Skip to content

Blueberry-Vanilla Coconut Butter (raw & sugar-free)

August 7, 2012

I originally shared this recipe on One Green Planet a couple months ago, and it just occurred to me that I haven’t yet blogged it here! If you’re a fan of my Sugar-Free Strawberry Coconut Butter, you will go ga-ga for this recipe too.

It’s no secret that I am utterly addicted to coconut butter. The melt-in-your-mouth smoothness, the rich texture, and the naturally sweet taste combine to make the perfect straight-off-the-spoon experience. I used to buy jarred coconut butter at the store, but my wallet didn’t appreciate the habit—so I figured out how to make it at home from scratch. (I even put the recipe in my cookbook, Practically Raw.) My world has never been the same!

It didn’t take long for me to start creating new, adventuresome varieties of coconut butter in my own kitchen, and I truly hit the jackpot with this flavor combo. The wild blueberries turn the coconut butter into a fruity treat, and when topped off with a whisper of vanilla and a kiss of sea salt, you’ll think you’ve died and gone to coconut heaven.

If you’d prefer to use storebought or pre-made coconut butter instead of making your own here, simply replace the unsweetened shredded coconut with 1 cup softened coconut butter, and skip the initial blending step.

Blueberry-Vanilla Coconut Butter

dairy-free, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, soy-free, nut-free, sugar-free, raw

3 cups unsweetened shredded coconut
1 cup fresh (or thawed frozen) wild blueberries (preferably organic)
1 teaspoon lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon sea salt
1 packet stevia
(or 1 tablespoon sweetener of choice)

Place the unsweetened shredded coconut in a high-speed blender or food processor and blend until completely smooth and buttery. In a Vitamix or Blendtec, this will only take about a minute (use the tamper to move the mixture downward). In a food processor, this will take 5 to 10 minutes; be patient!

When the coconut has turned smooth and buttery, add the blueberries, lemon juice, vanilla, and salt and blend until completely smooth.

Taste for sweetness, and if desired, add the stevia (or other sweetener, if you prefer) and blend again until smooth.

Transfer to a glass jar to store. The butter will keep at room temperature for up to two days; for longer storage, keep in the refrigerator and let soften at room temperature before enjoying.

Yield: about 1 1/2 cups
Per tablespoon: 79 calories, 7.3g fat (6g sat), 3.8g carbs, 2g fiber, .8g protein

Nomz.

39 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2012 5:48 pm

    so, so gorgeous – I wish I had my real food processor with me b/c this is calling to me!

    • August 7, 2012 5:51 pm

      No food processor in paradise, huh? Poor you ;P Hehe. Do you have a bullet blender or anything like that? I wonder if this would work in one of those…

  2. August 7, 2012 5:55 pm

    Amber…this looks so creamy and delicious. I want to dive right in that glass! 🙂

  3. Alayna @ Thyme Bombe permalink
    August 7, 2012 6:43 pm

    That sounds so delicious. I can’t get enough blueberries lately. This would be so good as a frosting for a little raw cupcake!

  4. August 7, 2012 6:44 pm

    This…is genius!! I’ve never thought about making my own coconut butter before. At $12 a jar, I think I’m going to start now! Thanks Amber!!

  5. Valerie Hildebrand permalink
    August 7, 2012 7:32 pm

    *yum * ….living in the ‘land of blueberries’ up here in British Columbia…I am surrounded by them…..lucky me!! Have just written out your recipe…what would this be best on?? Toast?? Pound Cake?? Thanks, Valerie

    • August 7, 2012 7:41 pm

      Lucky you! 🙂 This is excellent right off the spoon, and would also be great on toast or graham crackers…but POUND CAKE! Now that is brilliant!

  6. August 7, 2012 8:51 pm

    Brilliant idea!! I JUST made coconut butter for the very first time yesterday…and loooooved it!! So simple and easy peasy 🙂 this has got to be soooo much better than the plain version I made…I can’t wait to try it out 🙂 Thank you ever so much for sharing with us! xo

  7. August 7, 2012 9:32 pm

    Wow Amber! This looks so beautiful, tasty and exciting! This would be a great icing for a raw cake too.

  8. August 8, 2012 7:43 am

    I love coconut butter too. Can’t wait to try this recipe out!

  9. August 8, 2012 9:46 am

    YUM! Two of my fave things in one, coconut and blueberries! Thanks, Amber. 🙂

  10. August 8, 2012 11:39 am

    oh my gosh that sounds amazing! i think i’d eat it by the spoonful! haha

  11. August 8, 2012 2:57 pm

    Aw, so tasty! I started making my own coconut butter just a few weeks ago! It’s amazing! I love to add some cocoa too!

  12. Mallory permalink
    August 8, 2012 3:41 pm

    Hey Amber, can I use the reduced-fat shredded coconut? Do you know if it will still work?

    • August 8, 2012 3:43 pm

      Great question, Mallory – no, reduced-fat coconut will NOT work. It’s the fat in coconut that allows it to turn into a creamy butter, so without the full amount of fat, you’ll just end up with dry, flaky coconut bits!

  13. Mallory permalink
    August 8, 2012 3:45 pm

    Okay that’s what I figured. Thank you for answering my question. I’ll have to go out and get some regular shredded coconut this week. Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!

  14. August 8, 2012 4:17 pm

    Yum! What a unique idea. I never would have thought of making coconut butter. I adore anything with coconut in it.

  15. Georgette permalink
    August 8, 2012 10:05 pm

    Can you use Fresh coconut meat from a tai coconut to make coconut butter?

    • August 8, 2012 10:18 pm

      Also a good question, Georgette – but no, you cannot. Dried coconut is made from mature (not young) coconut meat, which is higher in fat, and the drying process removes the water, allowing you to blend it into a butter.

  16. Georgette permalink
    August 8, 2012 10:27 pm

    Thank you.i just bought your book and I’m lovin it;)

  17. August 17, 2012 2:01 pm

    This looks so creamy and refreshing! My name is Cindy and I blog over at Vegetarianmamma.com I wanted to invite you to link up your recipe at our Gluten Free Fridays Recipe Link up party! It happens every Friday and we’d love to have you join us with some of your awesome recipes! You can find this week’s link up here: http://vegetarianmamma.com/gluten-free-friday-recipe-link-up-1/
    Thanks, Cindy

  18. bebopsbaby permalink
    August 18, 2012 6:03 am

    OMG This looks amazing, Im definately making this next week! How long do you think it will keep in the fridge? Although i can imagine i wont be able to keep my spoon out of it to worry about it getting old in there lol. Im just looking through your blog and HOLY MOLY, there are so many yummy amazing things on here. Im desperate to also try making your raspberry candies,just not sure if i can find grated cacao butter here in New Zealand…..

    • August 18, 2012 12:35 pm

      Why thanks! I’m honestly not sure how long it’ll keep in the fridge – a few days, at least – but I think you’ll be hard-pressed to make it last that long! 😉

  19. August 19, 2012 7:19 am

    Thanks for linking up over at our Gluten Free Fridays recipe party! I have tweeted and pinned your post to our “Gluten Free Fridays” board on pinterest! Thanks for making this week a HUGE success! We had over 110 recipes and still counting! I hope to see you back next week 🙂
    Cindy

Leave a Comment

