Skip to content
June “leftovers,” Shakespeare, & raw chocolate

June 30, 2012

Mid-June, I made my Famous Five-Minute Blondies from Practically Raw

…for the local news! I did a 5-minute recipe demo on the news about 6 years ago, so this 3-minute spot definitely felt easier. Still, it was a little nervewracking! I’m not exactly at ease in front of a camera.

Click here to watch the segment AND get the recipe for my beloved Famous Five-Minute Blondies.

What else happened in June? Well, I ate stuff. Like pencil-thin asparagus from the farmers market, mmm.

I treated myself to a vegan Vietnamese spring roll at Lulu’s Thai Noodle Shop with my friend Sarah.

I ate lots and lots of watermelon. No surprise there.

Although watermelon will always be my one true love, I also had a torrid affair in June with Champagne mangoes. They taste like candy, guys. CANDY.

I made some good stuff for Matt, too, like this onion-pepper-mushroom-black bean fajita mixture.

He wrapped it in a sprouted tortilla with romaine, salsa, and vegan queso to make this monster burrito.

One of the highlights of the month was seeing Antony and Cleopatra at Shakespeare in the Park last Friday. Matt and I brought along some pinot noir, and we’d also stopped by the Badseed Friday night farmers market on the way to pick up a couple bars of Manos Chocolate.

Manos Chocolate is raw, vegan, organic, and handcrafted right here in Kansas City by my talented friend Zac. I was so excited to finally try it! Though Matt and I shared both bars, he was partial to the dark stuff (as usual), while I went gaga over the “not-quite-white” variety.

Matt likes chocolate.

I like wine.

I WANT TO MELT A THOUSAND BARS OF THIS STUFF AND TAKE A BATH IN IT, people.

We had a lovely little picnic in the evening twilight and enjoyed watching a Shakespeare play under the stars. Can’t ask for much more than that.

What was the highlight of your June?

25 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2012 11:24 am

    I will absolutely have to try your blondies! Is it possible to get Manos Chocolate outside of Kansas City? Say, for instance, in the Northeast?? It looks so yummy!

  2. June 30, 2012 11:28 am

    Lulu’s Vietnamese spring rolls are the bomb. Anytime I eat there, I get those spring rolls!

    Lol. My June didn’t have a whole lot of highlights, though. 🙂

  3. June 30, 2012 11:52 am

    Your blondies look amazing. They’re definitely going on my “Why I need to buy many cashews now” list. 🙂

    I *love* champagne mangoes. I could live on them and Elberta peaches during the summer.

    It sounds like you had a great June. I hope July is just as delicious!

    • June 30, 2012 11:54 am

      The blondies are even better with macadamias! 😉

      All I really need all summer is watermelon and Champagne mangoes. I’m set.

  4. June 30, 2012 12:31 pm

    Oh man…that chocolate looks GOOD. Wine, chocolate, Shakespeare in the Park…does it get any better?? (Perhaps some slightly cooler weather…) Matt’s dinner looks super yummy as well. I could eat like that every single day. And now I have Lulu’s on my list of places to try! Good to see you are still having fun despite the work you are doing and getting yourself whole and balanced again. Playtime is VERY important in my book. 😉
    xx

  5. June 30, 2012 1:00 pm

    I am loving the look of all that food! I too love champagne mangoes, they really are just like candy! That raw chocolate looks amazing. While I’m partial to dark, I find when it comes to raw chocolate I love lighter varieties! Wine is pretty awesome too 🙂

    Looks like a great month 🙂

  6. Tara permalink
    June 30, 2012 9:08 pm

    Aww, you were so cute on the news! I love that you talked about kale chips, too. I kept waiting, though, for the reporter to bite into your blondie and “ooh” and “ahh”. Did she try them? Also, congrats on embarking on your second book project! I will definitely buy all of your future cookbooks, since I looove your first one!! : ) Your pesto is my go-to staple, now!

    • June 30, 2012 9:09 pm

      Aww, thanks Tara! I expected them to chow down on them too, but they didn’t until afterwards, off-camera. They liked them, though. 🙂
      Thanks for the congrats! 😀

  7. July 1, 2012 10:41 am

    I saw those mangoes at the market a few weeks ago and had no idea what they were (well, I knew they were mangoes but I’d never seen them before.) I’ll have to pick out a few if I see them again and give them a try.

    You look really cute in the segment and I really want to try those blondies, I just need to find some dates.

    • July 1, 2012 12:09 pm

      DO try a Champagne mango the second you get a chance!
      You can always use soft golden raisins in the blondies in place of dates 🙂

  8. July 1, 2012 4:31 pm

    Congrats on the news spot! Those spring rolls look to die for, and I really want to try that white chocolate (I haven’t had a lot of good experiences with vegan white chocolate at this point), so I hope Manos does well!

  9. Hilda Quintanilla permalink
    July 2, 2012 1:36 am

    My birthday!!!!

  10. Alayna @ Thyme Bombe permalink
    July 2, 2012 9:32 am

    Awesome interview! I really appreciate that the host didn’t spend any time being skeptical or asking you to defend raw foods, she really just let you talk about your food with a focus on how easy it is to prepare.

    I’m also addicted to champagne mangoes!

  11. July 3, 2012 4:18 am

    The highlight of my June was when it ended, because I can barely remember it through the work fog. Perhaps my highlight was when you told me you thought of me during your Shakespeare night? I’m even more delighted to find out that it was Antony and Cleopatra, as my family and I used to see every Bell Shakespeare production when I was younger, and I loved their version of A&C. As did my brother and Dad, though I think that was more because we were in the front row and the women’s costumes were often see-through at the top…

    • July 3, 2012 9:48 am

      Aww, you poor thing. June is in the past now. Onward and upward. 🙂
      A&C was great, though at times we were paying more attention to the wine than the play =X We’re going back in a couple weeks for A Midsummer Night’s Dream! Wish you could come to that too ❤

  12. July 3, 2012 9:04 pm

    Wow! So much goodness in this post! I need to try that chocolate : ) The highlight of my June, was booking my first cooking class at Whole Foods in Tribeca! The class is July 21st, but that day in June was awesome. Also I went home to see my family. That was a highlight!

Leave a Comment

