Skip to content
San Francisco: Millennium Restaurant

March 7, 2012

News & Notes

    • People are starting to receive their copies of Practically Raw! This is so exciting to watch. I’m thrilled it’s landed a full 2 weeks early, and I truly can’t wait to hear what you all think of it. For anyone interested in an autographed book, I will soon be setting up the opportunity to purchase personalized, signed copies directly from me. Stay tuned!
    • In the meantime, I’ve just set up a photo album for Practically Raw fans on the AV Facebook page. Want to join the party? Email me a photo of yourself with the book and/or photos of any dishes you’ve already made from it. Feel free to include a link to your own blog or website and I’ll post it with the photo!
    • I was interviewed recently for Camp Magazine, Kansas City’s LGBT periodical, by my friend Monica Soto. Click here to read the interview!

 

Last Thursday night in San Francisco, I mentioned in my vlog that Matt and I were headed out for a nice dinner, and I invited you to guess where. Well, those of you who have been to San Fran had no trouble figuring it out: the famed Millennium Restaurant!

We visited Millennium on our last trip to SF too, and we absolutely swooned over the incredible food. There was no question we needed to eat there again.

You may have noticed a lot of “gluten-freedom” on my blog lately. Yes, there is a reason for that. I’ve given up gluten indefinitely due to some not-quite-figured-out-yet health reasons. Hopefully it’s not forever, but we’ll see.

Anyway, that’s why I got butter lettuce leaves to dip in Millennium’s chickpea dip, while Matt ate it with fresh-baked bread.

For our appetizer, we shared the Seared Asparagus, with sliced almonds, chopped olives, preserved lemons, and a mild chile glaze.

For his main dish, Matt had the Samosa Roulade: whole wheat pastry crust, potato, fava green and spring garlic filling, black lentil dal makhani, seared brassicas with mustard seed cabbage, smoked cherry and apple chutney, and cucumber relish. Holy crap, right? Sadly, I couldn’t taste the samosa itself because of the wheat crust, but I did try both the dal makhani and the smoked fruit relish, and wow. Matt was blown away by the variety and complexity of flavors.

The last time we ate at Millennium, I fawned over their fork-tender tempeh, so it was only natural that I got another tempeh dish this time. The Sweet Soy and Chile Glazed Tempeh floated in an Indonesian-style coconut curry with roasted sweet potatoes, root vegetables, baby bok choy, Brussels sprouts, peanut sambal, and Asian pear and daikon salad. This dish was MADE for me! Once again, the tempeh was perfectly cooked, and the rich curry sauce was rimmed with a drizzle of tangy tamarind syrup. This was also quite possibly the first time I’ve ever truly enjoyed either baby bok choy or Brussels sprouts. An incredible dish!

And then there was dessert. Ohh, dessert.

Since we elected to try a dessert-of-the-day last time instead of their famous Chocolate Almond Midnight cake, we got it this time. With an almond cashew crust, mocha chocolate filling, white chocolate mousse, and raspberry sauce, plus some crunchy crumbled almond “haystacks,” it was the perfect melding of Matt’s and my tastes in sweets (mocha, chocolate, and fruit for him; nuts and white chocolate for me).

But wait! There was another dessert-of-the-day this time that we just couldn’t resist. This Terrine had layered hazelnut bark, coffee bean cream and chocolate ganache, salted caramel, marshmallow cream, and maple hazelnuts. Oh my goshhh, you guys. The wobbly terrine filling was almost jello-like, the salty caramel sauce and the marshmallow fluff were unreal, and the candied hazelnuts tasted just like kettle corn. We both loved it, but I think I liked it even better than Matt; caramel, marshmallow, and maple are manna-from-heaven flavors to me!

Millennium really does elevate gourmet vegan food to new heights. We’re very lucky to have had the opportunity to eat there twice now!

QUESTION: What’s the fanciest (vegan or non-vegan) restaurant you’ve ever been to?

 

3 years ago this week…
Crème-filled German chocolate upside-down cake
Whole wheat beer bread
2 years ago this week…
Whole-grain rosemary-olive bread
Black olive tapenade
Almost Vegan random factoids
1 year ago this week…
Dinner with Philip McCluskey at Matthew Kenney OKC
Road trip wrap-up: the drive home

48 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2012 11:19 am

    One of the best meals of my life was at Millennium. Not only was it great to have a gorgeous vegan meal, they handled gluten-free so very well. Can’t wait to eat there again!

  2. March 7, 2012 11:27 am

    So jealous! I’ve never been to a vegan restaurant. Someday!

  3. March 7, 2012 11:29 am

    I’ve always wanted to go to Millennium–great to see their delicious offerings! 🙂

  4. March 7, 2012 11:33 am

    Millenium is AMAZING. Those desserts look so good!

  5. March 7, 2012 12:07 pm

    Oh yummy. I hate to say that I don’t really get a chance to go to fancy restaurants. It’s not really my hubby’s thing. You’re a really lucky girl!

    Oh, and since I have yet to purchase my copy of your book, please let me know when you’ll be personally selling your signed copies. You know I want one of those 🙂

    • March 7, 2012 12:10 pm

      It’s always good to accompany Matt on a business trip, because his company pays for all his meals 😉 So basically we eat for half price!

      I will let you know on the signed ones ASAP!

  6. March 7, 2012 12:09 pm

    Oh man those desserts look good! I would so love to try out a fancy vegan restaurant like this.

