Skip to content
Cinnamon-spiced sweet potato-pumpkin purée

February 2, 2012

I’m so pleased you all liked my simple smashed avocado salad! I’m still eating one for lunch every day—my latest addition to the mix is fresh alfalfa sprouts.

This week has been…trying, to say the least. On Monday night, there was a fire in the apartment adjacent to ours—thankfully, we’re back home now and everything’s ok. Then yesterday, Matt and I finally got an answer on the condo we’ve been trying to purchase for the past month—we were outbid over the weekend, and someone else got it. 😦 So we’re back to square one in finding a new home, which is now all the more pressing, because our current place is fire-damaged and smelly! In addition, I’m working on advance promo for Practically Raw, starting work on a second book, trying (and so far largely failing) to get my wedding planning underway, keeping up with emails and blog posts, and dealing with some health issues that are throwing me for a loop. Aaahh!

Suffice it to say, simple, easy foods are still really appealing to me this week. This healthy and delightful dessert is a great example. It’s warming and winter-appropriate, plus it’s vegetable-based and super-nutritious. Just what my body is craving!

Cinnamon-Spiced Sweet Potato-Pumpkin Purée

1 medium sweet potato
1 cup canned pumpkin purée
2 tablespoons almond milk
1 tablespoon coconut butter
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
Pinch of sea salt
Stevia to taste

Preheat the oven to 400°F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Stab the sweet potato all over with a fork, place on the baking sheet, and bake for 55 to 60 minutes, until tender. Set aside until cool enough to handle.

When cool, cut the sweet potato open lengthwise and scrape the flesh into the bowl of a food processor. Add the pumpkin, almond milk, coconut butter, cinnamon, vanilla, and salt and process until smooth. Taste for sweetness and add stevia if desired. Serve warm, at room temperature, or chilled.

Substitution Options
Pumpkin: bake and use two sweet potatoes instead of one
Almond milk: any other nondairy milk
Coconut butter: almond butter, melted coconut oil, or just leave it out
Stevia: 1 tablespoon maple syrup, raw honey, coconut nectar, or any other sweetener

Yield: 1 huge or 2 medium servings
Per serving (1): 324 calories, 10.7g fat (8g sat), 56.2g carbs, 18g fiber, 7.5g protein
Per serving (2): 162 calories, 5.4g fat (4g sat), 28.1g carbs, 9g fiber, 3.7g protein

A bowlful of this pudding-like purée provides starchy-carb comfort along with loads of fiber and beta-carotene/vitamin A, plus nice hits of protein and healthy fats. Whether you eat it as a snack, a side dish, or a dessert, your body will thank you!

QUESTION: Do you like sweet potatoes? What’s your favorite way to eat them?

3 years ago this week…
Tofu parmigiana alla marinara
Deep chocolate bundt cake
2 years ago this week…
Overnight steel-cut oatmeal
Chocolate banana bread
1 year ago this week…
P90X week 4 + Happy Herbivore cookbook
Ethiopian feast & KC raw food meetup

38 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2012 11:29 am

    YUM! I love to spread sweet potato puree on brown rice wraps, fold it over and bake to make a quesdilla!

  2. February 2, 2012 11:59 am

    I love sweet potatoes. My favorite way to eat them is extremely simple. I just bake them and that’s it. Nothing added … but I think your recipe looks delicious, too.

    Sorry to hear about the fire damage to your apartment and the condo being a “no-go.” I hope it means an even better home is in your future.

  3. bitt permalink
    February 2, 2012 1:05 pm

    So sorry about the fire and bummer about the condo too, I hope you find something else soon. I know what it’s like to be in a house that doesn’t feel liveable, it’s rough.

    I often put coconut oil on my sweet potatoes, so good!

    • February 2, 2012 1:10 pm

      It could’ve been a lot worse, so on one hand, we’re thankful…but now I REALLY can’t wait to move!

      Coconut + sweet potato = match made in heaven.

  4. Robyn permalink
    February 2, 2012 4:43 pm

    Yum,,,baked the sweet potato last night and now have put together for breakfast(layered with homemade granola and other fruits. I added 2 dates instead of stevia, little more liquid(for the chia seeds) and almond butter(out of coconut oil/butter)…I usually have an avocado pudding for breakfast(sometimes add squash)<3

  5. February 2, 2012 6:07 pm

    So sorry about the fire! :(( Have had that experience myself. NOT FUN! Glad you’re OK though and making awesome food as always! I’m attending the Matthew Kenney Academy this month…have a look at my blog if you want! 😀

    • February 2, 2012 6:10 pm

      Oh Malin I’m so happy to hear you’re at MKA! Say hi to the crew for me, I wish I could come visit you 🙂 I’ll be reliving everything vicariously through your blog now!

      • February 2, 2012 6:13 pm

        I will! Too bad you can’t come visit us. WE’RE HAVING SO MUCH FUN!! I really don’t want this month to end. But yeah, I’ll keep you updated on the blog! 😀

      • February 2, 2012 6:15 pm

        And it’s only the beginning! 😀 Looking forward to keeping up with your blog posts about it!

  6. February 2, 2012 8:17 pm

    Sounds fabulous.I usually find sweet potatoes plenty sweet and tend to use them in savory ways and I forget they can be great sweet too! Sorry to hear about yr troubles but I hope things will straighten out.

