Skip to content
My autoimmune/thyroid elimination diet

April 11, 2012

News & Notes

 

Thanks for all the comments on our awesome new apartment! Matt and I are still working on getting the place set up, and we’ve got furniture deliveries scheduled through the next couple weeks, but hopefully come May, I’ll be able to show you what it looks like all finished and purty.

As promised, today I’m going to tell you the details of the autoimmune/thyroid elimination diet that my doctor put me on recently after diagnosing my Hashimoto’s disease. Please remember that this is not intended as medical advice to anyone out there; it’s merely a look into the current regimen I’m doing as we’re working to get my inflammation under control.

Just since my post last Tuesday, I have received hundreds of comments, emails, Facebook messages, etc. Though most of them were simply words of encouragement and support, I was truly shocked by how many are from people who have an autoimmune disease, or have a child who has one, or know someone who has one, or suspects they have one. Clearly, the demand for allergy- and autoimmune-friendly food is far greater than I ever realized. The good news is that I’ll now be able to provide some much-needed information, recipes, and coaching to this oft-neglected sector of eaters. I’m actually really excited about that aspect!

So here’s my big announcement. I’ve spent dozens of hours in just the last week replying to the aforementioned comments and emails, and considering my schedule and responsibilities (including caring for my own health), I can’t afford to dedicate as much free time to that from here on out. However, I now recognize how many people out there need a friendly ear to listen to their story, someone committed to helping them investigate symptoms and root out slippery health problems, someone eager to point them toward cooperative doctors, reliable advice and information, and helpful books and websites. I am ready to be that person for you. I want to help you find answers, connect dots, and become an advocate for your own health. As such, I’m pleased to announce I’ve updated my Coaching page to reflect my new interest in helping others solve and overcome their health woes related (but not limited) to autoimmune diseases, thyroid disorders, adrenal dysfunction, food allergies and intolerances, and other mysterious symptoms and unresolved health problems. If you want to start finding answers to why you don’t feel your best, please don’t hesitate to contact me and enlist me as your health coach and advocate.

Now, on to the diet!
The following are lists of what I can and cannot currently eat. I must eat immediately upon waking and every 1-2 hours after that, all the way up until bedtime, to keep my blood sugar stable. I also have to include a good amount of protein or fat at every meal (i.e. no purely-carbohydrate meals or snacks).

WHAT I CAN EAT

  • Most non-starchy vegetables (excluding nightshades; see section below):  asparagus, spinach, romaine, Swiss chard, kale, watercress, broccoli, beets, cauliflower, carrots, celery, cucumber, artichokes, garlic, onions, zucchini, squash, rhubarb, etc.  My doctor has also given me the ok to eat limited amounts of sweet potatoes, as long as they’re accompanied by plenty of protein and/or fat (like coconut butter). Cruciferous veggies (like broccoli, cauliflower, kale, Brussels sprouts, etc.) are best eaten cooked, not raw, as the goitrogens they contain can inhibit thyroid function in susceptible people like myself.
  • Fermented foods:  kimchi, sauerkraut, pickles, coconut yogurt, kefir, kombucha, etc.
  • Low-glycemic fruits:  berries, cherries, apples, pears, peaches, apricots, plums, avocados
  • Coconut:  coconut oil, coconut butter, coconut meat, coconut milk
  • Seeds:  chia seeds, hempseeds, flaxseeds, sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, pumpkin seeds
  • Olives:  olives and olive oil
  • Non-nutritive sweeteners:  stevia, xylitol, erythritol
  • Seasonings: sea salt, dried herbs and spices
  • Raw, vegan, gluten-free protein powders: Apex Energetics, Sunwarrior, PlantFusion
  • Limited amounts of superfoods:  maca, mesquite, bee pollen, nutritional yeast, apple cider vinegar, cacao powder, cacao butter
  • Animal products:  organic meats and non-polluted fish are allowed in this program, but I am not eating any animal foods.

