Skip to content
Reviews: GF cereal, flax milk, vegan protein

March 12, 2012

News & Notes

    • For those of you that have been waiting to purchase autographed copies of Practically Raw, this option is now available! Click here to find out how to get your personally-signed book.
    • Did you catch Vegan.com’s giveaway of FIVE copies of Practically Raw this past weekend? If not, don’t worryโ€”you’re going to start seeing reviews and giveaways popping up on other blogs very soon. Keep an eye out!

 

Are you familiar with the dynamic Alisa Fleming, author of the website and guide/cookbook Go Dairy Free? I’m sure you are! Alisa is a huge asset to not only the dairy-free community, but to vegans and folks with food allergies everywhere.

In addition to being the queen of the dairy-free blogosphere, Alisa works with Attune Foods, the maker of several allergen-free brands of products like cereals, graham crackers, and chocolate bars. In her infinite awesomeness, Alisa recently sent me a couple boxes of Erewhon gluten-free cereals to try, which was a wonderful thing to receive when I was first going officially-GF recently. She let me choose any two boxes I wanted, so I picked the salt-free Crispy Brown Rice and good ol’ Corn Flakes.

Both cereals were free of gluten AND sugar (the Crispy Brown Rice has less than 1g per serving), which is great for my current low-glycemic eating regimen.

Don’t you just love short ingredient lists?

Though I originally had lofty plans of using these cereals in a recipe, I ended up just eating them the old-fashioned way, with flax milk and stevia to taste.

Hold the phone! What’s that, you say? Flax milk? Yes!

Good Karma recently sent me a trio of their brand new flax milks to try. They’re 100% vegan and free of gluten and soy as well.

Let me tell you, I would never have guessed that these flax milks are as mild-flavored, subtly sweet, and perfectly creamy as they are. Plus they’re filled with heart- and brain-healthy omega-3 fats! On top of all that, the calorie counts on these things are super-lowโ€”60 cals/cup for the Vanilla and Original and – get this – 25 cals/cup for the Unsweetened. I was blown away! I can’t wait till these show up in my local Whole Foods.

Ok, so we’ve had our carbs and our fats today, but what about protein?
Enter: Plant Fusion protein powders.

Scott from Plant Fusion sent me sample packets of their Chocolate and Chocolate Raspberry protein powders to try, as well as 1-lb tubs of their Vanilla Bean and Unflavored varieties. These hypoallergenic powders contain no gluten or animal products and are fortified with a full complement of amino acids.

I’ve got very high standards when it comes to plant-based protein supplementation, so I was a little skeptical, but these Plant Fusion powders really impressed me. They dissolved beautifully – and tasted excellent – in any liquid, even plain water, though they were especially tasty in smoothies (such as, ahem, the ones in Practically Raw ๐Ÿ˜‰ ). The Vanilla Bean flavor in particular has a heavenly scent that you’d have to experience to believe!

QUESTION: What’s your favorite breakfast cereal and/or nondairy milk?

 

3 years ago this week…
Cookies โ€˜n cream cupcakes, take 1
Cookies โ€˜n cream cupcakes, take 2
2 years ago this week…
Homemade almond milk
Almost Vegan in Los Angeles, parts one, two, three, and four
1 year ago this week…
Raw chocolate almond butter cookies

30 Comments leave one →
  1. Temujin permalink
    March 12, 2012 2:41 pm

    I’m gonna have to try both cereals and the flax milk. I can’t believe how low in calorie the milk is!!!!

  2. March 12, 2012 3:25 pm

    I love Erewhon cereals! The brown rice crispies are my fav. I keep buying them for recipes, but they usually become breakfast ( & snack, & dinner) first. I’ll have to keep a look out for the flax milk. It sounds like a nice change from almond or soy milk, and so healthy too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. March 12, 2012 3:43 pm

    I love Alisa and her book…and you, too ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Katie norris permalink
    March 12, 2012 4:28 pm

    I’ve been using flax milk for a while and could only find it at walmart! Yesterday I saw this brand at natural grocers, its delicious! do u know where to buy the protein powder? I went to the link that was posted by the pictures, but there was no pricing and no option to buy online….help! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. bitt permalink
    March 12, 2012 5:56 pm

    I am curious to try the flax milk, it’s nice to have a completely sugar free option, will be great for travel. Do they have any smaller boxes?

