Skip to content
Bachelorette party ice cream social + engagement pics

August 27, 2012

Up until now, I’ve relegated almost all wedding talk to my Rose Pedals column, so any wedding-hating readers won’t have cause to complain. But after mentioning the wedding last week and getting a slew of people asking for me to blog more about it, I figured I’d subject you to at least one pre-marriage post here. Wedding-haters need not roll their eyes too much; Matt and I are NOT your average groom and bride, and our wedding is NOT going to be typical or traditional in almost any way. You’ll see! I’m going to make this post heavy on photos and light on text (though there are a couple recipes buried in there), so skeptics can skim right through. πŸ˜‰

This past weekend, Matt and I had our bachelor and bachelorette parties. While he was off doing boy-stuff with his friends, I invited people over to our apartment for my co-ed bachelorette shindig. (We’re not having bridesmaids or groomsmen at our wedding, so although Matt’s friends planned his party for him, I did the planning for mine all by myself.) I had a big green juice in the early evening to offset the damage I knew I was going to do later.

After that, I slapped on some makeup and got ready to par-tay!
I kicked the night off with an Ice Cream Social.

Several friends came over early, and we attacked a variety of pints of SoDelicious dairy-free ice cream.

More friends arrived…

…and as the alcohol began to flow…

…so did the ice cream continue to be enjoyed. Lots.

I’d gone all out and whipped up a couple of homemade ice cream toppings that we drizzled with abandon.

Chocolate-Coconut Fudge Sauce
1/2 cup melted coconut oil
1/4 cup agave or coconut nectar
1/4 cup raw cacao powder
2 tablespoons hempmilk (or another nondairy milk)
Pinch of sea salt

Blend or whisk all ingredients together until smooth.

Salted Peanut Butter Caramel Sauce
1/2 cup creamy natural peanut butter
3 oz. brown rice syrup
3 oz. hempmilk (or another nondairy milk)
1/8 teaspoon sea salt

Blend or whisk all ingredients together until smooth.

I’d also baked up some EatPastry GF chocolate chip cookies and chopped them up to sprinkle on top of our SoDelicious ice cream creations.

My Ice Cream Social idea was a hit.

After that, things got a little naughty. It was a bachelorette party, after all! BUT I’ll spare you all that. Suffice it to say, the drinking and carousing went on into the wee hours of the morning, and things got pretty wild.

I had SO MUCH FUN! Thanks again to all my wonderful friends who showed up and made it a great night!

NOW, moving on! I figured I’d also show you some photos we just had taken a couple weeks ago by our wedding photographer, Steve Melvin. (He’s the same one that took the photos of me in Practically Raw!) I guess you could call them “engagement photos,” even though they were taken 10 months after we got engaged! The Kauffman Center provided a beautiful backdrop.

Thanks for the great photos, Steve!

Alright, enough wedding-y stuff for now…although rest assured I will be posting about it after the big day…which is 12 DAYS away! SHEESH!

See ya back here later this week for, you guessed it, another juice cleanse review.

51 Comments leave one →
  1. Angela O'Brien permalink
    August 27, 2012 12:45 pm

    Great pics & I absolutely LOVE the ice cream social idea!!

  2. August 27, 2012 12:47 pm

    Aww you guys are so adorable! Looks like you had a lot of fun this weekend–the ice cream social sounds like a really fun idea πŸ™‚

  3. August 27, 2012 12:58 pm

    the ice cream social idea sounds amazing! ice cream and alcohol- the perfect bachelorette party! also, you look phenomenal! so excited for your wedding and hearing all about it!

    • August 27, 2012 12:59 pm

      I’m actually surprised (and pleased) at how many people actually WANT me to blog about this stuff, hehe! I encounter so many people who can’t stand hearing other people talk about their weddings, so I’ve kept mine pretty quiet. But I’ll be blogging PLENTY about the big day! πŸ˜€

  4. August 27, 2012 1:03 pm

    Awww love the pics!!!!! you look so happy, and beautiful!! πŸ™‚
    Hope you have been feeling wellll, tooo! xo!

  5. August 27, 2012 1:28 pm

    Your freaking hair is adorbs!!! Loving the updo-ish style (I don’t every think I’ve seen you with your hair up!). Can’t wait for the wedding pics too ❀

    • August 27, 2012 1:31 pm

      Thanks, hehe! I’ve never done ANYTHING like this with my hair before – I just generally don’t do anything with it, period. I’m liking it too!