WHAT I CANNOT EAT

  • Sugars:  table sugar, honey, agave or coconut nectar, molasses, corn syrup, rice syrup, coconut palm sugar, etc.
  • High-glycemic fruits:  watermelon (::sniffle::), mango, pineapple, banana, raisins, dates, other dried fruits, etc.
  • Grains and pseudograins:  wheat, oats, rice, barley, buckwheat, corn, spelt, amaranth, kamut, millet, quinoa, etc.
  • Any other gluten-containing foods:  seitan, salad dressings, ketchup, soy sauce, other condiments, etc.
  • Dairy:  milk, whey, cheese, cream, butter, etc.
  • Eggs
  • Soy:  soymilk, tofu, tempeh, soy protein, vegetable oils, etc.
  • Alcohol:  beer, wine, liquor, sake, liqueurs, etc.
  • Coffee or tea
  • Nuts:  cashews, macadamia nuts, pecans, walnuts, almonds, pistachios, pine nuts, Brazil nuts, hazelnuts
  • Legumes:  beans, lentils, peanuts
  • Nightshade plants:  white potatoes, tomatoes, eggplant, bell peppers

CURRENT SUPPLEMENTATION
I’m wary of going into detail about my supplementation regimen, simply because it’s VERY specific to my body’s issues, but I’ll tell you the basics.

  • Protein powders as listed above, 2-4 scoops per day.  Since I am not including animal products in my plan, and my body absorbs protein poorly right now, it’s especially important that I get plenty of hypoallergenic plant protein on a daily basis.  The Apex Energetics ClearVite protein powder my doctor gave me also contains vitamins, minerals, and herbs for enhanced nutrition and digestion.
  • A supplement formulated to help soothe, heal, and repair my intestinal lining and encourage beneficial bacteria to take up residence in my GI tract
  • A supplement to kill the H. pylori bacteria in my stomach and strengthen my flagging immune system
  • A very powerful probiotic

My supplementation regimen will change as time goes on; in a couple months, I may even be on a completely different set of supplements.

And there you have it!  Things are going to change pretty rapidly as the weeks and months go by, but I promise to keep you updated.

Best of all, soon I’m going to start creating and posting autoimmune- and thyroid-friendly recipes as I play around with this diet.  Any requests?

Thank you all, again, for your love and support as I dedicate myself to healing!

 

3 years ago this week…
March leftovers
White bean & broccoli pasta toss
2 years ago this week…
No-bake almond butter balls
1 year ago this week…
P90X weeks 11-13: the wrap-up

69 Comments leave one →
  1. Hilda Quintanilla permalink
    April 11, 2012 9:15 am

    Yup! :-0(
    I posted the link to the doctor’s website onto our convo on facebook.

  2. April 11, 2012 9:22 am

    It’s inspirational how upbeat you are in spite of the limitations of your condition! I think it is amazing that you have taken something that many people would perceive as completely negative, and turned it into a way to help others. You are amazing, Amber!

    • April 11, 2012 9:24 am

      Wow, thank you Britny! I often don’t feel very upbeat, day-to-day, but I’m trying. I’m looking at the diet part as a new opportunity to experiment!

  3. Angela permalink
    April 11, 2012 9:23 am

    I don’t have the same health issues as you but for one month I won’t eat the things you can’t have. Hang in there, Amber!!

    • April 11, 2012 9:25 am

      That’s amazing, Angela! Are you serious? You don’t have to do that…but if you do, wow! I am touched. Let me know if you come up with any crazy-cool ideas for meals and snacks! 🙂

      • Angela permalink
        April 11, 2012 12:11 pm

        Amber, I’m totally serious. And as much as I love the foods listed, the hardest thing to give up will be my margaritas!! 😉

      • April 11, 2012 12:49 pm

        Hehe! I miss wine already! 🙂

  4. fitnessoversixty permalink
    April 11, 2012 9:32 am

    No reply necessary, Amber, but I just had to smile as I read your post; I knew you would turn this into a mission and benefit your followers! Purpose is life’s greatest motivator.