    Interesting protein powder, I am always up to try a new one of those too. Thanks for the reviews.

  6. March 12, 2012 6:08 pm

    I really like the Erewhon chocolate rice crispy cereal… They make awesome crispy rice treats. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. March 12, 2012 10:19 pm

    Bahahaha! Flax milk and stevia. Oh yes, so traditional… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    P.S. I was going to buy your book from Book Depository, but now I think I might wait and get one signed…. in person? ๐Ÿ™‚

    • March 13, 2012 9:36 am

      It is a-ok with me if you prefer to wait ๐Ÿ™‚

      By the way, did you ever take a peek at the Acknowledgments page (in the back of the book) on the Amazon ‘Look Inside’ preview? You might want to…

  8. March 13, 2012 1:34 am

    I am so intrigued by the flax milk! Be sure to let me know when Whole Foods starts carrying it. Despite my omnivore status, I use unsweetened coconut milk most the time. The only time I use cow milk (love Shatto!) is when dunking cookies or cooking (my offspring go through it like crazy, though).

    My favorite cereals have always been granola. My to-do list includes making raw granola with cranberries and almonds.

    • March 13, 2012 9:37 am

      Plus Shatto has those AMAZING glass bottles, right?!
      But yeah, nondairy milk is where it’s at. I’ve largely abandoned soy, and I make my own almond, but as far as storebought goes, these flax milks just jumped to the top of my list (along with SoDelicious’ unsweetened coconut and Tempt’s unsweetened hempmilk). The “fatty” milks are the best! Rice milk = bleh to me.

  9. March 13, 2012 5:35 am

    Ooh, I wonder if they will produce a flax yogurt? Now that would be great. Sorry didn’t get to ‘bump’ into each other in SF. Isn’t it the BEST place?!

    • March 13, 2012 9:38 am

      How crazy would that be?! You should email them that idea!

      San Fran was GREAT, as always! I only wish the weather had been a little kinder to us that week.

  10. March 13, 2012 12:19 pm

    Flax milk!? I’m so on it – have to make a run to whole foods today, so I’m going to pick this up instead of my usual coconut milk… If it sucks, I’m blaming you ๐Ÿ˜‰ JK!

  11. March 13, 2012 12:53 pm

    I’ve seen that brand of flax milk floating around the health food stores around here, but never bought it because it’s pretty pricey and I’d want to taste it first. Good to read a positive review about it! I still want a taste test first, though.

  12. March 13, 2012 3:09 pm

    I like the Ewehon cornflakes. They’re especially good with chopped banana, GF granola, and some of that Almond Breeze coconut-almond milk. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. March 13, 2012 10:54 pm

    Wow, I’m envious! You really scored with those goodies. You saw I just recently bought some unsweetened flax milk myself and have been liking it a lot. Didn’t know there were other flavors too.

    I’m gearing up to do another protein powder post soon, and I hadn’t heard of that one. Looks so intriguing, I’d love to try it–there are more and more good vegan non-soy-based powders these days.
    my favorite bfast cereal right now is probably my grated carrot ‘slaw with a drop of nut milk and a little protein powder and maybe some mulberries just a few as garnish.
    love
    Ela

    • March 14, 2012 9:30 am

      The Vanilla Bean PlantFusion powder might be really good in your carrot slaw ๐Ÿ™‚ The Vanilla flax milk was especially tasty too. Then again, clearly I’m just a vanilla fiend!

  14. Tara permalink
    March 13, 2012 11:49 pm

    Amber,
    I received ‘Practically Raw’ in the mail yesterday and I am sooo impressed! I knew your cookbook would be great–but it’s really, really great! Beautifully written and photographed with recipes that sound just amazing. The thing that really struck me is just how unique it is compared to my remaining plethora of vegan cookbooks. Congratulations on your amazing book : ) I can’t wait to start cooking raw!

    • March 14, 2012 9:31 am

      Wow Tara, thank you SO much! What an amazing comment to wake up to today ๐Ÿ˜€ I really appreciate that. I hope you love everything you make from the book!

  15. March 15, 2012 7:48 am

    Perfect!!! I just posted a recipe for Coconut Blueberry Granola!!! THat’s what’s for breakfast!!! LOL

Leave a Comment