  6. August 27, 2012 1:29 pm

    I’ve never even heard of an Ice Cream Social event before this. What a fabulous idea! The sauces you made look (and sound) amazing btw..thx for sharing the recipes :)) the photos look great..and sooo cute too!

  7. August 27, 2012 1:32 pm

    I wish I wish I love I miss always always can’t wait my dear soon soon! xoxo

  8. August 27, 2012 2:01 pm

    How soon is the wedding?? Congratulations again. You look beautiful, and so happy!

  9. August 27, 2012 2:50 pm

    awesome photos!! YOu look gorgeous!! yay for the wedding being SO SOON!!!

    PS. I love the steamy engagement photos! *meow* πŸ˜‰

    Enjoy every second!

  10. Mallory permalink
    August 27, 2012 5:17 pm

    Amber, Great photo’s! I especially LOVE the 6th one! But they’re all soooo cute! It looks like you had a blast at your party! BTW thanx for the awesome chocolate sauce recipe! YUUUM πŸ˜€

  11. August 27, 2012 5:19 pm

    Aww you guys are just the cutest! Amazing pictures and what a fun idea for your bachelorette! Good luck on the big day πŸ™‚

  12. August 27, 2012 5:56 pm

    Hi There Beautiful Amber,

    I LOVE the idea of an ice cream party – fabulous (well ice cream and liquor)!! And what amazing pictures. How fun. You two are just lovely – what a handsome fellow you snagged there. I can imagine you are going to be the most gorgeous bride! And, you sound like an awesome bride too (doing things you way). Good for you.

    We had a low-stress wedding in the mountains. Small, fun and everything about it was us. I married my best friend that day…and 10 years later it’s still awesome. I wish you all the love and happiness you deserve.

    I hope your health is cooperating. You look well in the pictures. Thinking about you bride-to-be…and I, for one, look forward to MORE pictures. Love the pictures. πŸ™‚

    Hugs,
    –Amber

    • August 27, 2012 7:04 pm

      Aw, thank you so very much Amber. I’ve caught a LOT of flack throughout the planning process for the unconventional nuptials we’re planning…but it’s really important for us to do our thing, our way!

      Thanks for all your sweet words! ❀

  13. August 27, 2012 5:59 pm

    I’m glad you had a great bachelorette party — the ice cream social was really fun idea! The engagement pictures are fantastic, too. The Kauffman Center is a great place for photos (it almost doesn’t even look real in the daylight shots!).

    PS. Love your hair!

    • August 27, 2012 7:05 pm

      In those first couple photos it almost looks like it’s sitting in the middle of a field somewhere, doesn’t it? Instead of right smack next to downtown. πŸ™‚

  14. August 27, 2012 6:06 pm

    The ice cream looks great, and the engagement pictures are so original and interesting (unlike my boring ones!)…but I have to say, the thing that impressed me the most was your cool apartment! I mean, seriously, I had to look 2-3 more times to make sure you said apartment and not some cool bar or something. Seriously…your kitchen rocks! πŸ™‚

    • August 27, 2012 7:06 pm

      Haha! Thanks Bethany – after 6 years in an apartment where the kitchen was smaller than the closet, I’m seriously in love with our new kitchen. You can take a “tour” of it here!

  15. Jennifer permalink
    August 27, 2012 6:31 pm

    What a fun party idea! Also, your hair looked amazing that night, SOOO pretty! And the engagement pictures are awesome, you guys look great.

    I love seeing the KC pictures, etc. I lived in KC for 13 years and I miss it, sniff sniff!!

    And count me in on one of those readers who do want to see wedding related pics. I love everything about weddings!

    • August 27, 2012 7:07 pm

      Thanks Jennifer! I had my “trial run” hair appointment that afternoon – I like how it turned out πŸ˜‰

      I’m so happy to hear how many people do love weddings after all! Sometimes I feel like I’m surrounded by people who hate all things wedding-related =X

  16. Shawn K. permalink
    August 27, 2012 8:52 pm

    Amber, your bachelorette party looks like so much fun and you look truly gorgeous! The photos of you and Matt are just beautiful! I couldn’t be happier for you. You are one special lady and Matt is a lucky guy! (I’m guessing he knows that.) Congrats, Amber! ❀

  17. Silvia permalink
    August 27, 2012 9:33 pm

    What awesome pics!!! Very original and modern.Really-I hadn’t seem something so great and “out of the box” for a while.