    My husband was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease called poly myalgia and after steroids and 40 pounds, I changed his diet and he has recovered. However, I am not progressing as well as he with my overall health and thyroid disease may be the difference. I think some of the fruits, grains and raw veggies I prepare for him, are wrong for me. I look forward to your recipes!

    I wish you good health, above all,

    Carecia

    • April 11, 2012 9:40 am

      Thank you, Carecia! The day-to-day grind and constant worrying over my condition is really getting me nowhere, so I’m excited to turn this bad situation into a way to help others find answers about their health. 🙂

  5. April 11, 2012 9:53 am

    Well, the diet doesn’t sound exciting, lol, but at least you will able to i.d. later on which foods are triggering your imbalance which makes meal planning a whole lot easier down the line. I’m happy you have found a doc that is focusing on restoring your balance NATURALLY through supplementation and dietary change and NOT through loads of synthetic prescriptions that will only make your life a living hell later on. I was also lucky to find a doc who worked this way and also worked with an herbalist, but many do not get so lucky and don’t even realize there are other options. I did something very similar diet-wise, but taylored more to my sensitive blood type as my doc and herbalist were both advocates of eating for blood type/genetics. It worked well in determining what triggered my body and what kept me sane and in balance. I also learned I was hypersensitive to energies, both from electronics AND coming from people, so I had to drastically adjust my lifestyle. No more sleeping with the cell phone near my bed–I literally would drain the battery overnight. My body would suck it up and it would mess me up for weeks. And I had to avoid stressful situations.Even just being in the ROOM where an argument had taken place would stress me out, and I didn’t even have to know who was there or what was said. Left a job…and then two more. I also learned that the athletics I’d been doing my entire life and strenuous gym workouts were HURTING me, not helping. High impact workouts can actually cause an overproduction of cortisol in the body…not such a good thing for women, especially those with weak thyroid function (and genetically we were not origianlly hunters, so the excess cortisol in our bodies was not needed). So I switched to things like hiking, yoga and martial arts, and of course guided meditation which helped tremendously. But again, every single body is different and requires different things. That’s what makes something as sensitive as hormone balance and dealing with auto-immune situations so tricky. There is no ‘one-size-fits-all’ treatment. It sounds like you are on the right track to regaining balance. I hate to use the word ‘healing’ because that implies that there is something ‘wrong’ with the body, and that can have negative effects on subconscious thinking, which is actually what is in charge of CONSCIOUS thinking. Crazy gray matter we have in our heads. 🙂
    I kind of had a feeling that your experience would guide you to creating your business and work a little more specific for others who are going through the same thing. It’s great you can be a voice for others, and sometimes it takes our own experiences, even when they are kind of shitty, to get us going on our true paths.

    • April 11, 2012 9:59 am

      Well said, Trish! I’m hoping to turn this into an opportunity to help other people who are going through similar things.

      I agree with you on no one-size-fits-all. I too had to accept that my years of long, high-intensity exercise was hurting me. My body’s level of CPK, an enzyme that breaks down muscle tissue for energy, was 602 (reference range is 24 – 173!), so I finally understand now that not only was I killing myself for nothing, but I was actually harming my fitness. ::sigh:: It’s so complex and frustrating, and I’d be lying if I said I felt confident that I can be “fixed,” but at least I finally feel somewhat hopeful.

      Fascinating too about draining your cell phone’s battery – wow! I have a bad habit of using it as my alarm and keeping it on my nightstand…I really do need to stop that.

