Skip to content
Introducing… my cookbook, Practically Raw!

January 3, 2012

The time has come. After so many months of hard work, I am unspeakably proud to present to you today, at long last…my cookbook, Practically Raw!

My publisher, Vegan Heritage Press, just put out the official press release on it today, so now I’m finally able to let the cat out of the bag, show you the cover, and tell you all about it!

TITLE: Practically Raw: Flexible Raw Recipes Anyone Can Make
RELEASE DATE: March 15th, 2012
FORMAT: Paperback, full-color photos throughout
LENGTH: 256 pages
PUBLISHER: Vegan Heritage Press

Practically Raw: Flexible Raw Recipes Anyone Can Make is a one-of-a-kind cookbook that delivers a flexible approach to raw cooking – complete with cooked options. Each raw vegan recipe can be adapted to your own taste, budget, and ingredient availability, and many feature cooked alternatives. Whether you are exploring ways to improve your health and longevity, cope with a food allergy, or lose weight, Practically Raw has something for everybody.

With my flexible approach, you can enjoy raw food at your own pace, even without special equipment or hard-to-find ingredients. Filled with full-color photos throughout, the book provides a pantry guide, menus, money-saving and make-ahead tips, and nutrition information, as well as recipe variations and ingredient substitutions. If you’re looking for maximum nutrition and want flexible recipes for vibrant, sexy food, then you’ll love Practically Raw.

The book is ideal for beginners as well as seasoned raw foodists, with creative, satisfying, and delicious recipes that include:

-Almond Butter Sesame Noodles
-Vegetable Korma Masala
-Fiesta Taco Roll-Ups
-Primavera Pesto Pizza
-Maple-Pecan Kale Chips
-Cherry Mash Smoothies
-Parisian Street CrΓͺpes
-and nearly 140 more!

You might be wondering what those mouthwatering dishes on the cover are…am I right?

Parisian Street CrΓͺpes (above), Mushroom-Nut Burgers (below)…

…and Almond Butter Sesame Noodles (below) are just three of the 140+ raw, vegan, gluten-free recipes you’ll find in Practically Raw.

Although all the food in the full-color-throughout book was photographed by moi, there are a handful of pictures of yours truly inside the book and, of course, on the cover. All the shots of me were taken by the talented Stephen Melvin of Kansas City, Missouri.

You may have noticed my not-yet-new last name on the cover. Yes, I’m publishing Practically Raw under my to-be married name, even though Matt and I haven’t tied the knot quite yet. So get used to calling me Mrs. Crawley! πŸ˜‰ (“CRAWLEY,” get it? What are the chances?! Haha!)

You can now preorder Practically Raw on Amazon.com (and other sites like BN.com) TODAY!

Even if you’re not ready to preorder it yet, I’d love it if you’d go to the book’s Amazon page and “like” it (you can find the “like” button under my name, beneath the title). In addition, you can “like” a couple new Facebook fan pages I just set up: the Practically Raw fan page and the Amber Shea Crawley fan page. Many thanks!

I’ll have much, much more to share with you about Practically Raw during the next couple months, so stay tuned!

Thank you all so much for your comments, “likes,” support, and love.
I am one lucky lady!

3 years ago…
Tofu makhani curry
2 years ago…
Almost Vegan in Europe: the wrap-up
1 year ago…
Matthew Kenney Academy: Level II graduation

112 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2012 3:38 pm

    looks awesome!! congrats

  2. January 3, 2012 3:46 pm

    So exciting! Congrats! You, the food and the book all look fabulous!

  3. bitt permalink
    January 3, 2012 3:53 pm

    it’s on my wish list! great pictures, I’m excited to read it!

  4. January 3, 2012 3:55 pm

    Yay!!! Congratulations so wonderful & yes love the RAW in cRAWley!

  5. January 3, 2012 3:59 pm

    Congratulations! Everything looks delicious!

  6. January 3, 2012 4:07 pm

    Hurrah! It looks gorgeous (as do you!) I will definitely be snagging a copy for myself. Congratulations lady!

  7. January 3, 2012 4:40 pm

    YAY! Congratulations Amber…I mean Mrs. Crawley πŸ™‚ I’m so happy for you and I can’t wait to try your recipes…everything looks delicious!

  8. January 3, 2012 4:56 pm

    omg, that’s amazing!! Congratulations, Amber!! Sooo excited for you πŸ˜€

  9. Monica Soto permalink
    January 3, 2012 4:59 pm

    I cannot wait to see the recipe for the mushroom nut burgers and fiesta taco roll-ups! I’ll be pre-ordering a copy sometime later this month for sure. I really can’t wait for it to come out. I honestly don’t know what I would do with myself if I were you. I would go absolutely mad with anticipation. March can’t come fast enough!

    AAAHHH, so exciting!

  10. January 3, 2012 5:01 pm

    How exciting!! I can’t wait to see it!!

