Skip to content
Romantic dinner at Blue Bird Bistro

February 14, 2012

News & Notes

Matt and I celebrated Valentine’s Day early, on Saturday, with dinner at Blue Bird Bistro.

Blue Bird Bistro is located in the 17th and Summit area of Kansas City’s Westside neighborhood (right next door to FÜD!). It is, in my opinion, KC’s best upscale organic restaurant. 90% of the ingredients are organic, and most of them are sourced locally from some 50 different farms. Not only is there a delicious array of vegetarian dishes, but their commitment to local and properly-treated animal foods – grass-fed beef, free-range chicken, and fresh, wild-caught fish – means that even carnivores can eat sustainably and responsibly at Blue Bird.

Matt and I started out the evening with wine—Palacios Remondo, La Vendimia, Rioja, Spain, sustainable, to be exact. (Spanish reds are my favorite!)

We had to start out with the Hummus appetizer—of course! Blue Bird’s herbed hummus is served with house-made pita bread. (Apologies for the garish flash in all the rest of these photos; it was quite dim in there.)

Luckily for us, Blue Bird started serving its special Valentine’s Day menu several days early. Matt got the vegan Potato Rösti: marinated Central Soyfoods smoked tofu over potato cakes, topped with a tomato-ginger sauce and served with sautéed spinach. (It’s been a long time since I last ate rösti!) The smoked tofu was too smoky for me (I hate barbecue flavors; I’m a bad Kansas Citian), but the sauce was complex and the crispy potato cakes were excellent.

My main course was so awesomely creative that I’m still dazzled by it! The Panting Potato Pasta was vegan gnocchi smothered in rich, thick mole sauce and dusted with sesame seeds.

The best part? There was a cheeky little tart cherry embedded inside every piece of gnocchi! I never would’ve thought to pair cherries with mole, but oh man, it WORKED.

For dessert, Matt chose the vegan Orange Cake with chocolate-coffee glaze and crushed almonds. I tried a bite, and though the texture was unbelievably good, I am just not a fan of anything orange-flavored.

I chose the non-vegan Honey Cake, which was made with local raw honey and Missouri pecans. It wasn’t as moist as I would’ve liked (if it were me, I would’ve soaked the cake in additional melted honey), but with the crunchy toasted pecans, it was still my kind of treat.

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone!

P.S.—For anyone in Kansas City interested in partaking in Blue Bird Bistro’s special V-Day menu, they’ll be serving it until Wednesday, 2/15/12!

3 years ago this week…
January restaurant roundup
Homestyle blueberry cobbler
2 years ago this week…
Cauliflower-chickpea tagine
Vegan Italian Valentine feast
1 year ago this week…
Review: Sacred Chocolate
P90X weeks 5-6: from cooked to raw

33 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2012 10:01 am

    Wow, what a lovely outing! We are going to a restaurant tonight that serves local foods so I am looking forward to that! Those vegan gnocchi look super delicious. I want to try making those!

    • February 14, 2012 10:02 am

      I’m intimidated by homemade gnocchi, I must admit…but I might HAVE to try making some soon just to stick cherries inside!

  2. February 14, 2012 11:04 am

    Happy Valentine’s Day!! Enjoy!! With our 2 kids, hubby and I don’t have a romantic day…we have a family day!! LOL

  3. February 14, 2012 11:51 am

    That gnocci looks AMAZING, and cherries and mole actually sounds quite delicious! When we come this summer, I’ll have to visit this place!

    • February 14, 2012 12:05 pm

      Yes! In fact, we should dedicate a whole day to eating in that neighborhood. FÜD (all-vegan) is right next door to Blue Bird, and Chez Elle (hello vegan crêpes!) is right across the street. 😀

  4. bitt permalink
    February 14, 2012 12:21 pm

    Looks very romantic! Happy Valentine’s day!

  5. February 14, 2012 1:18 pm

    Lovely!!!

    Happy Valentine’s Day to you guys!