      In a couple months, we’re also going to start weaning me off my Cytomel…fingers crossed that that goes well, and my thyroid doesn’t crash. And damnit, I hope I get my period back at some point! =(

      • April 11, 2012 3:22 pm

        Hey, you can have my period…how about that?? Haha…you don’t want mine. My ‘symptoms’ have been well-controlled for a while, but I allowed some recent events to stress my body out and have been struggling with a few painful months. But slooooowly getting back to normal. By the way, have you ever seen this blog?
        http://www.nourishingmeals.com/2009/03/elimination-diet-recipes-and-free-book.html
        There are several ‘elimination diet’ recipes there. I’ve never really looked through them but had the site bookmarked a while back. Maybe worth a look for ideas so you don’t get bored?

        • April 11, 2012 3:27 pm

          Haha! That’s ok, I’ll wait for my own ;P
          I’ve never been to that blog – thanks for the link! Off to check it out right now.

  6. Linda permalink
    April 11, 2012 10:03 am

    sounds very much like the anti-inflammatory diet, Is it? and does the one your on make the thyroid work better, if metabolism is a bit low, but not low enough for med. Thanks

    • April 11, 2012 10:05 am

      Hi Linda! Yes, it’s very much modeled around an anti-inflammatory diet.
      Every body is different, so I can’t say if this diet could help your thyroid specifically, but it couldn’t hurt anything! It’d be a very healing and nutritious diet for just about anyone.

  7. April 11, 2012 10:40 am

    Wow! No soy products or seitan!! 😦 At least you’re already a pretty healthy eater with a focus on raw foods. Hopefully, it shouldn’t be too hard for you. Good luck, lady! I hope this works!

    Also, kudos for staying vegan through this. I’m sure some people would make an excuse to work animal products back in for protein. But you are staying strong!

  8. Kendra permalink
    April 11, 2012 10:49 am

    Hi Amber, thank you so much for this posting! I was wondering if you wouldn’t mind sharing the supplements your taking for time being… the one for your G.I. tract, stomach and immune system and the powerful probiotic?

    • April 11, 2012 10:54 am

      Sure Kendra – they’re all made my Apex Energetics; I get them straight from my doctor. The GI tract one is called RepairVite, the stomach one is called H-PLR (and should only be used if you’ve rested positive for high levels of H. pylori bacteria), and the probiotic is called Strengtia. Hope that helps! 🙂

  9. April 11, 2012 11:11 am

    When I first visited a naturopath about 8 years or so ago to try to get a handle on my food allergies/sensitivities and after doing tons of legwork, I did an ALCAT test (bloodtest that tests for allegen response but using the IgG pathway, not IgE or IgA like most standard tesrts) anyway…based on that test I too did a food elimination/reduction “diet”, everything from soy sauce to nightshades to certain fruits were better or worse than others..it was all a bit overwhelming and I wasnt perfect but between that, the strong probiotics, and the h pylori stuff, we sound like we have/had a very similar protocol.

    Thanks for being so open about this all!

    • April 11, 2012 11:13 am

      It seems like you’ve gotten over a lot of your food intolerances over the years, so you give me hope!
      Wow, you had H. pylori too? Was it a pain to get rid of, or pretty straightforward?
      My food sensitivities test (though I don’t know what pathway it used) is the only one that hasn’t come back yet. I’m very interested to see those results…

  10. Linda permalink
    April 11, 2012 11:14 am

    Positive thoughts, are essential in healing. Don’t say I will get healthy, say I am healthy. This, I was taught by my physical therapist when I was using a walker/wheelchair, on oxygen and so weak I could not take care of myself, or my apartment. With strong positive thoughts, notes to self & posted and the blood type diet, I am no longer have these problems or needs. Now I am focusing on reaching my weight goal, eating healthier quality foods, and being able to do what I want to do. I have lost 140+lbs, already.

    • April 11, 2012 11:16 am

      WOW Linda! That is incredible! You’re right, I do need to be better at talking more positively to myself. Thanks for the inspiration!

  11. April 11, 2012 12:33 pm

    No tomatoes? I’d die. Seriously. Not a day goes by without a tomato in my life.

    I’d love an artichoke recipe. 🙂

  12. April 11, 2012 12:33 pm

    Awesome, and congrats on turning this into a positive thing both for you and the wider community.

