Skip to content
Juice Cleanse Review: BluePrint Cleanse

August 9, 2012

Today’s post is the fourth in a series of reviews of delivered-to-your-door 3-day juice cleanses from companies that offer nationwide delivery on their fresh juices.
See also: reviews #1, #2, and #3.

My Summer of Juice continues!
Last weekend’s juice cleanse came to me courtesy of BluePrint Cleanse, based out of New York City. BluePrint Cleanse employs a hydraulic press to extract their juices, and they use an innovative new technology called High-Pressure Pascalization (HPP) to sterilize the raw juice without having to use any heat (pasteurization).

Last Friday through Sunday, I completed their 3-day Excavation cleanse program.

Arrival: The package was delivered bright and early at 8:55am, having been sent with overnight shipping in an insulated box. The contents of the box were securely packed, and everything arrived well-chilled and cradled in numerous ice packs.

Once again, I liked that the square shape of the bottles allowed me to stack them on top of one another in my fridge if needed.

Options: When ordering a BluePrint Cleanse, you choose between Renovation, Foundation, or Excavation cleanses. I did the Excavation, the “greenest” and most intensely cleansing of the bunch.

Each cleanse contains a pre-selected set of six daily juices (i.e. you don’t have the option to choose individual juice flavors.) Each bottle is labeled with a number to indicate the order in which you should drink them. Beyond that, you get to decide how quickly and at what times of day you drink each of them.

Variety: On the Excavation cleanse that I chose, four of the six drinks are nearly-identical green juices, so there was little variety—however, I purposely selected that level for its green-ness. The Renovation and Foundation cleanses offer more variety in their juice selections.

The Juices…

1. Green Juice: romaine, celery, cucumber, apple, spinach, kale, parsley, lemon
Since all four green juices on this cleanse are almost identical, it was very important that I enjoy the taste! Upon initially smelling it, I expected it to taste heavily of parsley, but I actually found the flavor perfectly balanced, leaning a little toward the sweet side. This was a very drinkable green juice, and even by the end of day 3, I still wasn’t tired of it. In sum: refreshing and enjoyable!

2. Green Juice: romaine, celery, cucumber, apple, spinach, kale, parsley, lemon, ginger
This juice was the same as juice #1, but with the addition of ginger.

3. Green Juice: romaine, celery, cucumber, apple, spinach, kale, parsley, lemon
This juice was identical to juice #1.

4. Spicy Lemonade: water, lemon, agave nectar, cayenne
The fourth juice was this “Master Cleanse” lemonade. I’m not wild on the inclusion of agave, but this tart drink provided a welcome afternoon interlude between green juices.

5. Green Juice: romaine, celery, cucumber, apple, spinach, kale, parsley, lemon
This juice was identical to juice #1.

6. Cashew Milk: water, cashews, agave nectar, vanilla, cinnamon
This unstrained nut milk is ever-so-slightly gritty, but it didn’t bother me this time. I do wish they’d use dates to sweeten this drink instead of agave, but the sweetness level is actually pretty low. I added a pinch of extra cinnamon to mine to spice it up. As per usual, I loved having a richer and more filling drink like this awaiting me at the end of each day.

Extras: BluePrint Cleanse includes an insulated tote bag to keep your juices chilled while you’re on the go. It’s roomy enough to fit a whole day’s worth of juice inside.

Cost: BluePrint Cleanses cost $65 a day plus shipping. Delivery is free in New York City and Los Angeles, and ranges from $10 to $15 per day for delivery elsewhere in the U.S. (depending on what state you live in) or $20 per day for delivery in Canada. This brings the total price of a 3-day cleanse to $195 to $255, or $65 to $80 per day (in the U.S.) or $85 per day (in Canada).
(Full disclosure: BluePrint Cleanse sent me this cleanse “on the house.”)

Support: BluePrint Cleanse sends you detailed emails – one the day before your cleanse starts, and one on the last day of your cleanse – with tips and guidelines, and offers unlimited phone and email support.

How to Order: By phone (1-888-252-5150) or online. They deliver nationwide.

