Skip to content

Meals at Café Gratitude KC

June 28, 2012

To everyone that emailed me the other day about recipe testing (I am no longer accepting applications, by the way), I have about 100 emails to go through, so it’s going to take me a few days to get back to you all, let alone pick just 4 or 5 people! I’ll be responding to everyone as soon as I can. Your patience is appreciated!

Having a Café Gratitude here in Kansas City now is awesomely surreal, and the fact that it’s about a 2-minute walk from my apartment makes it all the more exciting! We’ve eaten there several times since it opened in early May. I’m going to show you all the good stuff we’ve eaten there so far, but I won’t go into detail about what’s in each dish. For that, you can feel free to check out their online menu for all the juicy deets!

Our first meal there was on a Saturday morning for brunch, one of the few times it’s not completely packed with people.

We got a couple smoothies to start: I Am Grace and I Am Eternally Blessed.

For our actual meal, I had the I Am Sustained hot quinoa bowl and Matt had the I Am Bonita Mexican dish, both from their breakfast menu.

A couple weeks ago, Matt and I took my friend Sarah to CG for the first time. We started with the I Am Honoring live/raw nachos.

Matt also had an I Am Cool mint chip shake.

Sarah enjoyed the I Am Creative raw pizza.

Matt tried the I Am Trusting tamales.

I had a simple I Am Grateful bean/grain/green bowl.

The very next night, we brought Matt’s friend Rachelle to CG. We all shared the I Am Comforted potatoes to start.

Matt and I shared the very interesting (and tasty!) I Am Immortal elixir.

Rachelle was adventurous and tried the I Am Terrific pad thai kelp noodles.

Matt ate the I Am Magical veggie burger.

Finally, I chowed down on the I Am Transformed tacos.

Again, before you comment asking “What’s in the I Am _____?” check out their online menu!

It’s been nice having my diet restrictions loosened up for the month of June, as you can tell. In my next post I’ll show you a whole bunch of other goodies I enjoyed this month.

Stay cool out there!

32 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2012 2:08 pm

    gorgeous food and gorgeous pics (both for being inside a restaurant AND trying to take them on the fly) — super pretty!

  2. June 28, 2012 2:16 pm

    Hi Amber…

    This is my favorite restaurant here in California. How awesome the one in your town is just 2 minutes from your house.

    I CRAVE their milkshakes. Seriously.

    And the tacos are my absolute favorite. I’ve had just about everything on their menu, but the tacos, the best! What a meal.

    Hugs,
    –Amber

    • June 28, 2012 5:35 pm

      They really do have some of the best smoothies ever.
      I’m in love with those tacos too! Matt and I have actually had them 3 times now.

  3. June 28, 2012 2:22 pm

    You’re so lucky to have a Cafe Gratitude so close! I’ve always loved the names for their dishes and the ones you ate look delicious. What’s in the I am…just kiddong 😉

  4. June 28, 2012 2:35 pm

    oh my gosh that veggie burger! YUM!! looks like a fabulous place!

  5. June 28, 2012 2:49 pm

    Every single thing looks delicious and I just read the whole menu, wow!

  6. June 28, 2012 3:02 pm

    I can’t wait to try the new one in Kansas City! Maybe we could meet there next time I’m in town. 😉 Austin is obsessed with their raw chocolate milkshake out here. I want to try the Mint Chip one now!

  7. June 28, 2012 3:57 pm

    Looks so so good. I want one of those mint chip shakes! I’ve just been eyeing up the menu torturing myself when I live in England a long long way from Café Gratitude’s treats…:(

    • June 28, 2012 5:38 pm

      Aw, poor thing! You need to get yourself over here for a visit!
      However, you are lucky that you are near Saf – I’ve been drooling over their menu for years!

  8. June 28, 2012 4:22 pm

    That looks awesome. I really picked an inopportune time to leave KC.

  9. June 28, 2012 4:24 pm

    So beyond jealous!! I was supposed to be in Cali this week & I was looking forward to going to Café Gratitude for my birthday — I petition they open a Café Gratitude here in Seattle — I can help & I know everyone will love it — lots of healthy here;)

  10. bitt permalink
    June 28, 2012 6:01 pm

    I am HUNGRY. How awesome that it’s so close by! I am sure they are elated for your business.

  11. June 28, 2012 7:13 pm

    Everything looks so good!!

  12. Tara permalink
    June 28, 2012 9:18 pm

    Wow, Cafe Gratitude looks amazing! You are lucky to live so close! I checked out the menu and was surprised that it is very reasonably priced. Not sure how I feel about all of the menu items being named by affirmations but that doesn’t really matter…. I want to eat there! (won’t happen, I live in MA : (

  13. June 29, 2012 12:05 pm

    OMG!!!!!!!! I am eating everything there when I come down this fall for the wedding! Do they have a dish called “I Am a Pig.”?

  14. June 30, 2012 6:02 am

    I’m grateful for you keeping my spirits up and reminding me not to give into the fear of crashing dreams. xoxo

    I can’t wait.

  15. July 8, 2012 9:25 am

    Oh my goodness, you’ve gone completely crazy over Cafe Gratitude! Not that I blame you–if we lived two minutes away we’d probably be there all the time, too 🙂

  16. July 17, 2012 3:23 pm

    Gratitude Venice finally opens today after months long waiting. This post is whetting my appetite! Maybe I’ll find you on that patio shooting away again some time, as well. 😉

    • July 17, 2012 3:30 pm

      Hehe, how awesome would that be?! I still get a kick out of you recognizing me in L.A. 🙂
      Happy to hear they’re opening a new one in Venice! I would love to make it there someday…

Leave a Comment