    Interesting diet. I’m glad that it’ll be easy to focus on what you _can_ eat–a lot of yummy things are allowed in there. I’m gearing up to do a protein powders post fairly soon and am curious about a couple of those that you mentioned and I don’t know of.

    Having a hard time these last couple days, but looking forward to our next conversation!

    Thanks again for sharing.

    • April 11, 2012 12:51 pm

      The “can” list that my doc gave me was way shorter, but after enough questioning, I was able to expand it to what you see above. 🙂

      I get the Apex Energetics powder directly from my doctor; I’m not sure you can get it any other way. But I reviewed PlantFusion a few weeks ago, it’s good stuff. And of course Sunwarrior rocks!

      Hope everything is ok with you – love from the Midwest.

  13. kathleen permalink
    April 11, 2012 12:55 pm

    I’m extremely interested to know what kind of physician you are seeing. I was diagnosed with Hashimoto’s over 30 years ago. I was never offered anything but the usual thyroid tests and thyroid meds such as levothyroxin and cytomel. I asked my doctor once to refer me to an endcrinologist and she just said that she could oversee my thyroid as my primary care physician . I now have a PPO plan and the option to see who I want and still have some insurance coverage. I have another chronic illness too but in my opinion the Hashimoto’s has never been dealt with properly… Over the years I have felt worse and worse and I’m certain that I am dealing with a lot of inflammation and have been for quite some time. Congratulations on your new diet. I do not eat animal foods either but the plan you are goint to follow eliminates most of the food that I eat. I’m not sure I could give up my homemade almond milk. I’m not sure how to read your response to this comment. My email is pyywakit@comcast.net Thanks, Kathleen

    • April 11, 2012 1:04 pm

      Hi Kathleen,
      My doctor is a chiropractor who trained with Dr. Datis Kharrazian (author of this book). I’m now doing individualized health coaching by phone or Skype, so please let me know if you’re interested in talking with me and getting some personalized support and recommendations: http://almostveganchef.com/coaching/ I have lots of ideas for ways to tweak your diet! Let me know if you’re interested. Best of luck!

  14. bitt permalink
    April 11, 2012 2:33 pm

    Thanks for posting this Amber, I hope it gives you some answers. Eliminating certain foods can be so rough but if you start to feel better, you won’t want them back! So glad chocolate is still on the list! 🙂 Too bad about no raw kale, so no raw kale chips, but I guess cooked kale chips are a possibility.

    You are so lucky you can have some fruits and some fermented foods, I had to go off all that and it was hard.

    I am most curious about your breakfasts, I do a lot of chia pudding with coconut milk (homemade) or nutmilk. Have you figured out a recipe you like? Maybe that flaxmilk I see in the store. That part would be hard for me. If you get something you like, please share at some point because people have asked me for no nut chia pudding ideas too.

    I hope the coaching works out for you. So many people need help in this area and from someone who is reasonable and not dogmatic (i.e. some coaches might tell everyone to go on a water fast) like you. It’s a great service you can provide. Good luck with it.

    • April 11, 2012 3:29 pm

      Yeah, I’m bummed about not being able to eat raw kale chips, but cooking ’em is definitely a possibility.

      So far I’ve been having a protein smoothie for breakfast every morning. It’s just the easiest thing for me to do. But I’ve been meaning to make some chia pudding – I’ll let you know what I come up with.

      I tried that flax milk recently, and it was actually really tasty!

  15. cheezyk permalink
    April 11, 2012 5:45 pm

    Mate, I thought I was going to find it hard when I was looking down the barrel of giving up coffee due to a suspected heart condition!

    There’s certainly something to be said about such definite guidelines though, rather than just a ‘try it and see how you respond’ type of approach. Best wishes with it all, I for one am definitely looking forward to seeing what recipes you come up with – there’s still some pretty tasty foods in there.

