Skip to content

Juice Cleanse Review: Catalyst Cleanse

August 23, 2012

Today’s post is the sixth in a series of reviews of delivered-to-your-door 3-day juice cleanses from companies that offer nationwide delivery on their fresh juices.
See also: reviews #1, #2, #3, #4, and #5.

Last weekend’s juice cleanse came to me courtesy of Catalyst Cleanse, based out of Philadelphia, PA. Catalyst Cleanse cold-presses all their juices so every raw nutrient stays intact, and though they’re not USDA certified organic, they do use almost all organic produce.

Last Saturday through Monday, I completed their 3-day Signature juice cleanse program.

Arrival: The package was delivered between 12:30 and 1:30pm on Friday afternoon. It was sent with overnight shipping in an insulated box, but only guaranteed delivery before 3pm, so I waited until the following day to begin the cleanse. (I had known that ahead of time and planned for it, though, so it was not a big deal.) The contents of the box were snugly and securely packed, and even with the later delivery, everything arrived well-chilled.

The square shape of the bottles allowed me to stack them on top of one another in my fridge if needed.

Options: Catalyst Cleanse offers one 3-day program, called their Signature Juice Cleanse. It contains a pre-selected set of six daily juices. Each bottle is labeled with a number to indicate the order in which you should drink them. Beyond that, you get to decide how quickly and at what times of day you drink each of them.

Variety: Other than the two green juices, every drink of the day is different (though the selection doesn’t vary day-by-day), with an enticing mix of fruits and vegetables utilized in each juice. Catalyst Cleanse does vary some of their drinks seasonally to take advantage of the freshest local produce.

The Juices…

1. Green Juice: cucumber, celery, apple, parsley, spinach, lemon, lime, ginger
Catalyst’s classic green juice is exactly what an emerald elixir such as this should taste like: pleasantly mild, moderately sweet, a tiny bit bitter. Drinkable and energizing!

2. Spicy Lemonade: lemon, agave, cayenne
I will confess, I’d become a little tired of this Master Cleanse drink, since almost every juice cleanse I’ve done this summer has included one, but I was very pleasantly surprised by Catalyst’s version. It’s considerably less tart than the others I’ve had recently, and the cayenne only barely makes itself known. This is the kind of lemonade I’d love to sip a whole pitcher of while lounging next to a pool in the summer heat…refreshing!

3. Sweet Carrot Juice: carrot, apple, celery, lemon, lime
Considering I’m not a huge fan of carrot juice, I was not expecting to love this one as much as I did. The carrotiness (I don’t care if it’s not a word!) is balanced by the slightly-tart apple taste and a hint of salty celery. This was an incredibly enjoyable drink!

4. Watermelon Lime: watermelon, lime
Um, need I say more? You know I love a good watermelon juice, and this one really hit the spot. It tastes like pure, juicy, unadulterated melon nectar; it was sweet and full-flavored, and left me wanting more! I’ve thought about it often since then, in fact…I’m a little obsessed.

5. Green Juice: cucumber, celery, apple, parsley spinach, lemon, lime, ginger
This juice was identical to juice #1, and equally tasty.

6. Cashew Milk: cashews, agave, vanilla, cinnamon
Oh, sweet creamy goodness! I adored this cashew milk. It was described as tasting “like melted ice cream,” and it actually does! As I’ve noted with other cleanses, I can’t help but wish they’d use dates to sweeten this drink instead of agave, but the sweetness level is right on target. As usual, I loved having a richer and more filling drink like this awaiting me at the end of each day. I was so sad when the last one was gone!

Extras: Catalyst Cleanse keeps it simple, sending you all juice and nothing but the juice!

Cost: Catalyst Cleanses cost $60 a day plus shipping (which starts at $32 per 3-day cleanse; the cost increases the further away from the Northeast you live). This brings the total price of a 3-day cleanse to $212 and up, or about $70 and up per day.
(Full disclosure: Catalyst Cleanse sent me this cleanse “on the house.”)