Final Thoughts: Even though BluePrint describes their Excavation cleanse as being the most intense, I found it extremely easy to complete, thanks in no small part to the fact that their green juice is tasty enough to drink bottle after bottle of. I appreciated that the nutritional info for each drink is featured on the backs of the bottles, and their email guidance was stellar. BluePrint is one of the more reasonably priced cleanses available, with lower shipping costs as well; they’re also the only one (that I’ve found) that delivers to Canada.
All in all: I loved it! I’d do another BluePrint Excavation cleanse in a heartbeat.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. bitt permalink
    August 9, 2012 3:55 pm

    I love the clean look of their bottles. Wish every grocery store sold stuff like this!

    I’d love to hear more about your personal side of the juicing, like what detox you’ve had, what else you do other than just drink the juice, etc. Not sure if these companies have recommendations along those lines if you have your own ideas.

    • August 9, 2012 4:49 pm

      I wish so too!
      I’ll probably be writing a post about all that stuff – even though to be honest, the whole thing has been surprisingly easy. I really haven’t had any problems or major detox symptoms, at least not on these mini-cleanses.

  2. August 9, 2012 4:16 pm

    I saw these at Whole Foods the other day and wanted to try them but I have heard that they don’t taste great. How did you find the taste?

  3. Carrie permalink
    August 9, 2012 4:31 pm

    I’m curious too as to how you’re feeling after all this juicing!

  4. August 9, 2012 5:01 pm

    I heard a lot talk about these juice cleanser programs lately! Seems to be a US and Canada thing though… There’s nothing like this in Europe…

  5. Charles permalink
    August 9, 2012 6:13 pm

    With respect to cleansing, how do you feel this compares to the others?

    • August 9, 2012 6:14 pm

      I’ll actually be doing a huge wrap-up post in a couple weeks, wherein I’ll compare and contrast all the different juice cleanses I tried!

  6. August 9, 2012 7:35 pm

    Bahahaha! Excavation. For some reason, I’m singing that in my head like the U2 (I think?) song: EX-CA-VA-TION!

    That is all. Carry on.

    xoxoxo

  7. August 10, 2012 10:26 pm

    An online friend just started this cleanse. I’ll be interested in her thoughts too. And hey, having a cleanse all ready to go for you w/o having to do anything but open the fridge is my kind of cleanse! One day…

    • August 10, 2012 11:26 pm

      I think this is one of the most popular made-to-order cleanses…I liked it! So true, it’s SO much easier to juice-fast when someone else is making the juice…

  8. Sue permalink
    August 12, 2012 2:01 pm

    Hi Amber,

    glad you enjoyed the blue print cleanse. Interesting: they added one of their greens with the ginger to the excavation line up – that’s great to hear as I going to do another Excavation cleanse in a month or so.

    It is worth the expense to have the juices all ready to go. Less temptation when you open the fridge and no clean up 🙂

    • August 12, 2012 3:36 pm

      I wish I could afford to do these regularly – you’re so right, having the juices made for you and ready to grab from the fridge makes all the difference!

  9. Alina permalink
    August 12, 2012 7:38 pm

    Hi Amber,
    I’ve been following your blog since I’ve started my studies at the Institute of Integrative Nutrition…You are such a natural and your recipes are great and easy to make….anyway, my hubby and I moved from New York to Kansas City last November because of his job…maybe we’ll have the chance to meet some time in the future and exchange ideas, swap cookies ..or something else; I am currently working on building my health & nutrition blog so…I’ll keep you posted

  10. November 25, 2012 10:57 am

    I am about to order the cleanse but first wanted to check the Internet for honest reviews like this one. My one question that doesn’t seem to be answered on any blogs is about the side effects of the cleanse. The website says you lose some serious baggage – I’m wondering…does that mean I will be in the bathroom all day?? I really hope not! Did you experience anything like this? I’d like to not have to take off of work just to do the cleanse. Thanks!

    • November 26, 2012 10:01 am

      Not at all, Jessica – in fact, if anything, your bowels may be a tad sluggish during the cleanse, since there’s no fiber coming in to sweep waste out.
      If you’re trying to decide what cleansing company to go with, be sure to check out all of my juice cleanse reviews!

Leave a Comment

