Skip to content
Simple smashed avocado salad

January 30, 2012

Last week, on the AV Facebook page, I asked for feedback on how people feel about super-simple recipes. I couldn’t believe all the enthusiastic responses I got!

I usually shy away from posting ridiculously-simple “recipes,” but after I saw how much you all loved my easy curry-roasted cauliflower, I started wondering if maybe I shouldn’t post recipes like that more often. Turns out, the answer is yes! To that end, today’s post features something I’ve been eating for lunch the last few days: a salad.

Long-time readers will know that in general, I don’t “do” salads. Maybe it’s the mild winter weather, maybe it’s the fact that I’ve enjoyed a few too many baked-good indulgences this season, or maybe it’s memories of the taco salad at Living Light that have been floating back to me…either way, I’ve actually been craving romaine lettuce + avocado. Here, then (because you asked!), is my embarrassingly easy “recipe” for my current favorite lunchtime salad.

Simple Smashed Avocado Salad

Chopped romaine lettuce
Shredded carrot
Diced red bell pepper
1/2 ripe avocado, pitted, peeled, and chopped
1-2 drops stevia (optional)
Lemon or lime juice
Nutritional yeast
Sea salt
Fresh-cracked pepper

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl. Use your hands or a fork to smash the avocado bits into the lettuce. Eat and enjoy.

Told you it was simple!
What’s your favorite ridiculously-easy “recipe”?

 

3 years ago this week…
Tofu parmigiana alla marinara
Deep chocolate bundt cake
2 years ago this week…
Overnight steel-cut oatmeal
Chocolate banana bread
1 year ago this week…
P90X week 4 + Happy Herbivore cookbook
Ethiopian feast & KC raw food meetup

46 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2012 11:16 am

    Ahhhh me an avocados’ have a love. We’re lovers. I would eat this smashed creamy goodness for every meal of my day! thank you!!

    xxoo

  2. January 30, 2012 12:55 pm

    I never think to add nooch to salad. I dont know why. I love it on everything else!

  3. Mary mygreendiet.com permalink
    January 30, 2012 1:36 pm

    I haven’t tried nutritional yeast in salad- don’t know why not. great idea. I think I might add some radish to this…

  4. January 30, 2012 2:01 pm

    yess, I love this! avocado makes anything taste amazing. and I’m all about easy recipes πŸ˜‰ keep ’em coming!

  5. January 30, 2012 3:15 pm

    This sounds great – my favorite “recipe” is just mixing oat flour with some raw sugar, sea salt and nut butter and making my famous raw vegan peanut butter cookies. ^^ They’re unbelievably delicious!

  6. January 30, 2012 3:35 pm

    I love this idea!

  7. Megan permalink
    January 30, 2012 5:37 pm

    I love using avocado instead of salad dressing – it does need a lot of salt and pepper to make it interesting, but it’s amazing when you get the balance right. Plus it means I don’t have to bother fishing out bottles of oil or balsamic from the back of my over-stuffed pantry…!

    • January 30, 2012 5:39 pm

      Yes! I also love that it’s a whole food and not just an oil. The salt is definitely necessary, but a little lemon juice adds a lot, too!

  8. Bliss Doubt permalink
    January 30, 2012 6:01 pm

    Even though I hardly ever make it, my favorite ridiculously easy recipe is caramelized onions with tahini, soy sauce and thai sweet chili sauce stirred in, served over rice or pasta. I forget where I saw that recipe, somebody’s blog no doubt.

  9. January 30, 2012 6:07 pm

    Yippeee – Dinner sorted tonight – Shepherds pie from Chars Kitchen, and salad from here. So pleased I logged in today!

  10. January 30, 2012 6:54 pm

    Love Avocado. It’s like Nature’s Mayo! This looks very refreshing, and I can’t pass up on an easy meal. I have never thought to mash avocado for anything other than guac and to spread on sandwiches. Saving this for the next avocado sale!!
    Trish xoxo

  11. bitt permalink
    January 30, 2012 7:30 pm

    I have been pretty into avocado lately, I’ve discovered I like it smashed much better than in chunks.

    I am all for simple recipes, one of the biggest complaints about the raw food diet is that the recipes are too complex.

  12. January 30, 2012 8:21 pm

    I cannot wait to get some avocado in my house…this looks amazing!!! I LOVE avocado! Thank you so much for posting this great recipe! πŸ™‚

  13. January 31, 2012 7:34 am

    YUM! I love simple recipes and most of what I make and demo are easy….as a mom I don’t have time to be whipping up gourmet healthy foods but I want it to taste and look like I did!!!

  14. Tara permalink
    January 31, 2012 12:55 pm

    I made a this today! I made a few additions/modifications based upon what I had and preferences. I’ve been craving arugula so I used that. I added cilantro and 2 chopped scallions that I had on hand. I added 1/4 tsp. cumin and a pinch of chili powder. This came out so freakin’ good! I doubled it and my brother and I shared it for lunch. He loved it and called it a keeper–and it sure is. Thank u Amber! This was fantastic!!! : )

    • January 31, 2012 12:57 pm

      Ooh, cilantro sounds like a GREAT addition, especially with chili powder and cumin! I’ve been enjoying it with alfalfa sprouts added this week πŸ™‚ So glad you and your brother liked it!

  15. January 31, 2012 3:53 pm

    Sometimes ridiculously easy recipes are the best. I’m now craving your taco salad. I’ll probably have it tomorrow, as I’m going to my in-laws house tonight. My favorite simple recipe is banana-based n’ice cream, but I’m sure you’re not surprised.

  16. February 2, 2012 10:24 am

    This will be my lunch today…. Thank God too, because I was running out of time trying to think of something–thanks Amber! xo

    • February 2, 2012 10:27 am

      You’re welcome, Cara! It’ll be my lunch, too! πŸ˜€

      • February 8, 2012 7:08 pm

        Yeah, I’m pretty much obsessed with this now. I eat it for lunch almost everyday. Thank you again for this simple yet INCREDIBLY tasty recipe!

  17. February 7, 2012 8:21 pm

    going to make this since avocados are 10 for 10 starting thursday at the local grocery store. πŸ™‚

  18. February 7, 2012 9:19 pm

    you can it’s at our local price choppers thursday through saturday πŸ™‚

  19. March 16, 2012 6:51 pm

    That salad look extraordinary!!! Seriously delicious! I’m salivating like MAD! Thanks for posting!!

  20. Faye@RawLawyer.com permalink
    March 26, 2012 6:51 pm

    Just made the salad! Loved it!!

    http://www.rawlawyer.com/2012/03/indian-red-lentils-and-simple-smashed.html

  21. April 17, 2012 1:00 pm

    Can I just say – something about smashing the avocado is genius?? I love avocado on salads, but I just made this and the smashed avocado adds a richness and creaminess to the entire salad. Sometimes the simplest suggestions make the best ones!! I also added chickpeas because I’m addicted to them. YUM. I’ll have to stop myself from making another one to devour…

Leave a Comment

