Skip to content
Juice Cleanse Review: Pressed Juicery

July 19, 2012

Today’s post is the first in a series of reviews of delivered-to-your-door 3-day juice cleanses from companies that offer nationwide delivery on their fresh juices.

Last week, I was sent a 3-day juice cleanse from Pressed Juicery, based out of Los Angeles. Pressed Juicery cold-presses all their juices in a hydraulic press, so they have a three-day shelf life and a clean, fresh flavor not found in many homemade juices. Last Friday through Sunday, I completed their Cleanse 3 program, the “greenest” of the three packages they offer.

Arrival: The package was delivered at 9am on the dot, having been sent with overnight shipping. The box was packed fairly snugly, and everything arrived perfectly-chilled, as promised.

I appreciated the square shape of the bottles—it helped them fit into my fridge and stack on top of one another nicely.

Options: Not only do you choose between Pressed Juicery’s three “levels” of cleansing, but when you order your cleanse, you get to pick your specific juices from a range of options. They even offer nutritional info for all their juices on their site to help you with your choices, if that’s a consideration for you. Each bottle cap is labeled with a number to indicate the order in which you should drink them. Beyond that, you get to decide how quickly and at what times of day you drink each of them.

Variety: Though you’re given plenty of options from which to choose your six daily drinks, the juices can’t vary day-by-day, so all three days of your cleanse consist of an identical series.

The Juices…

Greens 3: kale, spinach, romaine, parsley, cucumber, celery, apple, lemon, ginger
My first juice of the day was this fruity green drink. Considering all the foliage in there, I was shocked at how sweet it tasted! I found myself wondering if the ingredients on the bottle are ordered in terms of how much of each is in the juice, but I’m not sure. If this didn’t look so green, I’d almost have thought I was drinking plain apple juice! Very tasty.

Detox 4: cucumber, pineapple, coconut water, aloe vera
This reminded me a little of my Pineapple Zinger Juice, but had an almost-clear hue and lighter taste thanks to the coconut water. I loved it! It made a great pre-/post-workout drink.

Greens 1: kale, spinach, romaine, parsley, cucumber, celery
This juice was by far the biggest, and most pleasant, surprise of all. I cannot believe this doesn’t contain any sweet fruit whatsoever! I was truly shocked every time I took a sip. I expressed my amazement on Twitter, and Pressed Juicery chalked it up to the special hydraulic press they use to extract their juices. I had no idea that a pure green juice could ever be so mild and naturally sweet. I would drink this stuff all day long!

Greens 4: cucumber, celery, watercress, ginger, lemon, cayenne
This was the only one of the juices I didn’t like—it was a little too bitter and astringent for me. It could’ve been either the watercress or the celery; it’s hard to say. However, I was still able to finish it each day without much trouble.

My fifth juice of the day was another Greens 1. So unbelievably yummy!

Almond Milk: almonds, dates, vanilla bean, sea salt, filtered water
Pressed Juicery gives you a more substantial drink at the end of the day, allowing you to go to bed with more of a “full-tummy” feeling, which I really appreciated. This almond milk is not the kind you’d slosh over cereal—it’s thick, rich, and literally tastes like a vanilla milkshake. I found myself looking forward to this drink all day long! I could down a gallon of this stuff. 😉

Extras: One very cool thing that Pressed Juicery does is include 2 bonus drinks for each day of their cleanses.

This chlorophyll water with apple extract is meant to be sipped throughout the day for extra hydration. It was just barely sweet, and didn’t taste “green” at all.

The aloe vera water is meant to be taken just before bed to help move waste through your digestive tract. Since I didn’t taste any aloe at all in it, I’m guessing it was just a tiny bit of aloe that was greatly watered down. For someone with a less-clean system, this might’ve had the intended effect, but for me, it didn’t do much of anything.

Cost: Pressed Juicery cleanses cost $70 a day plus shipping (which costs $75 per 3-day cleanse). This brings the total price of a 3-day cleanse to $285, or $95 per day.
(Full disclosure: Pressed Juicery sent me this cleanse “on the house.”)

Support: Pressed Juicery emails you a cleansing guide the day before your cleanse begins, plus a “how to break your cleanse” email on the last day. They also offer cleansers unlimited phone and email support.

How to Order: Online or by phone (310-477-7171). Local pickup is also available in the L.A. area.

Final thoughts: I was extremely impressed overall with the quality, smoothness, and great flavor of almost all of Pressed Juicery’s drinks. I appreciated the level of support they offered cleansers, as well as the care that was taken in packing and delivering the juices. It was SO nice to have all my juices pre-made every day and ready to simply grab out of the fridge! It made the cleanse relatively effortless and enjoyable. All in all, if you have the money and the desire to do a 3-day delivered juice cleanse, this is one that I would highly recommend to anyone.

31 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicole permalink
    July 19, 2012 11:56 am

    love this review! very thorough. I’m now going to look into this company, thanks!!

  2. July 19, 2012 11:57 am

    My boss ordered some of these for the office a while back. Great review! I wish I could have tried everything they offer but what I did have was delicious. There was a beet-based one I wish I could have right now! If I ever win the lotto I’d love to order this stuff for a 10-day cleanse…so convenient!

  3. July 19, 2012 12:06 pm

    Yum! I do juice cleanses myself, only costs me about $70 for 5 days using organic produce. I love juicing! So yummy. I’m on day 4 so I feel great. Day 1-3 are harder. 🙂 I like doing a glass of homemade almond milk at the end of the night, it’s like dessert haha

    • July 19, 2012 1:17 pm

      I’m doing a different company’s juice cleanse each weekend this month, and then juicing on my own in the days in between 🙂 I’m on day 7 so far!
      The almond milk IS like dessert! I’m keeping up the “habit” during the week. 😉

  4. July 19, 2012 12:28 pm

    I love Pressed Juicery! Their juices with fruit are a little on the too-sweet side for me, so I like to mix them with the non-sweet juices (Greens 3 + Greens 4 is my favorite combo).

