matt was popping two or three of these cookies at a time as a snack! (I was satisfied with just one.) They’re nutty, mildly chocolatey, and just-sweet-enough.

I hope you try them and love them! Please come back and let me know if you do.

By the way…
Speaking of my cookbook, as I mentioned on Facebook and Twitter yesterday: “I just got to view some sample layout styles for the interior of my cookbookβ€”squee! I LOVE what the designer has come up with. We also just chose the cover photo for the book this past weekend. So exciting! It gets more and more ‘real’ every day…” I promise I’ll have a release date and all kinds of additional details for you in the near future!

3 years ago…
Sesame hummus noodles
Peanut butter bliss cake
2 years ago…
Almost Vegan in Vienna, Austria (part 1)
1 year ago…
A BLISSful graduation gift
Thanksgiving weekend wrap-up
Matthew Kenney Academy: kombucha, citrus-fennel salad

32 Comments leave one →
  1. bitt permalink
    November 29, 2011 12:36 pm

    those look so good! i thought i had an allergic reaction to apricot kernels once because i got a rash just seconds after I had one. turned out it wasn’t that but i have read mixed things about how many we are supposed to eat. some raw foodists told me not to eat the kernel without eating the fruit.

    thanks for all the adaptions. i am out of cacao and carob though. need to get on that!

    • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan permalink
      November 29, 2011 1:38 pm

      Yeah, I read something out there about the possibility of amygdalin toxicity if you overeat the kernels. I think it takes an awfully hefty amount, though. So I think the lesson here is, don’t eat the whole batch of these all at once πŸ˜›

      • December 2, 2011 8:18 pm

        Yeah, they haven’t done much research, but they say that a 140 lb woman shouldn’t really eat more than 65 kernals in one day and for a 170 lb guy it’s like, 85. That’s kind of a lot of kernals though!

      • December 2, 2011 10:30 pm

        Whoa, yeah, that’s quite a lot to eat at once! These cookies are pretty well in the safe zone, then πŸ˜‰ Thanks for those figures!

  2. Travis permalink
    November 29, 2011 1:43 pm

    Looks delicious! Will be making ASAP!!

  3. November 29, 2011 1:43 pm

    Getting exciting with the book!
    I love anything almondy like that–whenever I have apricots, I save the kernels.

    Sounds super-delicious.
    Btw, how do you get the nutrition info for your recipes? Do you just enter the whole batch into fitday or something and then divide?
    thanks!

    • November 29, 2011 1:45 pm

      Do you dry/dehydrate the kernels yourself? That’s a great idea!

      I have a myapex.com account (it’s a pay-by-the-month or -year thing) that I use to calculate nutrition info. It’s the best, easiest software for nutrition tracking and calculation that I’ve found for a decent price, so I’ve been using it for the past 5+ years straight. The recipe-building tool on there is invaluable.

  4. November 29, 2011 3:24 pm

    I honestly had no idea you could eat apricot kernals. What an unusual and uncommon nut butter. The truffles you made with it look so soft and dreamy!

    • November 29, 2011 4:13 pm

      Truffles! That‘s what I should’ve called them! πŸ˜›
      Apricot kernel butter is definitely something you don’t see often! It’s worth a try, if you ever get the chance.

  5. November 29, 2011 5:47 pm

    Oh my! These sounds amazing, look amazing, and now I need to try apricot kernel butter. I’ve seen apricot kernel in recipes before and tried them inside of a raw bar but never seen or used it. YUM!

    Yay on your book!!!!!! So exciting!

  6. Rachel permalink
    November 29, 2011 6:35 pm

    Made these tonight with half sunbutter and half peanut butter. So yummy! They almost remind me of fudge. πŸ™‚

  7. November 30, 2011 12:01 am

    Congrats on your cookbook!

    And these cookies look so delicious. I love the texture of raw cookies πŸ™‚

  8. November 30, 2011 4:43 am

    Knowing how little free time you have to yourself these days, I’m so proud of you for doing what was right for you on Thanksgiving and letting yourself have an actual holiday. Truly. xo

    I remember seeing apricot kernels for the first time in Charlottesville in 2007, but I chickened out of buying them because of the toxicity thing. I know I’d love these with another (available) nut butter though! Yay another use for coconut flour!

    • November 30, 2011 10:59 am

      Thank you my dear πŸ™‚ I admit I’ve felt some guilt over it since, but I’m not dwelling on it. I probably did the right thing.

      I don’t think toxicity is really a remote possibility as long as you eat them judiciously. It’s the “as long as you eat them judiciously” that can prove tough… πŸ˜‰

  9. November 30, 2011 10:20 am

    I had no idea you could eat apricot kernels. Live and learn, eh? Of course, I’ve never eaten a fresh apricot either. Some day I should probably rectify that situation….

    These look delicious, regardless of what seed/nut butter you use.

    • November 30, 2011 11:00 am

      Yeah! And they’re delicious (though they taste VERY similar to almonds, so if you never get the chance to try them, you’re not missing TOO much).

  10. November 30, 2011 12:37 pm

    I tried an apricot kernel once! If I remember correctly, it tasted kind of like an almond. Apricot kernel butter sounds delicious, and combining it with cocoa was a great idea.

  11. November 30, 2011 1:46 pm

    Apricot kernels are so good for you! They are supposed to be anti-carcinogenic!

  12. December 1, 2011 8:55 pm

    These look super duper yummm!!! And your eggnog cupcakes?! WOW Amber!

  13. December 1, 2011 10:12 pm

    I never even knew, or thought to consider, an apricot kernel as edible/healthy/useable. And B17? Who knew?!

  14. Mrs L Ellis permalink
    April 24, 2012 8:48 am

    Hi Amber,I want to ask you: is coconut flour or any flour absolutely neccessary for this recipe?i just don’t like the idea of ingesting raw flour?Would that be clogging for my belly? (ha-ha joking)
    Greetings from Russia btw.They DO look delicious.We have something literally very similar called Kartoshka-pirozhnoye.XXXXX

    • April 24, 2012 10:19 am

      Hi! The coconut flour (or oat flour) isn’t required, but rest assured that if you do include it, it’s perfectly safe to eat raw – in fact, it’s more nutritious raw than cooked! Coconut flour especially is high in fiber and good for your belly. πŸ™‚

  15. May 12, 2012 5:29 pm

    I think the “Bitter” Apricot Kernels are the ones used for the “C”. So the “good” tasting ones may not work. But VERY cool that there is Kernel Butter & that you made dessert from it!! Have just been reading about them now (had heard about them for years but never knew they were so easy to buy, even on amazon!).

Leave a Comment