    • April 11, 2012 5:47 pm

      Hehe, I do miss my coffee already! Hopefully I can add it back at some point…

      Very true. And I’ve already come up with some great recipes; I can’t wait to share! Thank goodness for seeds, coconuts, and avocados – that’s all I can say. 😉

  16. Pam permalink
    April 11, 2012 9:42 pm

    Thanks for sharing your experience. I’m looking forward to your recipes!

  17. April 11, 2012 10:08 pm

    Its great to see that you’re thriving with this diet and that you’re adjusting to it to heal yourself. ^^ I know of a few people with the same diagnosis so it really hits close to home. As for your recipes – I’d just like to see you come up with whatever springs into your head, I know you’ll do just fantastic! ^^

    • April 12, 2012 8:58 am

      Aw, thank you! I’m just setting out on this diet, so I don’t know if I’m thriving quite yet, but that’s the goal. 😛

  18. April 11, 2012 11:01 pm

    I’m actually quite impressed by your doctor and how much he/she is willing to invest in your eating plan to regain your health. I have met plenty of doctors who only know how to treat symptoms (with drugs) and who don’t even think about nutrients and foods and what they can do to your body positively and negatively. One even bluntly told me that there are dieticians for that… So I am really pleased that you have one who is willing to work with you all the way through. And mad props for sharing the story of recovery with the world too! Keep inspiring!

    • April 12, 2012 8:59 am

      Oh yes. I searched for quite a long time, so it’s a huge relief to finally find a doctor who’s on the same page as me when it comes to nutrition. Most doctors just make me irate, because I swear I know more than they do about many things.
      Thanks for your support!

  19. April 12, 2012 5:10 am

    Proud of you babe xo

  20. April 12, 2012 8:44 am

    wow! i can’t wait to see what you come up with! i’m particularly interested in dinner-type recipes/meals. am i right in thinking the only protein you’ll be able to eat is seeds and protein powder?

    • April 12, 2012 9:01 am

      Yep, pretty much, besides the lesser amounts found in veggies and superfoods. That’s one reason the protein powders are so important to include.

  21. April 12, 2012 12:23 pm

    Hey Amber! It sounds like we have such similar health issues… And my diet is pretty much EXACTLY like yours except I can eat nuts. I’m really curious: why is it that you’re not supposed to eat nuts? Do you know? Thanks! You’re awesome p.s. 🙂

    • April 12, 2012 12:43 pm

      Hey Desi!
      Nuts contain high concentrations of lectins, compounds (that are also found in grains) which can interact with epithelial cells in the gut and cause immune reactions, GI distress, and/or difficulty absorbing nutrients. Properly prepared nuts (i.e. soaked/sprouted) have lower levels of lectins, but my doc wants me to avoid them anyway for at least the first 6-8 weeks in the hopes of healing my gut.

  22. Sara permalink
    April 12, 2012 3:47 pm

    Hi Amber! I also wondered why you are unable to eat nuts, grains and beans, but I did see the answer above. Does this also apply to non-gluten grains? I am very surprised, but have also read that soaking them overnight can help you digest. What makes these three groups troublesome?

    • April 12, 2012 3:57 pm

      Hi Sara! Yes, that means non-gluten grains as well; lectins are a totally separate thing from gluten itself, and while not all grains contain gluten, they DO all contain lectins (though in varying amounts). Soaking overnight does help reduce the lectin content of these foods, but it can’t get rid of them completely. Since my gut is so damaged and fragile right now, I just have to be extra-careful with lectins for awhile. Nuts will probably be the first thing we add back to my diet, though!

