Skip to content
Leftovers: healthy homemade eats + vegan bar food

March 15, 2012

News & Notes

    • Attention Kansas City friends: my first book signing has officially been scheduled! Check out the “Upcoming Events” section of my Practically Raw page for date/time, location, and other details. I hope to see you there!
    • Autographed copies of Practically Raw are now available: click here to find out how to get your personally-signed book.
    • My friend Natalia KW has teamed up with Melissa Geiger, M.A. for a new project, called Nourishing Our Radiance. Their e-course, Cultivating the Sweet Life, is now available. It’s a combination of transformational teachings, self-awareness exercises, restorative self-care practices, luscious raw recipes, and community support.

 

Welcome to my latest “leftovers” post! I don’t do these as frequently as I used to, but many of you have told me they’re some of your favorite posts, so I’m going to try to give you one at least every other month. The last edition took us up to the end of December, so here’s the first batch of my randomly collected 2012 eats.

I actually made these Hazelnut Butter Cookies (from Matthew Kenney‘s book Everyday Raw Desserts) in 2011, but I froze much of the batch and enjoyed them over the course of a few weeks.

I opened up (and ate) one of the last “food artifacts” from my 2009 Europe trip: a jar of garlicky vegan pesto I bought in Heidelberg, Germany.

Matt’s an oatmeal addict. He eats it for breakfast every.single.day, usually with nothing but a handful of raisins added. On the weekends, though, I sometimes like to make him “treat” oatmeal, like this bowl: cooked steel-cut oats swirled with raw honey and topped with sliced bananas and mini chocolate chips. If it were me, I’d add some chopped walnuts, but Matt doesn’t like crunchy bits in his oatmeal (weirdo).

My favorite green juice.

Just a little reminder… πŸ˜‰ This was a real fortune I got once!

Matt and I spent one Saturday night at home, drinking vodka sodas and starting a list of songs we want to play at our wedding. We soon abandoned the list-making in favor of just taking turns playing songs we love and singing along when applicable.

I ate lots of smashed avocado salads…

curry-roasted cauliflower

…and cinnamon-spiced sweet potato purΓ©e, often with extra coconut butter swirled in…

…or simply drizzled on top (no matter how “wrong” it may look!).

I saved the best for last. Anyone who still has the misconception that Kansas City is a vegetarian/vegan wasteland: take note!

Matt and I rarely seem to eat out anymore, but in February we decided to go out to dinner at McCoy’s Public House, a popular bar/pub in the Westport area of Midtown KC. I used to go there pretty frequently for their excellent roasted red pepper hummus appetizer (see here), but hadn’t been in a long time. McCoy’s has always had a number of veg options on their menu, but the offerings have become even more plentiful and impressive these last couple years. Exhibit #1: Matt’s dish.

Guess what that is? Mock Duck Curry. Sliced seitan “duck meat” panfried until crispy-edged alongside a heavenly array of seasonal vegetables, tossed with a light coconut curry sauce and served with basmati rice. For real. Most amazing bar food ever? I think so! Matt had to keep batting my fork away as I stole bites of it.

My dish was pretty damn awesome, too. The Vegan Masala had lots of fresh veggies and chickpeas roasted with Moroccan-ish seasonings, served with a basmati rice/lentil pilaf and grilled pita bread.

But the night wasn’t over yet! Matt and I met up with friends next door at McCoy’s “sister bar,” The Foundry.

Several hours (and drinks) later, we were feeling a little “peckish” again. The Foundry also has an amazing amount of vegan options (note to self: try the “cheat meat”-topped nachos next time!), but we went straight for the pizza.

The Cheat Lover’s Pizza is made with vegan italian sausage, Daiya cheese, ratatouille veggies, wild mushrooms, 12-hour red sauce, and fresh basil. They even offer a gluten-free crust, which we took advantage of. Runner-up for best bar food ever? Very possibly!

Alcohol + friends + pizza = good times.

QUESTION: Do you have vegan-friendly bars in your area?

 

3 years ago this week…
Cookies β€˜n cream cupcakes, take 1
Cookies β€˜n cream cupcakes, take 2
2 years ago this week…
Homemade almond milk
Almost Vegan in Los Angeles, parts one, two, three, and four
1 year ago this week…
Raw chocolate almond butter cookies

22 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2012 11:13 am

    Wow, those two bar meals look fantastic! There is an awesome vegan bar here called Pine Box Rock Shop that serves a variety of vegan bloody marys and the like but I think the food is just kind of nosh stuff – tots, empanadas and the like…Nothing on plates like that! The pizza sounds wonderful as well.
    Love the sound of a vodka-soda night. That’s my kind of time, loud singalongs obligatory!

    • March 15, 2012 11:14 am

      I’ve heard of Pine Box Rock Shop! I read an article about them somewhere – in VegNews, maybe? Sounds like a cool place.
      Good music + good drinks always = a great time! Even better if there’s great vegan food, too. πŸ™‚

  2. March 15, 2012 11:24 am

    I don’t know what’s with me a sweet potatoes lately, but that puree looks awesome – and it’s just a purΓ©e.