  7. February 2, 2012 8:48 pm

    yum! That looks really good!

  8. February 2, 2012 9:52 pm

    yum! love sweet potatoes!!

  9. February 3, 2012 12:25 am

    Yum–that is exactly my kind of comfort food! There was a while a couple years ago when I was practically living on pureed cooked carrots with a little either coconut oil or homemade hazelnut butter added, and cinnamon and/or cardamom. Right now, I can barely imagine eating carrots other than raw, but the orangeness and the sweet-potato-ness and the warm spiciness sound just like something I’d go for. Actually, dare I say it, the cooked-ness too: my tummy’s been so unhappy lately, and pureed/cooked can be just right.

    I hope the house/home situation finds its own best solution. I’m sure there would have been something not right for you about that condo, and that you’re just getting into position to find the “right” home. Hope you get out of the smokiness soon, before you start putting liquid smoke in everything (or get put off from doing so forever after–either one would be unfortunate).

    Drop me a line any time you want to chat about the health issues–I know we share some in common 😉
    love
    Ela

    • February 3, 2012 8:59 am

      I remember your “tetra diet”! Hazelnut butter would be divine with sweet potatoes…as would cardamom…must add those next time!

      I’m not one of those people that believes “everything happens for a reason,” but I do hope that the situation will turn out to be to our advantage in the end.

      Funny enough, I already HATE the smell of barbecued/grilled food and I absolutely ABHOR liquid smoke. This only reinforces that hatred!

  10. February 3, 2012 2:10 am

    Oh my darling soul sister, I’m so sorry about your topsy turvy (let’s be honest; mostly turvy) week. I know that you know this, but I just have to reiterate how often I think of you and my hands itch to write to you (ignoring the 70+ emails I need to respond to 😉 ), but I hold off out of fear of being an extra stress on your time. But you know – ALWAYS know – that I am here if ever you need me or want someone to talk to/at. There is so much fabulous exciting wonderment of bliss in this year for you, but sometimes the universe can’t help itself from being a poophead. (And yes, that word replaced a far less public-friendly one that I initially typed.) (And I also just made the typo “pubic-friendly”. I know you’ll appreciate that.)

    Love you love you, and here’s to the even better place that’s awaiting you and Matt because this one clearly wasn’t awesome enough to withstand the two of you.

    xoxoxo

    • February 3, 2012 9:07 am

      I must reiterate that RECEIVING emails is anything but a drain on my time – in fact it’s a ray of light in my day! It’s replying to said wonderful emails that I sometimes fail at, and that stresses me out a bit. But I have a hard time believing it’s ok NOT to write back, even if it is…make sense? But know that I cherish emails from you like you wouldn’t believe, and feel free to write away, and yes we must Skype, I just need to find the time…you better know I think of you constantly as well!
      PUBIC-friendly?! Now Hannah… 😉

      • February 3, 2012 9:58 pm

        We’re so exactly the same in this regard; makes complete sense to me. I have so much constant guilt about the dozens and dozens and dozens of people I owe emails to, but at a certain point living life has to take precedence, particular as my blog is not my job (oh how I wish 😛 )

        You just let me know if you have time free one Friday or Saturday, and we’ll work something out. But no rush… at least, not until it gets to the point of needing to make decisions and book flights… 😉

      • February 3, 2012 9:59 pm

        I promise we’ll work out a way to have a Skype date semi-soon!

  11. February 3, 2012 10:35 am

    Hey Doll!! I LOVE Sweet Tatters!!!!! Ahhhh I haven’t been able to have them lately with my diet 😦 Boo…but when I can, I’m making THIS! Oooooo lala

    xxoo

  12. Tamara Lukie permalink
    February 3, 2012 12:58 pm

    holy cow does this look like it would hit the spot anyday anytime!!! thanks for the recipe!!!
    T

  13. February 3, 2012 2:36 pm

    This looks so good, especially on a dreary, overcast day like today. I *love* sweet potatoes. I’ll take ’em any way I can get ’em, but I usually eat them roasted.

    • February 3, 2012 2:38 pm

      I JUST finished my leftovers of yesterday’s batch, with extra coconut butter melted on top 🙂 Yes, absolutely perfect for a gray day like today!

  14. February 5, 2012 4:16 am

    I LOVE sweet potatoes! My favorite kind is Asian Sweet potatoes from our Farmers’ Market. I used to eat sweet potatoes with lots of salted butter and brown sugar. Now I more greatly enjoy the flavor of them “naked,” baked, hot or cold, day or night, in fact, I’m going to have one right now!

  15. February 6, 2012 1:50 am

    Sweet potato, maple syrup, tahini and salt – sounds weird, but dang it is GOOD! Hey, a 2nd book? Awesome!

    • February 6, 2012 9:30 am

      Tahini! – that’d be another great substitution possibility for the coconut butter in this. I think that sounds awesome, Lou!

  16. Travis permalink
    February 7, 2012 12:00 pm

    Yummy! Thanks for posting…

  17. arisha permalink
    March 21, 2012 11:42 pm

    Hey Amber you should try this as a snack: boiled sweet potato cut in chunks not really soft a bit hard with lemon juice and chat masala. I see you like masalas so definitely try it! my mom’s from pakistan and always gives this to us it’s great and a bit tart! 😀 good luck

Leave a Comment