  23. April 13, 2012 1:30 pm

    First of all, it is just absolutely wonderful that you finally got some diagnosis and answers to your questions. I know how difficult it is going from doctor to doctor, without answers, and being told that ‘oh, this is normal’ or ‘well, sorry, we have no idea, you just have to live with it’. As shocking the results may be, I am sure it is still somewhat of a relief of having some answers without being told that you are crazy, and this is nothing.
    Secondly, I’ve been meaning to post here for a while, but I am not even sure what to say. I can’t even express how inspirational it is the way you handle this issue, how brave you are for tackling it full-force with a smile. I realize it is a blog, and I am sure you do have moments when you feel less positive, but that’s beside the point. The fact that you are able turn all this into positive and hopeful healing, trying to tackle the new dietary needs with creativity, willing to share this and motivate others through the process – that is just awesome! Reading your positive “I can” posts makes me feel like “if she can, I can too”. Though we have different health issues, it is your inspiring attitude that I want to thank you for.
    Good luck with all the changes and challenges!

    • April 13, 2012 5:08 pm

      Yes, absolutely – even though I have a painfully long road ahead of me, it was a huge sigh of relief to actually FIGURE OUT exactly what road I am on!
      You’re quite right, I’m definitely not positive all the time…in fact, I feel sick, sad, scared, and stressed far more often than I feel brave or courageous or hopeful. But I’m working on emphasizing the positives wherever possible. Thank you SO MUCH for your kind and thoughful comment(s) – it means more to me than you can know. ❤

  24. Lizzy permalink
    April 13, 2012 6:18 pm

    How has this helped you, do you feel different? Have you been put on synthroid and if you were to go off this diet would your tsh t3 and t4 levels change? Also, what kind of teas can you have? I’v just been diagnosed with this and i don’t really know where to start I thnk its causing a lot of weird health problems.

    • April 13, 2012 6:23 pm

      Hi Lizzy,
      I’ve only been on this diet for about a week and a half, so I don’t feel any different yet. My doctor said that in my condition, it will likely be 9 months to a year before I start feeling dramatically better.
      I’m not on Synthroid (though I could talk for hours about all its drawbacks! I don’t think it’s AT ALL appropriate for people with Hashi’s), but I am on Cytomel – the goal, though, is to wean me off the Cytomel within a few months.
      I can’t have any teas at all – even herbal teas! – until I have some more tests done to assess the state of my immune system. Once that’s done, I may be able to add back certain kinds of teas, but I don’t know yet.
      I feel your pain – this disease can be overwhelming. If you’re interested, I offer personalized health coaching, and could help you navigate your diagnoses and bloodwork. Just let me know!

  25. debbie permalink
    April 13, 2012 8:21 pm

    Hi Amber,
    i actually have a very similar condition and have also been working with a practitioner who follows the kharrazian protocol. are you responding well to the cytomel? unfortunately, it was not right for me and had a bunch of adverse reactions, so i had to stop. the elimination diet is really so great and has made a tremendous difference, now just need to find the right dose of cytomel or a replacement.

    • April 13, 2012 8:30 pm

      Hi Debbie, so nice to hear from someone going through the same processes as I am!
      I’ve been on the Cytomel for exactly 2 months today, and to be honest, I don’t feel a bit of difference (even though I’m up to 75mcg, which is pretty high). But at least I feel better than when I was on Armour – that stuff made me SO moody AND it made me gain about 10 more lbs. So I guess Cytomel “brought me back to normal,” but it certainly hasn’t made me feel better overall. I’m already ready to quit messing with it.
      So happy to hear you’re getting good results from Dr. K’s protocols. I’ve been on the diet for 1.5 weeks, but I haven’t felt any different yet – is that normal? If anything, I feel like I’ve gained a few MORE pounds, because I’m eating so often. =/

  26. April 27, 2012 9:41 am

    I have a few suggestions for you. I can’t eat tomatoes either because of my GERD and I found these tomoato free alternatives of Marina and Ketchup:

    (use vegetable stock instead of chicken stock for this) NO tomato Marina:
    http://fa.sarahbdesigns.net/2012/03/no-tomato-marinara-sauce.html

    NO-Tomato ketchup:
    http://fa.sarahbdesigns.net/2011/10/no-tomato-ketchup.html

    and if you’re missing soy sauce:
    http://soyfreevegan.blogspot.ca/2008/01/no-soy-sauce.html

    This lady has a blog where she talk about her kids going through a very restrictive diet because they’re allergic to so many things.