Support: Catalyst Cleanse sends you detailed emails – one the day before your cleanse starts, and one on the last day of your cleanse – with tips and guidelines, and offers unlimited email support.

How to Order: By phone (1-877-566-2988) or online. They deliver nationwide. (Alternatively, free local pickup is available at their three Philly-area locations.)

Final Thoughts: I really can’t say enough good things about Catalyst Cleanse. Every drink seemed to taste better than the last. The green juices were mild and pleasant, the lemonade was perfect, the sweet carrot-apple juice was a surprise delight, the watermelon drink was out of this world, and the cashew milk was utterly delectable. The folks I corresponded with at Catalyst Cleanse were incredibly nice people, too—always a bonus. On top of all that, their juice cleanses are more affordable than many…and I have a treat for you: a way to save even more $$!

SWEET DEAL! Catalyst Cleanse is extending an exclusive $50 discount to
Almost Vegan readers.  This means that for a limited time, you can get one of Catalyst’s 3-day Signature Juice Cleanses for only $130 plus the cost of shipping!
To take advantage of this deal, email Toni at Catalyst Cleanse directly at toni@catalystcleanse.com—just let her know Amber sent you, and you’ll save
50 bucks, easy as that. 🙂

36 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer permalink
    August 23, 2012 9:53 am

    Woo Hoo! I am fired up about this. I’m going to order it for next weekend. Any advice for a first time juice cleanse, or what to expect? I read their website advice, but I’d appreicate any thoughts you have as well.

    I am going to email Toni right now. Thanks again, Amber, I’m excited!!

    • August 23, 2012 10:00 am

      Yay! I’m glad I could help you get a good deal 😛 Hmm, advice…I’d be certain to space out your juices at least 2 hours apart – you don’t want to get to 6pm and have no more drinks for the day! That said, IF you feel you have to “cheat,” I highly recommend you choose to nosh on tiny bites of water-rich fruit, like melon. Definitely don’t eat a big handful of nuts or a muffin or anything like that, haha. Adding a LITTLE bit of fruit won’t affect your results too much (but only if you feel you absolutely need it). After the cleanse, ease back into eating SLOWLY starting with raw fruits and veggies. Lastly, drink lots of water (and tea, if you’re a tea person) in between juices to help you stay “full”!

      • August 23, 2012 11:14 am

        I’m with Jennifer, I think this may be the “one”! woo hoo! do you recommend weekends for the “cleanse” factor or could i do it during the work week?

      • August 23, 2012 11:37 am

        Hey Kelly, that’s probably just up to personal preference. I’ve been doing mine on the weekends, since that’s when I tend to have a tad more trouble “eating clean”! But I imagine it could also make for a low-stress 3 days of the workweek to have all your “meals” prepared and ready to go.

        • Jennifer permalink
          August 23, 2012 1:05 pm

          Thank you for that advice. I’m working with Toni, so I’ll do the cleanse next weekend. Sadly the shipping is as much as the order, so it’s nice to have the discount.

        • August 23, 2012 1:07 pm

          Damn, that sucks about the shipping! 😦 But, at least the discount helps.
          Hope you enjoy your cleanse!

  2. August 23, 2012 10:50 am

    oooh watermelon lime!! sounds amazing!

  3. Carrie permalink
    August 23, 2012 10:57 am

    All these different cleanses are starting to blur together. I’m sure you feel the same way, haha! I wonder why they all include that damn MC lemonade? Is it to give it the “cleanse” feel?

    • August 23, 2012 10:59 am

      Haha, yes, in a way! I’m not sure what the deal is with the popularity of the MC drink – maybe it’s just super easy to make.

  4. Kristina Vera permalink
    August 23, 2012 2:15 pm

    thank you so much for these reviews they really help me so much! I cant afford them so reading about them makes me feel right there with you

    • August 23, 2012 5:12 pm

      Aw, you bet Kristina! I’ve been worried people would get sick of these reviews 🙂 I hope not, as I still have at least 2 more to go!