  11. January 3, 2012 5:21 pm

    The last name was the first thing I noticed, and then the gorgeous colors on the cover, that match your blog colors! Gorgeous pics of you, with the trusty watermelon and my favorite, a carrot.

    Awesome, so awesome–many congratulations!
    love
    Ela

    • January 3, 2012 5:46 pm

      I’m so glad you like the colors! And I love that you noticed the watermelon, hehe. Had to include one somewhere. πŸ˜›

  12. January 3, 2012 5:31 pm

    The cover looks so fantastic, Amber! Congrats and big hugs!!

    ❀

  13. Perla permalink
    January 3, 2012 5:56 pm

    Congrats! The cover looks fantastic, you look amazing and I can’t wait to try the mushroom burgers (and everything else!). March … come quick! Love reading your recipes and seeing your photos.

  14. January 3, 2012 7:12 pm

    Woohoo! That is so awesome! I am so excited for you!

  15. January 3, 2012 7:22 pm

    So excited for you!! Can’t wait to try some more of your recipes. πŸ˜‰

  16. January 3, 2012 7:40 pm

    COngratulations! This must be so exciting for you! The photos look gorgeous and you look stunning as usual too. Can’t wait to see it out in print!

  17. January 3, 2012 7:45 pm

    Congrats! I found your blog about a year and a half ago and it’s been so fun to see how far you’ve come so quickly! I’m sure your talent and good heart will take you even further. πŸ™‚
    Cheers!

  18. January 3, 2012 7:47 pm

    Cool, are all your recipes Gluten free?

  19. January 3, 2012 8:29 pm

    so cool! congrats!!

  20. January 3, 2012 8:34 pm

    Amber, I am so excited and happy for yoo! I will be ordering your book and will also add a link to the Amazon page on my blog. As a long time follower, it has been wonderful to watch your progress (not only as a chef and cookbook author, but your personal life that you have so kindly shared with us). Good luck and congratulations, Debbie

    • January 3, 2012 9:34 pm

      Thank you SO much, Debbie, for following along all this time. I think you’re one of my earliest regular readers! That means a lot to me. πŸ™‚

  21. January 3, 2012 8:37 pm

    Congrats, man! That’s super exciting about your book! Vegan Heritage Press has released some gooders, for sure. I totally want to om nom that mushroom nut burger.

  22. January 3, 2012 9:12 pm

    SQUEEEEE!

    That is all.

    xoxoxo

    P.S. If only the timing had allowed me to be your book tour PA πŸ˜‰

  23. January 3, 2012 9:14 pm

    yay amber! i’m so excited for your book! i know i’m going to love it!!

  24. January 3, 2012 9:22 pm

    Woop Woop so pumped, will definitely buy this and pass it on to my students I teach! Congrats on your new book and future wedding, all my love and best wishes!

  25. Mom permalink
    January 3, 2012 10:45 pm

    Dad and I congratulate you. We’re so proud of you, your efforts and accomplishments. You’re a hard worker and you deserve this. Enjoy the ride!

  26. January 4, 2012 12:06 am

    It’s amazing! I can’t wait to get my hands on the book :]

    And Happy new year, Amber Crawley! :]

  27. January 4, 2012 1:02 am

    Congrats, what an amazing achievement! I’ve read your blog for ages, but first time commenting…. can’t WAIT to buy the book and get into creating some of your amazing dishes.

    Thank YOU for all the hard work you put into this πŸ™‚

  28. January 4, 2012 1:26 am

    you are so cool! i love it! I want to buy them all for friends.

  29. January 4, 2012 7:40 am

    Well done Amber! I cannot wait to get a copy – when will it come to the UK?

  30. January 4, 2012 8:08 am

    This is awesome – congrats!!!

  31. January 4, 2012 8:35 am

    Congratulations! It looks amazing – and just my speed!

  32. January 4, 2012 9:41 am

    Happy new year lovely lady! I’m so excited for you. I was wondering when your book was being released. Congrats!

    Oh, and thanks for the Bella bars. I already received them in the mail. I haven’t tried them yet, though. Hayden and I want to sample them for the first time on video. Thanks again!

  33. January 4, 2012 10:03 am

    woAH! you are so talented! this is sooo amazing! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  34. January 4, 2012 10:12 am

    just pre-ordered – looking forward to it πŸ™‚

  35. January 4, 2012 11:06 am

    Congratulations, Amber. What a wonderful achievement! The book looks awesome. πŸ™‚

  36. January 4, 2012 12:33 pm

    Yay…congratulations! I am going to head over to Amazon right now and put this on my wish list for my bday. Your book comes out 2 days before my birthday. πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to try all your good recipes.

  37. January 4, 2012 12:39 pm

    Your book looks great! And nice choice of shirt too. Not too “black”, lol!

    I will probably wind up buying it, simply because them mushroom-nut burgers and almond butter noodles look and sound awesome. πŸ™‚

    • January 4, 2012 12:40 pm

      Well, and I’m sure there’s lots more where that came from!

