Skip to content
I’m still alive! Plus, recipe testers needed…

June 26, 2012

I swear I didn’t mean to take this long of a break from blogging! But I’ve been so busy…

I’m still working hard at promoting Practically Raw. (By the way, there are two giveaways going on this week!)
I’m still dealing with health junk, though I’m making shaky progress here and there.
I’m still wedding planning.
And though I’ve been MIA here on the blog, I’ve been “checking in” regularly on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram (username ChefAmberShea).

Also, I have been working my TAIL off all this month. I’ve been spending all day every day on my feet in the kitchen, and I’ve made a ton of headway in the last several weeks on my next project, which is still a secret for now. πŸ˜‰ But trust me, you guys are going to go INSANE when you find out what I’ve got in store for you next.

Speaking of, I am in need of just a handful of recipe testers. I already have several I trust, but since I had fairly bad luck last time picking testers (too many of them dropped out at one point or another or simply never got back to me!), I’ve held off on putting out this public call for testers. But now, I do need just a few: a couple people who do have dehydrators and high-speed blenders, and a couple who don’t. (Yes, I specifically need a couple testers who do NOT have this equipment!) You must be willing to commit to testing at least 25 recipes between now and mid to late August – so serious inquiries only, please! Prior experience with raw food (even just a little) and/or cookbook recipe testing is a big plus.

Oh yeah, one more thing…you must have a major sweet tooth. πŸ˜‰

If you’re interested, please send an email to almostveganchef AT gmail DOT com with the words “Recipe Tester” in the subject line. Tell me a little about yourself and what experience you have with preparing raw foods and/or testing cookbook recipes.

Again, please only “apply” if you are 100% serious about and committed to testing 25+ recipes (the more, the better!) in the next 2 months or so.

EDIT: Ok, whoa! The response has been overwhelming; I received over 50 emails in just the first two hours after posting this. I’m going to close it off now – but thank you to all who have emailed me! I’ll get back to you soon.

I promise I’ll be back to blogging with some actual content soon (well, as soon as I’m able), but in the meantime, have a lovely rest of your June, everyone!

52 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2012 2:57 pm

    Yay! I know I’ve told you in person that I’m willing (and ABLE, this time around) to test. I don’t know if I’m counted in the already-signed-up group, though. I’d be happy to help, of course, and you know my equipment status. πŸ™‚

    Real reason for commenting: I’ve been fooding up a storm the past 12 hours, and that includes making your naked kale chips and strawberry coconut butter. Yum!! Also, hummus (traditional), raw zucchini chips, and some baked goods. Once my TSM is not over-run with chips, I’ll be giving the marinated broccoli and curry cashews a try. I’ll be posting/linking on my own neglected blog once I have everything done.

    Just wanted to let you know I’m getting great use out of your book :). Also, I miss you! We need to hang out soon!

    • June 26, 2012 3:00 pm

      I will officially count you in, then! You’re a shoo-in, since I know you can’t bail on me…I know where to find you if you do! πŸ˜‰
      Sending you an email now…
      So glad you’re enjoying Practically Raw, too! πŸ˜€

  2. Alayna @ Thyme Bombe permalink
    June 26, 2012 3:23 pm

    I am very excited to hear about your new top secret project! Drooling over that tart pictured above.

  3. Emily permalink
    June 26, 2012 3:29 pm

    Glad to hear you are doing well! Sounds like you have lots of exciting things to come-just emailed you! : )

  4. Glori permalink
    June 26, 2012 3:32 pm

    Everything looks u-mazing! I wish I could taste test.

  5. June 26, 2012 3:40 pm

    those desserts look delicious! how exciting:)

  6. fitnessoversixty permalink
    June 26, 2012 3:44 pm

    Getting worried about you; so glad you are hanging in! I think I would be a good recipe tester for the following reasons: 1. I have a fully equipped kitchen 2. I have your cookbook and tested several recipes already, 3. I use Russel James’ emails and ebooks 4. I want to expand on my raw/vegan knowledge, 5. other newbie raw/vegan cooks might like to know the successes of another newbie, 6. I have the time, and 7. I am dependable. πŸ™‚

  7. June 26, 2012 3:53 pm

    Pick me, pick me! Would love to be a recipe tester for you. I’ve just emailed. Sorry to hear your still having to deal with health issues. Wedding planning and recipe creating sounds a lot more fun although exhausting I imagine.

  8. June 26, 2012 4:04 pm

    So glad to hear you are still coming along. Remember. Slow and steady often wins the race. πŸ™‚
    Just e-mailed you.
    xx

  9. johnna duke permalink
    June 26, 2012 4:13 pm

    Amber, I’ve tried your email address to send you my information in an attempt to become a possible recipe tester – however no matter how I type it (with the word πŸ™‚ it doesn’t let me send the email – keeps giving me an error – I have even copy and pasted it exactly as you have it above.

    • June 26, 2012 4:38 pm

      Hi Johnna,
      When you type in my email address, replace the word AT with “@” and the word DOT with “.” I just type out the words in my post so spammers don’t grab my email address.
      Please send your “application” there so I can keep everything organized – thank you!

  10. June 26, 2012 4:25 pm

    I just checked your blog yesterday to make sure I didn’t miss a post. (OK, I checked it because I’m linking back to you in an upcoming post raving about your book, but that counts! Right?!)