  5. August 23, 2012 3:47 pm

    You know, as soon as I saw the first photo with the vibrant colours I had a feeling I’d like this company. I kind wish I’d been there to do this with you 😛

  6. August 23, 2012 4:57 pm

    Amber, I am so stoked! I live close enough to one of their pick-up locations!!! 😀 I am having tennis elbow surgery next month…. on a Monday…so I think it would be a great idea for me to do the 5-day cleanse while I recover. This is perfect! Thank you so much for the review, and for the $50 discount! :p

    • August 23, 2012 5:14 pm

      Ooh, that is awesome – lucky you that you live within pickup distance! Good luck on your surgery, and I’m so glad I could help you save some $$ on a cleanse!

  7. MamaGee permalink
    August 23, 2012 6:43 pm

    I had no idea these type of juice cleanse packages were even available – all raw and fresh and labelled in order to drink??! Get out! I’m dying here – I envy your position of ‘testing’ them all out, ah someone’s gotta do it hey? 😉 I enjoy following your blog so much! Hopefully all the juicy cleansing will help your healthy improve more soon too…

    • August 23, 2012 6:58 pm

      Not only are they available, but there are more options/companies out there than I ever dreamed of! When I started reviewing these, I thought I was going to do just 3 or 4, but as the series gained momentum, the offers kept coming. And I’d never turn down such opportunities! I’m very fortunate to have the chance to try all these 🙂 and yes, hopefully I’m reaping many health rewards at the same time!

  8. Sue permalink
    August 25, 2012 4:28 pm

    Good to see more East Coast options, may they keep coming! Glad you enjoyed this, the cashew milk and green juice sounds real good.

    Me being a green juice fan, I wish you could substitute the Ginger Carrot and Beet juices for green, but otherwise this sounds like a good cleanse. Different strokes 🙂

    Ginger and Beets are my kryptonite for the most part (although I can handle the BluePrint green w/ ginger and beets are so sweet they knock me out.)

    Thanks for reviewing these Amber. I hope more companies are around. I’d love to see Pressed open an East Coast branch, I’d try them instantly if they did.

    • August 25, 2012 4:37 pm

      Catalyst would coordinate with you and allow to switch up the juices in your cleanse, if you wanted to!
      Next week’s review will be of another east coast company, by the way!

  9. August 25, 2012 10:29 pm

    Amber, how long will this company be offering the discount? I really like the sound of the ‘milk’ at the end of the day…and the price is reasonable. I’d love to do a juice cleanse in the ‘near’ future…just probably couldn’t happen in the next months–the moving situation…and then not even knowing where we’ll be in a month. :-/ And this is so weird…we’re turning in our application in on Monday for the Library Lofts. But will we even move in? I couldn’t even tell you. LOL………..

    • August 25, 2012 10:37 pm

      SO many things are up in the air for you right now! I for one hope you do move into the Library Lofts 😉
      Catalyst Cleanse didn’t specify and “end date” for this discount – I would say, send Toni an email and ask her how far in the future they’d be willing to let you schedule your cleanse!

      • August 25, 2012 11:19 pm

        Yes, I really liked them. I think we may have looked at your ‘garage-view’ today, lol. 🙂 It was actually a nice unit–ceilings were nice and high. But we settled on something that had a different view, simply because the price was lower. I don’t know…we’ll see what happens. And now there’s a possible move to Columbia, MO. Not happy about that…but the pay for hubz is around $85k per year, like DOUBLE what he makes now. Location sucks, but I’m sure it will lead to better cities in the future. Everything is still up in the air for sure. Anyhow, thanks…I will e-mail the company and see how long they will provide this generous offer. I’m going to, in the meantime, try doing like one-day-per-week juice cleanses on my own. xx

      • August 26, 2012 12:21 pm

        Columbia?! No no no, it’s definitely not worth moving if it’s Columbia you’d have to move to. Blah! But, I certainly understand the lure of the $$…

  10. Melanie permalink
    August 26, 2012 7:48 am

    I love these reviews and can’t wait to try catalyst! Right now I am “borrowing” all of the combinations and juicing at home. The watermelon, strawberry, coconut water is ah-mazing! I drove far and wide to get some harmless harvest raw coco water because I don’t own a cleaver to open my own!