    I love that they are so natural-you are both so relaxed and the happiness (and a little bit of tasteful naughtiness πŸ˜‰ ) comes through. Congrats!!

    • August 27, 2012 9:36 pm

      Hehe! Aw, thank you Silvia! I think Matt’s and my personal style definitely came through πŸ˜‰ I’ll pass your sweet compliments on to him!

  18. August 28, 2012 1:00 am

    I can’t believe how soon your big day is! Time has gotten all squishy and scrunchy with my having been gone so long. Looks and sounds like a wonderful night–I’m so glad you have such a group of friends, who all look like they really care about you and are goodhearted people.
    I’d love to talk soon, whenever you have a split minute–sorry I’m not totally caught up on you but you’re in my heart-thoughts and I’m wishing everything good for you.
    love
    Ela

  19. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts permalink
    August 28, 2012 4:11 am

    I’m getting married this Saturday, also in a non-traditional wedding (well, semi-traditional I guess – but on our terms and thus small!). I’m always pleased to hear of other people doing things their way and I hope your day is wonderful when it comes!

  20. August 28, 2012 9:45 am

    I’ve been wondering about your wedding, so I didn’t mind this post at all. The ice cream social looked like a blast. Excellent idea. The photos are great, too. Love your outfit. You look marvelous. Thanks for sharing.

  21. August 28, 2012 2:28 pm

    Lovely post, Amber! You guys are awesome! I’m so sorry that I can’t join you to celebrate your wedding, but I definitely encourage you to share to your heart’s content. πŸ™‚ Those pics of you and Matt are amazing (you look great!) and your personalities really show through. I can’t wait to see the wedding pics! Best wishes to you both!

  22. August 28, 2012 9:59 pm

    You’re so cute and fun! I love the pictures. And I love the idea of putting those sauces in those squirty bottles. I’m glad you’re having a good time during this phase of life.

  23. August 28, 2012 11:23 pm

    You use the squeeze bottles…just like I do. πŸ™‚ (Old habits of a cake decorator/pastry chef…they will never die…) EVERYTHING goes in those suckers. My husband makes fun of me, hehe. The engagement photos are amazing. Please do tell where you got the black jacket…
    I think the ice cream social + alcohol is an EXCELLENT idea. Not much prepping, and lots of fun to be had. You apartment looks amazing as well. IF we ever make it into ours, I hope to have some fun there as well. I don’t think we have quite as much space as you do, but it’s still a good amount of space for what we will be paying. (It’s very difficult to find the cost of downtown/urban living that is affordable like you do in Kansas City–we’ve done real estate searches in SO MANY cities and K.C. has a great and affordable housing market…) We turned in our deposit and applications today…so we’ll see what happens. That call from Austin could come any day now however… (And we are NOT going to Columbia, thank goodness!! They wanted us to live on property at the hotel, lol…at least we would have saving A LOT of money!) Ahhh. My life. πŸ™‚

    • August 29, 2012 10:06 am

      Ooh, how exciting you put down your deposit on a place here! Yay!

      My jacket…I got it YEARS ago, at Hot Topic, I believe πŸ˜› Yeah, I still wear clothes from high school…

      • August 30, 2012 9:41 am

        Move-in date is the 27th…if we don’t get the call from Austin. I have this very *strange* feeling however there will be a change in job location but necessarily living location. We shall see. πŸ™‚ That’s awesome that you are still rockin’ clothes from H.S. I am 31 years old and STILL wear my high school track and field warm-up jacket, lol. It’s really warm and comfy and does not look 14 years old, so why not?? I’ve got jeans from Express that I purchased nearly a decade ago, still in great shape…just can’t fit into them, lol.
        And wow…the wedding is right around the corner! Can’t wait to see the pictures!

  24. September 19, 2012 8:20 am

    My hubby and I had an ice cream social several years back after we got married and fixed up our house… I think it’s about time to have another one!

  25. September 25, 2012 5:16 pm

    Apparently, I’m about two months behind on my blog reading. Yikes!

    Love your engagement-ish photos. You could have been a model. Very natural in front of the camera. Great lines. (Did I really just say that? Ha!)

    Fun idea with the ice cream social πŸ™‚

    • September 25, 2012 5:18 pm

      Aww…thank you! 20 lbs ago, maybe I could’ve been πŸ˜› Funny you say that, because I feel totally UNnatural in front of the camera!

Leave a Comment

