Skip to content
2-ingredient Lemon Meringue Pie Protein Shot

August 20, 2012

File this one under “embarrassingly easy.”

My diet is not terribly interesting lately. With the wedding right around the corner (19 days…EEK!) and my thyroid still acting up, I’ve been on a rather austere regimen, plus I’ve been über-busy (and getting busier every day). Besides all the juicing I’ve been doing, my days have mainly consisted of fresh fruit, smoothies, and salads. Since I’ve also been working out quite regularly, I’ve been consuming yummy plant-based protein powders on a daily basis, too.

Plain old protein shakes get a little boring, though, so I try and find ways here and there to keep them interesting (e.g. Sugar Cookie Shakes!). This morning, as I was enjoying this pre-workout lemonade (made by Catalyst Cleanse; my review of their program – and a big discount opportunity for readers – will be posted later this week), I had an idea.

It occurred to me that a creamy lemon drink sounded very tasty. I decided to make myself a miniature one, just to see it if was any good…and it was! It tasted reminiscent of lemon meringue pie. Thus, this embarrassingly easy, 2-ingredient “protein shot” was born. It’s got carbs and protein in one tiny package, making it perfect for post-workout sipping.

Make sure to use a protein powder you love the flavor of on its own, and if you want to get fancy, pour it into an actual shotglass before you drink it. (I got this shotglass at Oktoberfest in Munich in 2009!)

Lemon Meringue Pie Protein Shot

dairy-free, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, soy-free, nut-free, high-protein, raw

1/4 cup prepared lemonade
Scant 1/2 scoop
(~10 grams) vanilla-flavored protein powder (like Sunwarrior)

Combine all ingredients in a small glass and stir with a fork until smooth. Drink immediately.

Yield: 1 teensy serving
Per serving: 65 calories, .7g fat (trace sat), 8.5g carbs, .5g fiber, 7.7g protein

Bottoms up!

 

32 Comments leave one →
  1. GGirlGGreen permalink
    August 20, 2012 3:22 pm

    LOL, looks easy enough! Glad you are starting to feel better! Cant wait to see pictures from your big day! xox

  2. Linda permalink
    August 20, 2012 3:27 pm

    need one more ingredient to make it a shot: at least vodka lol !

  3. bitt permalink
    August 20, 2012 4:17 pm

    great idea! i have some vanilla Vega I will try it with. probably just lemon juice is enough due to the stevia in there, but i also have lemon stevia to add. good luck with all the wedding stuff. hope you post some of the highlights here!

    • August 20, 2012 4:19 pm

      Is it the new lemon-flavored NuNaturals stevia? I’ve heard good things about it.
      I’m sure I’ll post so much wedding stuff it’ll make you all sick 😉

  4. Tara permalink
    August 20, 2012 6:14 pm

    19 Days, holy cow, time flies!!! You must be SOOO excited! (and nervous!) I’m looking forward to all of those wedding posts!!!

    • August 20, 2012 7:20 pm

      Excited/nervous/terrified…same thing, right? ;P I’m really only scared that something will go wrong. It seems that in planning this wedding, everything that could go wrong HAS gone wrong, and some things are still up in the air as we speak. Fingers and toes crossed!

  5. August 20, 2012 6:53 pm

    So exciting that you’re 19 days away! Congratulations!! I love weddings so you cannot post too much IMO. 🙂

    I’m still interested in trying a juice cleanse, so I’ll see what you have to say about Catalyst. I liked what you had to say about Nektar, particularly the smoothness of the nut milk drink, but their website says still not shipping. I’ve never done a cleanse before, do you think 5 days is too long?

    • August 20, 2012 7:23 pm

      Hehe! Ok, that’s good to know 🙂

      I’m not sure why Nekter’s site still says they’re not shipping outside CA. If you end up choosing that one, I can put you in contact with someone there.
      The Catalyst Cleanse has been AWESOME, though, and they’ll be offering a sizable discount to my readers, so you might want to stay tuned for that review later this week 😉
      You say you haven’t done a cleanse before, but what’s your daily diet like? If it’s pretty clean (no dairy or sugar, lots of raw foods, etc.) then you may be able to do a 5-day cleanse right out of the gate. If you’re at all unsure, though, I’d start with a 3-day.

  6. August 20, 2012 8:16 pm

    You left out the vodka…
    lol…………..

  7. August 20, 2012 8:31 pm

    i could totally go for a spiked one right now:) haha looks great!

  8. August 21, 2012 12:57 pm

    that’s easy and oh so smart!! Yay for your wedding being so close – can’t wait to see the pictures

  9. August 21, 2012 2:49 pm

    If the wedding is in 19 days… guess what will happen sooner than that, woot woot!!

    (As soon as I’m actually able to sort out my movements, that is.)

    • August 21, 2012 2:55 pm

      Yes, you really do need to get that figured out and clue me in so I can plan my schedule accordingly!

      We just bought an air mattress for you this past Sunday 😀

      • August 27, 2012 8:12 pm

        Oh my gosh, thank you!! That’s so lovely 🙂 🙂

  10. August 21, 2012 7:35 pm

    i saw you in the paper this last week!! 🙂 Congrats on the upcoming wedding. I love wedding cakes.. would love to see pics of yours! 🙂

    • August 21, 2012 7:39 pm

      Funny you should mention the cake…oh, the cake. Believe it or not, that is still up in the air for us. Drama-rama! 😦 You don’t happen to bake gluten-free vegan wedding cakes, do you?! Hehe.

      • August 23, 2012 9:25 am

        Lol I’m not sure if you got my reply via email, but i haven’t tried a ton of GF baking… Vegan though is easy. I could try my hand at it or help you prep your own if you needed. 🙂

      • August 23, 2012 9:29 am

        I didn’t get your email for some reason! Sending you another email now…

  11. Suzie Blair permalink
    August 23, 2012 2:05 pm

    Amber, after seeing your lemonade drink recipe, I decided to purchase some of the Sunwarrior Raw Vanilla protein powder, I have stayed away from protein powders because I thought they were all soy based. My question is, is this to help a vegan get more protein or is it more for a body builder. Thank-you for helping me.

    P.S. Your book is on order, I am just beginning to dip my toe into raw.

    Thank-you again,
    Suzie

    • August 23, 2012 5:11 pm

      Hi Suzie,
      Protein powder is for everyone! There actually aren’t separate types for regular people vs. bodybuilders – bodybuilders tend to eat much more of it, but the real reason they’re able to grow so much muscle is because of their workouts. So don’t worry, protein powder won’t make you bulky! It just makes a nice addition to the diet of any active vegan. 🙂

Leave a Comment

