Skip to content

Practically Raw recipe: Pizza Kale Chips

August 13, 2012

Today, I’m delighted to share with you a recipe from my own cookbook, Practically Raw!

As many of you know, I dedicated an entire chapter in Practically Raw to one of my favorite snacks: kale chips! This particular recipe is my top pick of the whole bunch, and it quickly became a fan favorite as well. Everyone who has ever tried these has ADORED them!

If you’re at all unsure about the gustatory merits of kale chips, try this recipe first. You’ll be shocked at how outrageously fantastic these protein-rich, pizza-flavored crunchers are.

Pizza Kale Chips

dairy-free, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, soy-free, nut-free, sugar-free, raw

From Practically Raw: Flexible Raw Recipes Anyone Can Make by Amber Shea Crawley, (c) 2012. Used by permission.

1/4 cup sunflower seeds, soaked for 2 to 4 hours and drained
1/4 cup hempseeds
1/4 cup nutritional yeast
1/4 cup sundried tomatoes, soaked for 30 minutes and drained
1/2 large red bell pepper, seeded and chopped
1 clove garlic, peeled
2 tablespoons lemon juice
2 tablespoons filtered water
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon fennel seeds
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper (optional)
1 bunch kale, tough stems removed, roughly chopped (6 to 8 cups)

Combine all ingredients except kale in a high-speed blender and blend until smooth, adding a splash of water if needed to blend.

In a large bowl, combine the kale and the pizza sauce. Use your hands to massage the sauce all over the kale, making sure it’s coated completely.

Make it Raw: Arrange the kale in a single layer on a Teflex-lined dehydrator tray. Dehydrate for 8 hours or overnight, until crisp.

Make it Baked: Preheat the oven to 300°F and grease a baking sheet with coconut oil. Arrange the kale in a single layer on the baking sheet and bake for about 15 minutes. Remove the pan from the oven and use a fork or spatula to carefully flip the kale chips over (it’s ok if you miss a few). Bake for 5 to 10 more minutes, watching carefully to make sure the kale doesn’t burn, then remove from the oven and let cool completely.

Yield: 4 servings
Per serving: 188 calories, 10g fat (1g sat), 17.5g carbs, 5g fiber, 11.3g protein

Substitution options:
Hempseeds: additional sunflower seeds or cashews
Red bell pepper: 1 medium ripe tomato, cored, seeded, and chopped
Oregano: dried basil

SO, SO, SO GOOD! If I may say 😉

Let’s take a closer look at the process, shall we?

You’ll want to get your kale all torn up and set aside first, then blend together the coating. Eat a spoonful or two of it on its own, because it’s just THAT good!

Pour that gorgeous cheesy pizza sauce all over your kale.

Now it’s time to get your hands dirty.

Massage the bejeezus out of that kale, until it’s evenly and completely coated with the pizza sauce.

Spread the saucy kale on a mesh- or Teflex-lined dehydrator tray and dehydrate for 8 to 10 hours, or overnight. (Alternatively, follow the oven-baking directions given above, knowing that you may need to adjust the heat or extend the baking time depending on your oven’s temperament.)

Let me take a moment here to mention my new favorite toy: Tribest’s state-of-the-art Sedona Dehydrator, which just debuted last year. I used my Excalibur for many years with great success, but the Sedona is like the Lamborghini of dehydrators: it’s BPA-free and has digital time and temperature controls, a clear glass door, and a dozen other fantastic features. On top of that, it is WHISPER-quiet…when I first got it, I kept walking over to it to make sure it was actually on, because I couldn’t hear it across the room! I can hardly believe it took so long for someone to come out with a dehydrator like this, but now that Tribest has done it, I am IN LOVE.

Anyway, back to the chippies! After a day or night in the dehydrator, they’ll be crisped up and ready for your snacking pleasure.

Actually, I highly recommend you make a double batch of these, because they will be gone before you know it. Matt and I can eat an entire batch in one sitting!

Here are some fan photos of these magnificent Pizza Kale Chips, from Christine (above)…

Rebecca (above), and Heather (below)!

