Skip to content
Raw Chocolate Buckwheat Granola

March 26, 2012

News & Notes

    • My latest Rose Pedals wedding planning post went up last week – click here to read about the progress we’re making and the challenges we’re facing at the six-month mark.
    • The audio from my interview last week on Blog Talk Radio with Coach Cher Till is now available – click here to give it a listen!

 

It happens all the time: even though I’m constantly making food for me and Matt every week, I rarely seem to post recipes for our thrown-together meals and snacks. Oftentimes, it’s because I simply don’t measure ingredients unless I’m following or writing a recipe. Other times, I just don’t think about it! But you guys have made it known that you love simple day-to-day eats, like my smashed avocado salad and curry-roasted cauliflower. So today, I’ve got a quickie for you. It’s a recipe I had no intention of blogging, but as I was about to finish off the last of the batch this morning, I thought “You know…people might really like this if I posted it!” So here you have it: my snackworthy, gluten-free, and so-easy-to-make raw Chocolate Buckwheat Granola.

Chocolate Buckwheat Granola (raw)

1 cup buckwheat groats, soaked in cold water for 20 minutes and drained
1/3 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
6 tablespoons maple syrup
2 tablespoons cacao powder
Pinch of sea salt

Combine all ingredients in a medium bowl and stir until thoroughly mixed. Transfer the mixture to a Teflex-lined dehydrator tray. Dehydrate at about 110°F for 10-12 hours or overnight, until dry. (Alternatively, bake in an oven at 300°F for 30 to 40 minutes, stirring occasionally, until dry.) Break the dried granola into chunks and store in an airtight container.

Yield: 4 servings
Per serving: 275 calories, 6.2g fat (4g sat), 53.5g carbs, 3g fiber, 6.6g protein

Substitution options
Coconut: your favorites seeds or chopped nuts
Maple syrup: agave or coconut nectar (will make the granola less crunchy) or date paste/syrup
Cacao powder: carob powder or unsweetened cocoa powder

I recommend serving this “grawnola” with fresh berries and a splash of hempmilk. Yum!

 

3 years ago this week…
Indian spice hummus
(Overdue) February leftovers
2 years ago this week…
Skinny bitchtastic brownies
1 year ago this week…
P90X weeks 9-10: meeting some rawkstars

44 Comments leave one →
  1. bitt permalink
    March 26, 2012 12:41 pm

    Mmm yum this looks so good. I wonder if I could figure out how to get it to stick with just stevia and maybe some chia or something. I miss granola.

    I listened to your talk with Coach Cher, made me want to read your book even more. Off to check on the wedding update…

    • March 26, 2012 12:54 pm

      It may work with a stevia-chia gel of some sort (maybe like Ela does?) in place of some of the maple syrup – let me know if you try it.

      And thanks for listening to my talk with Cher – glad you enjoyed it. I was so nervous about it beforehand.

  2. Marsha permalink
    March 26, 2012 12:51 pm

    You don’t realize HOW TIMELY this is!!!!!!!!!!! I’ve been trying granola recipes for the last couple of wks. And even looked online for a chocolate one and didn’t find what I thought I wanted..

    This is so wonderful. Thank you for sharing!

  3. March 26, 2012 12:58 pm

    This looks delicious. I love buckwheat!

  4. Lauren permalink
    March 26, 2012 1:23 pm

    This granola looks delish! I will add it to the list of the recipes from your new cookbook that I can’t wait to try. I just got my copy last week and have to say that I LOVE the variety of recipes you included and I SO appreciate that you give so many substitution options that are listed right there on the page.

  5. Alayna @ Thyme Bombe permalink
    March 26, 2012 1:23 pm

    That looks wonderful. I love the flavor and texture of buckwheat.

  6. March 26, 2012 2:54 pm

    Hmmm I have some groats staring at me. I should try this. YUM!

  7. March 26, 2012 3:17 pm

    I’ve been keeping up with you on facebook – and your wedding posts. Your wedding venue looks really cool.

  8. March 26, 2012 3:23 pm

    Hey, looking delish! I am definately going to try this. Would be superb as a topping to a creamy dessert. Question.. is the flavour when baked comparable to the dehydrated version? I’m on the brink of buying a dehydrator but keep being put off at the cost of it but this may be my ‘tipping point’. Though, seriously when I think of kale I’m rushing to Google and typing Excalibur. Oh, that leads onto another ? is 9 tray better and is the timer worth the extra $ or £ in my case? Thanks Amber x

    • March 26, 2012 4:16 pm

      Yup, the flavor is comparable. To me, the real magic of dehydrators is that they allow you to “fix it and forget it.” No checking, no stirring, no fear of burning…just set the timer and forget about it! For that reason, too, I say that yes, a timer is an extremely important feature, and worth the extra $$. I have a 5-tray Excalibur and truth be told, I’ve always regretted not getting the 9-tray…but then again, making raw food is now my job! The 5-tray is big enough for most people.

  9. March 26, 2012 4:09 pm

    amber, tell me will a dehydrator change my life? Thanks for the blog comment. This grawnola sounds great, I think people like some of the throwntogether recipes. After all, that’s what we all end up doing much of the time, right?

