Skip to content
Raw white chocolate coconut-macadamia nut butter

December 28, 2011

The winner of last Friday’s Nasoya giveaway is MizzB!
Please email your mailing info to
almostveganchef AT gmail DOT com
within 48 hours. CONGRATS!

Boy, do I have a treat for you today. Consider it a late Christmas present.

I got a huge reaction a couple weeks ago on Facebook when I posted a picture of the raw white chocolate coconut-macadamia nut butter I’d created—and some people were rather unhappy about the fact that I wasn’t ready to share it quite yet! But I vowed to do so in due time, and today, I’m here to deliver on that promise.

Enjoy! (I know you will. ;))

White Chocolate Coconut-Macadamia Nut Butter (raw)
2¾ cups (about 13 oz.) dry raw macadamia nuts (not soaked)
1¼ cups (about 10 oz.) unsweetened shredded coconut
¼ cup melted raw cacao butter
¼ cup erythritol, xylitol, or coconut palm sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
½ teaspoon sea salt

In the bowl of a food processor, combine the macnuts and shredded coconut. Process until completely smooth and buttery (this could take anywhere from 5 to 10 minutes), scraping down the sides as necessary. When the mixture is smooth, slowly stream in the cacao butter while the machine is running; blend until incorporated. Add the granulated sweetener, vanilla, and salt and process again until smooth and combined. Store in glass jars, preferably in the refrigerator.

Yield: about 3 cups
Per tablespoon (with erythritol): 104 calories, 10.8g fat (5g sat), 2.5g carbs, 2g fiber, 1g protein

Variations:
– To make white chocolate peanut butter, replace both the macnuts and the coconut with equal amounts of roasted, unsalted peanuts (you’ll have to process it for a few extra minutes).
– You can use ¼ cup of just about any granulated sweetener you like. If you don’t have erythritol, xylitol, or coconut palm sugar, feel free to try evaporated cane juice (or organic white sugar), Sucanat, maple sugar, date sugar, or even lucuma powder.
– Add ¼ to ½ teaspoon of almond or peppermint extract for a flavor twist.

This sweet, creamy vegan butter is luxuriously drippy and gooey at room temperature. Even when refrigerated, it stays spoonable. It’s full of monounsaturated fats from the macnuts and healthy plant-based saturated fats from the coconut and cacao. It’s also gluten-free, low-carb, and low-glycemic, and as long as you use erythritol or xylitol, it’s even sugar-free! It would be delicious in or on just about anything, but I ate most (ok fine, all) of mine right out of the jar.

I hope you all had a great holiday, and happy early new year!

QUESTIONS:
What’s your favorite nut butter of all time?
Have you ever made homemade nut or seed butter?

3 years ago…
Spaghetti with tomatoes and peas
2 years ago…
Almost Vegan in Heidelberg and Cologne, Germany
1 year ago…
Introducing: RAW VEGAN CHEF AMBER SHEA
Matthew Kenney Academy: Level II graduation

54 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2011 10:36 am

    Love it! so delish!

  2. December 28, 2011 10:36 am

    wow, this looks BEYOND amazing!

  3. December 28, 2011 10:50 am

    Mmm, looks so yummy.

  4. December 28, 2011 11:24 am

    I’ve made homemade coconut butter, but I put it in the fridge, and it got really, really hard. Like I can’t even scrape it with a knife hard. I haven’t tried heating it yet, but I hope I can at least get it out of the jar, even if I have to throw it away, so I don’t have to toss the glass jar too. The same happened when I made coconut meal, which was supposed to be more coconut butter, but I think my whimpy, old food processor couldn’t keep up for the full 20 minutes required to make two batches. (My new, awesome Christmas present food processor can – or at least the directions say it can!) Otherwise, that’s the only nut butter I’ve tried to make at home. At least one purpose. I did accidentally almost make almond butter grinding some almonds for “flour.” I’ve found that frozen almond help aid in “flour” making rather than “butter” making.

    Question – You said granulated sweetener…I’ve never used any of the sweeteners you mentioned (leary of the two non-nutritive sweeteners still); do you think raw sugar would work, or maybe something finer like cane sugar or even powdered sugar?

    • December 28, 2011 11:29 am

      The coconut butter will be just fine if you warm it back up! Definitely don’t throw it away.

      Great tip on using frozen almonds to make almond meal/flour!

