Skip to content
Practically Raw recipe: Apple Pie Oatmeal

February 23, 2012

News & Notes

 

On Monday, I gave you a photo-packed mega-preview of my cookbook, Practically Raw: Flexible Raw Recipes Anyone Can Make. I also promised to share one of the recipes with you today. Lots of people voted, and it was a close race between the Apple Pie Oatmeal and the White Chocolate Coconut Fudge Bites. I was actually surprised, since I know I post far more sweet stuff than savory on this blog already…but apparently, you guys love your sweets! However, I promise the next Practically Raw recipe I share will be a savory one.

And the winner is…

Apple Pie Oatmeal

Recipe from Practically Raw by Amber Shea Crawley (Vegan Heritage Press, 2012)

It’s like dessert for breakfast! This low-fat apple-pie-in-a-bowl oatmeal really hits the spot on a chilly morning. Oats contain beta-glucan, a soluble fiber that has been shown to reduce blood cholesterol levels by up to 10%—score! You get extra credit if you make this with fresh-pressed apple juice and soaked, blended oat or buckwheat groats in place of the rolled oats (see the Variations below).

1 medium apple, peeled, cored, and diced
1/2 cup almond milk
1/2 cup apple juice
1 tablespoon maple syrup
3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
Big pinch of sea salt
1 cup raw rolled oat flakes OR old-fashioned rolled oats
Additional almond milk, for serving
(optional)

Combine all ingredients, except the oats and the optional additional almond milk, in a medium bowl. Add the oats and stir thoroughly to combine. Let sit for at least 10 minutes to allow the oats to soak up the liquid.  If you have particularly thirsty oats, you can add additional liquid.

Serve cold, or warm in a dehydrator for 30 minutes or in a small saucepan on the stove over low heat before serving. Top with a splash of additional almond milk before serving, if desired.

Yield: 2 servings
Per serving: 270 calories, 3.9g fat (trace sat), 55.4g carbs, 6g fiber, 6.3g protein

Substitutions
Almond milk: any other nondairy milk
Apple juice: filtered water plus 1 teaspoon agave nectar or stevia to taste
Maple syrup: agave nectar, coconut nectar, any other liquid sweetener, or 1 tablespoon filtered water plus stevia to taste

Variations
Apple Pie “Groatmeal”: Soak 1 cup raw oat groats in filtered water for 12 to 24 hours. Rinse and drain the groats and transfer them to a food processor. Add all ingredients (omitting the oat flakes and reducing the almond milk to 1/4 cup) except the apple, and process until smooth. Add the apple and pulse 2 to 3 times to incorporate. Serve cold, or warm in a dehydrator for 30 minutes or in a small saucepan on the stove over very low heat before serving.
BONUSGrain-Free “Oatmeal”: Although this variation isn’t in the book, I realize now that I should’ve included an option for my grain-free friends! Follow the directions for the “Groatmeal” variation above, substituting buckwheat groats for the oats. If you need to make it grain- AND pseudograin-free, replace the oats in the original recipe with 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, pecans, and/or almonds, double the amount of apple, and reduce the almond milk to 1/4 cup.

 

ENJOY! Remember, Practically Raw is available for preorder on Amazon, and copies will ship in just a couple weeks. Eee!

 

3 years ago this week…
Black bean-avocado enchiladas
Vegan French silk pie
Tuscan white bean dip
2 years ago this week…
Nutella-stuffed peanut butter cookies
Tofu-veggie breakfast scramble
Nutty carob chip cookies
1 year ago this week…
I AM THE 2011 HOT RAW CHEF!
Almost Vegan in San Francisco, parts one, two, three, and four

40 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2012 10:10 am

    I am so making this – going to whole foods at lunch to get the stuff I don’t have in the hosue

  2. Angela permalink
    February 23, 2012 10:48 am

    Never been a big fan of oatmeal but I’ll definitely try your recipe before it’s ancient history. And thanks for the bonus!

  3. February 23, 2012 11:08 am

    Yum! I love the idea of using oats in raw foods. It’s something you don’t see all that often, but should be done way … because oats are awesome.

    • February 23, 2012 11:09 am

      Oats ARE awesome! I’m not someone who worries about healthy fat content (fat is GOOD!), but oats are one way to offset higher-fat raw foods.

  4. Karin permalink
    February 23, 2012 11:13 am

    Yay! I am so glad this is the winner! I am making it when I get home!

  5. February 23, 2012 1:04 pm

    I was late reading the previous post, but voted anyway. I picked savory for a change. However, I do love my sweets, too. Looks delish!

    Congrats on making the top 10 list. You deserve it.

    Oh, and I’m enjoying reading about your wedding planning (that’s a lot of “ing”s). Glad to hear you found a venue in the end.

  6. February 23, 2012 5:03 pm

    Yay, thanks for the preview! So glad you guys were able to find a new venue in time. That was crazy what happened, I cannot believe no one called you.

