Skip to content
Easy curry-roasted cauliflower

January 9, 2012

How many people made the world’s best chewy granola bars over the weekend?! YUM!

Today, I’m sharing something with you that’s so embarrassingly simple, something that I eat so often (5+ times per week!), that I’m surprised I haven’t shared it or talked much about it before.

First things first: I LOVE CAULIFLOWER. I love it so much that if it proposed to me before Matt did, I might have married it. (Ok, that’s an exaggeration, but I’m prone to hyperbole when it comes to foods I’m obsessed with. Remember my love letter to watermelon?) The thing is, I used to claim to hate cauliflower. I don’t know exactly when or why that changed a couple years ago (though I’m pretty sure it involved aloo gobi), but in any case, I am completely, utterly, passionately, violently in love with cauliflower today. If juicy pink watermelon is my favorite fruit and summertime sweetheart, then nutty roasted cauliflower is my most beloved vegetable and constant cold-weather companion.

Especially with curry powder. I’m currently going through at least three heads of cauliflower per week in this way, and showing no signs of stopping. Quite often I’ll roast and eat a whole head in one sitting. My “recipe” is criminally simple, and yet life-changingly delicious. Please, if you think you don’t like cauliflower, try it this way. If you’re ambivalent about cauliflower, try it this way. And if you like cauliflower, definitely try it this way…and prepare to fall madly, dangerously, head-over-heels in love.

Curry-Roasted Cauliflower

1 medium head cauliflower, stem removed, cut or broken into small florets
1 tablespoon melted coconut oil (or another high-heat-safe oil)
1 tablespoon good-quality curry powder
1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon sea salt

Preheat the oven to 400Β°F (hint: chop your cauliflower while the oven is heating up) and line a rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper or (greased) aluminum foil. Place the cauliflower in a large bowl and drizzle on the oil; toss until coated. Sprinkle on the curry powder and salt and toss again until fairly evenly coated, then spread the cauliflower onto the lined baking sheet in a single layer. Roast for about 15 minutes, then remove from the oven just long enough to gently toss the mixture around with a spatula or fork. Return to the oven and roast for 10 more minutes, until the cauliflower is fork-tender and golden brown and your kitchen smells nutty and fragrant. Remove from the oven and let cool just slightly for a minute or two, then serve while still hot. Swoon.

Yield: 3 normal servings or 1 Amber-sized serving
Per normal serving: 96 calories, 5.2g fat (4g sat), 11.6g carbs, 6g fiber, 4.2g protein
Per Amber-sized serving: 287 calories, 15.7g fat (12g sat), 34.7g carbs, 17g fiber, 12.6g protein

The curry powder you use can make all the difference, so get yourself a good one. Make sure to get a milder variety if you don’t like things too spicy.

If you’d like to forego the oil, you can just mist the cauliflower with cooking spray before you add the curry and salt.

How am I supposed to even attempt to describe to you how good this is?! I can’t. I just can’t.
I’m powerless in the face of such exquisite, radiant explosions of toasty, spicy flavor.
Ok, I need to go make another batch. Now.

3 years ago…
December “leftovers”
2 years ago…
Almost Vegan in the news!
1 year ago…
P90X Week 1: vegan protein galore

86 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2012 10:03 am

    This looks amazing! I’m going to try this tonight!:) Thanks for sharing! I’m on a broccoli kick myself right now:) Thanks again!

    Heather

  2. January 9, 2012 10:07 am

    YUM!! I am the only one who likes curry in my home though. 😦

  3. January 9, 2012 10:11 am

    omigosh, amber, i LOVE cauliflower. LOVE. and roasted cauliflower holds a special place in my heart ❀ i need to make your version. it looks absolutely scrumptious and i bet anything that i'll eat the entire head of roasted cauliflower in one sitting. but it wouldn't be the first time πŸ˜‰

    • January 9, 2012 10:13 am

      Another cauliflower lover, woohoo! You will almost certainly down the whole batch in one sitting…it’s too hard not to!

  4. January 9, 2012 10:39 am

    Can you recommend a good curry? I don’t have many options at my local grocery store, but I have seen McCormick. Right now I have a cheap Badia curry that I am sure would not do this recipe justice at all.

  5. January 9, 2012 10:42 am

    cauliflower is AMAZING! πŸ™‚ we have a cauliflower soup made that i will eat sometime today! i love curry too! i make curried quinoa with zucchini squash and onion and broccoli alot. . . . its so good and warm!

  6. January 9, 2012 10:50 am

    I love cauliflower too and am always happy when other people profess similar sentiments. It is much maligned, needlessly! It is so fun to eat, and like popcorn almost when roasted.

  7. January 9, 2012 11:21 am

    I haven’t had cauliflower in a very long time. It’s definitely my favorite vegetable to eat raw with a creamy dip. Must try it this way!