    • April 27, 2012 9:48 am

      Ada, those look great! I was just looking up recipes for tomato-free marinara the other night. I love the sound of that “soy” sauce too. Thanks!

  27. shawn permalink
    May 28, 2012 12:12 pm

    I just found your site and I an so excited! I have struggled with low thyroid most of my life and I have had 2 bouts with polyarteritis nodosa, an auto immune disease that is treated similar to cancer. About 2 years ago I made up my mind that I would research and learn how to get healthy and off the meds naturally. I am also tinkering with the idea of going gluten free. I can’t wait to see your auto immune and thyroid friendly recipes!!! Thank you for getting this out for us to see and benifit from! Prayers for continued health!!!

  28. Snaedis permalink
    July 29, 2012 6:07 pm

    I also just found this site and wow it’s amazing! I was wondering why you are allowed to eat protein made out of rice and quinoa when you are not allowed to eat any grains ?

    • July 29, 2012 6:10 pm

      Great question, Snaedis! It’s because the protein powders don’t contain any of the lectins or starch of the grain; just the protein component.

  29. Snaedis permalink
    July 30, 2012 5:55 pm

    Ahh okay that makes sense 🙂 I now visit your blog every day, keep up the good work!
    I’m looking forward to seeing more Hashimoto’s friendly recipes 🙂

  30. Snaedis permalink
    July 31, 2012 2:41 pm

    You should check out this blog and especially this article:

    http://www.healthnowmedical.com/blog/2012/06/13/are-you-eating-cross-reactive-foods-that-mimic-gluten/

    It’s about foods that are cross reactive to gluten, that is the body thinks you are eating gluten (when you are not) and reacts the same way !! Really helped me and I seem to be super sensitive to many foods that are in fact gluten free.

    Rice is listed as one of the cross reactive foods so I e-mailed the doctor who wrote the article asking her if Rice Protein could be problematic…This is what she said:

    “Remember that when it comes to food reactions it is the protein portion of the food that is problematic, not the carbohydrate nor fat portion. Therefore if you were having a cross reactivity issue with rice the protein powder you describe would be a problem.”

    Just wanted to share this with you 🙂

    • July 31, 2012 2:49 pm

      Thanks for that link, Snaedis. My doctor actually “prescribed” me the rice protein, as nothing in my labs have indicated that it’s problematic. But it’s definitely something each individual should explore for themselves – we’re all different! 🙂

  31. Andrea permalink
    September 17, 2012 8:52 am

    thank you for your blog..i’ve also hashimoto…i’m a 32 guy and i was very sad for this. i’m trying to think that i’ll find a girl like me for living together but i think it’s not easy because before i’ll have to live well with myself.

  32. Kerry permalink
    October 15, 2012 4:48 pm

    Amber Shea, curioius how you are doing with your thyroid meds. Are you still on Cytomel?Do you feel better being gluten free?

    • October 15, 2012 7:18 pm

      Hi Kerry,
      Oh, long story 🙂 I actually went off Cytomel in May, and my doctor and I tried for 4 long months to balance my hormones naturally. We tried every herb, botanical, and diet tweak in the book, but nothing worked for me. I had to go back on Armour (which I’d been on briefly before Cytomel) in late August. We’re still messing with my dose, trying to find the right amount, so I’m still not there yet.
      Turns out I am the rare Hashimoto’s patient for whom “gluten freedom” seems to do no good, incidentally. I’ve had bits of gluten here and there since the wedding (in September) and have had NO reaction, and my blood panels haven’t budged either. The 7+ months I was 100% gluten-free didn’t seem to help me at all. It’s controversial for me to begin eating gluten again, but I’m toying with it.

Leave a Comment