  7. bitt permalink
    February 23, 2012 8:43 pm

    Comforting breakfast for sure. Just wondering, do you mean only soak the raw buckwheat for 10 minutes? That doesn’t seem like enough time to me, I have usually read several hours. Thanks for all the options!

    • February 23, 2012 9:25 pm

      In that grain-free variation, I say to follow the directions for the groatmeal variation, soaking buckwheat instead of oat groats for 12 to 24 hours…am I missing a typo up there or something? Let me know

  8. Mary permalink
    February 23, 2012 9:23 pm

    Oh goodness! Yum!!

  9. February 24, 2012 3:36 am

    Oooh, loving the sound of the nuts and extra apple version, at the bottom there! Like a raw apple crumble, almost. Can’t wait to see more (here and/or in the book 🙂 )

  10. February 25, 2012 10:17 am

    This recipe looks divine! Congrats on your new book-it looks wonderful! I wish you all the success in the world! Happy Weekend!

  11. February 26, 2012 12:24 pm

    Just made this for me and my husband, who is trying to switch to vegan eating. He LOVED it!!!!! Score! I will be making this often for breakfast and as a dessert. Thank you!

  12. February 26, 2012 5:17 pm

    YUMMY! this looks amazing

  13. February 27, 2012 10:39 am

    Dang me being off grains, I want to dive into a bowl of oatmeal right now!!!!! This looks amazing! You and your inspiring, healthy recipes keeps me smiling!!

    xxoo

  14. February 28, 2012 2:18 pm

    So glad to hear you found a beautiful place…love the skylight! That’s a lucky date, and it’s National Date Nut Bread Day to boot so all good vibes for you! (There are actually 2 National Date Nut Bread Days, but I celebrate both cuz I can’t resist it!)
    THanks for sharing the recipe and variations from your book…I agree, it’s a must-have! I’ve got pears and blueberries on hand instead of apples, so I’m going to try making it with those tonight…cheers!

    • February 28, 2012 3:33 pm

      Haha, is it really? I can’t say our wedding cake will be made of date-nut bread, but hey, it’s an idea 😛

      Pear-blueberry oatmeal sounds fab!

  15. February 29, 2012 2:57 pm

    First, congratulations on your book landing VegNews Magazine’s 2012 top ten must-buy vegan books! I’m sure a lot of people are excited to get their hands on that book. By the way, when you say “fresh-pressed apple juice” does it mean passing the apples through a kitchen juicer/extractor? or something else?

    • February 29, 2012 3:44 pm

      Thank you so much!
      Yes, that’s what I mean by “fresh-pressed.” This recipe is just as great with storebought AJ, though!

  16. March 1, 2012 1:46 pm

    Well, I am pleasantly surprised. 🙂 I already know some foods taste better in raw form, but I admit I was leery on oatmeal even being ‘kind of’ good uncooked. But the soaking of the oats gets the job done! I actually don’t know why I haven’t thought of this myself sooner (I guess because I was never previously interested in ‘raw’ foods apart from salads and raw greens drinks/smoothies/desserts…). I actually soak my oats anyway, especially when I’m making any type of oatmeal muffin (or like overnight oatmeal…leaving the oats in liquid overnight so they puff up and get huge and pillow-y). I did need to heat mine up on the stove for a bit, and I did so over very heat. I get bonus points for using fresh apple juice!! My tastes required less cinnamon and more salt, and I didn’t have maple on hand, so I subbed in agave with maple extract in place of vanilla (my almond milk was unsweetened vanilla).

    Here’s what I notice after eating:
    I am not having a blood sugar spike like I often do with cooked oatmeal. Some days I can tolerate it, but on certain days when my hormones are acting like they belong on another planet, I can’t tolerate ANY grains. They make me sleepy, pissy, and cause me to crave copious amounts of sugar. I actually couldn’t finish the entire bowl this time–normally my stomach is begging for more. And I could definitely feel the nutrients from the raw apple juice hitting my blood stream. Nice and relaxed more. I will honest in saying that I would prefer my apples to be cooked however. I love raw apples, but not so much in my cereals or granolas, including my oatmeal. I LOVE apple pie, so I am totally unable to trick my brain on this one, hehe. But I’m sure if I cooked up a small apple it wouldn’t kill me, or just left it out completely. Bananas would be great…and raw walnuts would pair wonderfully with the apples and cinnamon. I am happy. 🙂

  17. March 10, 2012 11:12 am

    I just had this for breakfast, and it was really delicious!

  18. Sharon Bartlett permalink
    March 12, 2012 10:42 am

    I just made this for breakfast using a mixture of nuts and leaving out the apple juice because I didn’t have any on hand. It is awesome, can’t wait to try it on my husband, his favorite breakfast is cream of wheat and this reminds me of it.

Leave a Comment