    Glad to see they shipped so well, too! I’ll keep that in mind for work travel. 🙂

  5. Emmalynn permalink
    July 19, 2012 1:21 pm

    I would not be able to afford this, but it looks wonderful & even seems like a good value for the money. Looking forward to the rest of your cleansing reviews!

    • July 19, 2012 1:22 pm

      I wouldn’t be able to afford it either, sadly, but if you’ve got the money, I think it’s a really cool option to have for juicing/cleansing!

  6. Hilary permalink
    July 19, 2012 2:32 pm

    Amber – I’m so grateful you are doing this review series! I did a 12-day juice cleanse last month and LOVED it…. except for the actual making of the juice (mess, cost, lack of variety, creativity, yucky juices). So I plan to do it again, but didn’t know which juicer to choose! Can you tell us who else is on your list? Cooler Cleanse? Thanks again!

    • July 19, 2012 2:51 pm

      Totally agree – the tediousness of making juice is worse than the hunger of a juice fast! Haha.
      I’m doing a Cooler Cleanse this weekend; review will go up next week! After that will be Ritual Cleanse and BluePrint Cleanse. 🙂

  7. Mallory W permalink
    July 19, 2012 4:34 pm

    Awesome review! I wish I could do this! I’ve done the master cleanse three times now (lemon,cayenne pepper & maple syrup) and am about to embark on my first juice cleanse starting sunday. If it goes well I would love to try this one next….Maybe i’ll ask my hubby to get this one for me for my bday 😉 Thanx again for the thorough review and i look forward to your other cleansing reviews to come!

    • July 19, 2012 4:39 pm

      You are welcome, Mallory! The Master Cleanse was the first “fast” I ever did, a few years ago, and I must say…juice-cleansing feels way better, to me at least 🙂 Good luck on your upcoming juice fast!

  8. July 19, 2012 4:46 pm

    Good for you! You are one lucky girl! You totally deserve it. They look fantastic & honestly, not having to make juice would ROCK!!!

  9. July 19, 2012 6:04 pm

    Wish I could afford it, I love the sound of these juices and would love to do a proper juice cleanse. Maybe I need to figure out the cost of doing my own and get the boyfriend to help me juice everything? 😉

  10. Robin Rosen permalink
    July 19, 2012 7:39 pm

    Sounds and looks amazing. I so wish I could afford it! My juicing is okay, but I tend to make the same ones over and over. Would love to open my frig and have fresh pressed juices waiting for me!!!!

  11. July 20, 2012 9:01 am

    Hi Amber, this juice cleanse review series you’re doing is really wonderful. My boyfriend and I have been considering doing one, so it’s nice to see a comparison like the reviews you’re doing. Do you plan to do a rating or comprehensive review where you discuss pro’s and con’s of all of them once you’re finished?

    • July 20, 2012 9:58 am

      You read my mind, Nicole! I’m giving each cleanse an individual review post, and then when I’ve completed all four, I’ll wrap it up with a compare-and-contrast post. 🙂

      • knitalittlekitty permalink
        July 20, 2012 8:03 pm

        Excellent, I look forward to reading that!

  12. July 20, 2012 4:40 pm

    This looks awesome Amber! I love the idea of being sent fresh juices. I’m not always in the mood to make it (I get a little lazy when it comes to juicing but I’ve pulled out the juicer to leave on my counter for the summer -and yes I’ve used it, lol).

  13. Tara permalink
    July 21, 2012 4:43 pm

    This cleanse looks awesome and well worth the $$–if you can afford it. I can’t at the moment. I love that you are reviewing different cleanses. Thanks again : )

    • July 21, 2012 4:46 pm

      I’d never be able to afford it on my own either – yet another reason I’m so thankful to have the opportunity to review it! ❤

  14. July 22, 2012 6:01 pm

    I would LOVE to have fresh juice arrive at my doorstep. Too bad there’s that whole cost thing…

    I look forward to reading your reviews. I also made a pineapple, cucumber, cilantro and lime juice today and thought of you. I love that combo!

    • July 22, 2012 6:03 pm

      Tell me about it. I’d do a cleanse like this every month if I could! I’m very lucky to be testing and reviewing 4 of them this summer.

      LOVE that juice! 🙂

  15. Sue permalink
    July 28, 2012 9:18 pm

    Hi Amber,

    thanks for reviewing these juice cleanses. I’ve tried Organic Avenue (never again.) and the 3 day Blue Print cleanse excavation cleanse (level 3 most green – which I love and will continue to do periodically. Wish I could do a 6 day monthly but funds won’t allow that.)

    Pressed Juicery is a little too expensive for my blood, I’d try a 6 pack Green sampler but not a cleanse since 1) $$$, 2) silly for me to ship cross country when my beloved blueprint is right here in NY.

    And cooler cleanses’ juices…too sweet for me, though the Watermelon/Lime sounds great.

    I am curious what as what additional 2 cleanses are. Looking forward to the next two reviews.

    • July 30, 2012 9:18 am

      Hi Sue! I’ve got my BluePrint cleanse coming up next weekend; glad to hear it’ll be a good one. I LOVED Pressed Juicery’s green juice though; it might be hard to beat! 😉 But I agree – if I lived in the same city as one of these, I’d probably see little reason to “import” my juice from the other coast.

Leave a Comment