    The dishes at McCoy’s look wonderful. Sadly, there are no good vegetarian or vegan places to eat where I live. Heck, there are rarely even vegetarian or vegan dishes offered beyond salads and pastas. It’s not a huge deal for me, but sometimes I’d like something yummy, not filled with meat, that I don’t have to cook myself.

    • March 15, 2012 11:27 am

      Well, not just ANY puree! It’s a particularly good one, I think πŸ˜‰

      I hear ya =/ France was one of the toughest places in Europe, to me, to find satisfying veg food, mainly because they just didn’t “get it.” I ate a lot of ratatouille veggies + white rice plates there, heh.

  3. March 15, 2012 12:02 pm

    So out of all of that information, i got stuck on the cookies. LOL Good news for me…I’m currently waiting on that book (and a few others) to arrive. Woohoo! Think I know where I’ll start πŸ˜‰

  4. bitt permalink
    March 15, 2012 1:50 pm

    coconut butter is never wrong! I haven’t been able to find any for awhile but you got me craving some. and a smashed avocado salad.

    • March 15, 2012 1:55 pm

      Well, I was referring to the visual of the…::cough::…creamy drizzle…::cough::

      You could always make your own! Coconut butter, I mean – not…well, you know.
      πŸ˜›

  5. March 16, 2012 4:03 am

    I also have one of those oatmeal-addict-boyfriends…:-) I made him your Apple Pie Oatmeal yesterday….he totally loved it! Thanks for a great recipe:-)

  6. March 16, 2012 9:56 am

    Although I had wanted to order a signed copy of your book, I am happy to report that my hubby did get the hint that I wanted your book, signed or not. He gave me a copy this week that he ordered without me knowing. Such a nice surprise. I’m really impressed with it.

    There aren’t many vegan options in my area, unless I’m willing to take a long drive. The closest thing to vegan pizza is when I’ve ordered it without the cheese. Too bad it’s not gluten-free, though.

  7. March 16, 2012 10:54 am

    Weird, I have no idea why that other post showed up in my reader! I was wondering when you had started P90X again, haha. And now when I go to the post I can’t see my comment or your reply. Bloggy-Twilight Zone . . .

  8. March 17, 2012 11:14 am

    You guys always have the best eats Amber – at home and out! I want to come over! Its so cool that you can order great vegan options in your city. There are no such options in my town or in any of the surrounding cities 😦 I swear it was only in the past year that I could find a decent salad here!

  9. Tara permalink
    March 19, 2012 11:41 pm

    Hi Amber!
    I’m really enjoying your cookbook! I made two (!) of your recipes today that I’m in love with: the Apple Pie Oatmeal and the Sesame Almond Noodles. The oatmeal was like dessert for breakfast–but healthy AND low-fat! I was unsure about how I’d like the raw apple slices in it but I sliced them really thin and it was just perfect. I made my own fresh apple juice for this, which I highly recommend to everyone, if it’s possible for them to do. Sesame Almond Noodles–my new favorite noodle dish, seriously! I had to make them cooked with whole wheat spaghetti, as I could not find kelp noodles at Whole Foods. This dish was perfectly seasoned and I followed the recipe exactly. I also really enjoyed the basic green smoothie. It was so simple and delicious. I could not believe how much energy I had all morning after drinking it. Can’t wait to try more recipes!!! P.S. I will be putting these 3 recipes in my regular rotation.

    • March 20, 2012 9:27 am

      Tara, that is so wonderful to hear! I love that you made fresh apple juice for the Apple Pie Oatmeal, and that you weren’t afraid to substitute cooked noodles for kelp in the Almond Butter Sesame Noodles! Also loving the updates on which recipes you’re trying – keep me posted. πŸ™‚

      By the way – if at any point you feel inclined to leave a positive review on the book’s Amazon page (http://amzn.to/tHafnH), I’d be forever grateful! It’d be great for other prospective buyers to hear about your good experiences with the recipes. πŸ˜€

  10. March 20, 2012 3:57 pm

    Oh, that pizza!! And I love your story about drinking vodka sodas and singing along to potential wedding songs. Y’all are too damn cute.

    As for what Matt said at the gas station, he was getting out to pump the gas (I think) or maybe he was explaining that you don’t have to pump your own gas in Oregon. And then he said something like, “I want to pump myself.” Or something. I know it involved pumping himself. πŸ™‚ It was hilarious!

    Also, I plan to put a review of the cookbook on Amazon later this week! I’ve been swamped lately. But it’s on my list of things to get done asap.

    • March 20, 2012 4:01 pm

      OH YEAH! He was telling a story about the last time he was in Portland and how he didn’t realize they pumped your gas for you there. He said something like “I got out of the car and started pumping myself and people were looking at me funny” and I said “Maybe it’s because you were pumping yourself.” Or something like that. HA!

      Many thanks in advance for the Amazon review!

  11. March 21, 2012 2:44 pm

    late to this party but the food looks fantastic…that sweet tater in a jar, come to mama πŸ™‚

    got your email…going to reply…just been…slammed, in a good way πŸ™‚

Leave a Comment