      I actually just updated the post with substitution options for the sweetener. Erythritol and xylitol, despite the clunky names, are actually natural (sugar-free) sweeteners. Coconut palm sugar is my favorite (near-)raw granulated sweetener; it tastes like brown sugar! (I use it fairly often in my cookbook.) But really, feel free to try evaporated cane juice (or organic white sugar), Sucanat, maple sugar, date sugar, “raw” sugar, or even lucuma powder in this recipe.

  5. December 28, 2011 11:29 am

    I have a recipe I use, but I’ll be trying this. This sounds like it would go good with the vegan white chocolate bananas foster bread pudding with toasted coconut and either pecans or macadamian nuts

  6. Sam permalink
    December 28, 2011 12:17 pm

    Thanks for the recipe, looks great. Did you soak and dehydrate the macadamia nuts before hand or can we just blend the nuts straight away?

    • December 28, 2011 12:18 pm

      Great Q, Sam – I used soaked and dehydrated macnuts, since I already had some on hand, but you can definitely use plain dry raw nuts instead; it’ll just have a slightly shorter “shelf life.”

      • Katie permalink
        April 12, 2012 4:33 pm

        This looks yummy! Why would soaked and dehy nuts have a longer shelf life? Just curious. And do you know what is the shelf life of home made mac nut butter, no refrigerated? Just checking. Thanks!

        • April 12, 2012 4:36 pm

          Hey Katie! Soaking the nuts helps release some of their excess oils, and dehydrating them dries them out so they don’t go rancid. This butter can last several days at room temp!

  7. December 28, 2011 12:24 pm

    mmm!

  8. December 28, 2011 12:48 pm

    oh my is looks good. As soon as I get home from all the chaos of the holidays I am so making this! Oh and I love PB and almond butter!!! 🙂

  9. December 28, 2011 1:10 pm

    Holy Yum! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  10. December 28, 2011 1:15 pm

    I love your bear jar!! He is so cute 😀 And that white chocolate coconut macadamia nut butter looks delicious!

    • December 28, 2011 1:16 pm

      Hehe, thanks! He originally housed raw honey, as you can see from the label on the top. But I like him even better filled with white chocolate coconut-macadamia nut butter! 😉

  11. December 28, 2011 2:02 pm

    yummy! i so want to eat it!! I just wish nuts were less expensive 😦

    • December 28, 2011 3:44 pm

      I hear ya. One thing you could do here is swap some of the macnuts for additional shredded coconut (which is dirt cheap if you buy it in bulk!) to lower the overall cost.

      • December 28, 2011 5:09 pm

        I just tried an experiment,… I had some shredded coconut, but not any mac. or cocao, just about 1/3 to 1/2 cup of cashews… so I thought “eh, why not?” so I put my cashews, 1/3 C of shredded coconut, a pinch of stevia, a bit of vanilla, but unfortunately, it must not have been enough for the Vitamix to do? Because it just stuck to the sides and wouldn’t blend up… after scraping the sides about 6 times and getting nowhere, I decided to add an apple … so I added an apple, some cinnamon, and about 1 T of pure maple syrup. That did the trick, though it’s on the thinner side for a nut butter… it tastes pretty different, but I think good 🙂 When I actually have all the ingredients, I can’t wait to try it the way it’s suppose to be! 🙂

      • December 28, 2011 5:33 pm

        Interesting! That actually sounds pretty tasty with the apple, cinnamon, and maple. A banana (in place of the apple) might make a nice, creamy addition too.
        My only advice would be next time, use a food processor instead of a blender. I actually never made nut butters in my Vitamix because it’s so hard to keep the mixture moving. Let me know how it turns out in round 2! 🙂

  12. December 28, 2011 3:24 pm

    My favorite nut butter of all time is the old standby from childhood, peanut butter. Not the kind you buy, but the home-made just grind up the peanuts (usually would get a bushel of them when visiting the Georgia relatives, some of whom worked for the family of the most famous American peanut farmer and 39th President of the United States), spread ’em on homemade bread with a little homemade jam, and smack your lips while eating. Still like the basic kind, and usually get the grind your on at WF. Yeah, I know peanuts are not really nuts or seeds, and I still like it.
    HOWEVER, this recipe looks so good, it will probably become my favorite gourmet nut butter.
    And yeah, I’ve made my own nut and seed butters, sometimes in my trust 30-year old Vitamix, and sometimes in the food processor.

    • December 28, 2011 3:45 pm

      I love PB too! I’ve made this recipe as white chocolate peanut butter several times (just replace the macnuts and coconut with an equal amount of peanuts). Wow girl, you’ve got peanutty connections! 😛 I’m a big fan of the grind-your-own nut butters at WF too.

  13. December 28, 2011 7:52 pm

    Yum!