    • March 26, 2012 4:18 pm

      It just might! Like I told Indialeigh above, the real magic of dehydrators is that they allow you to “fix it and forget it.” Then come back a few hours later or the next day, and ta-da, granola’s done!

  10. March 26, 2012 5:51 pm

    Darn it–wp ate my comment again! I don’t know why that keeps happening. I was just saying how lovely it looked, and sad that buckwheat doesn’t work for me, but I can do it with amaranth if I can motivate myself!

    • March 26, 2012 5:53 pm

      Wow, that was complicated! I had to get a wp account just to comment! Had that problem last time I tried to comment on your blog, and a couple days ago had same problem trying to comment on someone else’s. Hopefully all better now, but that’s a total new one on me!

      • March 26, 2012 5:54 pm

        So weird! Well, at least now you have a WP account, that should make things easier. 🙂

        • March 26, 2012 6:05 pm

          I haven’t made anything with amaranth or any grain for ages either–or legumes–seem to have retreated into veg and fruit only-land. But amaranth is so good. And yes, I’ve thought periodically about jumping ship to wp myself, so maybe now I’ll figure out how to!

        • March 26, 2012 6:16 pm

          You really should move to WordPress – I was on Blogger for about 2 years before I transitioned, and I only wish I’d done it sooner.

          • March 26, 2012 6:33 pm

            I’ve heard this from so many different people. Kind of scares me. I’d love to have a comment reply system that meant I didn’t have to manually forward all my comments, though, and I’d love to have a “print this” option for my recipes, and I’m sure there are other things too.
            I’m just too busy to deal with it right now and not computer savvy enough to do by myself, but it might go on the end-of-semester bucket list!

    • March 26, 2012 5:53 pm

      I don’t know what’s up with WordPress lately! Grr. Anyway, I never make things with amaranth; I need to change that!

  11. March 26, 2012 9:53 pm

    This looks delicious!
    I am the way with recipes. I always just throw stuff together so it’s tough for me to post recipes. 🙂

  12. March 27, 2012 4:03 am

    Ah, I was so annoyed on the weekend because I’d loaded up your interview all ready to listen to on Sunday night when making dinner, and then the stupid laptop I’m borrowing from dad crashed! So I’ll have to wait until next weekend to listen, as I don’t have enough internet at my place.

    All that aside, this looks to be the perfect reason to finally try buckwheat. Have you actually made it in the oven yet, or is that more a guideline for timing?

    P.S. There is no substitute for maple syrup. Fact.

    • March 27, 2012 9:23 am

      Aw, that’s ok. But for some reason that reminds me, did you ever check out the Amazon “Look Inside” preview of my book and read the Acknowledgments in the back??

      I have not made it in the oven myself, so the 30 minutes is more of a guideline. Ovens are so much more finicky than dehydrators!

      P.S. Matt thinks he hates maple syrup. I don’t.get it.

      • March 29, 2012 6:34 pm

        I’m shaking. And I’m actually all teary and can’t see the screen properly. Oh, Amber my love, my soul sister, thank you. xoxo

      • March 29, 2012 6:39 pm

        Don’t cry! Just smile. Xoxo to you, times a million. 🙂

  13. Faye@RawLawyer.com permalink
    March 27, 2012 7:10 pm

    I made this recipe last night – FABULOUS! Thanks!

  14. March 28, 2012 12:55 pm

    Wow! Your wedding is only 6 months away. Time certainly flies. I was terrible about wedding planning when I was engaged. I didn’t think about the planning until one day I realized we hadn’t even set a date. Then, when we did pick the date, based on when my minister was available, we planned our wedding in a matter of months. My sister actually planned hers in only 8 weeks. It’s a lot less stress in the long run.

    I don’t know what to tell you about that food situation. I was lucky that we turned my wedding into a big family gathering. Some friends and family volunteered to do the food and we kept it buffet style. Obviously, my wedding was very relaxed. I got married in my parents’ backyard and had the reception there, too. Thank goodness it was a gorgeous day.

    I wish the same for you, too. I just know your wedding will be beautiful 🙂

  15. glowkitchen permalink
    March 28, 2012 2:01 pm

    I’ve dappled with the nyc raw food scene for years but havent even touched buckwheat. this makes it more doable! thanks for the recipe.

  16. Kimberly permalink
    March 28, 2012 3:55 pm

    Thanks, Amber! I tried this last night, but unfortunately do not have a dehydrator. I had to cook mine longer than the 30 minutes in the oven. I finally ended up turning off the oven and leaving it for a few hours, which worked fine. I haven’t tried it with almond milk yet, but it is tasty just as a snack.

    • March 28, 2012 4:17 pm

      That’s really good to know, Kimberly! – thanks. I’ll update the directions to warn people that in some ovens, it may take longer to dry.

  17. April 1, 2012 6:29 am

    I make this recipe too except I don’t use coconut I use almond butter!!! 🙂

  18. April 1, 2012 9:26 am

    Aaaah, grawnola! I just made a batch of it this week as well :)) Your ingredient list is a little bit shorter than mine though…but oh, love the sound of yours! Dessert for breakfast is the best!

Leave a Comment