Enjoy! And remember, you’ll find recipes for nine other addictive kale chip flavors in Chapter 6 of my book Practically Raw, including Sour Cream and Onion, Hummus, Curry, Chocolate, Maple-Pecan, and more!

See ya later this week for another juice cleanse review. 🙂

30 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2012 3:23 pm

    Recipe looks amazing! Do you have suggestions on storing baked kale chips or do you just eat them all right away? I’ve made them once before and they got soggy inside a tupperware…

    • August 13, 2012 3:25 pm

      I don’t store them in airtight containers – if there are leftovers, I just leave them in a bowl, maybe loosely covered with plastic wrap. You can also just put them back in the dehydrator for an hour or two to re-crisp them!

  2. August 13, 2012 3:27 pm

    Hi Sweet Amber,

    Hope you’re well!

    I’ve seen A LOT of kale chip recipes (and tried a few) but these are by far the best I’ve seen. What a great recipe. So easy too!

    And that dehydrator. WOW! That is on my wish list. It looks like a full size oven in the picture, so when I went to the link and saw the price I squealed in delight. That’s not bad at ALL! Up there with the high speed blender prices. What a great resource.

    Thanks darlin’

    Hugs,
    –Amber

  3. August 13, 2012 4:02 pm

    These look sooo good. I just finished a massive bag of kale eating raw kale salads which were delicious but I wish I’d saved some for these chips! I do have lacinato kale growing in my garden, would that work instead of curly?

  4. August 13, 2012 4:15 pm

    These look great! Ever since I tried kale chips, I always wanted to make my own… It’s too bad that you can’t buy kale in any grocery story where I live…

  5. August 13, 2012 5:54 pm

    oh wow – I want to bury myself in that bowl of dip/sauce/coating and not come up for air!

  6. August 13, 2012 6:43 pm

    mmm kale chips! it has been a long time since we made any

  7. August 13, 2012 8:18 pm

    wow those look perfect! i love the sauce! the flavor sounds magnificent!

  8. August 13, 2012 10:32 pm

    Must make sooooon! I heart kale chips but these look divine! And hello new dehydrator! Looks snazzy and sounds snazzy. I’ll take one of those too. Love the fact it’s quiet.

    • August 13, 2012 10:38 pm

      The difference in volume between the Sedona and the Excalibur is unreal! And the Sedona even has a “Night Mode” which reduces the volume even further – as though it needs it!

  9. Alayna @ Thyme Bombe permalink
    August 14, 2012 11:15 am

    Mmmm. I have yet to try any fancy kale chip recipes, so far I’ve only had them with lemon juice and salt. Must try.

  10. August 14, 2012 1:26 pm

    Amber amber amber my love my darling! I have been here almost two weeks and still haven’t had ANY kale. Can I please change my heart’s desire from raw cheezecakes and sweet things to kale chips and kale salad? Can we have kale overload? HEARTYOU! xoxo

    • August 14, 2012 1:28 pm

      Yes, yes we can! It’s probably a bad idea for me to make (let alone eat) a bunch of sweets in that last week before the wedding, anyway. (Although the following week, all bets are off.) Kale it is! At $1 a bunch at our farmers market, that’s no problem 🙂

  11. August 14, 2012 2:48 pm

    Wow, you weren’t kidding about that dehyrdrator – that is awesome!! I’m going to try these when I get mine, as I’ve not had good luck with kale chips in my oven. They look sooo good.

  12. August 14, 2012 4:44 pm

    So great you are sharing these! One of my favourite recipes from your book!

  13. theglutenfreetraveller permalink
    August 14, 2012 6:37 pm

    I have never tried kale but I keep coming across really yummy sounding recipes like this! Note to self – buy kale at tomorrow’s farmer’s market 🙂

  14. August 30, 2012 7:55 am

    I waited until i had sometime to sit down and really read this recipe and now I’m sad because I had to leave my food processor behind when I moved. I think I’m going to have to break down and buy a tiny one to make these because they really do look fabulous.

    • August 30, 2012 9:34 am

      I actually use a blender rather than a food processor here, but you can use either! A mini FP is a great investment, though – so cheap (in the U.S., at least…) and so useful!

Leave a Comment