  7. March 7, 2012 12:47 pm

    I’ve been to Millennium once and the food was absolutely incredible. I’d love to go back someday.

  8. bitt permalink
    March 7, 2012 2:37 pm

    I LOVE Millenium! I remember having an amazing meal there too, also GF. I only remember the appetizer part, it was tomatoes and a vegan cheese that was outstanding. It was one of the fancier vegan places I’ve been too, I hope to go back someday. Your meal looks amazing, especially the desserts.

    Good luck with the GF diet, hope it helps you! Let me know if you need any support on that.

    • March 7, 2012 2:46 pm

      Everything I’ve ever tasted there has been stellar. And they were great at accommodating gluten-free needs!

      Thanks for the support on gf-ness, too 🙂

  9. March 7, 2012 4:48 pm

    yep – we went there, on our first trip to San Fran (which coincided with our first ‘raw’ experience at Cafe Gratitude) – it was beyond amazing!

  10. March 7, 2012 6:52 pm

    Good luck with the GF experiment–you know you have veteran friends you can call on for any support you may need!

    Amazing I lived in the Bay Area all those years and never went to Millennium! I love your descriptions of the delectable and varied food there.

  11. March 7, 2012 9:02 pm

    Wow, Millennium seems like the vegan version of Chez Panisse! Sadly I don’t think I’ve been to any particularly fancy restaurants, but I definitely want to go to Millennium soon. I also got your book yesterday – it looks great! Can’t wait to try the recipes, especially the desserts 🙂

    • March 7, 2012 9:27 pm

      It kind of is! You should absolutely go there if you have the chance.
      SO happy to hear you got my book – thank you! Let me know what you make from it; I hope you love it all!

  12. March 7, 2012 11:59 pm

    Well gosh, if that isn’t the definition of “Fancy Pants,” then I don’t know what is!

    (Probably actual pants, but just go with me on this one…)

  13. March 8, 2012 3:14 am

    That tempeh! Those desserts! YOUR COOKBOOK! Nothing but goodness.

    P.S. Lamest comment ever… I need sleep. 😛

  14. March 8, 2012 5:47 am

    Ah Millennium…! What a spectacular spot. It looks like you had a memorable meal there once again. I want to spend a few months there with the pastry chef learning all their secrets.

  15. Elaine permalink
    March 8, 2012 9:28 am

    Wow! it all looks sooo good:) Wish we lived closer!!

  16. March 8, 2012 11:22 am

    I just ate at Millennium for the first time this past Sunday and I was blown away. The samosas were incredible – so many flavors going on – and followed by the Chocolate-Almond Midnight Cake…perfect.

    • March 8, 2012 11:23 am

      So many people I know were in San Fran last week or are there this week! How fun to hear that you got some of the same dishes we did. 🙂

  17. March 8, 2012 2:09 pm

    wow!!! The food looks great!! Congrats on your book release!!!

  18. March 8, 2012 4:56 pm

    It’s unreal that I used to think Vegan would be a “tough” diet…especially for the 10 years I lived in San Francisco! I MUST visit Millenium next time I go back for a visit. We have only one purely vegan restaurant here in Portland ME (my new home) called Green Elephant. I’ve yet to go, but it’s on my list. The Pepper Club has lots of vegan & vegetarian choices, though, and is a favorite for sure, though definitely not as fancy as Millenium.

    • March 8, 2012 5:01 pm

      It seems like there are lots of raw foodists in and around Portland, Maine! (“Lots” being relative, of course!) I believe Matthew Kenney is from someplace near there, and my friend Elizabeth Fraser (Girl Gone Raw) teaches classes in that area.

      Thank you SO much for your “review” of Practically Raw on Twitter! My heart caught in my throat a little, it was such a breathtaking compliment to receive. If you have any inclination to leave a quick review on Amazon, too, I’d be forever grateful 🙂 But even if not, THANK YOU! I’m so thrilled you love the book!

  19. Matt permalink
    March 11, 2012 10:47 am

    Millennium is outstanding. Certainly the best restaurant I’ve been to since going mostly vegan. But likely the best restaurant food I’ve had period. While I like the decor and the environment, I wish the tables weren’t so jammed together. We were sitting nearly shoulder to shoulder with the people next to us. However, the food makes you forget where you are and who’s around you. So all in all, it’s worth every penny. Go there!!!

  20. March 11, 2012 6:40 pm

    Oh, I’d love to eat at Millennium! Since we don’t travel much, and I don’t consider any of the veg restaurants in KC to be fancy,” the fanciest veg restaurant I’ve been to is Karyn’s on Green. Have you been there? It is fantastic!

  21. March 13, 2012 10:47 pm

    Hmm, I’m reading good stuff about the Millenium Restaurant. That would be a must visit then. I’m imagining the good food, nice place, and friends I’m along with, I simply can’t wait. Would this be the only vegan restaurant in San Francisco?

  22. Christy permalink
    March 16, 2012 7:01 pm

    Hi Amber!

    We have eaten at Candle Cafe in NYC, Zen Palate, Bliss Cafe & Pure Food & Wine (Amazing). At home in Nj Good Karma Cafe in Redbank, Kayas Kitchen in Belmar & even though its not fancy the food is stellar ..The Cinnamon Snail (Vegan food truck).!! The chef is Adam Sobel. Check them out!

  23. March 22, 2012 2:53 pm

    Millennium is THE BEST. The dessert of the day sounds stupendous!

Leave a Comment