  11. June 26, 2012 4:26 pm

    Wow you have been busy , I am so glad that everything is going good. I was worried where you had gone, but now I can understand you have a very full plate right now. I would love to be a tester but I have like no cooking skills in the raw department. However I do love raw desserts so much.

  12. June 26, 2012 4:32 pm

    Amber, (I thought since this goes through moderation I’d just get my info about possibly being selected as a recipe tester to you this way)

    My name is Johnna Duke (FB: JohnnaMcRobieDuke) and I have a blog..
    http://www.mamadukesfarm.com (however I’ve decided to stop my blog and just use FB….long
    story there – but mostly do in part to the time it takes and i have a five year old
    and 13 acres to farm). Anywho, I’ve been dabbling in rawfood for about a year and
    probably own at least 20 raw food books by Alissa Cohen, Mimi Kirk, Jennifer Cornbleet, Ani
    phyo, Susan Powers and well, you get the picture.

    I do own a vitamixer, I do own an excalibur dehydrator and a heavy duty kitchenaid
    food processor, as well as many small kitchen gadgets … I grind my own grain for
    bread – so I have the grain mill and bread machine (I know this isn’t raw – but I’m
    not 100% raw by any means). Oh, I also have a juicer :-).

    My goal is to become at least 50% raw – one day at a time, one meal at a time.

    My family and I have a small farm where we grow as much of our food as we can –
    ie…garden veggies (unfortunately with the over 20 inches of rain we’ve gotten in
    the past two weeks – it’s kaput!), but we also raise our own pork, beef, chickens and
    eggs of course.

    My passion is food, baking, cooking or “un” cooking :-). My favorite is preparing
    desserts – probably the reason I stumbled into rawfood – in an attempt to find a
    healthier way to prepare it…so here I am…willing and able to test recipes for
    you.

    Sincerely,

    johnna duke

    • June 26, 2012 4:38 pm

      Hi Johnna,
      When you type in my email address, replace the word AT with “@” and the word DOT with “.” I just type out the words in my post so spammers don’t grab my email address.
      Please resend your “application” there so I can keep everything organized – thank you!

  13. June 26, 2012 4:41 pm

    Amber – did that and it went through…I feel like a dork!! I really am fairly computer literate πŸ™‚ LOL…anywho….it has been sent…thanks again

  14. June 26, 2012 6:08 pm

    Dang! I had to wait until I got home from work. Ah well, if anyone drops out add me to the list!

  15. June 26, 2012 7:41 pm

    Wow, all of that looks amazing! Can’t wait to find out more about your next project.

  16. Beth permalink
    June 26, 2012 9:40 pm

    Shoot I missed it!! Maybe the next time around! I just started a 80/20 Raw foods diet a week ago and I am loving it! I am “cooking” like crazy! πŸ™‚ Have fun to all who get to participate! 25 plus new recipes sounds like a few weeks of fun in the kitchen!

  17. June 26, 2012 10:18 pm

    Hello sweet Amber,

    I was so glad to see a post from you in my inbox.

    What a wonderful, positive response for recipe testers.

    Good luck!!

    Looking forward to more updates.

    Hugs,
    –Amber

    P.S. Your recipes look outrageous. Drool.

  18. June 26, 2012 11:46 pm

    Do, remember how you asked me to be your first recipe tester for this secret project? How about we amend that to chief dishwasher and chief couch-sleeper. Thoughts?

    • June 27, 2012 8:56 am

      If that is your preference, we can amend it πŸ˜‰ but if you’d still like to test, I’ve saved you a spot! Let me know and I can get you started right away!

      • June 27, 2012 5:55 pm

        Oh, you’re lovely!! I would be supremely happy to try out some magical creations for you still πŸ™‚ As you know, there is much planning and hecticness afoot, so 25 recipes by August might be tricky ( πŸ˜‰ ), but the sooner the better you hook me up, the more chances I’ll have!

  19. June 27, 2012 10:15 am

    Glad you’re being productive and hopefully feeling better too. Good luck on your next secret project!

  20. June 27, 2012 6:09 pm

    I’ve been thinking of you and hoping that your health is on the up and up. Kudos to you for plugging along! I look forward to hearing about your newest project!

  21. bitt permalink
    June 27, 2012 8:53 pm

    you’ve been missed for sure! the new recipes look great. seems like a dessert theme?

  22. June 28, 2012 6:30 am

    So good to see you back on your blog. I’ve been wondering how you’ve been doing. Always sending healthy vibes your way.

    I really wished I got to be a tester on your last book, so I was excited when I first saw you were looking for a few more. However, it’s summer time with the kids around. There aren’t many recipes being made here these days. Usually, it is just grab and go foods, taking advantage of the fresh local produce. If you have trouble finding all the people you need, though, I can make it work for ya. I do have a sweet tooth.

  23. June 28, 2012 1:02 pm

    Amber, have you already contacted your testers?

    • June 28, 2012 1:08 pm

      Not yet, Johnna – I have about 100 emails to go through, so it’s going to take me a few days to pick just 4 or 5 people! I’ll be responding to everyone as soon as I can.

  24. June 28, 2012 2:09 pm

    Oh my….that’s alot of emails!! thanks

  25. July 6, 2012 10:48 pm

    OOh Amber, can’t wait to see what’s up your sleeve for the next project…. especially since it involves desserts!!!! πŸ™‚ Glad you have heaps of testers.
    Would love to hear how you’re doing health wise – have been wondering about that. xo

Leave a Comment