  8. January 9, 2012 11:41 am

    I’ve always loved roasted cauliflower. I will definitely try it with the curry powder. It’s good to know that I have company when it comes to scarfing down a whole head of cauliflower!

  9. Jon permalink
    January 9, 2012 12:10 pm

    Sounds great. I like to stir fry cauliflower with potatoes and peas, with some onion and garlic too, in coconut, using turmeric and curry spice. Very filling, tasty and sensual!!! I start with all raw veggies, so it does take about 40 minutes. This recipe of yours will be my next cooking adventure! Love the simplicity.

    • January 9, 2012 12:10 pm

      Thanks Jon! Your Indian-inspired cauli/veggie dish sounds right up my alley! πŸ™‚

      • Jon permalink
        January 9, 2012 12:11 pm

        It’s great there’s an Indian vegetarian cookbook from the early eighties that has some great traditional recipes. I belive it was a Readers Digest publication. It isn`t vegan though.

  10. Melissa permalink
    January 9, 2012 12:12 pm

    Oh my gosh, that’s crazy: I used to “hate” cauliflower too, and now I would fight you for Cauliflower’s hand in marriage!

    I’ve also had this awesome curry-roasted cauliflower before, but I made it with olive oil. I’ll have to try it with coconut oil, sounds amazing!

    • January 9, 2012 12:17 pm

      Haha! You’re on! πŸ˜›
      I prefer using coconut oil when cooking at high heats like this; the fats are more stable. πŸ™‚

  11. January 9, 2012 12:13 pm

    I used to hate cauliflower too! But now I am learning to love it… I will try your recipe, sounds great! Thx.

    • Melissa permalink
      January 9, 2012 12:14 pm

      If you haven’t already, you should try this: shred cauliflower or put it in a food processor. I use it raw, or cooked with vegetables, soy sauce or peanut butter, and sesame seed oil, depending on the flavor I want, to make a really tasty carb-conscious stir fry.

      • January 9, 2012 12:19 pm

        That sounds similar to the raw Cauliflower “Rice” Pilaf that’ll be in my cookbook – but I actually love the idea of stir-frying it with peanut butter or oil; YUM!

    • January 9, 2012 12:18 pm

      It might just suddenly hit you one day that it’s the best veggie in history πŸ˜› At least that’s what happened to me!

  12. Kris permalink
    January 9, 2012 12:14 pm

    I’m embarrassed how easy tthis is, so i shall run for new curry powder and make a big batch! One of my fave things is curried sprouted sunflower seeds. Curry, yum.

  13. Nardis permalink
    January 9, 2012 12:15 pm

    I thought I was the only one that hated cauliflower… umm I haven’t had it since I was a lil girl and never liked the taste/smell of it…I will have to conquer my fear to it and EAT IT RAW babe!

  14. January 9, 2012 12:15 pm

    Love cauliflower — and roasted or mashed is the best! Can’t wait to try this recipe. πŸ™‚

  15. Carolyn permalink
    January 9, 2012 12:16 pm

    I have some beautiful cauliflower just waiting to be prepared this way! I made a green thia curry last night with quiena (sp?), zucchini, squash, onions, and stuffed it in baby bells. Delish!!!

  16. Terry permalink
    January 9, 2012 12:18 pm

    Well, I’m quite partial to anything curry related! Thanks for sharing!! : )

  17. Matt permalink
    January 9, 2012 2:27 pm

    I draw the line with you cuddling with a head of cauliflower in bed. I’m mostly man enough to not be jealous of your very public affair.

    ;-P

  18. January 9, 2012 2:28 pm

    Pretty cauli from a pretty chef. Looks great πŸ™‚

  19. January 9, 2012 2:29 pm

    I absolutely LOVE curry and cauliflower, too… so why haven’t I tried them together before?? I’ll be trying this asap! πŸ˜€

  20. January 9, 2012 7:42 pm

    Lovely. I’ll definitely try this (and I already love cauliflower).

  21. January 9, 2012 8:09 pm

    I love love love curried roasted cauliflower almost as much as you do! Thank you for trying to inspire others to see why we are right! Cheers!

  22. Aimee permalink
    January 9, 2012 8:11 pm

    Made this for dinner tonight – so delicious! Need to go get more cauliflower :).

  23. January 9, 2012 9:21 pm

    Um, wow. This looks AMAZING. I knew I bought that cauliflower yesterday for a reason! πŸ˜‰

  24. January 10, 2012 12:26 am

    You’re preaching to the choir here!
    I love cauliflower, even feel a little guilty that i love it more than broccoli, which is supposedly more nutritious… And curry–absolutely! I don’t think there’s a single way I don’t like cauliflower, although after years 100% raw, I was floored by how much I love it cooked!