      • January 4, 2012 3:22 pm

        But of course! πŸ˜‰

        • January 5, 2012 12:05 pm

          OH, man. I made that juice recipe you posted the other day. I mean, I’ve always heard people say that green juice gives you energy, but I just shrugged it off. However, I made it last night around 7:00, did my normal day-off evening stuff (read a magazine, lay around on the couch, drink caffeine-free herbal tea), and then when it came time to go to bed at midnight, I could not sleep at all!! I was wired!! I couldn’t believe it! Next time I’m making juice for breakfast, lol!

          OH, and it was delicious. πŸ™‚

        • January 5, 2012 12:27 pm

          Haha, that is awesome! Wow, even I’ve never gotten quite that much energy from juice πŸ˜› So glad you liked it!

    • January 4, 2012 3:21 pm

      My publisher asked me not to wear black πŸ˜› Hehe!

  38. Tamara Lukie permalink
    January 4, 2012 1:34 pm

    Yikes! That looks amazing. I mean AMAZING!!!! even if I wasn’t a cookbook slu# I would totally buy this! Can’t wait!!!!!

  39. Pam DePalma permalink
    January 4, 2012 1:49 pm

    Congratulations, Amber! I knew this day would come and you must be SO proud! This is only the beginning for you! Best wishes!

  40. January 4, 2012 1:54 pm

    Yay! Way to go girl!! Cannot wait to purchase it!

  41. January 4, 2012 6:10 pm

    Pretty sure you already know what I think, but I just wanted to make very clear: I’m so proud and happy for you! Can’t wait to see this book in print. πŸ™‚

  42. January 4, 2012 8:08 pm

    Yahoooo this is amazing!! Congrats you must be over the moon excited!! πŸ™‚

    I will purchase it for sure when I see it in Canada!!

  43. Tara permalink
    January 5, 2012 3:24 am

    Congrats, Amber! I’m so excited for this book. I love your flexible approach to raw foods. That part is a bit newer to me even though I’ve been ‘almost vegan’ (and sometimes strict vegan) for years. Your book sounds unlike anything else on the market right now. I will definitely be purchasing this. Good luck to you and Happy New Year!!!
    –Tara

  44. January 5, 2012 10:01 am

    Congrats, Amber! It looks amazing and it’s so exciting to see all your work come together in print!

  45. January 5, 2012 11:00 am

    I’m so happy for you dollface!!! You DESERVE All this goodness!! Keep sharing your inspiration and your light!!

    xxoo

  46. January 5, 2012 12:42 pm

    Very nice!

  47. January 5, 2012 6:49 pm

    Oh my goodness, so happy for you! It must feel so good to finally see and get to share (even if just a glimpse for now) the final product. I can’t wait to get a copy so I can get a peek at what’s inside. One of these days we’ll have to meet up and maybe I can get an autograph πŸ˜‰

    • January 5, 2012 6:50 pm

      Yes and yes! I’ll definitely be doing some local book signings, but we ought to meet up for coffee or tea sometime too πŸ˜€

  48. January 7, 2012 10:25 pm

    Major, major, major congrats to you, Amber! this is SUCH a huge deal. I am so proud of you and happy for you…just…amazing!

    • January 7, 2012 10:27 pm

      Thank you so so much, Averie. I think you’ll really like my book – cooking/baking options for almost every recipe, substitution suggestions out the wazoo, and some very decadent desserts. πŸ˜‰

  49. January 8, 2012 8:36 pm

    Did I ever tell you that I’m SO FREAKIN’ PROUD OF YOU?!

  50. January 9, 2012 3:08 pm

    Hugest congratulations on your new book Amber! So exciting!!! I’ll have to check out it.

  51. January 14, 2012 10:48 am

    Made my preorder today. Can’t wait for it to show up at my door!

  52. January 31, 2012 3:15 am

    Just wanted to let you know I just pre-ordered your book! πŸ™‚

    • January 31, 2012 8:55 am

      Woohoo! Thanks Hillary!

      • Hillary permalink
        January 31, 2012 9:10 am

        My pleasure! I’m always thrilled to support my friends’ ventures :). Besides, my dehydrator doesn’t have nearly enough to do ;).

  53. March 20, 2012 6:57 am

    HI Amber, I received your book last weekend and I love it! I wrote a review on my blog if you are interested in reading it! Well done, I think this book really is a practical guide for beginner raw foodies and those people wanting to eat more raw foods. Here is my review: http://www.therawwarung.com/1/post/2012/03/book-review-practically-raw.html

    • March 20, 2012 9:32 am

      Simone, WOW! I am blown away by your review! Thank you so very much for all the kind words, and I’m thrilled that you’re finding the book and recipes to be practical and delicious. πŸ™‚ I hope you don’t mind if I share your post and photos on the AV FB page soon!

Leave a Comment