    I made cashew carob coconut butter tonight. Waiting for it to settle to see what the final texture is like. I _think_ I’ll be posting it. 🙂

  14. December 29, 2011 12:17 am

    Wow, that sounds seriously delicious and so right up my alley!

    I recently made macnut butter in the fp so that when I want to make a quick salad dressing using the immersion blender instead of dirtying the vita, it’s all ready to go. No omega 6 to speak of in mac nuts, so they and coconut (and flax and chia) are my go-tos.

    Still thinking about that white chocolate sub, and I’ll keep you posted!

    • December 29, 2011 12:01 pm

      I knew you’d like this one!

      I love making macadamia nut butter because it seems to come together so much more quickly than other nut butters. Gotta love those buttery, fatty macnuts, mmm. 🙂

  15. December 29, 2011 1:56 am

    This looks so good, I’m definitely making it these days! :*)

    • December 29, 2011 12:01 pm

      I hope you do! Let me know how you like it! Something tells me this would make a magical addition, somehow, to your glorious White Duchess Cake… 😉

  16. December 29, 2011 3:55 am

    Well, I put on a call on my blog for recipes using coconut sugar, and hot damn did you deliver! This will be the perfect thing to make in the brand new food processor I received for Christmas 🙂 Thanks babe, you always have my back! 😉

    P.S. I still have a soft spot for my fig molasses cashew butter, though I haven’t made it in yonks!

  17. Andie permalink
    December 29, 2011 11:58 am

    omg can’t wait to try this!!!! gona be a bitch finding all the ingredients here but it must be done! congrats on your cookbook!! 🙂 🙂

  18. bitt permalink
    December 29, 2011 12:39 pm

    wow that sounds amazing! i’ve been more into white chocolate lately and this looks my speed. now, can you mail me one? in that cute little bear jar please?

    • December 29, 2011 12:47 pm

      White chocolate is where it’s at!
      Hehe, don’t you love the bear jar? I wish it were affordable for me to make and send jars of this to all my bloggy friends. 🙂

  19. hillary permalink
    December 29, 2011 11:37 pm

    Yay!! I miss seeing recipes on your blog. This one looks amazing (I’ll be adding cinnamon to mine). 😀

    • December 30, 2011 2:03 am

      2012 is likely to bring a whole lot more recipe-posting back to this little blog 🙂

      I hadn’t thought to add cinnamon – nice! Maybe a little nutmeg too for an eggnoggy flair?

  20. December 30, 2011 1:01 am

    Oh it looks so caramely! Love it! I’m going to try this recipe as soon as I find some macadamias (they’re not always easy to find huh? only toasted ones…) I know I’m going to love it anyways! :))

  21. April 13, 2012 1:21 pm

    Lovely recipe, and I love the fact that you are using the bear jar!!! When I was 4 years old for one summer I literally (not joking!) only ate bread and honey! And honey only from the bear jar! Though my diet has expended over the next 20+ years, the bear jar still makes me feel fuzzy inside.

  22. Simin permalink
    June 19, 2012 8:59 pm

    Amber girl what’s up! Love the site and food! I’m dying to try this but I can’t find raw cacao butter anywhere! Where do you buy it at? Also, saw your recipe in the paper; keep up the awesome work!

  23. Fleur permalink
    September 28, 2012 5:16 am

    Hi Amber, I really want to make this but I have a son who has an allergy to chocolate and do not want him to miss out. How could I substitute the cacao butter with something with carob?

    • September 28, 2012 11:06 am

      Hi Fleur,
      Are you sure your son is allergic to cocoa butter specifically? I was under the impression that allergies usually react to the sugars and/or proteins in foods, but not the fats – and cocoa butter is pure fat/oil. But of course check with your doctor on that. There’s no such thing as carob butter/oil (just powder), so you can’t really make a white chocolate butter without using cocoa butter. You could, however, replace it with coconut oil, and instead have a delicious Coconut Macadamia Nut Butter!

      • Fleur permalink
        September 28, 2012 7:52 pm

        Hi Amber, I know that chocolate gives him a severe laxative affect and then he has a week long rash which hurts and distresses him. Not very nice at all. It only happens with chocolate- dark, milk and white. Not sure why. He has eczema too and is lactose and yeast intolerant but chocolate is a different realm altogether for him. I’d rather not use cacao butter just in case.

        I was actually thinking of using carob powder with coconut oil, thanks for confirming:)

      • September 28, 2012 7:53 pm

        Let me know how it turns out! 🙂

Leave a Comment