    • January 10, 2012 9:05 am

      Same here! Broccoli has that guilt-inducing green hue that tells you to eat more of it, while cauliflower is a pearly, milky, innocent white…but they’re from the same cruciferous family (Brassicaceae, right?) and so similar in structure that I have to suspect they’re more comparable in nutrient content than people suspect. Plus there’s always green cauliflower, broccoflower, romanesco…damn, I really need a cauli patch. Right next to my watermelon patch. Mmm.

  25. January 10, 2012 4:23 am

    Oh yes, I love roasted cauliflower! Particularly with chilli flakes added before roasting and nooch sprinkled on afterwards. I’m even thinking my buffet upon arrival could be roasted cauliflower instead of mini cheesecakes πŸ˜‰

    • January 10, 2012 9:06 am

      Oh! I totally forgot to say I sometimes sprinkle it with nooch right out of the oven too! And I use a nice hot curry powder.

      Ohh yes, we can have a roasted cauli buffet…although you may have to fight me for the bulk of it πŸ˜‰

  26. January 10, 2012 9:09 am

    OMG. I make that, too. Sometimes I also add carrots and chickpeas. So good. Anything with curry powder and coconut oil is yum!

  27. January 10, 2012 10:45 am

    I love how much you love cauliflower πŸ˜‰ I’m not a big fan of raw cauliflower (unless I’m just snacking on it – no mash whatsoever) But cooked – Well, I’m rather addicted as well!

  28. bitt permalink
    January 10, 2012 12:16 pm

    Thanks for sharing one of your staple recipes with us! I love an Indian flavored roasted cauliflower too. I’m not so big into it raw, mostly for digestive reasons. With the coconut oil, wow I bet that takes it over the top.

    • January 10, 2012 12:17 pm

      I like raw cauliflower but it has to be prepared and flavored well. But between roasted and raw, roasted wins by a landslide.

  29. January 10, 2012 2:49 pm

    I have to admit I have not had cauliflower in a long long time (Bad childhood memories), but i think I am almost ready to give it a go. I also struggle with Brussel sprouts – any hints?

  30. January 10, 2012 6:26 pm

    YUMMERZ…!”

  31. The Healthy Apple permalink
    January 10, 2012 10:35 pm

    I have been on such a cauliflower kick lately…I love it! That and Brussels Sprouts have been in my daily eats…
    Great recipe.
    Happy New Year!

  32. January 11, 2012 10:18 am

    Oh my god, I love cauliflower too….its a serious ish over here, but to be honest it costs an arm and a leg here! LIke $7 a head. YEA!

    Sooooo I get it sometimes, but I would eat it daily if I could πŸ˜‰ I’m a huge roaster…come to mama….YUM!!

    xxoo

  33. January 12, 2012 10:10 pm

    Roasted cauli is like heaven to me! I also make it curried…and often! I mix a blend of good curry powder and really good garam masala, and then toss in olive oil, sprinkle on the fresh cracked black and kosher salt…and roast away! My husband will eat his dinner while I nosh on a heaping bowl full of brown rice and curried cauli!

  34. January 12, 2012 11:49 pm

    Somebody pinned this and made me drool!!
    I’ve made something similar and it’s sooo good – thank you for the reminder!

  35. January 15, 2012 1:04 pm

    I can’t wait to try this super simple recipe! πŸ™‚

  36. January 17, 2012 5:12 pm

    I made this yesterday and it was amazing – can’t wait to make it again πŸ™‚

    I will be in your neck of the woods in March – what is your favorite place to eat that I can take my friends to (who are not vegan) that they will love too?

    • January 17, 2012 5:51 pm

      I’d say Eden Alley – it’s all vegetarian, but they have a ton of homestyle, omni-friendly dishes that your friends would be familiar with and, hopefully, accepting of!
      Or you could go to my favorite restaurant in the world – Genghis Khan, a build-your-own-bowl Mongolian barbecue with the best, freshest ingredients EVER. (You can read/see a little about it here.) But of course, it’s not all veg, so your friends might visit the meat selection…but YOU will definitely be taken care of! Their pre-cooked tofu is the BEST. πŸ™‚

  37. skinnysimplerecipes permalink
    April 27, 2012 11:53 am

    I tried your recipe and loved the mix of curry and coconut oil. I also made them with soy sauce. And my last inspiration was roasted cauliflower with moroccan spices (lemon, turmeric, ginger and garlic powder). give it a try, you’ll love it.

  38. April 27, 2012 12:21 pm

    Ohh I forgot…I also tried cauliflower with Lemon Pepper seasonning mix and some olive oil. Very nice!!!

  39. November 4, 2012 9:53 am

    I roast cauliflower all the time with Mexican seasoning, but would never have thought to use curry. Can’t wait to give this a try!

  40. Oregon permalink
    November 9, 2012 7:55 pm

    Love love love this — made it the first time with peanut oil and it was awesome…quadrupled the curry…and it is to die for!

Leave a Comment

