Skip to content
Juice Cleanse Review: Life Juice

August 30, 2012

Today’s post is the seventh in a series of reviews of delivered-to-your-door 3-day juice cleanses from companies that offer nationwide delivery on their fresh juices.
See also: reviews #1, #2, #3, #4, #5, and #6.

Last weekend’s juice cleanse came to me courtesy of Life Juice, based out of New York. Life Juice cold-presses all their juices with minimal heat and friction, preserving the vitamins and enzymes within.

Last Saturday through Monday, I completed their 3-day juice cleanse program.

Arrival: The package was delivered around 2pm on Friday afternoon. It was sent with overnight shipping in an insulated box, but only guaranteed delivery before 3pm, so I waited until the following day to begin the cleanse. (I had known that ahead of time and planned for it, though, so it was not a big deal.) The contents of the box were snugly and securely packed.

The juices were actually frozen when they arrived; this is the first time I’ve encountered that. They thawed most of the way overnight in the fridge, though there were still ice chunks in some of them the next morning.

Options: Life Juice offers one 3-day program, called their Signature Juice Cleanse. It contains a pre-selected set of six daily juices. Each bottle is labeled with a number to indicate the order in which you should drink them. Beyond that, you get to decide how quickly and at what times of day you drink each of them.

Variety: Other than the two green juices, every drink of the day is different (though the selection doesn’t vary day-by-day).

The Juices…

1. Himalayan Sea Salt Solé: filtered spring water, lemon, Himalayan sea salt
Solé is basically salt water. Solé-philes might jump to tell me it’s so much more, but basically, it’s mineral-rich Himalayan sea salt dissolved in water; Life Juice adds lemon juice to theirs. As much as I’m all for remineralizing, I’m not a big fan of drinking salty water, so I actually skipped this drink on days 2 and 3.

2. Alkaline Blend: apple, carrot, cucumber, lemon, celery, beet, spinach, kale, parsley, ginger
The first “real” juice of the day is this crimson concoction. It’s heavy on the apple, making it quite sweet, but I loved that about it. Very tasty!

3. Oh My Green Goodness: apple, cucumber, celery, lemon, spinach, kale, parsley, ginger
Also an apple-heavy blend, this green juice is sweeter than average. I tend to be a fan of sweeter juices, though, so this got two thumbs up from me! It doesn’t have even a whisper of bitterness.

4. Energizer Bunny: apple, carrot, lemon, ginger
Another very sweet juice, this one had a distinct carrot-ginger scent, but tasted predominantly of apple.

5. Oh My Green Goodness: apple, cucumber, celery, lemon, spinach, kale, parsley, ginger
This juice was identical to juice #3.

6. Toasty Spiced Almond Milk: filtered water, raw almonds, dates, cinnamon, clove, nutmeg
At last, another date-sweetened nut milk! This drink really wasn’t very sweet at all, though; I even added a pinch of stevia. The clove flavor was very strong here, which took me off guard at first, but it did lend it a “toasty” quality. Life Juice actually recommends warming this drink up gently before serving, but I never took the time to do that. Having been frozen, this drink had a tendency to separate, but it still tasted alright.

Extras: Life Juice delivers the cleanse in a giant, grocery-sack-sized insulated cooler bag with a zip-top closure. They also include a small insulated tote bag to keep one or two of your juices chilled while you’re on the go.

Cost: Life Juice cleanses cost $60 a day plus shipping (which costs about $42 per 3-day cleanse). This brings the total price of a 3-day cleanse to $222, or $74 per day.
(Full disclosure: Life Juice sent me this cleanse “on the house.”)

Support: The Life Juice website is packed with information, tips, and guidelines, and they offer unlimited email support with your cleanse.

How to Order: Online. They deliver nationwide.

Final Thoughts: Life Juice‘s juice drinks are sweeter than those of most other cleanses, no doubt due to a greater use of apples in their juice bases, but I loved the sweetness. Although I wasn’t as big a fan of the solé or the spiced almond milk, I appreciated their inclusion in the lineup. I wasn’t wild on the fact that the juices were frozen before shipping; I think as long as they’re meant to be consumed within 3 days of receipt, the freezing isn’t necessary. I like that the nutrition facts for each drink are printed right on the bottle, and that Life Juice’s website offers a wealth of information on cleansing, including pre- and post-cleanse guides. All in all, a worthwhile juice cleanse, and on the lower end of the typical price range.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2012 9:21 am

    Amber, with all those juice cleanses almost every week I was wondering… how do you feel, with more energy or less, did you lose weight, etc. I think other people will be interested too in your personal experience and feelings with all those juices :))

    • August 30, 2012 9:28 am

      All good questions, Nadia! I do plan on doing a post about all that (since those things aren’t specific to any one juice cleanse) – AFTER the wedding, though. Way too much to do in the next 9 days, aaahh! 🙂

  2. August 30, 2012 11:14 am

    i love the little lunch boxes they give you to keep them cool!

  3. karen kipp permalink
    September 2, 2012 4:02 pm

    Amber – I subscribe to your blog and really enjoy it! I facilitate 3-day juice fast retreats for women in the KC area for the last 10 years. I usually host about 5-7 a year in the Spring & the Fall. I have one coming up next weekend (Sept 7-9) and just had two last minute cancellations in an otherwise fairly full retreat.

    I realize it is kind of last minute, but I just saw this posting & realized that you are interested in juice fasts. I would love to invite you to be my guest at no cost to you at the upcoming retreat if it happens to work out in your schedule! We meet at the Light Center in Baldwin, KS and spend a couple of days on a secluded 30-acre farm with other women to share quiet time, fasting, juicing, yoga, meditation and a sweatlodge. You can read more about them on my website: http://www.poweryourjourney.com/juice_fasting_retreats.

    If you decide to join us, just click on the September date to register, and select pay at the door to bypass the payment system. Please note there is a non-mandatory meeting on Wednesday night at 7pm to hand out supplies and answer questions. I think you will find the experience to be completely refreshing and unique compared to doing the fasts on your own. I enjoy both for different reasons! If it doesn’t work for you this time, we can look at the October or Spring 2013 retreats if you are interested.  Love and light, Karen Kipp 913-302-4420 

    ________________________________

Leave a Comment