    • August 26, 2012 12:19 pm

      Great idea on the “borrowing”!
      I got my cleaver for just $8 at an Asian market – I suggest you look there, if you ever decide to get one!

  11. August 26, 2012 2:32 pm

    Will you be reviewing Revitalive? Just saw it when looking through a search. They offer juice through the day and a raw meal (salad, soup, dessert) for the evening. Good option for those who might find a day without any chewing too much to handle. 3 or 5 day options.

    • August 26, 2012 2:34 pm

      I haven’t heard of Revitalive, actually. I just looked them up, but it appears they only deliver in and around Boston, not nationwide. 😦
      Speaking of juice + dinner cleanses, Catalyst also offers a “JAR” program (Juicy And Raw) with 4 daily juices + a raw food dinner and dessert. I’m sure if you emailed Toni about that, they’d apply the $50 discount to one of those!

  12. Lisa S permalink
    August 27, 2012 3:01 pm

    Amber,

    I just thought I would let you know that I emailed Toni about the cleanse and the associated shipping costs. She indicated there should be no Ground shipping option for the $33-ish cost you mention above as this takes 3 or so days and by the time the juice would arrive it would be spoiled. Rather the shipping is overnight and for a Houston, TX delivery it would be approx $95 (which is the 3 p.m. time you mention) or for an extra $5 to guarantee a 10:30 am delivery. An Arvada, CO shipment cost I’m sure would be comparable within a few dollars.

    This brings the total price of a 3 day cleanse to approximately $275. Pretty pricey to me and possibly cost prohibitive. This is, of course, without the $50 savings being offered for your blog readers. You may want to speak with Toni directly and update your review, if necessary so potential customers are faced with sticker shock. Or correct me if I have misunderstood shipping calculations.

    • August 27, 2012 4:58 pm

      Hey Lisa,
      Sorry for the confusion! In the post I said shipping “starts at $32 per 3-day cleanse; the cost increases the further away from the Northeast you live.” Since shipping for these juices must always be for overnight delivery, basically that means that if you live in New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, etc. then overnight shipping costs about $32. The further away from the Northeastern U.S. you live, the more shipping will cost – so shipping to Texas or Colorado costs more than shipping to New York, for example, and shipping to California would cost more than shipping to TX or CO.
      Hope that makes more sense! 🙂

      • Lisa S permalink
        August 27, 2012 5:06 pm

        That does make sense, and I did not miss the “starts at $32 per 3-day cleanse; the cost increases the further away from the Northeast you live.” The confusing part is the choice of Ground shipping is offered during the ordering process. The price for that choice is approximately $33 which makes it seem like that is a valid choice. This is a bit confusing which Toni recognized and I’m sure will be corrected.

      • August 27, 2012 6:55 pm

        Ohh, I see what you mean. I didn’t know Catalyst’s site mistakenly offers a “ground shipping” option, hmm. Hopefully that’s something they’ll get corrected ASAP!
        Thanks Lisa!

        • Lisa S permalink
          August 28, 2012 9:06 pm

          I ordered my cleanse today for a Friday delivery. Toni was amazing and very, very patient with all my queries. If customer service is any indication of how good their product is then I’m in for a real treat. I’ll let you know how it goes. And, I was able to get the watermelon + lime juice!! They are stopping that combination on Thursday.

        • August 28, 2012 9:19 pm

          So happy to hear that, Lisa! Toni’s a gem, isn’t she? Do let me know how the cleanse goes!
          AND, lucky you that you’re getting the last of the watermelon-lime juice! It is SO GOOD!

  13. ReesaS permalink
    August 30, 2012 9:57 pm

    Did any of the cleanses cause diarrhea? I am trying to get my mom to do a cleanse with me and that is what she is afraid of

    • August 30, 2012 11:05 pm

      Not at all! In fact, since there’s no fiber in juice, it’s more likely that BM frequency would decrease rather than increase.

Leave a Comment

