Skip to content
Juice Cleanse Review: Néktɘr Juice Bar

August 16, 2012

Today’s post is the fifth in a series of reviews of delivered-to-your-door 3-day juice cleanses from companies that offer nationwide delivery on their fresh juices.
See also: reviews #1, #2, #3, and #4.

Last weekend’s juice cleanse came to me courtesy of Néktɘr Juice Bar of California. Néktɘr uses a hydraulic press to extract their juices with minimal heat or friction, and they just began to ship their cleanses nationwide. (Previously they were only available for pickup at their multiple Southern California locations.)

Last Saturday through Monday, I completed their 3-day Classic juice cleanse program.

Arrival: The package was delivered between 9 and 10am, having been sent with overnight shipping in an insulated box. The contents of the box were securely packed, and everything arrived well-chilled.

I had cleared plenty of space for these round bottles in my fridge.

Options: When ordering a Néktɘr cleanse, you choose between the Classic or the Advanced level. I did the Classic, since the juice selection simply sounded tastier to me! Your cleanse can be 1, 2, 3, or 5 days long (I did 3).

Each cleanse contains a pre-selected set of 6 daily juices (i.e. you don’t have the option to choose individual juice flavors.) Each bottle is labeled with a number to indicate the order in which you should drink them. Beyond that, you get to decide how quickly and at what times of day you drink each of them.

Variety: All 3 days of the Néktɘr cleanse consist of identical sets of juices. Although you’re not able to choose your individual drinks, you do have the option to add additional à la carte drinks to the program: Mojo (pre-workout), Protein (post-workout), and Skinny Lemonade or Ginger Lemonade are available.

The Juices…

#1: apple, parsley, kale, spinach, mint, lime, cucumber, celery
Each day of the cleanse begins with this juice. It’s got a fairly strong green flavor, heavy on the parsley and kale, but enough sweetness to offset the green and make it drinkable. Not a bad start!

#2: cucumber, coconut water, pineapple
This second juice of the day was really delightful. The cucumber keeps it not-too-sweet, and the combo of coconut water and pineapple juice is pure magic.

#3: celery, parsley, kale, spinach, apple, cabbage, lemon
I think this is the first green juice I’ve had that’s included cabbage! I thought it might make it a little bitter, but that wasn’t the case. This one was nice and lemony.

#4: filtered water, lemon, agave nectar, cayenne pepper
The fourth “juice” was this Master-Cleanse-esque lemonade, a typical mid-day drink in these cleanses.

#5: apple, cucumber, parsley, spinach, lemon, ginger
This was billed as the sweetest green juice of the day, but the first one I drank tasted overwhelmingly of celery (though not necessarily in an unpleasant way). On days 2 and 3, though, it tasted appley and gingery, with a slightly spicy “bite.” Yum!

#6: filtered water, cashews, agave nectar, vanilla bean
Not surprisingly, this was my favorite drink of the day! Unlike the cashew milks I had the past two weeks, this one was well-strained and smooth as silk. I do wish they’d use dates to sweeten it instead of agave, but nonetheless, it was milkshake-delicious and dreamily creamy.

Extras: Néktɘr Juice Bar includes a handy insulated tote bag (featuring a zip top, side pocket, and stable bottom panel) to keep your juices chilled while you’re on the go. It’s roomy enough to fit a whole day’s worth of juice inside.

Another fun extra they include: almonds! These two 3-ounce containers of raw almonds are labeled “Eat in case of emergency.” I did not eat them while on the cleanse (truth be told, if I were going to “cheat,” I’d opt for something soft, like watery, ripe fruit!), but I’ll be enjoying them as a snack soon.

Cost: Néktɘr Juice Bar cleanses cost $52 a day plus shipping (which costs about $60 per 3-day cleanse). This brings the total price of a 3-day cleanse to $216, or $72 per day, making it the most inexpensive juice cleanse I’ve reviewed so far.

There is a reason for this, though: Néktɘr’s juices are NOT guaranteed organic. They do say they use all “natural” produce, very often locally grown, so there’s a good chance that the farms they purchase from grow their fruits and vegetables organically but do not have USDA certification. If you’re extremely diligent about avoiding non-organic produce, though, this may be something to take into account.

(Full disclosure: Néktɘr Juice Bar sent me this cleanse “on the house.”)

Support: Néktɘr Juice Bar sends you a pre-cleanse email and a pamphlet of post-cleanse guidelines, and offers unlimited email support with your cleanse.

How to Order: Online. They are just beginning to deliver nationwide, but local pickup is also available at their Southern California locations.

Final thoughts:
I really enjoyed this Néktɘr Juice Bar cleanse. I appreciated the variety of green juice blends it included, and the cashew milk, as I said, was stellar! I do wish they would make the nutritional info of their drinks available on their site, though—I like to be able to view those. The Néktɘr representatives were very responsive via email, so the support was great. Finally, even though their juices aren’t certified organic, Néktɘr’s cleanses are the most affordable I’ve reviewed so far, which makes them especially appealing to “average janes” like myself!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2012 2:10 pm

    All these juice cleanses look great but for some reason this one looks extra yummy. I myself am cool with local uncertified organic farms (b/c i’ve spoken to some of the ones i know of) but this one is still too pricey for me. Alas!

    • August 16, 2012 2:16 pm

      I hear ya – still too pricey for me too, at least with the shipping added on. If I lived in SoCal and could go pick these up, though, I bet I’d be all over it!

  2. corppromo permalink
    August 16, 2012 2:13 pm

    Thank you so much Amber, what is the best cleanse you would recommend then. Did you do the Blueprint cleanse?

    I am in Canada.. And need a really good detox organic..

  3. August 16, 2012 2:17 pm

    I have tried pressed juicery and blue print, but would love to try some of the others…will you give an overall favorite?? or rank in some way?

    • August 16, 2012 2:18 pm

      Yes! I’ll be “scoring” all the different companies in several categories – everything from taste, to price/value, to quality of support, and more!

  4. Mallory permalink
    August 16, 2012 4:04 pm

    Amber, another fantastic review!

  5. Andie King permalink
    August 16, 2012 7:07 pm

    I love all your reviews! I have been wanting to do a cleanse to “restart”, and I would LOVE to try this one but money is really tight right now, I was considering the Master Cleanse since its more budget friendly at the moment but have heard a lot of mixed reviews. Would you recommend it?

    • August 16, 2012 7:11 pm

      I did the Master Cleanse about 2 and a half or 3 years ago, and…well…I shudder at the thought. Haha. It was really not a pleasant experience, and in hindsight I don’t think it’s a healthy thing to do. I would hold out for a juice cleanse, personally!

  6. Christine permalink
    August 17, 2012 8:40 am

    It’s funny I was going to ask the same thing as everyone else today (which one would you recommend or how they all compare – looks like you have us all hooked!). I’m from Canada as well and really wish we had some companies here that would do these cleanses (hmmm new business venture maybe….), a shame Blueprint is the only one so far that ships here.
    Thanks for the reviews though, always helpful just in case!

  7. tem permalink
    August 20, 2012 12:34 am

    what about http://www.redcarpetcleanses.com!

  8. August 27, 2012 2:15 am

    This seems like a very interesting regimen. I’d like to read more about it. Some of these beverages sounds really tasty.

Leave a Comment