  6. February 14, 2012 1:23 pm

    Geezie!!! That food. Wow. Have I ever mentioned that I LOVE mole sauce? You’ve made the raw kind before, right? Oooomg.

    Sooooo… Happy VDay!!!

    (SO.EXCITED.TO.MEET.YOU. soon!- you’re going to have to figure out the best place for us to CHOW down in SF!)

    • February 14, 2012 1:43 pm

      I ❤ mole too!
      YES! I'm exhausted with tasks at the moment, but sooner or later, we'll get a plan nailed down 😀 Just a couple more weeks! Eee!

  7. February 14, 2012 3:33 pm

    I love the Blue Bird! I usually get the polenta, served with basil pesto, olive tapenade, some kind of red sauce and goat cheese. It also comes with steamed veggies. The chocolate orange cake is my favorite dessert in Kansas City. I would love to try the honey pecan cake or chocolate tart, but I can’t say no to the Chocolate Orange! I plan on recreating this at some point. I’ve already picked out the recipe. Glad you guys had fun 🙂

    • February 14, 2012 3:50 pm

      If I liked orangey stuff, I’m sure I would’ve enjoyed the cake!
      I’ve never had Blue Bird’s polenta, but with tapenade and pesto? Yum, I’ll have to remember that.

  8. February 14, 2012 7:25 pm

    Aw, dinner with your loved one. Always the best thing! Do you have any good restaurant tip for OKC? (Except MK of course!)

    • February 14, 2012 9:07 pm

      I didn’t eat too many places other than MK-OKC! I do remember getting coffee and snacks at the Red Cup and pizza at Wedge Pizzeria.

      • February 14, 2012 9:42 pm

        Yeah…I might stick to MK! :)) Red cup is right where I live though so I might check it out. Thanks!

  9. February 14, 2012 11:33 pm

    Wow, a tomato sauce with sesame seeds is pretty inventive, as is the cherry inside. Wow. The honey cake does look a bit dry but definitely beautiful. What a nice time.

  10. February 15, 2012 5:16 am

    I’m going to have to start writing a list of KC-and-surrounds places to hit up soon, Amber 😉

    UGH ORANGE EVIL DEMON HELL.

    Fabulous gnocchi, though!

    • February 15, 2012 10:07 am

      Oh don’t worry, I’m going to create The Ultimate Vegan (or not!) Guide to Kansas City for my out-of-town wedding guests. 😀 Like I said to Bianca above, we should dedicate a whole day to eating in this particular neighborhood – FÜD (all-vegan, lots of raw) is right next door to Blue Bird, and Chez Elle (vegan and gluten-free buckwheat crêpes!) is right across the street!

  11. February 15, 2012 10:57 am

    YUM!! What a great evening out!! you two are so cute!!

    I want to try this place when I roll into KC in march!! SO excited!

    xxoo

    • February 15, 2012 10:58 am

      You better keep me posted about when you’ll be here! I can give you a whole list of awesome places you MUST visit… 😀

  12. February 15, 2012 3:19 pm

    That restaurant sounds lovely. I wish there were more restaurants like that closer to where I live. Happy belated Valentine’s Day! ❤

  13. February 15, 2012 3:25 pm

    Looks yummy Amber! Happy valentines day! My hunny took me for dinner too – love going out 🙂 Can’t wait to read all about your vegan wedding.

    • February 15, 2012 4:21 pm

      I love going out to eat too, we just hardly ever seem to do it anymore! But that makes it a nice treat when it does happen. 🙂

  14. February 15, 2012 4:39 pm

    That is a very interesting gnocchi dish you got, and both of those desserts sound very good and unusual!

  15. February 17, 2012 11:12 am

    Glad you guys had a nice night out.

    And the earlier posts..the fire in your bldg and losing a condo you had a bid on….NOT good! Real estate and moving are two of the most stressful things so I hope things are a bit smoother by now….

  16. February 19, 2012 8:01 pm

    looks like some great eats- I’m loving the dessert!

Leave a Comment

